The SpongeBob SquarePants Movie PlayStation 2

The SpongeBob SquarePants Movie Image
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 5 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 63 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Join hosts SpongeBob SquarePants and Patrick Star as they take kids through an amazing new gameplay experience. The PlayStation2 EyeToy allows players to literally jump inside the videogame, where they must use their own body movements to control the action in 11 different mini-games. AllJoin hosts SpongeBob SquarePants and Patrick Star as they take kids through an amazing new gameplay experience. The PlayStation2 EyeToy allows players to literally jump inside the videogame, where they must use their own body movements to control the action in 11 different mini-games. All the mini-games are based on popular Nickelodeon TV shows including SpongeBob SquarePants, The Fairly OddParents, Jimmy Neutron Boy Genius, Rocket Power and Danny Phantom (brand new show!), along with special cameo appearances from other Nicktoons. [THQ] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. The games are solid, responsive, and, most important of all, fun; but their similarities to previous titles holds it back.
  2. An excellent EyeToy title. It uses the technology in a very creative manner, even if the gameplay itself isn’t all that involved. As a party game, it is ideal as watching a few of your friends wave their hands crazily in the air is just a sight to behold.
  3. Cheat Code Central
    80
    Almost the perfect party game. Up to eight kids can take part in it. Unfortunately only one at a time can play and that's why I say "almost" perfect.
  4. The quality of the 13 varied games is uneven, and most have little depth, but some of Spongebob's amusing EyeToy challenges are as fun as Sony's excellent "Play 2."
  5. Official U.S. Playstation Magazine
    60
    Provides precious little depth, but as a way of getting the kids up out of their seats, the collection works nearly as well. [Jan 2005, p.106]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. RyanA.
    Dec 27, 2004
    10
    This is the best game ever but i cant find cheats if any one nows were i can find chaets email me. raa9@comcast.net.
  2. Aug 4, 2016
    10
    This game is the best SpongeBob game and the best platform game out for the PS2! There's just so much to do and go but never gets annoying orThis game is the best SpongeBob game and the best platform game out for the PS2! There's just so much to do and go but never gets annoying or frustrating. You can ride the Patty wagon, collect Goofy Goober tokens, earn fab combos, play as SpongeBob & Patrick, Go tongue boarding, Earn rewards, and so much more!!! This game is a must have for all SpongeBob fans and even if you're not really a fan of SpongeBob but love platform games, this game is still for you! Best PS2 Platform game ever!!! Expand
  3. Nov 16, 2013
    10
    Slightly inferior to Battle For Bikini Bottom but nevertheless a great game and one of my all-time favourites. Special recognition to theSlightly inferior to Battle For Bikini Bottom but nevertheless a great game and one of my all-time favourites. Special recognition to the music (this applies to BFBB as well) Expand
  4. DougK.
    Feb 9, 2005
    9
    It's a good game but its hard and you need to get goofy foober tokens un able to beat the game. But i still think its a good game.
  5. Sep 29, 2016
    8
    This game is really good! Its a nice platformer. You shouldnt have a bad time with this game.

    PROS Level Up System, Graphics, Funny
    This game is really good! Its a nice platformer. You shouldnt have a bad time with this game.

    PROS
    Level Up System,
    Graphics,
    Funny Quotes from the Characters, Using actual voice actors.
    Great Platforming and Stages,
    Fun Vehicle Segments,
    Lots of Bonus Content to Unlock,
    Many Bonus Challenges to test how well you do at Platforming.
    You can just teleport to any level or segment you want at will.

    CONS
    Stuff is recycled from Battle for Bikini Bottom,
    Voice Clips are Reused alot,
    Final Stage is VERY VERY VERY Challenging, I don't think kids could beat it.
    The game really wants you to keep beating extra missions to continue. And can get very aggravating.
    Some cutscenes are strangely just still frames one by one.
    Enemies can be annoying at times.
    You can get stuck at certain spots in the trench levels.
    Expand
  6. Dec 27, 2014
    8
    The greatest Spongebob game ever made. I've never had so much fun with a game based on this franchise. The platforming parts are challengingThe greatest Spongebob game ever made. I've never had so much fun with a game based on this franchise. The platforming parts are challenging but rewarding, the level designs are detailed and varied, and the gameplay itself... perfect. You jump a lot, kill enemies and solve puzzles in the normal platforming stages. you slide down tall slopes really fast in "bathtub slide" levels and race against the clock in the "patty wagon race" levels. Mixing all this together makes for a varied and exciting experience. There's several missions on every level (just like in Super Mario 64) and you unlock a bunch of special content (art, sound, videos and costumes) by just playing the game.

    This is what every Spongebob game should be like: a game enjoyed by both kids and adults.
    Expand
  7. PatrickS.
    Nov 17, 2004
    6
    I'm gonna agree with Game Informer : this is the best spongebob game evr, but it just isn't good at all. i love that its so ( too?)I'm gonna agree with Game Informer : this is the best spongebob game evr, but it just isn't good at all. i love that its so ( too?) easy and that you can do way more stuff than the last SBSP game. Collapse

See all 29 User Reviews