Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 19
  2. Negative: 2 out of 19
  1. The real problem is - aside from the lack of speed - the awful handling and controls. It doesn’t feel like a motorbike and actually controls like a normal player character, in that you accelerate by pushing forwards with the left stick, and control direction with the right.
  2. It’s fun for awhile and if you can stand the never ending loading screen sequence, you should have a good time.
  3. TGE effectively mixes a variety of gameplay, from manning a turret in a dogfight over Europe to sneaking through POW camps Solid Snake-style to Steve McQueen's daring cross-country bike escape. [Sept 2003, p.93]
  4. The game suffers from many faults that turn what could have been an excellent game of stealth into a game that is sometimes very frustrating to play.
  5. It looks and plays (especially in the first "go and get this" section) like a cheap "Hitman 2." [Sept 2003, p.109]
  6. 63
    A chance to slap James Garner silly would have been a really nice touch. [Aug 2003, p.32]
  7. May be fun for die-hard fans of the film, but if you're just looking for a good action game, or even a good World War II action game, you could do better.
  8. Obviously, MGM and the McQueen family gave their approval, but whether you enjoy it will depend on your love of the genre and your tolerance for mediocrity.
  9. The AI isn't very good in most games but in this game it's pathetic.
  10. The drab pacing isn’t helped by clunky controls and muddy graphics.
  11. The enemy AI seems to be a mixture of wunderbar and dumkopf - they frequently rumble you when you're convinced you're well concealed, yet sometimes you can swing a punch at them from one foot away and they totally ignore you.
  12. Control was my biggest issue throughout the game. If the interface was fine tuned a bit and made a little easier to use, The Great Escape could have been a blast to play.
  13. A lack of depth and dodgy pacing. [Oct 2003, p.40]
  14. Rather than feeling like a mastermind escapologist, your actual role resembles that of an errand boy collecting the pieces of a pre-scripted plan. Yet while nothing here really shines, the overall package is solid enough to counter our gripes. [Oct 2003, p.114]
  15. 50
    Feels unfinished and thrown together.
  16. It was the mission objectives that put fear in my heart. Many are downright illogical to the point where I could only figure out what to do by screwing up over and over. [Oct 2003, p.142]
  17. The motivation that drives the movie is life - staying alive. Should the game have adopted a one-life-only policy, meaning that if you're killed it's game over, it would immediately result in more tension.
  18. A severely flawed game. Yet somewhere - hidden underneath a terrible combat system, weird AI and an untrustworthy camera - there lies the frail skeleton of a good stealth game.
  19. his game makes a mockery out of both its source material and the stealth genre it pretends to be a part of.
User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 19 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 10
  2. Negative: 2 out of 10
  1. JesseJ.
    Apr 23, 2005
    0
    The only thing I wanted to escape from is this game and the horrible lack of control. Not to mention the AI was laughable. no challange at all.
  2. TyC.
    Feb 23, 2004
    6
    I'm more of the type of person who likes a runnin, guns blazin, shoot-em-up game, so this game didn't do much for me. It was still I'm more of the type of person who likes a runnin, guns blazin, shoot-em-up game, so this game didn't do much for me. It was still entertaining, though. I didn't follow the storyline completely, but I guess it is OK. It's rentable. But I still feel that they didn't use weapons, or vehicles enough. Needs more explosions!!! Full Review »
  3. AndrewJ.
    Jan 31, 2004
    8
    I'm surprised this got bad reviews because I enjoyed it a lot. It was a million times better than "Prisoner of War".