Metascore
38

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 21
  2. Negative: 14 out of 21
Buy On
  1. Cheat Code Central
    70
    I'm not saying this game will replace "Tony Hawk 4," but I found it a heckuva lot more engaging and fun than "THPS3."
  2. 60
    Enough depth in its skate tour of Springfield to satisfy most fans of the show.
  3. GameNow
    58
    You're better off going with the pro. [Jan 2003, p.52]
  4. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    50
    Jumping has the buoyancy of Homer after a big box of glazed doughnuts. [Jan 2003, p.176]
  5. If you’re a fan of The Simpsons (who isn’t?) it’s likely that after the initial appeal wears off you’ll be left with a game that’s better served as a coffee-coaster.
  6. Yes, it’s half-amusing to see Marge do a 360 with her beehive do for, oh, about 10 seconds, but really, let’s just keep the skateboarding to experts like Bart and Tony Hawk.
  7. Play Magazine
    50
    Overall, the Code Monkeys have done EA proud. [Dec 2002, p.84]
  8. Worst of all is the control system. It may be understandable that the most difficult combos will only ever be pulled off by a genius (or accidentally by an epileptic), but even the simple commands prove sluggish.
  9. netjak
    46
    Nothing could have prepared me for the sheer boredom and frustration that is Simpsons Skateboarding. Being the rabid Simpsons fan that I am, I feel cheated by Electronic Arts for putting out this slapped-together load of garbage.
  10. There’s nothing in Skateboarding's control, look, sound or execution that comes even remotely close to looking like the game was made with PlayStation 2 technology in mind.
  11. Control is brutal in this game, forcing players to grit their teeth and redo each maneuver multiple times before it registers correctly.
  12. The game itself is executed poorly enough that neither fans of the cartoon nor fans of action sports games will want to have anything to do with it.
  13. It’s sluggish and unresponsive and absolutely riddled with annoying bugs that should have been detected early in the production process.
  14. The controls are done well but the lack of speed really kills.
  15. If you’re looking for "Tony Hawk Pro Skater" for a much younger crowd or really love the show, Simpsons Skateboarding will surely disappoint.
  16. Official U.S. Playstation Magazine
    30
    The gameplay is just short of completely unredeemable. [Jan 2003, p.132]
  17. 25
    Not fun, and not funny. Thus, this game fails on both levels.
  18. Let's not beat about the bush and get straight to the obvious: Simpsons Skateboarding is diabolical... a cash-in in the purest sense of the term.
  19. 18
    If you like The Simpsons and love skateboarding, you'll still hate this awful game... One of the worst games of 2002.
  20. Game Informer
    10
    This may very well be the worst PS2 game on the market... The outcome is nothing short of a resounding d'oh! [Dec 2002, p.123]
  21. The gameplay is absolutely atrocious. Imagine a game where you can’t turn around without fighting the controller, where jumping is completley inaccurate, and the only way to finish the game is completing controller functions that will quite literally have you hating yourself for picking up this title in the first place.

Awards & Rankings

#48 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2002
User Score
5.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 26 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 16
  2. Negative: 9 out of 16
  1. Apr 30, 2012
    0
    Since the game bucket has run dry for me, and I'm still waiting for a new PCU after BF3 blew it up with the new hardware, I thought I'd takeSince the game bucket has run dry for me, and I'm still waiting for a new PCU after BF3 blew it up with the new hardware, I thought I'd take out my anger on some childhood PS2 titles. Hit n' Run was a very good game, even now; so exactly what was going through this developer's heads when they decided to make TSS I'll never know. I don't even feel like going over it; it seems like they took a rejected Hit n Run level (I'm aware of the release date), added 1 or 2 rails and then repackaged it as a full game. Rather than rant on about how bad it is, just take my advice and avoid TSS at all costs (unless you want to use it as an example for how NOT to make a game, which is what I'll do when I'm using UDK). Full Review »
  2. Mar 24, 2012
    4
    Clunky, awkward and not fun to play at all. The bar for skateboarding games was set very high by the THPS series and The SimpsonsClunky, awkward and not fun to play at all. The bar for skateboarding games was set very high by the THPS series and The Simpsons Skateboarding doesn't even come close. Full Review »
  3. Jul 21, 2016
    3
    Simpsons skateboarding? Were at THAT point we have to be so unoriginal and bland. The gameplay is clunky and the graphics are UGLY. TheSimpsons skateboarding? Were at THAT point we have to be so unoriginal and bland. The gameplay is clunky and the graphics are UGLY. The controls are meh and the sound effects and music is mediocre. Full Review »