User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 75 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 53 out of 75
  2. Negative: 12 out of 75

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 26, 2010
    8
    People have started to lose interest in Tomb Raider in the last few years but once you play Legend, you'll soon be back into it again. The seventh instalment in the series that started way back in 1996 by Core Design, now in the hands of Crystal Dynamics brings you a new adventure that is finally worth playing and you don't need to worry about any flaws that suffered in the last instalment, Angel of Darkness. Lara Croft is searching for lost clues and to cover the truth what happened to her mother and her old friend Amanda. You are looking for the missing parts of Excalibur which are scattered in different countries around the world. There are also bronze, silver and gold relics to find that are hidden in every level, the more you find, the greater your rewards will be and you hear that classic old secret chime (from the old PS1 games) every time you find one. Most of Lara's actions are the same as before which includes, walking, jumping, sprinting and climbing, however you can perform some really cool gymnastic movements too. You can swing round a pole, jump from wall to wall and ledge to ledge when you're climbing up those really high walls and my personal favourite you can swing over those really big gaps with your zip line. There are some new weapons to carry as well (including the old automatic pistols - you remember those don't you) but you can't carry as many as you could in the PS1 games which is a shame but maybe this is to make it more realistic. I mean you couldn't possible carry up to 8 weapons and fit them in your backpack could you? One of my favourite action moves (that is new in the game) is the slow motion movies (a bit like from The Matrix), that take place during combat or when avoiding traps and falls, a bit like from The Matrix. Graphically the game has improved dramatically and I was really impressed at what these people have done, they definatly deserve some credit for bringing Tomb Raider back from the dead. There is sharper detail, better lighting and shiny surfaces. Some of the level designs are beautiful, especially the Bolivia one where you can see rocks and mountains from thousands of kilometres away. The water effects are great too, you can see the splash and movement of the waves perfectly. The only problems with the game is puzzles aren't as challenging as before, camera angles are a pain sometimes depending on where you stand and the game itself is short. Once you've completed it, you will be able to finish it again in a couple of hours. However Tomb Raider: Legend for me is of the best action/adventures we have seen on the PS2 for a while. Expand
  2. Mar 18, 2011
    10
    This game is awesome I bought it from Gamestop for $5 and was totally surprised it's great it's kind of like prince of persia mixed with uncharted except you play as a hot chick instead of some dude with a beard.
  3. Aug 23, 2011
    8
    Lara Croft had always been one of the most iconic characters in my eyes. I grew up playing 1-3 repeatedly on my Playstation. Only recently did I begin playing games on my PS2 that came out a while back. Although I'm late I can honestly say this new Lara is amazing! Its a really fresh revival to the series. It's definitely different but it does feel like an original TR game
    . The scenery
    was beautiful (even on the PS2) and the puzzles were interesting. Its a very friendly game to newcomers and it's, overall, not difficult at all. The game takes around 9 hours to beat, going at a solid pace . This may seem short but after the game is completed you can revisit each level to find hidden artifacts and complete time trials to unlock certain things like outfits or upgraded pistols.

    This game is definitely a great addition to your collection and a great way to kick off the new Tomb Raider Trilogy.
    Expand
  4. Sep 17, 2011
    6
    This is a fun action game that ultimately feels dated even considering the time of its original release. The game attempts to copy modern Prince of Persia games but ends up falling a bit short, the platforming is simple and while the controls are competent its all been done before and its been done better. Nonetheless, the platforming and puzzles were still enjoyable enough to keep me playing. The combat however, was terrible, it wasn't difficult or challenging, it was just plain boring, mashing the fire button as fast as you can will get you through any gun fight with ease. The bosses on the other hand all required more precision then the games controls would allow leading to a high level of frustration. Expand
  5. Feb 16, 2012
    7
    This is one of the best tomb raiders its a great game the controls work very well these are some of the best graphics on ps2 and the game play is fun but the problem is the game is to short and its the easiest tomb raider to date which might anger some hardcore fans despite those things this is still tomb raider and there is alot of fun to be had
  6. RRJ
    Jan 29, 2014
    9
    One of the best games on the PS2.

    Platforming, exploration, puzzles and straight up fun. Everything I wanted. Sure there's some driving here and there and also some gunplay here and there but to me what really sells the game and what had me smiling the whole way was the puzzles! It's so satisfying figuring out how to get from A to B. People complain that the game was too short but it
    took me almost 13 hours. Plus after you finish you can go back if you want to unlock more outfits. To me 13 hours isn't short, I'm talking 13 hours without looking up how to solve things. I only had to do that once but I had the solution I just didn't execute it fast enough.

    Some have complete the game in like 6 hours. That's crazy. Not sure if they rushed through the game or not but hey getting off track here haha.

    I recommend the game for fans of adventure, exploration, puzzles, platforming and all around fun. I played on the easiest setting and it still took me 13 hours. Why? Because you actually had to sit back and think about how to solve some of the games puzzles, its great. There's no rush, no time limit. You just try different things and always keep an eye out for the secrets! Controls are great, the game features a good amount of variety and honestly the story isn't bad either. Very good game.
    Expand
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 43 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 43
  2. Negative: 0 out of 43
  1. I know that it almost sounds too good to be true, but after wishing and hoping for years, Lara finally kicks ass again. [Apr 2006, p.64]
  2. Legend is a largely tremendous update of the classic Raider template, only let down by the short lifespan and lack of challenge. [Apr 2006, p.80]
  3. 80
    The cliffhanger story is well put together. The action is simple and effective. The controls not only work, they're fun...Best of all, the sense of discovery and adventure is captured with a fresh sensibility.