• Publisher: Namco
  • Release Date: Feb 24, 2005
User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 178 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 8 out of 178

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. BobStu
    Jan 2, 2009
    10
    For those of you who think it's hard maybe you should actually practice. This game is awesome and it was the best fighting game.10 right here.
  2. Jul 15, 2011
    8
    Effective fighter, and good gameplay is worth the play by new gamers that want fighter's. Great catalog of good fighters in it which is fine. The bad thing is that is to slow the scheme, and frustrating. Tekken is classic followed by tekken 3 , but tekken 5 fails to do dome stuff, but not in the big way.
  3. [Anonymous]
    Jan 29, 2006
    4
    Why can't the game be a little less frustrating for people like me who would actually like the easy mode to be...well, EASY! Isn't that the point. I'm about to punch the wall cause the main bad guy just won't die...and you can't save either until he dies, how ridiculas! Argh!
  4. WimB.
    Jul 8, 2005
    0
    It's the first game to bring tears to my eyes, and not in a possitive way, i mean it, this jinpachi guy when you try to attack him, it doesn't matter if your a 1000... times better than him he just flashed backwards and fires this giant ball and you're allmost dead, with roger jr. I tried to destroy him for 166 times in 3 days and every time I was better, but he flashes backIt's the first game to bring tears to my eyes, and not in a possitive way, i mean it, this jinpachi guy when you try to attack him, it doesn't matter if your a 1000... times better than him he just flashed backwards and fires this giant ball and you're allmost dead, with roger jr. I tried to destroy him for 166 times in 3 days and every time I was better, but he flashes back again, in the end i was really crying! and it was just easy mode! this is rubbish. Expand
  5. felix
    Jul 17, 2008
    6
    i totally loved tekken 4. Great graphics, stages.. seemed like tekken had jumped off ps and was actually taken place in the real world! The voice pronounced the battles was atmospheric, stages totally 3D where not only most objects were crushing, but floor had stairs and players feet where covered in water in the jungle stage. Players bodies were realistic-not too many muscles and the i totally loved tekken 4. Great graphics, stages.. seemed like tekken had jumped off ps and was actually taken place in the real world! The voice pronounced the battles was atmospheric, stages totally 3D where not only most objects were crushing, but floor had stairs and players feet where covered in water in the jungle stage. Players bodies were realistic-not too many muscles and the game's intro was dark and mysterious.. i had to buy tekken 5 back then! but when i played it i was really disappointed! (outraged i should say) the hole game was looking aged..the stages, the graphics, the players.. what went wrong?? it supposed it was a sequel! it had to be be better than the previous. i know it has a lot of players, but i consider quality first. Maybe the creators had in mind to made it suitable for psp also, and that's cheating. So..10 for tekken4 but 6 for tekken5 by me Expand
  6. JoeY.
    Dec 23, 2005
    6
    Sub-par fighting game. DOA Ultimate looks better and has online play. Even Mortal Kombat has online play.
  7. Bernie
    Jul 31, 2005
    2
    WOT THE F**K IS UP WITH THE FINAL BOSS!!! HOW HARD CAN U GET!!! and i am on easy. all he does is blast you with a big fireball & ur dead!! apart from tht gd game.
  8. Apr 30, 2012
    4
    wtf am i seeing!?!?!? intro star fox intro movie fatal frame. graphics looks like star fox/ even tekken 2 is better. Tekken 2 3 and 6 are the best why did they ever make this
  9. KenT.
    Jun 22, 2005
    10
    Nina, Asuka, and Anna are the most lusty babes i've ever seen in a Video Game....... Until now i stil find Nina as dangerous as ever and Asuka as a very hot teenage babe...harrrrrrrrrr... anyway, the game still rocks as ever and the music has been changed since T4(thank god for that), if you want a very good fighting game the Tekken 5 is the one for you!!!!!!!!!
  10. RenjithR.
    Jan 22, 2005
    10
    It's superb.
  11. ChrisJ.
    Oct 2, 2005
    9
    Tekken 5 is altimately one of the finest namco games ever produced to date. The graphics are smooth, the story lines have improved, humour has been brought into it and new features are available. This is what tekken is renown for but one thing bugs me with this game. I like the way it the attacks are faster but for a long time craftsman tekken user who studies certain tekken moves to beat Tekken 5 is altimately one of the finest namco games ever produced to date. The graphics are smooth, the story lines have improved, humour has been brought into it and new features are available. This is what tekken is renown for but one thing bugs me with this game. I like the way it the attacks are faster but for a long time craftsman tekken user who studies certain tekken moves to beat the computer and my friends, this has now made the game easier for 'beginners' but harder for 'masters' of tekken. Though, there are no glitches in this game (which i heavily applaude), I have to say it is also VERY annoying not being able to play with Jinapchi! The music and general atmosphere of the game has improved with Tekken 5. After all Tekken 4 was a definate flop because of its draining, depressing music. Though no music can beat Tekken Tag Tournament which unarguably drew all players to addiction. I will DEFINITELY buy tekken 6 if that comes out and i am very happy with this result. Expand
  12. Blackheart
    Feb 4, 2005
    10
    The tekken of tekken series. It combines most of the tekken's in one if i may say the BEST tekken game ever. Why? 1.new players 2.advanced property (including jump property) 3.excelent stages 4. New modes and maybe just maybe tag system in konzole version.
  13. BradyY.
    Mar 10, 2005
    10
    Awesome, Better then the rest as always. Tekken 5 carries on the tradtion of being the best fighting game out there!!! Keep em' coming.
  14. Edwin
    Mar 1, 2005
    10
    This is the best tekken ever!!!! watch out evolution!!
  15. JamesH.
    Mar 6, 2005
    10
    Best fighter on ps2 !!!!!
  16. JoelS.
    Apr 20, 2005
    10
    A great game indeed. This game in my opinion is so in depth that it puts other fighting games to shame. I am currently mastering Lee Chaolan and I am still impressed at all the moves I can perform with him (great indeed since in Tekken 2 he is just acarbon copy of Law with some changes here and there) and how deep as a character he has become. With impressive juggles and wall game I found A great game indeed. This game in my opinion is so in depth that it puts other fighting games to shame. I am currently mastering Lee Chaolan and I am still impressed at all the moves I can perform with him (great indeed since in Tekken 2 he is just acarbon copy of Law with some changes here and there) and how deep as a character he has become. With impressive juggles and wall game I found Lee a powerful dangerous character in the right hand. But Lee isn't the only character who rocks. Paul, Nina, Heichachi, Jin, Asuka, Raven... all these characters in the right hand are deadly (Nina and Paul are apparently the deadliest however with Nina being the most deadly of the two) And the movie sequqneces are breathtaking to say the least. I really can't go on blabbering how great a game this is. Expand
  17. JonL.
    Apr 4, 2005
    10
    The best Tekken game yet!
  18. MaganY.
    Jan 6, 2006
    10
    I'm overwhelmed, I'd never thought that Tekken as a series was usually low on the extras and this time there is and this is the best game of the series yet, no question Play this game!
  19. Niveche
    Jul 3, 2006
    10
    What a bunch of whiners!!! not easy enough - cmon the easy setting is TOO easy - and i am by no means a tekken lord! its a great game - teh franchise inevitably tried newer formulae but this one goes back to teh real reason why this game played so well - the brilliant arcade style fighting - Soul Calibur is brilliant but Tekken is Tekken - perhaps weapons fighting is too complicated so What a bunch of whiners!!! not easy enough - cmon the easy setting is TOO easy - and i am by no means a tekken lord! its a great game - teh franchise inevitably tried newer formulae but this one goes back to teh real reason why this game played so well - the brilliant arcade style fighting - Soul Calibur is brilliant but Tekken is Tekken - perhaps weapons fighting is too complicated so Tekken rules in ARCADE hand combat - for complete fighting simulation play Virtua Figher and you know the TRUE meaning of a hard game. Tekken 5 rock. can wait for the PSP version so I can never be without my Tekken. Expand
  20. FaisalA.
    Dec 8, 2004
    10
    This game is amazing with new and improved graphics and way better gameplay than any of the other tekken titles.
  21. AndrewS.
    Mar 4, 2005
    10
    Tekken 5 ..... Need I say more!!!
  22. BismarkPrince
    Mar 8, 2005
    10
    One of da best games in town now.
  23. SidneyY.
    Apr 19, 2005
    9
    Should have included tekken force or at least make all characters playable in Devil Within.
  24. Andreas
    Aug 10, 2005
    10
    Tekken 5 is the best game in the series. Almost every Tekken character is included. (32 in all) Exellent graphics, sound, and fantastic gameplay action! Perfect arcade versions of Tekken 1-2-3 is also included on the disc. PS: Gamers complain about how hard the final boss Jinpachi are, but he can be easely beaten with low-kicks. Just press down and O repeatly, and he is down after Tekken 5 is the best game in the series. Almost every Tekken character is included. (32 in all) Exellent graphics, sound, and fantastic gameplay action! Perfect arcade versions of Tekken 1-2-3 is also included on the disc. PS: Gamers complain about how hard the final boss Jinpachi are, but he can be easely beaten with low-kicks. Just press down and O repeatly, and he is down after two/three rounds... Expand
  25. MichaelL.
    Jul 21, 2006
    9
    Smoothgame play, huge variety of fighting styles and near limitless potential for developing your own fighting style witha charecter. Also, the juggling has been improved.
  26. RingoS.
    Feb 11, 2007
    10
    Love it, best Tekken I ever played, sometimes if I'm tired I get frustrated when I lose, and Jinpachi isn't so hard at all, if you have a few skills.
  27. TimF.
    Feb 7, 2007
    9
    While Tekken 4 was somewhat disappointing, Tekken 5 delivers. If you're a fighting game fan, Tekken 5 is a must!
  28. ElTazar
    Apr 26, 2007
    9
    Dis game iz da best,nd dnt suk man,Jinpachi can be beaten perfect if u use Heihachi's hammer to Iron Hand,but I also prefer if it had Tekken 4's Tekken force,nd Jinpachi cn git u even if u sidestep,sometyms he shoots this series of shots which cums until he getz u! Itz ol kul thoh,the tougher da game,da beta,adawyz it wudnt b da best fighting game,it wnt ofa a challenge
  29. JackK
    Dec 1, 2009
    7
    Though it has a great variety of characters, a nice little way of looking back on Tekken history and some amazingly crisp graphics, the things which holds it back is the secondary side quest, the extremely hard boss and the absolutely abysmal intro music. I unfortunately give this game a seven, keeping
  30. DavidP.
    Nov 18, 2005
    10
    Brilliant game with excellent graphics i would recommend it to all!! u cant get much better
  31. XRA
    Oct 26, 2005
    10
    Everything is good in this game.. Graphics, moves, sound.. Nothing to complain about. And if you think jinpachi is too hard then that just shows you are a sucky player who dont know how to sidestep!
  32. LingX.
    Feb 23, 2005
    10
    Man they brought the hard sidestep back, i hate that because sidestepping's easy in T4 in arcade. but hell, it includes tekken 1-3, i'd get that. oh and it sucks when you can't move before "fight!" in battle. This has got to be the best tekken.
  33. AB
    Mar 16, 2005
    10
    After buying the mediocre Tekken 4 I was afraid to buy Tekken 5. But after thinking for a long time I finally picked it up. I'm glad I did as this game kicks ass. There is only one problem: why do you have to use the D-pad? It would be great to at least have a choice for analog control. But that is a minor gripe because it still controls flawlessly. Tekken 5 is easily the second-best After buying the mediocre Tekken 4 I was afraid to buy Tekken 5. But after thinking for a long time I finally picked it up. I'm glad I did as this game kicks ass. There is only one problem: why do you have to use the D-pad? It would be great to at least have a choice for analog control. But that is a minor gripe because it still controls flawlessly. Tekken 5 is easily the second-best fighting game this generation (after Soul Calibur II for GameCube, which has Link and it's not easy to beat that). Expand
  34. MarcD.
    Mar 26, 2005
    9
    One of the pioneers of the 3D fighter, this series still packs an amazing punch. The latest installment looks beautiful and plays really tight. Still, I've always felt that the origial Soul Calibur defined the perfect fighting game. Let's wait for Soul Calibur 3 shall we?
  35. AndyM.
    Apr 15, 2005
    9
    Must be the next best fighting game out but i thuink there is a better game out that is why i oniy give it a nine.
  36. PedroB.
    Apr 25, 2005
    10
    What can i say about Tekken 5? IT'S AMAZING! The game's playability is what we expected, like the other tekkens, intuitive and fun, the 'specials' don't require a game bible on your lap to be performed and the speed ... heck this tekken is speedy, not as fast as Soul Calibur 2 but i think they wanted it to be :p The soudtrack is also a plus, it makes you really What can i say about Tekken 5? IT'S AMAZING! The game's playability is what we expected, like the other tekkens, intuitive and fun, the 'specials' don't require a game bible on your lap to be performed and the speed ... heck this tekken is speedy, not as fast as Soul Calibur 2 but i think they wanted it to be :p The soudtrack is also a plus, it makes you really wanna kick the other guys butt.. it's like the feeling in Tekken 2, when the music started you were in fighting heaven. The xtras are the best addiction, if you don't know the Tekken Saga, this way you'll know what you've been missing. Devil Within is also good, but i'd rather play Tekken Force... So with all things said ... there isn't a fighting game to ever be a threat to Tekken 5 ... unless Namco launches Soul Calibur 3 (~drool~) Collapse
  37. AstemirE.
    Apr 27, 2005
    10
    I like the characters.
  38. Conrad
    Jul 18, 2005
    5
    This game has the worst final boss I have ever seen. He has absolutley no skill and relies on cheating to win. They could have just left the final boss out and it would have been a great game.
  39. JimmiA.
    Jul 27, 2005
    8
    Very good fighting game, almost in same class as Virtua Fighter 4 Evo. If you like fighting games this is a must to the collection. The graphic is good indeed, the character is a lot and different. In the bad side is the characters and the fighting system is not the same balances like in Virtua Fighter 4 Evo.
  40. BonbonA.
    Aug 3, 2005
    8
    Well. Even that the final boss it's *very* hard (I was on the *easy* mode, still, the final boss blow me away, and I have to try until the 13th times.. N you can't get him anyway, unless with the help of Mr. GameShark..), this game is awesome. It contains new features, such as desaining your favourite character by buying accesories from the money you get after a battle. I just Well. Even that the final boss it's *very* hard (I was on the *easy* mode, still, the final boss blow me away, and I have to try until the 13th times.. N you can't get him anyway, unless with the help of Mr. GameShark..), this game is awesome. It contains new features, such as desaining your favourite character by buying accesories from the money you get after a battle. I just hope that Namco will make the final boss for Tekken 7 lot of *easier*. Expand
  41. Tekkenpro!!
    Aug 9, 2005
    9
    bob bon, bernie and win b. y dont you learn how to play the game. personally i think it's not that hard to beat jinpachi... this is the second best tekken game in it's franchise...
  42. Dave
    Jun 18, 2006
    5
    This game is too difficult and frustrating, at least for the single player. The 'easy' difficulty level on this game is like 'hard' on other fighting games. You need to memorise loads of complicated combo moves - which are all different for each character. Also the boss at the end on the story mode is very cheap - he can blast fire at you from the other side of the This game is too difficult and frustrating, at least for the single player. The 'easy' difficulty level on this game is like 'hard' on other fighting games. You need to memorise loads of complicated combo moves - which are all different for each character. Also the boss at the end on the story mode is very cheap - he can blast fire at you from the other side of the screen and take most of your health in one hit. Yes that's Namco's idea of an 'easy' mode obviously. It's like putting a heavyweight boxer in with a featherweight - an unfair one-sided contest. I play games to relax and have fun, not to be frustrated. Expand
  43. PeterH.
    Jul 24, 2006
    9
    This is a brilliant game. i miss tekken force and the new "devil within" mode is very lacking in moves and you can only play as jin. the only other problem is jinpachi, with most characters he is quite easy to beat if you can dodge his fireballs however i find that he seems to be at least twice as hard as the other characters. I dont think this game is too hard... when i got tekken 4 i This is a brilliant game. i miss tekken force and the new "devil within" mode is very lacking in moves and you can only play as jin. the only other problem is jinpachi, with most characters he is quite easy to beat if you can dodge his fireballs however i find that he seems to be at least twice as hard as the other characters. I dont think this game is too hard... when i got tekken 4 i completed it in a day and barely ever played it again, with tekken 5 ive had it for about a month and i am most of the way through. Expand
  44. kyuudmc
    Dec 18, 2008
    10
    The second best fighting game of all time! this game kicks major S! the only problem is that the characters need to get a little more balanced ... Nina and Steve are a bit overpowered! anyway Namco already solved this problem in Tekken 5:DR which is the very best fighting game EVER ;P
  45. NinaWillams
    Dec 24, 2004
    10
    If you dont like this game you hate fighting games.
  46. GenaroEddie
    Jul 27, 2004
    10
    Best tekken game yet, great graphics, great story, great everything.
  47. UnknownChampion
    Feb 23, 2005
    10
    It's the best
  48. Matt
    Feb 28, 2005
    10
    I love this game. The new characters are awesome and are well balanced. Also, the graphics are incredible, im amazed this is on the PS2. Also, arcade ports of Tekken 1,2, and 3 are on here. If you like fighting games at all, this is a must buy.
  49. DaveV.
    Mar 14, 2005
    7
    After playing Soul Calibur II, it seems there is no going back to Tekken??? Tekken 5 is quite disappointing to be honest. Loved Tekken4, but I suppose after playing SCII, Tekken5 just doesn't cut it. It's an exercise in frustration, and the moves almost seem less intuitive. The standard button combinations now seem to render a simple punch or kick; it's like they After playing Soul Calibur II, it seems there is no going back to Tekken??? Tekken 5 is quite disappointing to be honest. Loved Tekken4, but I suppose after playing SCII, Tekken5 just doesn't cut it. It's an exercise in frustration, and the moves almost seem less intuitive. The standard button combinations now seem to render a simple punch or kick; it's like they overcomplicated the access to the advanced moves. Still need to play more to make a final decision but first impression is quite thumbs down. Expand
  50. Chimp
    Mar 28, 2005
    10
    The best fighting game ever made. I was dissapointed in Tekken 4, it had about 12 characters or so. tekken 5 has more than 20. The story mode is good as always, and there is a new version of tekken force, but the best new mode is the whole customization/ranking scheme. GENIUS. also, this one disc carries alot. it has the arcade versions of tekken 1, 2 and 3! you can play these with other The best fighting game ever made. I was dissapointed in Tekken 4, it had about 12 characters or so. tekken 5 has more than 20. The story mode is good as always, and there is a new version of tekken force, but the best new mode is the whole customization/ranking scheme. GENIUS. also, this one disc carries alot. it has the arcade versions of tekken 1, 2 and 3! you can play these with other people and all characters are already unlocked! Basically, this game has GREAT value and amazing replayability. Expand
  51. TheBigmac
    Mar 31, 2005
    10
    The tekken series has achieved perfection. If you have never played tekken, Grab this one and find out why the tekken series is considered the top of fighting games. If yu have played tekken, You'll enjoy this game in a way you have no idea. They didn't change or remove any of the previous moves for the characters. Instead, they added a ton of new moves, intuitively integrated The tekken series has achieved perfection. If you have never played tekken, Grab this one and find out why the tekken series is considered the top of fighting games. If yu have played tekken, You'll enjoy this game in a way you have no idea. They didn't change or remove any of the previous moves for the characters. Instead, they added a ton of new moves, intuitively integrated to the old ones. It's amaing. You perform an old move, and istintively you perform an extra combintion after the old move, And it comes out a brand new move, that you have never seen before, but when you pushed the buttons after the old move, is exactly the kind of move you were expecting. How did they did this? No idea. The music is perfect (you'll fell like fighting in the matrix), the graphics are the best i've seen on ps2, and the enviroments are breathtaking. Personally I liked tekken 4 when it came out, but was a, little dissapointed. But with this one Namco rocked the world. This game is...... PERFECT. Expand
  52. CloudStrife
    Apr 18, 2005
    5
    I dont like the game at all. I think that 3 is much better!
  53. JYo
    Feb 17, 2006
    8
    definitely a good game, but they could have done more, why dont they bring back the tag matches?
  54. StreetF.
    Mar 25, 2006
    8
    Pretty good, but Jinpachi is pretty unreasonable. If youre trying to beat him with some of the slower characters side-steping his cheat fireball is somewhat impossible. Otherwise this game was nice.
  55. BobsU.
    Mar 13, 2007
    10
    This is without a doubt the best fighing game to date. DOA is slow and lagg like nothing ive seen in a fighting game, no way could you compear it with Tekken 5. SC2 is awesome, but its not quite the same as Tekken, SC@ just has something missing thats all. 10 for me.
  56. NadiaD.
    Aug 16, 2007
    8
    Tekken5 is so much fun one day i was sitting around playing it for the whole day ! some of the oufits are inappropiate for young children though and the boss at the end is impossible to beat with some characters mostly ling xaiyou ! i get so fustrated.
  57. Mkfan786
    Sep 19, 2008
    10
    When they make games, this is how they should be. This game was perfect. So much content in here including tekken 1, 2 and 3!
  58. Deuce
    Nov 19, 2006
    7
    Uhm geat graphics, good environments, hits sound like they brek bones,fluid movements with the exception of some characters.....now for the bad...tekken 5's AI on arcade mode in the higher ranks is a nightmare u cant wake up from. your AI opponents will be able to know wut move ur doing about 5 milliseconds after u press the damn button(human players cant possibly do this). grappling Uhm geat graphics, good environments, hits sound like they brek bones,fluid movements with the exception of some characters.....now for the bad...tekken 5's AI on arcade mode in the higher ranks is a nightmare u cant wake up from. your AI opponents will be able to know wut move ur doing about 5 milliseconds after u press the damn button(human players cant possibly do this). grappling is rendered useless at the higher ranks and side stepping doesnt seem to work as moves follow u during their animations. the cpu players will block n dodge your stylish combos but for some reason they wont be able to learn how to block the simplest moves (jins "corpse thrust")....and the boss...besides killer instinct's eyedol he has to be thee cheapest boss ever(i lost a controller while playing him)...i play on ultra hard because i cant tell the difference from easy mode...id buy this one when its $19.99 Expand
  59. AntonY.
    Dec 24, 2006
    10
    This game is great, man! I've been a Tekken fan since I was 7 and Tekken 3 came out. Tekken 4 was sucking but Tekken 5 is awesome. Only lack is no online play. Tekken Lords are to easy to beat,I beat them all with king and paul and its to EASY. But otherwise the game IS GREAT! One of the reasons I am getting a PS3 for Tekken 6. VS friends is fun if they are good because get tired, This game is great, man! I've been a Tekken fan since I was 7 and Tekken 3 came out. Tekken 4 was sucking but Tekken 5 is awesome. Only lack is no online play. Tekken Lords are to easy to beat,I beat them all with king and paul and its to EASY. But otherwise the game IS GREAT! One of the reasons I am getting a PS3 for Tekken 6. VS friends is fun if they are good because get tired, you know of beating up noobs. Expand
  60. Apr 23, 2011
    8
    It's not the best of the series, but Tekken 5 still offers refined gameplay and some great new features. Pros: Beautiful graphics; stunning level design; variety of fantastic characters; a lot of extras, including Tekken 1-3. Cons: Lacks the innovation its competitors are shrouded in; sluggish adventure mode; no online play.
  61. Feb 26, 2013
    9
    The best fighting game to date. For me it tops even Tekken 3. Great graphics, smooth animations, many characters and the gameplay is superb. Tops every other fighting game.
  62. Jul 14, 2012
    9
    Well, that's a great fighting game for PS2. The visuals are amazing considering the platform, animations are very good and the combo system is awesome too. Gameplay is harder than its predecessors and that is a great thing, considering they were a little bit easy for hardcore gamers. Another great point of this game is that Tekken, Tekken 2 and Tekken 3 arcade modes are available forWell, that's a great fighting game for PS2. The visuals are amazing considering the platform, animations are very good and the combo system is awesome too. Gameplay is harder than its predecessors and that is a great thing, considering they were a little bit easy for hardcore gamers. Another great point of this game is that Tekken, Tekken 2 and Tekken 3 arcade modes are available for playing, that's good for remembering the old times. Unfortunately there's no online mode, but Tekken 5 is a great game where Namco willed it to be. Expand
  63. Apr 4, 2012
    9
    A good fighting game realized by Namco Bandai, who have crafted a good story mode for each character succeeded, more than 25 characters, versions
    Tekken 1-3 and a good mission with Jin Kozama.
  64. May 7, 2012
    10
    The LAST best Tekken game including Dark Resurrection. Hands down everyone. This game went back into its original roots and played similar like Tekken 3. Its soundtrack was also outstanding but not as good as Tekken 3. This game had the most bonus's ever in the franchise. A Devil Within mode, Tekken, Tekken 2 and Tekken 3. Their was also an old shooting game where your in a spacecraft butThe LAST best Tekken game including Dark Resurrection. Hands down everyone. This game went back into its original roots and played similar like Tekken 3. Its soundtrack was also outstanding but not as good as Tekken 3. This game had the most bonus's ever in the franchise. A Devil Within mode, Tekken, Tekken 2 and Tekken 3. Their was also an old shooting game where your in a spacecraft but I forget its name. So its got the bonus's/re-play value completely covered. Story is good and goes into cut scenes involving the fighter your playing. This is the last best Tekken game before it all went downhill. Funny because ever since Tekken went mulitplatform it went downhill. Hopefully they return exclusive to the PlayStation brand. Expand
  65. Jan 1, 2014
    8
    Tekken 5 I consider worthy farewell to the PS2. Slightly improved graphics compared to its predecessor and a lot of interesting characters. To combat system I just can attach a little because not entirely satisfied me. There were a few things that could be improved but they were trifles. Story is pointless but has anyone ever seen a fight game with a good storyline? Tekken 5 is one of theTekken 5 I consider worthy farewell to the PS2. Slightly improved graphics compared to its predecessor and a lot of interesting characters. To combat system I just can attach a little because not entirely satisfied me. There were a few things that could be improved but they were trifles. Story is pointless but has anyone ever seen a fight game with a good storyline? Tekken 5 is one of the "must have" for the PS2. Expand
  66. Aug 19, 2013
    9
    the best tekken ever with amazing visuals and so many characters to choose from it is just amazing the only bad thing about this game is the final boss he is so cheap and so difficult even on the easier difficulties but still the best tekken ever
  67. ERB
    Jul 31, 2013
    9
    Obviously one of the best fighting games you will ever play.Characters are awesome and action and arcade mode are the best.I mean when you beat your enemy you got too see how you beat him with slow motion effects.They should do that in other fighting games too.
  68. Jun 2, 2013
    10
    Why people want easy bosses? Jinpachi is what it was meant to be, a BOSS. Difficult, frustrating, but is the gratest boss on Tekken, and it's even playable on TTT2.
  69. Sep 1, 2013
    9
    This game is a master of fighting genre. If not all, the most of the characters are very interesting and if you decide to master one of them it will take a lot of your time and you'll be happy for that. Arenas are good and music is something from nothing, but if you want to fight in a more serious style, turn it off (I did it for a while). The most important you have to know is that youThis game is a master of fighting genre. If not all, the most of the characters are very interesting and if you decide to master one of them it will take a lot of your time and you'll be happy for that. Arenas are good and music is something from nothing, but if you want to fight in a more serious style, turn it off (I did it for a while). The most important you have to know is that you have to be patient, because the game demands patient players or gamers, who have patience and will be very skillful. Namco didn't create TEKKEN for it to be played from everyone. No, Namco made this game to make fans and it actually worked. Expand
  70. Feb 23, 2014
    9
    This game is really good. I'm not a big fan of fighting games but this one gave me a lot of great fun with (and without) friends. Awesome for VS. mode and really enjoyable for single.
  71. May 18, 2015
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I do not have to say anything. But i need to write one hundred and fifty characters. i think my score can describe it................................. Expand
  72. May 2, 2015
    9
    While some of the extra modes aren't as strong as they could have been, the core fighting is nearly perfect, whether you're playing against other humans or computer-controlled opposition.
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 62 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 62 out of 62
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 62
  3. Negative: 0 out of 62
  1. 90
    From a purely technical standpoint, the frame-rate is rock solid, and the lighting effects are lavish as well, and while not as polished, overall, as the technical achievements of "Dead or Alive Ultimate," come a close second. Matching the visual largesse is a comprehensive features list that does for PS2 what "Dead or Alive Ultimate" did for Xbox.
  2. Fans of the arcade version of Tekken 5 will be happy to see a near flawless port of the game, complete with all of the customization aspects of the arcade game. In addition, you'll find your standard fighting game modes of play, plus an in-depth practice mode, and all three original Tekken arcade titles. Hands down, this is one of the best fighting games available for the PS2.
  3. While some of the extra modes aren't as strong as they could have been, the core fighting is nearly perfect, whether you're playing against other humans or computer-controlled opposition.