SpongeBob SquarePants: Revenge of the Flying Dutchman Image
Metascore
  1. First Review
  2. Second Review
  3. Third Review
  4. Fourth Review

No score yet - based on 2 Critics Awaiting 2 more reviews What's this?

User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 42 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: SpongeBob accidentally releases The Flying Dutchman from a magic bottle. Now the ghostly pirate has put a wicked curse upon SpongeBob. The only way to lift the curse is to join a ridiculous underwater adventure that has SpongeBob searching for 10 lost treasures! [THQ]
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 2 out of 2
  1. 40
    Yes, pre-school-aged kids will probably get a kick out of the game, though they'd likely be more entertained mowing down prostitutes in "Grand Theft Auto."
  2. Play Magazine
    40
    Levels so sparse they should run at 30, the models are bad, and there's loading where there should be none. [Feb 2003, p.90]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 17
  2. Negative: 1 out of 17
  1. DudeBob
    Mar 13, 2003
    10
    PLAY THIS IT'S TIGHT!!!
  2. Styler
    Mar 9, 2005
    10
    Really the best game what i ver played. but i cann`t beat the last lvl, how it goes?
  3. NokhbB.
    Mar 24, 2003
    10
    It's the best.
  4. CarinaR.
    Apr 24, 2003
    10
    The Best game ever!!!!!!!!!!!!
  5. AdamM.
    Apr 27, 2003
    10
    Perfect simply perfect! The show is great the game is great what more could you ask for?! Spongebob squarepants revenge of the flying Perfect simply perfect! The show is great the game is great what more could you ask for?! Spongebob squarepants revenge of the flying dutchman is a game alot of gamers have been hanging out for a long time! This game 10 out of 10 simply superb!!! Expand
  6. Apr 27, 2017
    8
    Perhaps it's my nostalgia speaking, but as a kid I thought this game was amazing.
    From the wonderfully charming music to the cheesy loveable
    Perhaps it's my nostalgia speaking, but as a kid I thought this game was amazing.
    From the wonderfully charming music to the cheesy loveable characters I could not really see any problems with it for the age range expected to play it. It's easy to pick up and get into, has an easy to understand story and its level of difficulty is hard-but-not-to-hard which is perfect for kids getting in to 3D platforming games. The puzzles are well balanced, with some being simple and others taking some extra effort and time to master to complete, and each world is themed appropriately to areas of the show that kids will easily recognise.

    The controls are a little bit clunky, but for a PS2 game from 2002, it's not too bad. It's still very much playable and highly addictive, even today. Anyone giving this game a bad review clearly hasn't allowed themselves to think like a kid while playing this, this game is perfectly designed to appeal to the young Spongebob audience, the fact I still like it 15 years later is simply because of nostalgia, but I'm sure there are Spongebob fans (and even 3D platformer fans) who could still get a kick out of this game.

    As Spongebob games go, I certainly think this one's an underrated classic. Not the best game made from the franchise, but certainly not a bad one either.
    Expand
  7. MikeM.
    Jun 3, 2007
    3
    Very poor effort, stay away from this one. Developer BigSky Interactive's only game to date, and for good reason. Despite the mediocre Very poor effort, stay away from this one. Developer BigSky Interactive's only game to date, and for good reason. Despite the mediocre and sparse visuals, the framerate is abysmal, which definitely has a detrimental effect on gameplay. Even the Java or Flash-based Spongebob games on the internet are superior to RotFD. If you're in the market for a PS2 Spongebob game, I personally recommend Battle for Bikini Bottom. I got BfBB for my kids, but ended up playing it myself. It's not perfect, but overall a very good platformer, surprisingly. Expand

See all 17 User Reviews