User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 204 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 9 out of 204

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 28, 2015
    9
    Star Wars: Battlefront II takes everything that the first Battlefront game set up and knocks it out of the park. Addictive, death match style gameplay is what's on the menu with Battlefront II, as you choose a side and battle it out over expansive environments in the Star Wars universe, including Hoth, the Daggobbah System, Naboo, the Death Star, and more. The many modes include squadStar Wars: Battlefront II takes everything that the first Battlefront game set up and knocks it out of the park. Addictive, death match style gameplay is what's on the menu with Battlefront II, as you choose a side and battle it out over expansive environments in the Star Wars universe, including Hoth, the Daggobbah System, Naboo, the Death Star, and more. The many modes include squad based battles and space combat, as well as goal-oriented missions and more besides. After completing certain objectives during a mission, you'll be able to play as classic Star Wars characters like Luke, Obi-Wan, Darth Vader, Yoda, and more besides. What really makes Battlefront II all the more fun is the online multiplayer and deathmatch features, which are reason enough to pick up Battlefront II. The game looks great and the controls are tight, while the game as a whole wonderfully captures the feel and tone of the Star Wars universe. All in all, Battlefront II is still worth owning for any and every gamer who likes deathmatch style gameplay, and for Star Wars fans, picking this up is a no-brainer. Expand
  2. Feb 23, 2015
    8
    I loved this game but I wish there were more players on each team like 50v50 and I wish that the AT-AT wasn't so overpowered, I wouldn't die for an entire match when I was on that thing.
  3. Feb 4, 2015
    10
    This is a game I would call perfect. It's not the fact that I can't find anything wrong with it, it's the fact that I can't find anything it could have done better. Just sublime. Buy it on whatever platform you want, it's perfect on all of them. 10 out of 10.
  4. Aug 18, 2014
    8
    This is the best Star Wars game ever made no doubt that. If you played the first one imagine that but better. The combat feels great and fluent as an infantry, jedi, tank, speeder or as an starfighter too. And there's the famous instant action mode with spilt-screen co-op and online compability too. The graphic quality is not the best the Xbox Classic and the PC (modding all the way)This is the best Star Wars game ever made no doubt that. If you played the first one imagine that but better. The combat feels great and fluent as an infantry, jedi, tank, speeder or as an starfighter too. And there's the famous instant action mode with spilt-screen co-op and online compability too. The graphic quality is not the best the Xbox Classic and the PC (modding all the way) version of the game looks much better. But if you still have a PS2 pick up the game a must have. Expand
  5. Aug 10, 2014
    10
    One of my favorite games of all time. The best mode you can do is Assault on Mos Eisley in instant action. Its a full out jedi battle in mos eisley that's very addicting. There's plenty of story (Rise of Empire), then theres a startegy type game where you have to take control of every planet (Galactic Conquest) and then Instant Action is where you can make your own customized playlist ofOne of my favorite games of all time. The best mode you can do is Assault on Mos Eisley in instant action. Its a full out jedi battle in mos eisley that's very addicting. There's plenty of story (Rise of Empire), then theres a startegy type game where you have to take control of every planet (Galactic Conquest) and then Instant Action is where you can make your own customized playlist of arenas and army you fight as. There are plenty of solider classes, awesome space fights, and cool vehicles to pilot. If you have ps2 and not this game you should look out for it Expand
  6. Jul 11, 2014
    10
    Wow! This game just shows that you don't need a £400 next-gen console to be able to play a brilliant game such as this one. This is a must have for Star Wars nerds such as myself.
  7. Jan 24, 2014
    10
    This game is incredible just like the first, your able to play in 1st or 3rd person, I only do 1st person whenever I play alone since whenever you do splitscreen it wouldn't show your gun which feels weird. The multiplayer I wouldn't do since It's laggy (for my case) like the enemies would feel like they take more shots to kill, and you'll mostly just see everyone just using explosivesThis game is incredible just like the first, your able to play in 1st or 3rd person, I only do 1st person whenever I play alone since whenever you do splitscreen it wouldn't show your gun which feels weird. The multiplayer I wouldn't do since It's laggy (for my case) like the enemies would feel like they take more shots to kill, and you'll mostly just see everyone just using explosives only such as rocket launchers, mines and so on. Overall the game has great replay value, a fun galactic conquest, awesome perks for getting those medals on legendary (I think that's what it's called), so many game modes and maps (My favorite is Jabba's Palace, my dad's is Polis Massa (droids don't die when in space!), and so much more! Hope the next Battlefront is just as good! Expand
  8. Dec 26, 2013
    8
    One of the greatest Star Wars games..Intense land and space battles. Playing as a Jedi, Sith, Bounty hunter... is awesome. Single-player campaign and other modes are interesting. Lots of maps and modes. Any Star Wars fan will have a blast with this game!
  9. Oct 25, 2013
    10
    My real score for this game is 9.8 but since its so close to 10 I'll just give it. Hands down the best game I have played so far, with the exception of semi-easy gameplay, most of the hunt modes being unfair, and some maps I didn't like it's perfect.
  10. Sep 18, 2013
    10
    This game has to be one of the best and original games I've ever played, absolute classic, awesome gameplay, pretty good graphics and optimization for such an old game, I really couldn't get enough of this game when I was young, this game really was my childhood.
  11. Aug 5, 2013
    10
    It should be a federal crime to give this game anything below a 10. You may call me a nostalgia critic, but the replayability value is seemingly infinite. I can't stop playing it. I am purchasing the most expensive limited edition of DICE's reboot which is coming in Summer 2015 directly at midnight. This is, by no doubt, the best Star Wars game ever made, and definitely in my top 5 bestIt should be a federal crime to give this game anything below a 10. You may call me a nostalgia critic, but the replayability value is seemingly infinite. I can't stop playing it. I am purchasing the most expensive limited edition of DICE's reboot which is coming in Summer 2015 directly at midnight. This is, by no doubt, the best Star Wars game ever made, and definitely in my top 5 best games ever made. Expand
  12. Aug 2, 2013
    10
    A perfect, timeless Star Wars classic that never grows old or ever loses its fun. SWBFII has been and might always will be my favorite game of all time!
  13. Jul 26, 2013
    10
    Star Wars: Battlefront II is its predecessor, but even more! The game is easy to pick up and play and the replayability is through the roof! I occasionally put this title in when I'm looking for a good time and it always delivers. Although, there were some minor details I could not overlook, such as: mediocre graphics, lack of much variety, horrible voice acting, and easy gameplay overall.Star Wars: Battlefront II is its predecessor, but even more! The game is easy to pick up and play and the replayability is through the roof! I occasionally put this title in when I'm looking for a good time and it always delivers. Although, there were some minor details I could not overlook, such as: mediocre graphics, lack of much variety, horrible voice acting, and easy gameplay overall. I never really lost too many battles, unless me or my comrades were being careless. That is really every negative thing I can think about it. It and its predecessor are truly must-have games! I have enjoyed this and will continue to because of its amazing gameplay and who can resist playing as Darth Maul blowing everyone anyway, right? What I really found a lot of fun was the assault mode on Mos Eisley where the villains are pitted against the heroes. I'm surprised how hard it is to find, but it is the game's best kept secret! I would really love to see a Star Wars: Battlefront III, but it got canceled, very sadly. As of now, however, DICE is developing a reboot which is really exciting, but I don't intend on getting the expensive next-gen consoles which it is exclusive to, so maybe I should reconsider them. I would absolutely pre-order it had it been made for Xbox 360, especially if it included more game modes and better online connection. Overall, anyone with an Xbox, PC, or PS2 really must have this title, even if they are not interested in Star Wars. Expand
  14. Jun 27, 2013
    10
    Such an underrated game on this website, everyone who has played this game always remembers it fondly because even today it is still an awesome game to get some friend together and play
  15. May 14, 2013
    5
    You could call this entire review unfair from the start.....but in general I found this to be a mediocre game. I heard this was a very good game recently and decided to play it on my old PS2. I play PS3 now all the time. So anyway, I found the game to have terrible graphics, to be boring, and to have challenging controls. Like I said earlier, the standards of video games have certainlyYou could call this entire review unfair from the start.....but in general I found this to be a mediocre game. I heard this was a very good game recently and decided to play it on my old PS2. I play PS3 now all the time. So anyway, I found the game to have terrible graphics, to be boring, and to have challenging controls. Like I said earlier, the standards of video games have certainly gone up since 2005 so my review could be widely considered unbalanced considering I play games with much higher standards all the time now so I gave it a 5 rather than the 3 experience I had. Expand
  16. Mar 19, 2013
    10
    Quite simply put. Star Wars: Battlefront II is the greatest Star Wars games of all time and quite possibly one of the greatest games of all time. I still play the game to this very day and thank the lord that this game is on Steam. The gameplays great, presentation is great and everything else about it is...great! In my opinion the game is perfect and if you haven't played it then you mustQuite simply put. Star Wars: Battlefront II is the greatest Star Wars games of all time and quite possibly one of the greatest games of all time. I still play the game to this very day and thank the lord that this game is on Steam. The gameplays great, presentation is great and everything else about it is...great! In my opinion the game is perfect and if you haven't played it then you must be living under a rock! You can buy this game for a steal now days on any platform. I'll keep on playing this until the day arrives when they finally announce Star Wars: Battlefront III...Ahhh a man can dream. Expand
  17. Sep 13, 2012
    10
    this is best game I've ever played i can't tel u how good this game is it strategy , action , adventure . but if you are looking for a good graphic game this not the one , but otherwise it is excellent .
  18. Jul 1, 2012
    10
    In some way's this feels worse than number one, but you can change the game to give number ones charms back, so lets bare that in mind. Star wars battlefront II is my favourite game of all time. If you look at my homepage you will see i'm hard guy to impress. This game fix's all of the firsts little issues such as the single player, oh the single player. Its actually brilliant, number oneIn some way's this feels worse than number one, but you can change the game to give number ones charms back, so lets bare that in mind. Star wars battlefront II is my favourite game of all time. If you look at my homepage you will see i'm hard guy to impress. This game fix's all of the firsts little issues such as the single player, oh the single player. Its actually brilliant, number one was only amazing in instant action and split-screen, but this is **** great. It covers all your favourite film moments and more. If you hate the 3rd person view, change to first-person as its equally amazing seeing all the gun in action. Galactic conquest has been refined and improved for a truly grand experience. But then you change to instant action, with either a friend or not, and... pure perfection. Battle's are hosted on the favourite planets and little touches as the actual life forms which live there trying to kill everyone is epic. You also can play as specific creatures such as the the terrific wampa and other legends. Have no doubt, this is epic. Expand
  19. Jun 4, 2012
    10
    A very, very good and fun game, for people who are fans of Star Wars and people who are not, there's something for everyone. It expands on the work of Star Wars:Battlefront with the sprint allowances, the Jedi and the space battles. The Jedi vs Sith assault battle on Mos Eisley has been very fun to do in my spare time. However, I think that they changed and omitted some of the mapsA very, very good and fun game, for people who are fans of Star Wars and people who are not, there's something for everyone. It expands on the work of Star Wars:Battlefront with the sprint allowances, the Jedi and the space battles. The Jedi vs Sith assault battle on Mos Eisley has been very fun to do in my spare time. However, I think that they changed and omitted some of the maps unnecessarily, from the original. For example, Geonosis and Kashyyk were more preferrable in the original in my opinion, and Rhen Var and Bespin were extremely fun to play on in the original. Despite this, I give this a 10 out of 10, due to the fact that the multiplayer is amazingly fun, and is still going after all these years. Expand
  20. May 19, 2012
    9
    The best Star Wars game I have ever played. There is nice mode which allows for strategic conquest of certain parts of the galaxy in different eras, which in itself is fantastic.
  21. Mar 14, 2012
    9
    This game has some really memorable and solid game play, if it had all the maps from the previous battlefront, along with some of the features (like being able to go prone, or air and land combat maps) then I would give it maybe a 10, or at least a 9.5. The story mode is well put together, even though it's not too much like today's campaigns, it's more of a storytelling style, from aThis game has some really memorable and solid game play, if it had all the maps from the previous battlefront, along with some of the features (like being able to go prone, or air and land combat maps) then I would give it maybe a 10, or at least a 9.5. The story mode is well put together, even though it's not too much like today's campaigns, it's more of a storytelling style, from a journal of a clone in this elite group called The 501st. The story ties in a lot of loose ends that were in the movies, like what the inhabitants of Kamino did after order 66 was carried out, it mainly takes place during episode 3, between episode 3 and 4, episode 4, and episode 5.
    The combat is either space or land, like I mentioned before, Battlefront 1 had some air and land combat, this has space battles, with giant star ships.
    The space battle game style is very well put together, this is one of my favorite third party titles on the ps2.
    Land battles are pretty great, on the PC, there was the ability to have crap loads of AI, but it isn't that great because of the bugs.
    The PS2 however, is pretty much bug free and has some nice controls.
    Galactic conquest is another mode to play, you take control of a capital ship and you buy upgrades for your troops and conquer enemy planets.
    There is also a huge variety when picking sides and your class, a very well put together game overall, only one problem,,, THE AI IS SO DUMB, the AI on your team that is,, they throw grenades at walls which bounce back and kill them it really sucks, and you need to get good at this game to enjoy it, like,, REALLY GOOD, I am able to slaughter tons of AI with the right setting and weapons, so I am fine, but on the PC version my AI palls die VERY FAST, it's like a genocide (to far?). So, if you won't know if you're good at this game, get the PS2 version, Xbox version is probably the same, but hold off on the PC version, get the PC version when you start to get good, and you want to play against others online, PC version still has some people playing on steam.
    One last thing, a game company is working on battlefront 3, pandemic is not working on it, which is the company that made it before, (Spark or something is making it now)
    Finally as a battlefront fan, I feel i should say this DO NOT BUY BATTLEFRONT RENEGADE SQUADRON FOR THE PSP it is a horrible horrible game, a disappointment and a middle finger to the fans, made by REBELLION, a company that has made a ton of bad games.


    Thank you for reading, see you on the battlefield soldier.
    Expand
  22. Mar 6, 2012
    7
    Star Wars Battlefront 2, is probably one of the better star wars shooters out there. It includes a large variety of maps including: Tatotine, Kashyyyk, Coruscant, and even Tantive IV. To add to this, players could also now enter space battles above some of these planets; greatly increasing the enjoyment you can gather.
    New additions to SW: Battlefront 2, are: - A Campaign, following the
    Star Wars Battlefront 2, is probably one of the better star wars shooters out there. It includes a large variety of maps including: Tatotine, Kashyyyk, Coruscant, and even Tantive IV. To add to this, players could also now enter space battles above some of these planets; greatly increasing the enjoyment you can gather.
    New additions to SW: Battlefront 2, are: - A Campaign, following the lives of the 501st Legion of Clones, and the fall of the Republic
    - A Galactic Conquest map, using Turn-based style, allowed players to take turns in building up their forces, and attacking the other's planets.
    - Space battles, where players could choose to dog fight in space, attack the ship with bombers, or land on the ship and blow it up from the inside
    - The addition of hero characters, which allowed players to use jedis and sith, such as: Yoda, Darth Vader, Darth Maul, Obi-wan Kenobi, Boba Fett and Han Solo, just to name a few.

    Compared to SW: Battlefront 1; Battlefront 2 has many advantages, but also lacks in a few places. However, this games gives much more than it loses, and still is a great FPS game, for fans of star wars and shooters alike.
    Expand
  23. Nov 21, 2011
    8
    Quite honestly, the only reason I bought the PS2 was for this game. Ignoring the obviously bad AI, this game delivers on everything else. Space battles are also very fun and the land battles are enjoyable. The improvements over the first Battlefront are very noticeable, mostly faster loading times and better graphics. An overall excellent game and worth the buy.
  24. Oct 25, 2011
    10
    Insanely fun with endless gameplay options. One of the best PS2 games ever. F u c k COD. Intense how you can play with Jedi and wampas, tuskens and jawas
  25. Sep 19, 2011
    9
    Hmmmmm? The best Star Wars game and one of my favorite game. Star Wars BF II is very good fpp/tpp shooter, but better tpp. :) This game have very good single player with bots, but the best is split screen play with friend. Graphics in game is nice and gameplay is amazing! My rate is 9,5/10 and i advice this game.
  26. Aug 16, 2011
    10
    my very first game on my very first console.
    and its still my favorite shooter.
    if only other fps could learn from this and take the best parts, like the space battles. i would love to see that in halo
  27. May 23, 2011
    9
    This is a great game with good graphics alot harder than the first and the jedi are fun to play as, the space are fun but really hard and the ships are pretty hard to hit it's annoying somtimes to miss all the time but most of the time it's really fun.
  28. Apr 3, 2011
    10
    This is the first shooter that I ever played as a kid, and still I call it the best. Online? whatever, give me a LAN party or just playing with my brother, this game ruined many, many nights of sleep for me and I still haven't recovered. While the graphics are sub-par, the voice acting isn't stellar, and the story isn't top-notch, the game has it where it counts: gameplay. Space combat,This is the first shooter that I ever played as a kid, and still I call it the best. Online? whatever, give me a LAN party or just playing with my brother, this game ruined many, many nights of sleep for me and I still haven't recovered. While the graphics are sub-par, the voice acting isn't stellar, and the story isn't top-notch, the game has it where it counts: gameplay. Space combat, ground combat, vehicles, Jedi, this game is brilliant when it comes to third-person shooters and has a place in my heart. Expand
  29. Mar 20, 2011
    10
    this is an amazing game and i have had it since the day it came out which was almost 6 years ago and i still play it to this day because it is so good. this game is so much better than the original with the ability to run and being able to play as a jedi instead of having an invincible one that you cant play as and they also added space battles which i was never any good at but again ithis is an amazing game and i have had it since the day it came out which was almost 6 years ago and i still play it to this day because it is so good. this game is so much better than the original with the ability to run and being able to play as a jedi instead of having an invincible one that you cant play as and they also added space battles which i was never any good at but again i never flew around in the one before it. this game does not have a very long story but the story is just the begining when it comes to the replay value on this game you can play instant action on any map you want and have a small battle with a small amout of troops or have a full scale battle that will last about 30 mins with almost 1000 troops that need to be killed. there is also galactic conquest which you can be any of the factions that you want and you must conquer the galaxy and you must purchase each unit and power up with the credits you win from battles and each has thier own cinimatic ending once you own and conquer all the planets. there is even a mode where you can play as good V.S evil and have the good heroes face off against the evil villains in a fight to the death and as if that wasnt enough the game rewards you for being good at it with special upgraded weapons and power ups that eventually become permanent with enough experiance. everything about this game is amazing and is a must buy especially now that you can pick this game up at an EB Games for under $5 so what are you waiting for go out and get it asap Expand
  30. Oct 17, 2010
    10
    This game is awesome. I can remember getting this game 4 christmases ago and I couldn't figure out the controls as I was about 9, but when I learnt the controls I found out what a bloody good game this is. Get some friends round, turn the lights off and go on galactic conquest and then you've got a good night in. Get it now on PS2 for about 5 quid and you won't be disappointed. If youThis game is awesome. I can remember getting this game 4 christmases ago and I couldn't figure out the controls as I was about 9, but when I learnt the controls I found out what a bloody good game this is. Get some friends round, turn the lights off and go on galactic conquest and then you've got a good night in. Get it now on PS2 for about 5 quid and you won't be disappointed. If you prefer first person to third person you can have it in first person, if you find it hard at first put aim assist on and when you're better turn it off for anyone who likes shooting or action games you will love this. Better than MW2 by a mile ;) Expand
  31. Aug 26, 2010
    9
    Even better than the first. Battlefront 2 has space battles, you can play as jedi's, and lots of vehichles. It was by far one of the better games of the PS2 it had a great multiplayer weather you had an internet connection or not. I played this game for 3 years until i got my 360 unfortunately mine did break so seeing no other games worth playing on the PS2 i traded mine in. The PS2 was aEven better than the first. Battlefront 2 has space battles, you can play as jedi's, and lots of vehichles. It was by far one of the better games of the PS2 it had a great multiplayer weather you had an internet connection or not. I played this game for 3 years until i got my 360 unfortunately mine did break so seeing no other games worth playing on the PS2 i traded mine in. The PS2 was a great system much better then the PS3 and maybe the xbox 360. If battlefront comes out with a new game for the PS3 i might consider getting it, but for now i much rather prefer my 360 with halo, and my favorite gaming controler. But i would consider buying a PS3 for battlefront 3. I give it a 9 out of 10 Expand
  32. BigJoe
    Oct 7, 2009
    8
    This game improves greatly on the first, the graphics are better and the gameplay is improved as well with the space and jedi battles. I never really played multiplayer though. The Instant Action and the campaign were created well but the galactic Conquest was better in the first game. However, I do like the new planets and maps. The campaign in the first game had every level the sameThis game improves greatly on the first, the graphics are better and the gameplay is improved as well with the space and jedi battles. I never really played multiplayer though. The Instant Action and the campaign were created well but the galactic Conquest was better in the first game. However, I do like the new planets and maps. The campaign in the first game had every level the same thing, defeat all enemies. This game includes objectives like capture the flag and destroy a certain objective or defend a certain objective. Good work. Expand
  33. GrantR.
    Aug 26, 2009
    9
    One of my favorite games of all time. Mark M, you do know that you can turn OFF heroes at any time and that most people do that online. The the "Proning" was removed because snipers could use it to glitch through spaces or camp in places that were completely inaccessible. You wondered why people only played snipers and vehicles in the larger maps of the first game? There are 2 jet-packOne of my favorite games of all time. Mark M, you do know that you can turn OFF heroes at any time and that most people do that online. The the "Proning" was removed because snipers could use it to glitch through spaces or camp in places that were completely inaccessible. You wondered why people only played snipers and vehicles in the larger maps of the first game? There are 2 jet-pack characters (4 if you include heroes), the characters are essentially untouched from the original...jeez, what game were you playing? Oh, and lastly, if "the second one just copied the first one", then how is the "first game better"? Uhhg, Headache... Expand
  34. MarkM
    Mar 19, 2009
    0
    Horrible! The first game is better! The battles are sloppy, the characters are horrible, you can't get on the ground all you can do is crouch, playing as a Jedi ruins the battlefront feel, no jet pack characters. The first one was creative, the second one just copied the first one and that's it!
  35. JackT.
    Feb 22, 2008
    10
    This is the best game. It is super fun when you have a friend over. When you play two player it is always fun to try and kill each other.
  36. M.G.
    Jan 29, 2008
    10
    This is a reall fun game. always something new for every mission, wether it bieng an upgrade, or a bonus purchased. this game never gets boring.
  37. awxw
    Jul 22, 2007
    0
    Terrible its just not good the first game is much better!
  38. CharlieS.
    Sep 4, 2006
    10
    Great game, hard to play on at start, but great once you get used to it. Much better than the 1st one.
  39. BobaF.
    Jun 1, 2006
    10
    This is definately the best game i have ever played and when i say that i mean it! When i first heard about it i thought it be awesome and i wasnt dissapointed 1 bit.
  40. SteveL.
    May 17, 2006
    10
    I love this game.
  41. JakeK.
    Apr 22, 2006
    10
    this game is amzazing. Whever gave this game less than a 6 has no taste in games. Because this was better than the first. Although some of the maps were a lot better in the first, this was still a great game. Cant wait for the 3rd.
  42. okeedokey
    Mar 29, 2006
    8
    I give this an 8 and not 10 because the maps dissapointed me. I like a few of the swbf 1 maps (both the Bespin maps) and also the fact that you could choose to have a air battle or foot battle because I like to switch around every so often and there is an easier way of capping command posts from using an aircraft and going straight to a command post. But I think the new point system forI give this an 8 and not 10 because the maps dissapointed me. I like a few of the swbf 1 maps (both the Bespin maps) and also the fact that you could choose to have a air battle or foot battle because I like to switch around every so often and there is an easier way of capping command posts from using an aircraft and going straight to a command post. But I think the new point system for Jedi and special units and also the maximum is a good change for those online players or players that like a challenge. If they didn't use that point system then i'd probly rate it about a 6. Expand
  43. AaronW.
    Feb 22, 2006
    10
    star wars battlefront2 rocks the house but i get still have to get online and play with my freind you finally get to play as a jedi.
  44. VinnieP.
    Feb 2, 2006
    10
    This game is a great game! You can put the controller down once you start playing!
  45. DermotR.
    Jan 26, 2006
    9
    The force is very strong in this one. Good work lucas arts.
  46. KevK.
    Jan 18, 2006
    10
    This game is great and I don't care what any of you say. This is the best shooter I have ever played. I have played Halo 2 on my friends Xbox and from playing BFII so much I thought Halo 2 sucked. This game is the pinnacle of perfection. At least until/unless they make BFIII.
  47. AnthonyD.
    Jan 9, 2006
    8
    online could use a little work but regular one player gaming is very good, i found the space battles very easy, i dont likecollecting points to unlock special characters and jedi in the other one you dont even have to unlock it, Also the levels in battlefront one has a little better levels and more terrain, but some of the lvls are the same, and u cant jump out of planes and vechicles. so online could use a little work but regular one player gaming is very good, i found the space battles very easy, i dont likecollecting points to unlock special characters and jedi in the other one you dont even have to unlock it, Also the levels in battlefront one has a little better levels and more terrain, but some of the lvls are the same, and u cant jump out of planes and vechicles. so i say its pretty good but could use some work- Expand
  48. LeoHernandez
    Jan 2, 2006
    9
    hey, yeah the game is a bit too similiar to the first one, but hey, SO WHAT? the first one was a great game, so why goin another path from such a great game. hey and online is not bad! haha, seth sorry to let you down but it is ur internet connection that affects it, not ther servers. also games aren about graphics, lol, never, they are about the gameplay, i rather have fun than eyecandy,hey, yeah the game is a bit too similiar to the first one, but hey, SO WHAT? the first one was a great game, so why goin another path from such a great game. hey and online is not bad! haha, seth sorry to let you down but it is ur internet connection that affects it, not ther servers. also games aren about graphics, lol, never, they are about the gameplay, i rather have fun than eyecandy, theres no argue with that. and they did fix a lot of things from the first one, like the facts there wasnt space battles, and starfighters were in maps that had foot ifhgting also, which as really cheap cuz it was impossible to take down a star fighter without another star fighter (ex. Naboo Plains!) also its got jedi, which are awesome if u know how to use them well, and hey the game its fun! even offline! its fun fun fun, doesnt get old. the things that made me unhappy is that now killing enemies is a it tougher, i thing the 1st one had smoother controls and crosshairs, but danm the lasers were so slow people could dodge them easily, not with the 2nd one, they go so fast that they are hard to dodge, but yeah, its also hard to shoot ur target, lol. well i give a 9 because of that controls part, but besides that, greast star wars game, best one there is so far, THIS GAME ROCKS, GO BUY IT IF YOU HAVEN'T. Expand
  49. DavidH.
    Dec 26, 2005
    9
    I t is a very cool game, finally there is a game where you get to be any jedi, one downside though is that they forgot to put cloud city in the game. Also I dont like the fact that you have to earn points to unlock most of the really cool clone troopers, such as the clone with the jetpack. I also wish that yoda could do the saber throw. Also the jedi mostly, Anakin Skywalker he looks I t is a very cool game, finally there is a game where you get to be any jedi, one downside though is that they forgot to put cloud city in the game. Also I dont like the fact that you have to earn points to unlock most of the really cool clone troopers, such as the clone with the jetpack. I also wish that yoda could do the saber throw. Also the jedi mostly, Anakin Skywalker he looks shorter and fatter than he really is, I think that OBI Wan's hair is a lot shorter than it is supposed to be.Also Grevious cant permanentaly have 4 sabers, which kind of sucks. Expand
  50. Nin_ninja
    Dec 11, 2005
    10
    Its a great game for you SW fans like me,I love fighting in space.
  51. SethF.
    Dec 8, 2005
    5
    This game was totally screwed up when attempting on-line play. I am certain this part of the game was rushed to meet the movie release deadline. Another problem is the terrible background contrasts with the AI enemies. You can't see anyone until they start to kill you even on a big screen or plasma TV.
  52. SlammerKool
    Dec 6, 2005
    3
    I like the first one better, this had crap with all those stupid points to unlock special characters and jedi in the other one you dont even have to unlock it. also there a cooler feautres in battle front one like when you jump out of planes and better planes. Also the levels in battlefront 1 has better levels and more terrain. Hopefully Lucas arts will make another battlefront with both I like the first one better, this had crap with all those stupid points to unlock special characters and jedi in the other one you dont even have to unlock it. also there a cooler feautres in battle front one like when you jump out of planes and better planes. Also the levels in battlefront 1 has better levels and more terrain. Hopefully Lucas arts will make another battlefront with both battlefront 1& 2 +new levels in 3 would be the greatest battlefront ever. They should combine more than make more levels i mean i love classic better than new. So go with battlefront 1 people. Expand
  53. BigBoy
    Nov 21, 2005
    5
    the graphics are muddy. the physics, as in every star wars game, could use alot of help. the controls are too loose and could be better implemented. the game just gives off a cheap feel to it and is a total mess. it's not the best shooter but it's far from the worst. fans of star wars, like me, can try to overlook all this and just love the game b/c it's star wars. hardcore the graphics are muddy. the physics, as in every star wars game, could use alot of help. the controls are too loose and could be better implemented. the game just gives off a cheap feel to it and is a total mess. it's not the best shooter but it's far from the worst. fans of star wars, like me, can try to overlook all this and just love the game b/c it's star wars. hardcore 1st person shooter fans should look elsewhere like towards battlefield 2: modern combat or socom 3. Expand
  54. SumDood
    Nov 21, 2005
    9
    Yes we know its simliar to the first! OK fine but that still doesnt throw it in the bolier room. It is the most solid sequeal i have ever played. I dont even like the movies but the game is great. Buy this one folks!
  55. CoreyA.
    Nov 16, 2005
    10
    This is a great game. Even if ther are a few things that are lacking from the first ther's plenty to make up for it.
  56. DerekS.
    Nov 14, 2005
    10
    Great Game! if you like fast paced shooters, being jedi's, and dogfighting in space ships you are going to love this game. It is 10x better than Battlefront 2 and has many online rooms to satisfy all levels of experience and dificultly.
  57. Johnnyexpatmageeker
    Nov 13, 2005
    4
    This is a very poor sequel to a game that was lots of fun. Graphics should always be better than the first installment. The space battles are SLOW and boring. The enemy AI is weak. Overall a very poor showing for a promising game. How many times can the STAR WARS franchise let down it's fans? Movies SUCK! Games SUCK. Way to go George!!! Thanks for pooping on my childhood memories.
  58. javive
    Nov 10, 2005
    7
    It's alright. the fact that the 2 Bespin boards, one Yavin 4, Dune Sea???, Naboo Plains??, what in the world was Lucas Arts thinking????
  59. ZachM.
    Nov 8, 2005
    10
    Great Game. The graphics arnt the best, but all the other aspects of the game make up for that. i sick of hearing people writing that the space battles suck. Take my word for it when i say the space battles rock. Me and my brother have played space battles now for 1 week every free minute we get and am not nearly sick of the space battles. And, adding jedi to game you coundnt get a better Great Game. The graphics arnt the best, but all the other aspects of the game make up for that. i sick of hearing people writing that the space battles suck. Take my word for it when i say the space battles rock. Me and my brother have played space battles now for 1 week every free minute we get and am not nearly sick of the space battles. And, adding jedi to game you coundnt get a better mix. This game is one of the best of there for ps2. Take my word for it after playing, Rainbow six lockdown, and Conflict: Global Terror, and bringing both of them back after about two weeks of owning them. This is a fun and great game!! Expand
  60. Beng.garfinkel
    Nov 8, 2005
    8
    This is game is great! It's just a little better than the first one though. I miss the cool feel and look of the first one, though. It wasn't complicated, just fun. Jedi are cool in this one, there's a sprint meter, you can choose the number of reinforcements, new maps are cool, but space battles are so-so offline. they're fun online though. I'd say this is better This is game is great! It's just a little better than the first one though. I miss the cool feel and look of the first one, though. It wasn't complicated, just fun. Jedi are cool in this one, there's a sprint meter, you can choose the number of reinforcements, new maps are cool, but space battles are so-so offline. they're fun online though. I'd say this is better than the first one but not by much. Expand
  61. AndrewMoseley
    Nov 7, 2005
    2
    Far to similar to the first battlefront, and with major shortcomings to boot. I mean... The Yavin 4, Mos Eisely, Theed, Endor and Hoth maps are all exactly the same as in the original. And the new maps are all in urban/indoor settings rather than the large, expansive, outdoor settings which takes away the epic feel you should get from playing Star Wars battles and makes the whole thing Far to similar to the first battlefront, and with major shortcomings to boot. I mean... The Yavin 4, Mos Eisely, Theed, Endor and Hoth maps are all exactly the same as in the original. And the new maps are all in urban/indoor settings rather than the large, expansive, outdoor settings which takes away the epic feel you should get from playing Star Wars battles and makes the whole thing seem like more of an isolated skirmish than a tide turning struggle. Vehicle variety is also lacking. There's only 3 maps in the entire game with an AT-ST! The rest use that stupid tank from the original battlefront which makes for a very un-starwarsy feel, and it takes a little away from the experience when you see one of those little mini walkers from episode 3 go toe-to-toe with a droid AAT and win. Plus there's only one map with an AT-AT and an AT-TE! The ability to play around in the big, hulking Godzillas of the Star Wars universe was one of the best aspects of the original, and they just overlooked it completely in this version. The inclusion of space battles is one of this games refreshing additions, but even with that they botched what could have been perfect. It gets way to repetitive after a while since all the space battles are essentially the same. The two capital ships just sit there while you fly around and try to blow up the opposing ships critical systems. Seriously... why didn't they add capital ship movement to the to-do list? how cool would it have been to see two ships pull up right along side eachother and just hammer away with their big guns? You know what else would have been nice? A space battle over Endor and Coruscant. Both of which are suspiciously lacking from the instant action map selcection. Which brings me to the little things... things you wouldn't expect LucasArts to overlook. Things like how in the space battle over Yavin 4, the big red planet is somehow missing. Or how when you blow up a Star Destroyers shield generators, it's shields are somehow still up. This game just let me down . All I got was Battlefront, with all the things I loved from the original taken out and replaced with pure mediocrity. There's nothing special here. The Rise of the Empire mode and the ability to play as a Jedi are also nice, but not worth paying the price for this game. Stick with the original. It's a much better game overall than its successor. Collapse
  62. KobeB.
    Nov 6, 2005
    10
    This game is gooder then the first because theres a guy with a chaingun.
  63. [Anonymous]
    Nov 4, 2005
    8
    This is one of the single greatest games ever, just like its predicessor. Although it is, yes, graphicly inferior to SWBF1, it has its own shining places of glory. Space fights, Jedi, Objectives, its all great. Its just that, space battles aren't that great. It takes way too long just to gte from one cruiser to another, and its really, really, hard to shoot down another ship. It can This is one of the single greatest games ever, just like its predicessor. Although it is, yes, graphicly inferior to SWBF1, it has its own shining places of glory. Space fights, Jedi, Objectives, its all great. Its just that, space battles aren't that great. It takes way too long just to gte from one cruiser to another, and its really, really, hard to shoot down another ship. It can be one of the most enjoyable parts of the game, if you do it with a buddy. The Jedi.... where can i start? If you want a game where you can live through an entire level as a jed, go play Revenge of the Sith. I got killed by pilots( now called engineers) countless times. Of course, it is very rewarding when you get to slaughter clones, rebels, ewoks and everything inbetween. Why an 8? 1) The space battles are very frusterating. 2) Average graphics. 3) Lack of new additions. But the rise of The Empire mode is sooooo cool. THe Jedi Temple level is pretty hard, but rewarding. Expand
  64. ChrisP.
    Nov 3, 2005
    9
    Love this game.. cant type, I have to go and play!
  65. RonitM.
    Nov 3, 2005
    10
    Amazing. Not only are the jedi characters we've been waiting to use since the first battlefront playable, there are amazing space battles, and a variety of missions to keep gamers interested. A must have for star wars fans, this is the best star wars game for any platform ever!
  66. Mat
    Nov 2, 2005
    10
    Truly amazing.. The took the first instalment and made it better. BTW Play this in first person as it is sooooo much better.
  67. RobB.
    Nov 1, 2005
    7
    Very disapointing, graphically inferior to SWBF 1, the handling for infantry is the only improvment but the turnspeed is far too slow and the characters don't even have shadows! I was particularly disapointed to find there is no first person view in the Starfighters! And the controls for the starfighters are lumpy and crude. If what I have read about the online mode is true (only 4 Very disapointing, graphically inferior to SWBF 1, the handling for infantry is the only improvment but the turnspeed is far too slow and the characters don't even have shadows! I was particularly disapointed to find there is no first person view in the Starfighters! And the controls for the starfighters are lumpy and crude. If what I have read about the online mode is true (only 4 people can play online in a battle where the remaining 20 are CPU bots) then this game can really only appeal to Star Wars fans. As a first person shooter it's very poor compaired to what else is out there. Expand
  68. LuciW.
    Nov 1, 2005
    10
    This game is so much bigger than the first and it has a Single Player experience!!! :) I haven't played much of it but its really Awesome so far.
  69. LeFarollP.
    Nov 1, 2005
    10
    Better than the first, nice improvment!
  70. BenjiO.
    Oct 31, 2005
    10
    this is quite possibly the best game i have ever played. The graphics are easily the best ever seen in a star wars game, and i would compare the gameplay to god of war or resident evil 4, due to the fatc that were great games based mostly on the gameplay. The jedi playability in this game is terrific, and it is exactly what we needed in the last game.. wel that and the SPACE COMBAT!! this this is quite possibly the best game i have ever played. The graphics are easily the best ever seen in a star wars game, and i would compare the gameplay to god of war or resident evil 4, due to the fatc that were great games based mostly on the gameplay. The jedi playability in this game is terrific, and it is exactly what we needed in the last game.. wel that and the SPACE COMBAT!! this is the part of the game that simply blew my mind. the animations and the sheer number of units and ships onscreen was amazing. i really believe thisgame is one of the best of all time. As far as online goes, the lag we battled on the last version is nearly eliminated, and up to 30 players could get on and kick butt. I loved the new unit types and ships, and all of these wonderful things combined = a wonderful game. this is trully a 10/10 game. if g4tv's xplay doesn't give this game a 5/5 then i will send more hate mail in 1 day then all the full metal alchemists fans could send in a lifetime. this game was wonderful, and i would b willing to spend $150.00 on this masterpiece. pandemic studios kicked ass on this one! Great Job! Expand
  71. PeterJ.
    Oct 30, 2005
    9
    A little disorientating at first even for the seasoned battlefront player, Battlefront 2 incorporates the best things from the original and then some. Firstly, you'll notice that the hud is different. Secondly, you;ll notice that the original maps (Hoth, Geonosis...) have actually been altered slightly. Also the Infantry and vehicles have been improved graphically. (AT-AT textures A little disorientating at first even for the seasoned battlefront player, Battlefront 2 incorporates the best things from the original and then some. Firstly, you'll notice that the hud is different. Secondly, you;ll notice that the original maps (Hoth, Geonosis...) have actually been altered slightly. Also the Infantry and vehicles have been improved graphically. (AT-AT textures are now far better than they were originally.) Ocassinally, when the battle gets ridiculously tense and there are explosions left right and centre there is a small amount of lag on the PS2, but not much at all. The space missions were an excellent addition, I especially love the screaming voice prompts inside your mother craft. Im too excited about this game to write a fuller review - basically, if you thought Battlefront couldnt get any better - think again. Battlefront 2 will simply blow you away. Can't wait til 31'st October? I got mine today! (30th october) at Choices. Expand
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. Space battles can be overwhelming at first, but once you get used to them, it's pretty amazing. [Dec 2005, p.82]
  2. The signature piece of Battlefront II is the ship-to-ship combat... This element makes Battlefront II feel much more like the complete Star Wars experience. [Dec 2005, p.108]
  3. It captures the thrills of the original, and spices up a few areas while adding some new things. Unfortunately, space battles drag down the total package; but at least it's trying something different.