• Publisher: Ubisoft
  • Release Date: Dec 1, 2002
  • Also On: PC
User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 21 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 21
  2. Negative: 1 out of 21

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. GrantF.
    Aug 1, 2003
    6
    I thought this game was well put together but overall a bit of a let down. The game looks lovely in terms of detail and it's nice to have the ability to command your troops however, I found it very easy and very short. The only reason I bought this game was on the strength of Splinter Cell, which I was very impressed with, and while attention to detail was similar the missions were I thought this game was well put together but overall a bit of a let down. The game looks lovely in terms of detail and it's nice to have the ability to command your troops however, I found it very easy and very short. The only reason I bought this game was on the strength of Splinter Cell, which I was very impressed with, and while attention to detail was similar the missions were in GR where too easy and very very short. Expand
  2. JAKEJ.
    Jan 7, 2005
    10
    This game is da bomb yo. Most people compare the game to stuff like medal of honor and stuff like that but its totally a different genera.
  3. AnonymousMC
    Apr 1, 2003
    9
    Comparing this game to other 1st person shooters like Red Faction2 or Timesplitter's 2 is insane. This is a REALISTIC MILITARY 1ps. If that's what your looking for, search no more. This game is tight. The best feature is the mission co-op mode. Play with a buddy, it rules! The worst thing about it is that the co-op mode will not be unlocked until it's been beaten onComparing this game to other 1st person shooters like Red Faction2 or Timesplitter's 2 is insane. This is a REALISTIC MILITARY 1ps. If that's what your looking for, search no more. This game is tight. The best feature is the mission co-op mode. Play with a buddy, it rules! The worst thing about it is that the co-op mode will not be unlocked until it's been beaten on single player mode. Don't worry though, you can find cheats on the net to unlock it right away. Expand
  4. SergiG.
    May 3, 2003
    10
    This game rocks. Espeicialy multiplayer. And any Tom Clancy game is fun.
  5. GaryM.
    Jun 1, 2003
    10
    Well I've only had it for 3 days but so far its wicked! Birlliant multiplayer 22 levels and go around with a sniper rifle shootin people who least suspect it is fun fun fun!!!! And its not just going around a field, there are street levels, boat yard missions (well at least one, as i say ive only had it for 2 days and am on the second mission!)
  6. ElChuyD.
    Jan 8, 2003
    6
    The reason why i gave it a 6 is because after playing SOCOM it kind of sucked. What i liked about it is that two players can team up to beat the bad guys or face each other. but i you're planning on playing by yourself better get SOCOM US NAVY SEALS. (Badass game)
  7. PatrickC.
    Apr 26, 2003
    9
    Booyaa!!! Dis game is 'eavy. nuff said mofo.
  8. SeymoreButts
    Jul 10, 2003
    9
    First of all Tom Clancy games are meant to be realistic. Ghost Recon requires you to plan, use cover and stealth, and control of you weapon. This game just isn't the run and gun shooters like Red Faction. If you get hit in the head your dead. Sometimes you can take a few rounds before kickin the bucket. The gear and weaponry is all realistic which is a plus for all us gun nutts out First of all Tom Clancy games are meant to be realistic. Ghost Recon requires you to plan, use cover and stealth, and control of you weapon. This game just isn't the run and gun shooters like Red Faction. If you get hit in the head your dead. Sometimes you can take a few rounds before kickin the bucket. The gear and weaponry is all realistic which is a plus for all us gun nutts out there. The controls are easy to get use to. The graphics are great for ps2. The whole idea of this game is realism. It's great to see the tracers fly back and forth during intense firefights, and seeing your teamate with a m249saw mowing down the tangnos. I love the fact you can use mounted .50 cals, m136 anti-tank rockets, and gernade launchers. This game rocks and anyone who says it doesn't probably smokes crack... Expand
  9. MikeH.
    Jan 16, 2005
    9
    Yeah but how the h@ll do you kill the tank on level three.!!!
  10. [Anonymous]
    Dec 17, 2002
    8
    It is not that bad a game.The XBOX Live makes it better.
  11. LukeK.
    Dec 24, 2002
    10
    I'm giving it a 10, cause it was sweet on every system. Maybe ps2 users don't like it cause you can't randomly beat women or there's no hentia to jack off too. and PSX nation comparing a Tactical Shooter to regular shooters like timesplitters 2 or red faction 2 is a sorry waste of time, all except the shoot part is different. Realism is the key to all of tom clancy I'm giving it a 10, cause it was sweet on every system. Maybe ps2 users don't like it cause you can't randomly beat women or there's no hentia to jack off too. and PSX nation comparing a Tactical Shooter to regular shooters like timesplitters 2 or red faction 2 is a sorry waste of time, all except the shoot part is different. Realism is the key to all of tom clancy games. Time splitters 2 looks like a cartoon and Red Faction 2 is only cause wholes appear in the wall with you shoot it. Collapse
  12. RyanM.
    Dec 29, 2002
    7
    Yes, this game has problems, and yes, I have a problem with it saying "GAME OF THE YEAR!" on the box. Who said that? Okay, it's not bad, as I said, it does have problems, and you'd be better off playing "Timesplitters 2" or "Halo", but people, not all games are perfect!
  13. DuaneD.
    Mar 21, 2003
    10
    This is the coolest game since Red Faction. The graphix are kickin
  14. TelM.
    Jul 31, 2003
    10
    Compared to previous Clancy games like rainbow six and so on, there are much more advancments to this game, more weapon optoins, more comand options and simply better missions, not like the kind where you have to sneak through an entire level without being seen, "nearly impossible" , This game just like previous Clancy games is a winner, and shouldn't be compared to games that lack patience.
  15. ChrisC.
    Dec 21, 2006
    9
    This is an awesome tactical game. (I wouldn't call it a shooter as only about 2/10 of the time is actually engaged in shooting conflict, the rest is planning and manouvering). The team controls are slightly clumsy, making it occasionally hard or impossible to control the two teams to do what you want.
  16. MattB.
    Dec 26, 2002
    9
    Comparing the PC version to the PS2 or XBox version is so lame. If those buyers already have it on the PC why would they get the same game for their console? Think about it idiots. It's a translation. Is it fun if you never played it on the PC. uhh... YEAH! It's a good game. Ponderous controls? Whatever. Just because you have fat fingers doesn't mean a game is hard to Comparing the PC version to the PS2 or XBox version is so lame. If those buyers already have it on the PC why would they get the same game for their console? Think about it idiots. It's a translation. Is it fun if you never played it on the PC. uhh... YEAH! It's a good game. Ponderous controls? Whatever. Just because you have fat fingers doesn't mean a game is hard to control. I had it down in 10 minutes. If you like FPS games on the PS2 then get this game it rocks. Expand
Metascore
63

Mixed or average reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 18
  2. Negative: 1 out of 18
  1. A ghost of its former self.
  2. In every respect besides multiplayer, Clancy’s Ghosts eliminate those damn pansy SEALs across the board.
  3. 61
    Dumbing a game down for consoles is one thing, but it's another thing entirely to give the player so many advantages that the game is no longer fun.