Metascore
62

Mixed or average reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 22
  2. Negative: 3 out of 22
  1. You can buy gear, place bets on games, get tattoos and haircuts, but when it comes to actually playing ball, the title fails to deliver.
  2. Pump up the difficulty, unlock more videos, and more players, create more characters; you can and will still have a lot of fun with Street Hoops after you start to catch on to its flaws.
  3. I found myself longing for more precise control over my players. [Sept 2002, p.150]
  4. Delivers on the street but stumbles on the hoops. [6 Sept 2002, p.89]
  5. With choppy play, no strategy, and an asinine betting system (bet on the most dunks and you'll win every time), Street Hoops is a tall guy paper doll simulator at best. "NBA Street" wins in a rout. [Sept 2002, p.81]
  6. A crummy engine, weak graphics and waaaay more style than substance leads to a highlight reel gimmick that only Daryl Dawkins could enjoy.
  7. 90
    Straddles the line between arcade and simulation nicely. Players move, look, and behave in a realistic fashion, but fatigue, substitutions, and playcalling don’t interrupt the fun.
  8. While its gameplay is neither perfect nor original, it is still fun to play nonetheless.
  9. If you are looking for an arcade basketball experience like no other, go for (the now greatest hit) NBA Street.
  10. Unlike EA's game ["NBA Street"], Street Hoops is ugly, shallow, and incredibly dull.
  11. 49
    The game's more successful at being "Virtua Barbie" for the urbanite than playing a mean game of basketball.
  12. Fails to grasp the raw intensity of a basketball street game or offer something that comes close to a challenge. Fans of basketball will be surely disappointed with this offering.
  13. A credible first effort, but it’s not enough to knock off NBA Street from its throne, gambling options aside.
  14. 67
    There's not enough basketball to keep you engaged as a gamer looking for a new hoops experience and far too much attention paid to an ill-conceived representation of what life is supposed to be like for playground all-stars.
  15. With its tongue-in-cheek take on street life, this consummate B-baller keeps it more real than most of today’s endorsement-whore NBA superstars.
  16. Only if more time was spent on the visuals and gameplay than adding in more shirts and shoes, this game could have dethroned the competition.
  17. 88
    I was pleased to see that it played well, and far surpassed my expectations.
  18. The problem is that you never get a sense of what you've won and lost. I'd like a betting ticket to help me remember my bets. [Sept 2002, p.118]
  19. The speed-impaired gameplay, a problem that hampered last year's version of "NBA Live," can lead to some considerable frustration. [Oct 2002, p.35]
  20. The AI is weak, scoring is plentiful on both sides of the ball, and there is little strategy involved. Enjoying the game is made even more difficult by sloppy controls.
  21. The problem is, while they were spending all this time building up the game off the court, throwing in pawn shops and underground side bets on games, they forgot to concentrate on the actual game of street ball itself...Fun is something that Street Hoops just seems to be lacking.
  22. It's replete with an array of entertaining modes, it suffers from average graphics and sorely unbalanced gameplay.
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 9 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. HaydenP.
    Nov 30, 2002
    10
    I think this game is awesome it looks real and the players play oustanding.
  2. WallyF.
    Nov 12, 2002
    10
    This game is off the hook! One of the best games I have ever played!
  3. S.R.
    Sep 27, 2002
    7
    Very good game but not without its problems. Does a good job of capturing street ballers and the whole essence of playing the blacktop. Very good game but not without its problems. Does a good job of capturing street ballers and the whole essence of playing the blacktop. What's more irritating than this game is this whole "its not NBA Street". I'm not sure what black top you play on but in mine the are guys name Half-man Half amazing, Speedy, and AO not Michael Jordan, Larry Bird or Karl Malone. Street Ball is totally different and once the public gets that then this wack comparison will end. Just because you see a highlight of Tracy McGrady up in Rucker doesn't mean he spends summer in NYC. Bottom line rent first then if you don't like it you didn't waste $50. Full Review »