User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 35 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 35
  2. Negative: 4 out of 35

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ArdeliaR.
    Jan 6, 2004
    10
    This is a really kool game and they are much better than the first originally one I LOVE IT!!!
  2. TonyaJ.
    Apr 22, 2005
    10
    I love the Sims, and I started this game cheerful and intent on unlocking everything (which I have). I finished after starting over a second time (I was eaten by a mutant plant and killed in a fire in my bedroom.) I finished after with a husband and three of my four kids sent to prep school, and I came to understand the "Sim Speak." If you like Sim games, you'll love this game, and I love the Sims, and I started this game cheerful and intent on unlocking everything (which I have). I finished after starting over a second time (I was eaten by a mutant plant and killed in a fire in my bedroom.) I finished after with a husband and three of my four kids sent to prep school, and I came to understand the "Sim Speak." If you like Sim games, you'll love this game, and if is the first Sim game you've played, pick up a strategy guide. Expand
  3. SamanthaL.
    Nov 19, 2004
    10
    The origanal game was crap!Im adicted to the game.the graphics are better and theres more to every thing like social or clothes and decorations.
  4. KutD.
    Sep 5, 2005
    10
    It is a brilliant game it is one of the best ive played although it would be even better if you could make the blurry bits go away.
  5. TomomiM.
    Dec 19, 2003
    10
    With this much improvement to the original game, it is one of the best sequels out there.
  6. JennaS.
    Jan 6, 2008
    9
    I loved everything about this game. I have completed every goal and played through every scenerio and spent countless hours playing and having a blast. The only reason for rating it a 9 instead of a 10 is because they discontinued online play. :( I wanted to try that so badly and the game box still says it's available but then when you try to connect it won't so we searched I loved everything about this game. I have completed every goal and played through every scenerio and spent countless hours playing and having a blast. The only reason for rating it a 9 instead of a 10 is because they discontinued online play. :( I wanted to try that so badly and the game box still says it's available but then when you try to connect it won't so we searched online and found out it was discontinued years ago. Major Bummer. But other than that, it's my favorite edition of SIMS of all time! Instead of just trying to keep them alive and happy which gets old, fast, I LOVED having actual goals to work towards in order to unlock the next level. Kept the game interesting!! :) Expand
  7. FonzoB.
    Dec 17, 2003
    9
    Its kool. They done a lot of improvement.
  8. Nov 6, 2011
    9
    Fun. That's the word that can describe this game. As a kid, I absolutely astounded from being able to move from place to place. If your looking for something fun and simple with a little bit of crude humor, Bustin' Out is what you should pickup.
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. 7 / 9 / 8 / 8 - 32 gold [Vol 788; 23 Jan 2004]
  2. 80
    Of the three, only the PS2 version seems prone to annoying split-second jitters and pauses that break up the animation.
  3. The reason that I liked this edition of The Sims, in particular, is that the missions move along quicker than the real world or past versions of the game have offered. [Jan 2004, p.130]