Star Wars: Battlefront II PlayStation 2

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 269 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 9 out of 269
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. [Anonymous]
    Nov 4, 2005
    8
    This is one of the single greatest games ever, just like its predicessor. Although it is, yes, graphicly inferior to SWBF1, it has its own shining places of glory. Space fights, Jedi, Objectives, its all great. Its just that, space battles aren't that great. It takes way too long just to gte from one cruiser to another, and its really, really, hard to shoot down another ship. It can This is one of the single greatest games ever, just like its predicessor. Although it is, yes, graphicly inferior to SWBF1, it has its own shining places of glory. Space fights, Jedi, Objectives, its all great. Its just that, space battles aren't that great. It takes way too long just to gte from one cruiser to another, and its really, really, hard to shoot down another ship. It can be one of the most enjoyable parts of the game, if you do it with a buddy. The Jedi.... where can i start? If you want a game where you can live through an entire level as a jed, go play Revenge of the Sith. I got killed by pilots( now called engineers) countless times. Of course, it is very rewarding when you get to slaughter clones, rebels, ewoks and everything inbetween. Why an 8? 1) The space battles are very frusterating. 2) Average graphics. 3) Lack of new additions. But the rise of The Empire mode is sooooo cool. THe Jedi Temple level is pretty hard, but rewarding. Expand
  2. DermotR.
    Jan 26, 2006
    9
    The force is very strong in this one. Good work lucas arts.
  3. Aug 26, 2010
    9
    Even better than the first. Battlefront 2 has space battles, you can play as jedi's, and lots of vehichles. It was by far one of the better games of the PS2 it had a great multiplayer weather you had an internet connection or not. I played this game for 3 years until i got my 360 unfortunately mine did break so seeing no other games worth playing on the PS2 i traded mine in. The PS2 was aEven better than the first. Battlefront 2 has space battles, you can play as jedi's, and lots of vehichles. It was by far one of the better games of the PS2 it had a great multiplayer weather you had an internet connection or not. I played this game for 3 years until i got my 360 unfortunately mine did break so seeing no other games worth playing on the PS2 i traded mine in. The PS2 was a great system much better then the PS3 and maybe the xbox 360. If battlefront comes out with a new game for the PS3 i might consider getting it, but for now i much rather prefer my 360 with halo, and my favorite gaming controler. But i would consider buying a PS3 for battlefront 3. I give it a 9 out of 10 Expand
  4. Jul 26, 2013
    10
    Star Wars: Battlefront II is its predecessor, but even more! The game is easy to pick up and play and the replayability is through the roof! I occasionally put this title in when I'm looking for a good time and it always delivers. Although, there were some minor details I could not overlook, such as: mediocre graphics, lack of much variety, horrible voice acting, and easy gameplay overall.Star Wars: Battlefront II is its predecessor, but even more! The game is easy to pick up and play and the replayability is through the roof! I occasionally put this title in when I'm looking for a good time and it always delivers. Although, there were some minor details I could not overlook, such as: mediocre graphics, lack of much variety, horrible voice acting, and easy gameplay overall. I never really lost too many battles, unless me or my comrades were being careless. That is really every negative thing I can think about it. It and its predecessor are truly must-have games! I have enjoyed this and will continue to because of its amazing gameplay and who can resist playing as Darth Maul blowing everyone anyway, right? What I really found a lot of fun was the assault mode on Mos Eisley where the villains are pitted against the heroes. I'm surprised how hard it is to find, but it is the game's best kept secret! I would really love to see a Star Wars: Battlefront III, but it got canceled, very sadly. As of now, however, DICE is developing a reboot which is really exciting, but I don't intend on getting the expensive next-gen consoles which it is exclusive to, so maybe I should reconsider them. I would absolutely pre-order it had it been made for Xbox 360, especially if it included more game modes and better online connection. Overall, anyone with an Xbox, PC, or PS2 really must have this title, even if they are not interested in Star Wars. Expand
  5. Mar 20, 2011
    10
    this is an amazing game and i have had it since the day it came out which was almost 6 years ago and i still play it to this day because it is so good. this game is so much better than the original with the ability to run and being able to play as a jedi instead of having an invincible one that you cant play as and they also added space battles which i was never any good at but again ithis is an amazing game and i have had it since the day it came out which was almost 6 years ago and i still play it to this day because it is so good. this game is so much better than the original with the ability to run and being able to play as a jedi instead of having an invincible one that you cant play as and they also added space battles which i was never any good at but again i never flew around in the one before it. this game does not have a very long story but the story is just the begining when it comes to the replay value on this game you can play instant action on any map you want and have a small battle with a small amout of troops or have a full scale battle that will last about 30 mins with almost 1000 troops that need to be killed. there is also galactic conquest which you can be any of the factions that you want and you must conquer the galaxy and you must purchase each unit and power up with the credits you win from battles and each has thier own cinimatic ending once you own and conquer all the planets. there is even a mode where you can play as good V.S evil and have the good heroes face off against the evil villains in a fight to the death and as if that wasnt enough the game rewards you for being good at it with special upgraded weapons and power ups that eventually become permanent with enough experiance. everything about this game is amazing and is a must buy especially now that you can pick this game up at an EB Games for under $5 so what are you waiting for go out and get it asap Expand
  6. Sep 18, 2013
    10
    This game has to be one of the best and original games I've ever played, absolute classic, awesome gameplay, pretty good graphics and optimization for such an old game, I really couldn't get enough of this game when I was young, this game really was my childhood.
  7. May 19, 2012
    9
    The best Star Wars game I have ever played. There is nice mode which allows for strategic conquest of certain parts of the galaxy in different eras, which in itself is fantastic.
  8. Oct 25, 2013
    10
    My real score for this game is 9.8 but since its so close to 10 I'll just give it. Hands down the best game I have played so far, with the exception of semi-easy gameplay, most of the hunt modes being unfair, and some maps I didn't like it's perfect.
  9. Aug 5, 2013
    10
    It should be a federal crime to give this game anything below a 10. You may call me a nostalgia critic, but the replayability value is seemingly infinite. I can't stop playing it. I am purchasing the most expensive limited edition of DICE's reboot which is coming in Summer 2015 directly at midnight. This is, by no doubt, the best Star Wars game ever made, and definitely in my top 5 bestIt should be a federal crime to give this game anything below a 10. You may call me a nostalgia critic, but the replayability value is seemingly infinite. I can't stop playing it. I am purchasing the most expensive limited edition of DICE's reboot which is coming in Summer 2015 directly at midnight. This is, by no doubt, the best Star Wars game ever made, and definitely in my top 5 best games ever made. Expand
  10. Feb 4, 2015
    10
    This is a game I would call perfect. It's not the fact that I can't find anything wrong with it, it's the fact that I can't find anything it could have done better. Just sublime. Buy it on whatever platform you want, it's perfect on all of them. 10 out of 10.
  11. Aug 18, 2014
    8
    This is the best Star Wars game ever made no doubt that. If you played the first one imagine that but better. The combat feels great and fluent as an infantry, jedi, tank, speeder or as an starfighter too. And there's the famous instant action mode with spilt-screen co-op and online compability too. The graphic quality is not the best the Xbox Classic and the PC (modding all the way)This is the best Star Wars game ever made no doubt that. If you played the first one imagine that but better. The combat feels great and fluent as an infantry, jedi, tank, speeder or as an starfighter too. And there's the famous instant action mode with spilt-screen co-op and online compability too. The graphic quality is not the best the Xbox Classic and the PC (modding all the way) version of the game looks much better. But if you still have a PS2 pick up the game a must have. Expand
  12. Apr 26, 2016
    10
    The last good Battlefront game before EA got the license for Star Wars. Let's list a couple of things that makes this superior over EA's sh*tty unbalanced content lacking version.

    - Prequel content - Singleplayer story - Offline battles vs bots - Galactic Conquest - Classes - Space Battles - Over 20 Heroes & Villains - More maps and planets - No overpriced Season Pass - No
    The last good Battlefront game before EA got the license for Star Wars. Let's list a couple of things that makes this superior over EA's sh*tty unbalanced content lacking version.

    - Prequel content
    - Singleplayer story
    - Offline battles vs bots
    - Galactic Conquest
    - Classes
    - Space Battles
    - Over 20 Heroes & Villains
    - More maps and planets
    - No overpriced Season Pass
    - No Season Pass
    - Not published by EA
    - Not charging us for content that should have been in the game when it launched

    I can seriously go on and on. The only thing this game is missing is mutliplayer. Which you can still play by playing the PC version. Just go out and get this game instead of EA's "reboot" version.
    Expand
  13. Nov 28, 2016
    9
    In my opinion, Star Wars: Battlefront II was one of the 6th generations best shooters. The first Battlefront was very good but this game only takes that experience and make it even better. Improved mechanics, interesting campaign story, epic Galactic Conquest, fun instant action, playable heroes and villains, good number of and nicely designed maps. This game is definitely better then theIn my opinion, Star Wars: Battlefront II was one of the 6th generations best shooters. The first Battlefront was very good but this game only takes that experience and make it even better. Improved mechanics, interesting campaign story, epic Galactic Conquest, fun instant action, playable heroes and villains, good number of and nicely designed maps. This game is definitely better then the 2015 reboot by miles. This game is a must have for Star Wars fans and well as fans of shooters. Expand
  14. Sep 13, 2012
    10
    this is best game I've ever played i can't tel u how good this game is it strategy , action , adventure . but if you are looking for a good graphic game this not the one , but otherwise it is excellent .
  15. Sep 19, 2011
    9
    Hmmmmm? The best Star Wars game and one of my favorite game. Star Wars BF II is very good fpp/tpp shooter, but better tpp. :) This game have very good single player with bots, but the best is split screen play with friend. Graphics in game is nice and gameplay is amazing! My rate is 9,5/10 and i advice this game.
  16. Jul 1, 2012
    10
    In some way's this feels worse than number one, but you can change the game to give number ones charms back, so lets bare that in mind. Star wars battlefront II is my favourite game of all time. If you look at my homepage you will see i'm hard guy to impress. This game fix's all of the firsts little issues such as the single player, oh the single player. Its actually brilliant, number oneIn some way's this feels worse than number one, but you can change the game to give number ones charms back, so lets bare that in mind. Star wars battlefront II is my favourite game of all time. If you look at my homepage you will see i'm hard guy to impress. This game fix's all of the firsts little issues such as the single player, oh the single player. Its actually brilliant, number one was only amazing in instant action and split-screen, but this is **** great. It covers all your favourite film moments and more. If you hate the 3rd person view, change to first-person as its equally amazing seeing all the gun in action. Galactic conquest has been refined and improved for a truly grand experience. But then you change to instant action, with either a friend or not, and... pure perfection. Battle's are hosted on the favourite planets and little touches as the actual life forms which live there trying to kill everyone is epic. You also can play as specific creatures such as the the terrific wampa and other legends. Have no doubt, this is epic. Expand
  17. Nov 6, 2015
    10
    This game was the definition of my childhood. It was truly one of the best, if not the best, games for the Playstation 2. Will the new 2015 game live up to it's predecessor? Who knows, but there's one thing we do know, it's Star Wars and it's awesome!
  18. PeterJ.
    Oct 30, 2005
    9
    A little disorientating at first even for the seasoned battlefront player, Battlefront 2 incorporates the best things from the original and then some. Firstly, you'll notice that the hud is different. Secondly, you;ll notice that the original maps (Hoth, Geonosis...) have actually been altered slightly. Also the Infantry and vehicles have been improved graphically. (AT-AT textures A little disorientating at first even for the seasoned battlefront player, Battlefront 2 incorporates the best things from the original and then some. Firstly, you'll notice that the hud is different. Secondly, you;ll notice that the original maps (Hoth, Geonosis...) have actually been altered slightly. Also the Infantry and vehicles have been improved graphically. (AT-AT textures are now far better than they were originally.) Ocassinally, when the battle gets ridiculously tense and there are explosions left right and centre there is a small amount of lag on the PS2, but not much at all. The space missions were an excellent addition, I especially love the screaming voice prompts inside your mother craft. Im too excited about this game to write a fuller review - basically, if you thought Battlefront couldnt get any better - think again. Battlefront 2 will simply blow you away. Can't wait til 31'st October? I got mine today! (30th october) at Choices. Collapse
  19. RonitM.
    Nov 3, 2005
    10
    Amazing. Not only are the jedi characters we've been waiting to use since the first battlefront playable, there are amazing space battles, and a variety of missions to keep gamers interested. A must have for star wars fans, this is the best star wars game for any platform ever!
  20. Beng.garfinkel
    Nov 8, 2005
    8
    This is game is great! It's just a little better than the first one though. I miss the cool feel and look of the first one, though. It wasn't complicated, just fun. Jedi are cool in this one, there's a sprint meter, you can choose the number of reinforcements, new maps are cool, but space battles are so-so offline. they're fun online though. I'd say this is better This is game is great! It's just a little better than the first one though. I miss the cool feel and look of the first one, though. It wasn't complicated, just fun. Jedi are cool in this one, there's a sprint meter, you can choose the number of reinforcements, new maps are cool, but space battles are so-so offline. they're fun online though. I'd say this is better than the first one but not by much. Expand
  21. VinnieP.
    Feb 2, 2006
    10
    This game is a great game! You can put the controller down once you start playing!
  22. BobaF.
    Jun 1, 2006
    10
    This is definately the best game i have ever played and when i say that i mean it! When i first heard about it i thought it be awesome and i wasnt dissapointed 1 bit.
  23. BigJoe
    Oct 7, 2009
    8
    This game improves greatly on the first, the graphics are better and the gameplay is improved as well with the space and jedi battles. I never really played multiplayer though. The Instant Action and the campaign were created well but the galactic Conquest was better in the first game. However, I do like the new planets and maps. The campaign in the first game had every level the sameThis game improves greatly on the first, the graphics are better and the gameplay is improved as well with the space and jedi battles. I never really played multiplayer though. The Instant Action and the campaign were created well but the galactic Conquest was better in the first game. However, I do like the new planets and maps. The campaign in the first game had every level the same thing, defeat all enemies. This game includes objectives like capture the flag and destroy a certain objective or defend a certain objective. Good work. Expand
  24. LeFarollP.
    Nov 1, 2005
    10
    Better than the first, nice improvment!
  25. LuciW.
    Nov 1, 2005
    10
    This game is so much bigger than the first and it has a Single Player experience!!! :) I haven't played much of it but its really Awesome so far.
  26. SumDood
    Nov 21, 2005
    9
    Yes we know its simliar to the first! OK fine but that still doesnt throw it in the bolier room. It is the most solid sequeal i have ever played. I dont even like the movies but the game is great. Buy this one folks!
  27. Mat
    Nov 2, 2005
    10
    Truly amazing.. The took the first instalment and made it better. BTW Play this in first person as it is sooooo much better.
  28. ZachM.
    Nov 8, 2005
    10
    Great Game. The graphics arnt the best, but all the other aspects of the game make up for that. i sick of hearing people writing that the space battles suck. Take my word for it when i say the space battles rock. Me and my brother have played space battles now for 1 week every free minute we get and am not nearly sick of the space battles. And, adding jedi to game you coundnt get a better Great Game. The graphics arnt the best, but all the other aspects of the game make up for that. i sick of hearing people writing that the space battles suck. Take my word for it when i say the space battles rock. Me and my brother have played space battles now for 1 week every free minute we get and am not nearly sick of the space battles. And, adding jedi to game you coundnt get a better mix. This game is one of the best of there for ps2. Take my word for it after playing, Rainbow six lockdown, and Conflict: Global Terror, and bringing both of them back after about two weeks of owning them. This is a fun and great game!! Expand
  29. KevK.
    Jan 18, 2006
    10
    This game is great and I don't care what any of you say. This is the best shooter I have ever played. I have played Halo 2 on my friends Xbox and from playing BFII so much I thought Halo 2 sucked. This game is the pinnacle of perfection. At least until/unless they make BFIII.
  30. LeoHernandez
    Jan 2, 2006
    9
    hey, yeah the game is a bit too similiar to the first one, but hey, SO WHAT? the first one was a great game, so why goin another path from such a great game. hey and online is not bad! haha, seth sorry to let you down but it is ur internet connection that affects it, not ther servers. also games aren about graphics, lol, never, they are about the gameplay, i rather have fun than eyecandy,hey, yeah the game is a bit too similiar to the first one, but hey, SO WHAT? the first one was a great game, so why goin another path from such a great game. hey and online is not bad! haha, seth sorry to let you down but it is ur internet connection that affects it, not ther servers. also games aren about graphics, lol, never, they are about the gameplay, i rather have fun than eyecandy, theres no argue with that. and they did fix a lot of things from the first one, like the facts there wasnt space battles, and starfighters were in maps that had foot ifhgting also, which as really cheap cuz it was impossible to take down a star fighter without another star fighter (ex. Naboo Plains!) also its got jedi, which are awesome if u know how to use them well, and hey the game its fun! even offline! its fun fun fun, doesnt get old. the things that made me unhappy is that now killing enemies is a it tougher, i thing the 1st one had smoother controls and crosshairs, but danm the lasers were so slow people could dodge them easily, not with the 2nd one, they go so fast that they are hard to dodge, but yeah, its also hard to shoot ur target, lol. well i give a 9 because of that controls part, but besides that, greast star wars game, best one there is so far, THIS GAME ROCKS, GO BUY IT IF YOU HAVEN'T. Expand

Awards & Rankings

#5 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2005
#13 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2005
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. PSM Magazine
    90
    Space battles can be overwhelming at first, but once you get used to them, it's pretty amazing. [Dec 2005, p.82]
  2. The signature piece of Battlefront II is the ship-to-ship combat... This element makes Battlefront II feel much more like the complete Star Wars experience. [Dec 2005, p.108]
  3. 80
    It captures the thrills of the original, and spices up a few areas while adding some new things. Unfortunately, space battles drag down the total package; but at least it's trying something different.