Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell PlayStation 2

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 101 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 70 out of 101
  2. Negative: 14 out of 101
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Airbonicsam
    Jun 10, 2004
    6
    The overall game is not too bad. But and its a Very big But, there are a few bugs that take this game one shelf lower than MGS2. i.e. the Guard A.I can be Ridiculous. They can walk straight up to you and not see you. They will Spot you and fire at you for a while but if you hide for a bit he will "eventually forget" that he was about to be killed and continue on his patrol. I personaly The overall game is not too bad. But and its a Very big But, there are a few bugs that take this game one shelf lower than MGS2. i.e. the Guard A.I can be Ridiculous. They can walk straight up to you and not see you. They will Spot you and fire at you for a while but if you hide for a bit he will "eventually forget" that he was about to be killed and continue on his patrol. I personaly feel that this factor brings the game down alot. However the game does have its up moments. The story Fluid and the Backgrounds are whole and polished. Overall this is a game that people will play but will not remember...not as much as a certain other stealth Jewel. Expand
  2. ChrisB.
    Apr 17, 2003
    10
    Excellent game. It follows in the stealthy, quiet, sneaking footsteps of such great games as Thief: The Dark Project and System Shock 2. I gave it a 10 to make up for the idiot who gave it a 0 who obviously doesnt know anything about games.
  3. [Anonymous]
    Apr 3, 2003
    9
    Very good game, the range of moves the character can to is great, and theres something very fun about getting some little scroat to give you information then knocking him out. The enemy can be really stupid sometimes though, like one guard who was no more than six feet in front of me, just staring vacantly at this strange darkly clothed man in a shadowy corner (thats me by the way :)... Very good game, the range of moves the character can to is great, and theres something very fun about getting some little scroat to give you information then knocking him out. The enemy can be really stupid sometimes though, like one guard who was no more than six feet in front of me, just staring vacantly at this strange darkly clothed man in a shadowy corner (thats me by the way :)... And that was on the highest skill level. That's a pretty minor flaw though so 9/10 is what I give it. Expand
  4. BradleyF.
    May 3, 2003
    10
    The only bad thing about this game is the camera and even after a while you get used to it.
  5. MG
    May 7, 2003
    7
    This game is too easy! How many guys can you sneek up on and put in a headlock? It gets real boring. I wish there was more freedom throughout the levels. Every level has a specific path drawn out for you. I'd like to see alternate shortcuts, passage ways. I want to be able to repell off all the buildings. I think I repelled like four times the hole game. Splinter Cell is a cool game,This game is too easy! How many guys can you sneek up on and put in a headlock? It gets real boring. I wish there was more freedom throughout the levels. Every level has a specific path drawn out for you. I'd like to see alternate shortcuts, passage ways. I want to be able to repell off all the buildings. I think I repelled like four times the hole game. Splinter Cell is a cool game, but it gets real old, real quick. Expand
  6. GarrethO.
    Aug 20, 2003
    3
    This Game is average at best, The main character is stolen from a certain Solid snake, the graphics are shoddy even with the lighting effects, the game controlls like a dead bear and there's no storyline or sense of tension. The Enemy AI is very simplistic even though you have the lighting sensor thing (That by the way was on spiderman so it's not that ground breaking) If you This Game is average at best, The main character is stolen from a certain Solid snake, the graphics are shoddy even with the lighting effects, the game controlls like a dead bear and there's no storyline or sense of tension. The Enemy AI is very simplistic even though you have the lighting sensor thing (That by the way was on spiderman so it's not that ground breaking) If you come near a guard he'll see you and you get a slight change in the music. The guy will run at you with a gun...so what? As for the great array of moves at fisher's command, the splits jump is just about usefull in 2 part of the game and apart from that he can jump like an old man and punch people in the neck (even when they're sat down and he's stood up, it looks bizzare). When Fisher dies he just flops on the ground like a puppet with his strings cut, not that you care because the guy has no real character or depth to him. You have to press about 9 buttons to shoot too, you can't run and shoot at the same time because the game is geared soley towards stealth rather than fighting when we all know that you need both to make a really memorable game. There's no balance, if you get spotted, you're screwed there's no way to run off because he runs like a penguin after an enema. Oh and the guns suck. Apart from that the gadgets are a nice touch I guess. Collapse
  7. IanA.
    May 11, 2004
    10
    it seems to me like everybody who gave this game a bad rating did to kiss snakes butt however I love almost everything about it the only thing I have had problems with are that some of the levels have restrictions on wether or not you can kill poeple and some dont give much ammo so it cuts into the kombat experience however I figure that since there are levels with plenty of ammo and that it seems to me like everybody who gave this game a bad rating did to kiss snakes butt however I love almost everything about it the only thing I have had problems with are that some of the levels have restrictions on wether or not you can kill poeple and some dont give much ammo so it cuts into the kombat experience however I figure that since there are levels with plenty of ammo and that the restrictions make it abit more challenging (which I like) that it is more than made up for Expand
  8. SamS.
    Jul 22, 2004
    9
    Amazing visuals, but the best thing about this game is the controls and gameplay. While The Sequel Pandora Tommorow is better in every way, that does not mean that this game stinks. Enemy AI is horrible though, but this still should be called "Doesn't matter what it's called get to a store and buy this game now! Steal it if you have to but get it you fool!"
  9. AlexC.
    Apr 2, 2003
    10
    Good.
  10. Xelitexdesecrator
    May 1, 2003
    10
    This is by far the best first person shooter game I've ever seen. The control, graphics, story, everything is great. It's a breath of fresh air in a fog of horrible money-maker games.
  11. DanielD.
    May 13, 2003
    10
    What a mint game is so good.
  12. BanditG.
    May 16, 2003
    10
    Beyond Perfect.
  13. JoshL.
    May 21, 2003
    1
    This game sucks. there needs to be more blood and guts.
  14. DanG.
    May 6, 2003
    9
    Very cool stealth action game. I reccomend it to anyone who likes realistic action.
  15. Pavil
    May 7, 2003
    9
    Incredible attention to detail and "easy to use" controls make this game a keeper.
  16. BrandonS.
    Jun 4, 2003
    10
    This is my favorite game besides Enter The Matrix.
  17. JackM.
    Jul 25, 2003
    9
    This game is great, some of the missions r hard though, even on the easy diffuculty, i aint completed it yet, cause im stuck and its a hard mission, the graphics r pretty phat as well, i like this game probably one of my best ones.
  18. Jeff
    Aug 7, 2003
    8
    Compared to most everything out there, this is a great game. But don't believe ALL the hype. While the lighting effects and some other graphics are truly mind-blowing, the collision detection is not flawless, and Mr. Fisher floats above stairs and other inclines. Figuring out how to sneak into various locations is fun... but replay value? Nope.
  19. RafaelS.
    Feb 2, 2004
    10
    One of the Best Games in PS2.
  20. NickT.
    Jan 8, 2008
    10
    Can we say, "amazing game?" this game changed stealth games forever!! probably not for people who only like action. it takes some patience. it's a great game!!
  21. M.G.
    Apr 11, 2003
    7
    The worst part is that you can stand directly in front of somone in a doorway and not be seen. I'm only on the 3rd level and I feel there should be more freedom throughout the level. There's only one path to travel to complete the different stages. I wish I could kick and punch as well instead of just elbowing. I hope the next few levels get better. I think SOCOM spoiled me.
  22. BillG.
    Apr 12, 2003
    0
    This game is rubbish for 1 its to hard 3 shots and your dead and even the so-called lighting effects are fake its crap.
  23. GilesP.
    Apr 14, 2003
    8
    This is a very good game, the only real problem is the no. of bullets.
  24. JuanR.
    Apr 22, 2003
    10
    I think this is one of the best stealth games made for this or any console. Right up there with MGS:2. Bill G. is a moron and doesn't know a good game when its right in his face.
  25. JordanC.
    Apr 24, 2003
    10
    The best Game ever made!
  26. GazzerM.
    Apr 27, 2003
    9
    Not bad, other than the first 45 mins are just running around via training missions, but still better than mgs2. If i was you i would buy this if i hadn't already got it, or rent it at least. Definitely worth a look
  27. Ads
    May 12, 2003
    0
    10 thumbs down THIS SUX u cant reload without waistin shots.
  28. BarryC.
    May 1, 2003
    9
    Better Than MGS2 in some ways. (none of the marathon cut scenes)
  29. JeffP.
    May 14, 2003
    8
    Good, not great game. some new concepts (for all i know...don't play a ton of games) such as the extensive use of light and shadow and having to hide bodies. i liked the story a lot. overall, the game was a little too easy and too linear. however, i am getting a kick out of playing the game again after winning it once and trying to use all my gadgets instead of relying on knockingGood, not great game. some new concepts (for all i know...don't play a ton of games) such as the extensive use of light and shadow and having to hide bodies. i liked the story a lot. overall, the game was a little too easy and too linear. however, i am getting a kick out of playing the game again after winning it once and trying to use all my gadgets instead of relying on knocking everyone out or blasting them away. Expand
  30. JohnP.
    May 6, 2003
    10
    AWESOME!!!

Awards & Rankings

#20 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2003
#30 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2003
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. 92
    Where the PS2 version really shines is in the control department. The controls become almost second nature after only a few minutes of running around.
  2. Good game, Good graphics. Not as good as "Metal Gear Solid 2." Not enough content. Kind of short.
  3. Superior to the Xbox version in every way... Massively enjoyable yet enormously painful, Splinter Cell is a serious game whose brilliant realism should shake up a few complacent gamers. [PS2 MAX]