Suikoden III PlayStation 2

  • Publisher: Konami
  • Release Date: Oct 24, 2002
User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 80 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 66 out of 80
  2. Negative: 4 out of 80
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. BarrettC.
    Jan 8, 2003
    10
    Wow!! This is one of the most developed story lines in RPGs ever! As the story progresses, you could choose bewteen 3 characters at first and then as the game goes on you can choose up to 6 characters! The characters spook with personality, which is absent in most games. The artwork is beautiful, the story is excellent, and is filled with mini games and a chance to build your own castle Wow!! This is one of the most developed story lines in RPGs ever! As the story progresses, you could choose bewteen 3 characters at first and then as the game goes on you can choose up to 6 characters! The characters spook with personality, which is absent in most games. The artwork is beautiful, the story is excellent, and is filled with mini games and a chance to build your own castle by recruiting the 108 stars. The battle system is okay, but I think they could have improved on it. There is also a lack of sound and music, but who cares? That isn't the point of the game. Because I have played both of the previous Sukidons, it shows that this Sukidon has evolved with technology and is one of the best RPG's for both the PS2 and PS1. I would recommend this game to ANYONE who loves intertwining story. This is definitely one of the best RPG's this year. Expand
  2. JoshH.
    Oct 3, 2007
    10
    It does something Final Fantasy X/12 never did: develops a ground-breaking plot over three different character perspectives.
  3. ChrisB.
    Dec 1, 2002
    10
    I think this game is a great and i suggest this game for evey that like role playing games.
  4. DanielL.
    Dec 4, 2002
    10
    I like the flamechampion.
  5. JohnR.
    Jul 24, 2003
    10
    The story is good.........i like it ...but some characters r just not good 2 look at..heheheh..but the game is cool.
  6. RickyN.
    Sep 30, 2004
    10
    This game is so awesome i like the graphics a whole lot better than 1 and 2 this just rocks i think this game is one of the top RPG Games.
  7. WalterN.
    Jan 3, 2007
    10
    Awesome game. Loved the intro and ending music. Wish it was linked to the previous Suikodens. Game play was also good. Love the use of Runes and the 108 stars.
  8. MarcP.
    Nov 7, 2002
    9
    Great Story, Great Character Design, Bad Camera issue, one hell of a masterpiece.
  9. Jeremy
    Oct 30, 2002
    10
    This game kicks all kinds of ass.
  10. AaronA.
    Jan 3, 2003
    10
    Wow... I had not played either of the previous two games in the Suikoden series, so I can't complain (like so many others) about the difference between the games, I can simply say that as a standalone game, this is brilliant. The graphics are smooth, but not complicated or realistic, and as others have mentioned, the music is only mediocre (though some of the pieces are beautiful, Wow... I had not played either of the previous two games in the Suikoden series, so I can't complain (like so many others) about the difference between the games, I can simply say that as a standalone game, this is brilliant. The graphics are smooth, but not complicated or realistic, and as others have mentioned, the music is only mediocre (though some of the pieces are beautiful, others simply do nothing for me), but neither of those aspects that stray from perfection (I can't bear to call them flaws, because they aren't really bad) take away from this experience at all, especially after you get used to them (even the camera angle problem). Suikoden III became my favorite game after only the first chapters of the 3 main characters, and has remained my favorite game for it's incredible story line, and realistic characters that you can't help but get attached to. The most impressive thing to me was the plot twists that occurred not only by drastic change in story line, but by a simple change of perspective. Each main character's point of view is different, and in some cases, opposite, and it creates a suspenseful and emotionally invoking plot that I have never been able to see in any other game at all. This game is very storyline-based. That's STORY LINE BASED (some have unusually thick skulls), so if you're the type that prefers to skip through all dialogue and gasp at battle graphics for an entire game, you WON'T like Suikoden III. However, if you like an intellectual story line that twists and distorts as each character lives through it, a thing I have been looking for indirectly for years, you will be very very happy that they made this game. I still can't get over, and it can't be expressed properly with words, how disturbingly human and realistic every element in this game is, making you face even your own beliefs and philosophies. The gameplay can be slowed down at times by elements such as soundless cut-scenes and in some cases, a prolonged objective you must carry out to move on, but it has never bothered me once, most likely because it's so very rare and insignificant that I almost didn't even mention it. The battle systems were a great deal of fun for me, except I didn't particularly like the party battles in which you have characters paired together instead of everyone separate. After I got used to it, however, it actually added to the gaming experience rather than taking away from it. The duel battles require you to read your enemy (literally, lol) and were great fun, as well as the group battles that involve tactical strategy, for a battling system that never gets boring, as it always changes. You can really customize your parties to your own specific needs, and each character can develop differently, exactly how you want them to. The one thing I was incredibly disappointed with were the cut-scenes. After seeing the opening anime-styled (brilliant and artful) cut-scene, I was expecting the same throughout the game and it just never happened. With the slight lack in gameplay graphics, it would have been a very refreshing and interesting way of portraying the story. This game had an incredible story line, wonderful interactive aspects, addictive and fun mini-games, large areas to explore, incredible story line, great battle systems, incredible story line, and incredible story line, but I feel it had a lot of potential that was not utilized, and it would have probably remained the best game for years and years in my book had that potential been completely fulfilled. Did I mention that the story line was incredible? Expand
  11. VidM.
    Feb 28, 2005
    8
    This game sports the finest character development and design of any game in the series. The art design is top-notch. The music, story, and graphical style are all lacking however. Lots of fun and a full eighty hours of gameplay to boot. While I do appreciate a good hour/dollar ratio for my games, SIII drags quite a bit. There tend to be sequences of intense action breaking up several This game sports the finest character development and design of any game in the series. The art design is top-notch. The music, story, and graphical style are all lacking however. Lots of fun and a full eighty hours of gameplay to boot. While I do appreciate a good hour/dollar ratio for my games, SIII drags quite a bit. There tend to be sequences of intense action breaking up several hours-long chunks of unnecessary fluff. Expand
  12. AnnaM.
    Jun 20, 2005
    10
    Rated 10 because it is the best in the Suikoden series (including IV). Also a 10 in relation to other RPG's out there. With the Trinity Sight System, it gives a whole new meaning to Plot and Character Development. I even wonder why other RPG's haven't caught on to it yet, its genius. Imagine you being able to play in 3 different environments. Aside from that the battle Rated 10 because it is the best in the Suikoden series (including IV). Also a 10 in relation to other RPG's out there. With the Trinity Sight System, it gives a whole new meaning to Plot and Character Development. I even wonder why other RPG's haven't caught on to it yet, its genius. Imagine you being able to play in 3 different environments. Aside from that the battle system is superb, as it allows for customization (hello 108 playable characters!) but at the same time, for those who are not into those things, you can still enjoy it with minimal customizations. An innovative and extremely enjoyable game. Adds depth to the series and has a tremendous amount of heart. An RPG fan will love it. Expand
  13. TylerR.
    Jul 1, 2005
    10
    I consider it to be the best in the series. One of the greatest and best-written plots, a huge and developed cast of characters, and a unique and beautiful graphics style. While it doesn't have the best music or battle system of the series, it's plot more than makes up for the "flaws." Anyone who loves a good story should definitely buy this game.
  14. H.T.
    Dec 23, 2002
    10
    This, along with Final Fantasy, is one of the best series created on console, the storylines are deep and thorough, and mesh and combine together throughout each, I look forward to future installments of both series.
  15. DustinS.
    Dec 5, 2002
    10
    Having played all the other suikodens i was expecting this game to be a story update and slight graphical update. I was wrong. This game is a breathtaking piece of art. The battle system is fresh and new, and the character design is great with a story that will drag you deep into it without the possibility of annoyance. People who like RPGs at all will adore this but people who oppose Having played all the other suikodens i was expecting this game to be a story update and slight graphical update. I was wrong. This game is a breathtaking piece of art. The battle system is fresh and new, and the character design is great with a story that will drag you deep into it without the possibility of annoyance. People who like RPGs at all will adore this but people who oppose storylines that are deep long and engrossing should go hide under a rock. Expand
  16. SDLAM
    Dec 8, 2002
    10
    This is a good game.
  17. TimD
    Jan 18, 2003
    10
    If I could give this games higher than a 10, I undoubtibly would...First I played Suikoden II(4 times actually), then suikoden I(Played that 3), and now, I on my second time thru Suikoden III. AND ITS THE BEST ONE SO FAR. The storyline is just plain phenonmenal.....It's so awesome I can't explain it...I'm one of the biggest Suikoden fans out there, when I got this game atIf I could give this games higher than a 10, I undoubtibly would...First I played Suikoden II(4 times actually), then suikoden I(Played that 3), and now, I on my second time thru Suikoden III. AND ITS THE BEST ONE SO FAR. The storyline is just plain phenonmenal.....It's so awesome I can't explain it...I'm one of the biggest Suikoden fans out there, when I got this game at christmas 2002, I couldn't stop playing it. I beat the game in 5 days. And now, on my second time playing it, I'm hitting chapter 4 and only been playing 2 days. Graphics are sweet! Music was fine to me, some people may not think so, but I think it was just fine. But, my favorite thing of all was the storyline...and the Trinity System. PS2 owners out there, if your looking for a good RPG, Get this one! I mean it! It's awesome! I want everyone to have the privlage of playing this, I can't explain how awesome it is RPG. AND YOU PEOPLE OUT THERE WHO SAYS THIS RPG SUCKS, WELL FUKK YOU!!! CAUSE YOU JUST SUCK AND YOUR WRONG! Ok..., all I'm trying to say to you all is that this is the most awesome, phenomenal, I don't know, RPG I've ever played. If you don't have it,
    GET IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Collapse
  18. TimmyM.
    Dec 16, 2002
    10
    This game rocks. The music isn't so great but that doesnt matter. This game kicks ass. There is so much re-play value. This, as other poeple would say is a masterpiece. And that fag who gave it a 1 is a piece of shit and doesn't kow rpg games at all!! Suikoden is the shit!
  19. YvesS.
    Dec 31, 2002
    8
    Great storyline, great characters. The battle system strayed too much from the first 2 suikoden games, and the magic system and war system weren't very good either. Hopefully if Suikoden IV ever comes out, it'll have the old battle system and a better war system.
  20. Oct 3, 2010
    10
    Extremely refreshing game in an era that was saturated with mediocre RPGs. This game stood up heads and shoulders over most of the other games of it's time.
  21. Mar 28, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It has not a lot of music and the graphics aren't the best, but the story is so good, that I couldn't stop playing. It is one of the best storylines that I ever saw! Expand
  22. Jul 28, 2013
    8
    One of best Suikoden games in the series. Not great like II, but best of the Ps2 and handhelds generations. Suikoden V has more overated because of the combat system. Suikoden III brings combat system in 6 party members, but is diferent from previous games, and have a slower flow. But this game really shines on plotline, one of best I ever seen. A must for Suikoden old series fans.
  23. Jan 11, 2016
    10
    Oh boy this is a great game with one the earliest yet most lively open worlds in gaming. The combat system is clean and simple to learn. Overall this game has it all for being released in 2002 and it still stands the test of time as I see myself playing it today.

Awards & Rankings

#24 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2002
#21 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2002
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. 90
    Improved in more ways than is physically possible to list.
  2. Official U.S. Playstation Magazine
    60
    The story is like a bag of bricks I had to heave along as I slogged my way forward...What a disappointment. [Dec 2002, p.172]
  3. Edge Magazine
    60
    Although Suikoden 3 is better than the average Japenese RPG, it's clear that with the move to 3D Konami has tried to freshen the formula. But by watering down the series' bastion gameplay elements it may have alienated all but the fanatics. [Sept 2003]