Tokyo Xtreme Racer 3 PlayStation 2

  • Publisher: Crave
  • Release Date: Nov 18, 2003
Metascore
63

Mixed or average reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 15
  2. Negative: 3 out of 15
Buy On
  1. This is the best yet in the series. The addition of licensed cars, more rivals and highways, and a few new gameplay twists make this one fine racer.
  2. If you enjoy an interesting “battle” approach to racing and tweaking your car to the Nth degree then I encourage you to really dig for this title and add it to your permanent PS2 library. Don’t let the cheap price fool you.
  3. If you liked the previous games in the franchise, leap on this one. All others, approach with caution.
  4. 75
    Offers a unique racing format and getting to keep track of your defeated rivals definitely adds an addictive "gotta catch 'em all" quality to the thing. The negatives -- questionable driving physics and some less than state-of-the-art graphics -- are easily outweighed by all the game has going for it.
  5. 72
    The racing game is fun, but at best a diversion from other titles that are already out there, like "NFS:UG," that cover similar ground with better attention to the game.
  6. The driving physics, though, do leave something to be desired. No matter what tire configuration you put on the car, it still has a tendency to slide a bit.
  7. Game Informer
    68
    Much like your first car, this is a game that has that pre-owned smell all over it. [Jan 2004, p.133]
  8. The new addition of roads from Nagoya and Osaka doesn't change the fact that, even as a budget title, TXR3 doesn't stand up to the other games in the genre.
  9. The best game in the series. It offers more road, more opponents and more customization options than any of the TXRs that came before it, but with gameplay that’s hardly budged since the series’ inception and graphics and sound that are merely passing.
  10. Time for everyone involved with this series to either evolve or move on, and leave TXR 3 for the flat-broke and/or uneducated casual gamer that doesn't know any better. Worth a shot (preferably as a rental) if you’ve never played a "TXR" game before this one.
  11. PSM Magazine
    50
    Next to "Midnight Club 2," TRX3 looks dated and downright boring. [Jan 2004, p.48]
  12. Essentially the same game that was put out for Dreamcast. The graphics might be better, the sound certainly isn't, but the gameplay is in tact and sprinkling of a lame story about street racing leaves much to be desired.
  13. Official U.S. Playstation Magazine
    40
    All the features added to Genki's long running game of after-dark street racing are cursory at best and cosmetic at worst. [Jan 2004, p.130]
  14. 40
    The core idea is worth further development, but leave this import in the garage while repairs are being made.
  15. The graphics are horribly bland, the freeways never end, and apparently all of Tokyo's traffic is represented by a single yellow van. [Feb 2004, p.91]

Awards & Rankings

#68 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2003
#78 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2003
User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 23 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 19
  2. Negative: 1 out of 19
  1. Jun 23, 2015
    4
    This game is an empty experience. While the graphics are okay and the physics are quite good, its too boring. The gameplay consists of ridingThis game is an empty experience. While the graphics are okay and the physics are quite good, its too boring. The gameplay consists of riding an empty highway and flashing other cars for a duel over and over. It is not hard to beat rivals. There is no car damage. There is not really any way to lose the game. Running into the side-rails emits no sparks. Wangan is a better game series and so is NFS: Underground of course. The soundtrack sounds energetic until you realize the riffs are similar to White Zombie. You shouldn't spend any time with this one on PS2. Full Review »
  2. AnonymousMC
    Mar 27, 2009
    9
    This game was first i eva had and OMG i ws surprised by the detail of the car tuning and settings. if your a major gear head lik me then youThis game was first i eva had and OMG i ws surprised by the detail of the car tuning and settings. if your a major gear head lik me then you will like this game. the customization is unbeilivable as well. the price and the quaility maybe a little bit low by its alota bang for your buck if your into cars. give it ashot you might like it as much as me lol Full Review »
  3. [Anonymous]
    Mar 5, 2004
    10
    They must be on crack, I like this game better then UG. More realistic, more customizations and settings, more cars. Im not trying to dawg UG They must be on crack, I like this game better then UG. More realistic, more customizations and settings, more cars. Im not trying to dawg UG it is a very good game, but its just sorda boring now after beating it 2 times and I had this game for a shorter time and enjoy it more the UG. Full Review »