Tony Hawk's Pro Skater 4 Image
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 86 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Build your skills, earn respect, and show that you've got what it takes to Go Pro. 190 progressively harder goals. No time clock, no constraints. Pro-specific challenges. Evolving levels. Interact with other skaters. Multi-player modes. Customize your game...Your career is what you make ofBuild your skills, earn respect, and show that you've got what it takes to Go Pro. 190 progressively harder goals. No time clock, no constraints. Pro-specific challenges. Evolving levels. Interact with other skaters. Multi-player modes. Customize your game...Your career is what you make of it. [Activision] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 27
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 27
  3. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. 100
    The levels are not only more interactive, but they're also enormous - much larger than those from "THPS3." [Nov 2002, p.50]
  2. 100
    Even the simple removal of the two-minute timer brings an unrestrained joyous expression to my face. [Jan 2003, p.50]
  3. 98
    The same great Tony goodness is back with better graphics, more and cooler tricks (read: lazy a$$ manual), better sound, and the whole damn game has been completely revamped. The replay value goes through the roof.
  4. 93
    Easily the best Tony Hawk game yet, and online multiplayer makes it the best complete package in the genre.
  5. I would definitely recommend this one to anyone who has enjoyed a previous THPS game, as it is easily the biggest and best one yet. There are a ton of goals to complete, insanely hard challenges that'll keep you coming back, and the best online play yet.
  6. Even if you aren't interested in the online portion, Activision and Neversoft have still nailed down another extremely solid sequel to the Tony Hawk franchise.
  7. Freed from time constraints, you now accomplish level-specific goals—like outmaneuvering skater-busting cops—to advance while on the lookout for secret minigames.

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 31
  2. Negative: 3 out of 31
  1. NaveedD.
    Oct 18, 2002
    10
    This game is great, its much better than TPS3 and more levels, plus the levels are much bigger! A+++
  2. ZiggyStardust
    Nov 7, 2002
    10
    Another great sequel for a quickly evolving series. They've added the spine transfer which allows ya to line up with where you're Another great sequel for a quickly evolving series. They've added the spine transfer which allows ya to line up with where you're about to land once airbourne. The career mode is now much more challenging, and longer (190 goals). It's also open ended. The career mode isn't limited to 2 minute bursts like before. It's surprisingly much more enjoyable this way. Levels are also a little more realistic this time around. On the negative side of things, a couple of the goals where Tony gets to take a break from skating (tennis and dodge monkey poo) have unbelievably bad animation. Going from great next gen graphics, to completely horrendous is a little shocking. Thankfully, the bad animation is only there for 2 of the 190 goals, so it's a pretty minor. A great game! Expand
  3. AmandaN.
    Nov 3, 2002
    10
    This is way better than any of the other tony hawk pro skater games. way bigger, plenty more to do, and more challenging.
  4. DavidS.
    Apr 29, 2004
    10
    Its Rocks!!! I love this game...!
  5. Nov 25, 2011
    10
    I've got one word for this game: Outstanding. Even more is packed into this game with over 100 hours of challenges and secrets to uncover asI've got one word for this game: Outstanding. Even more is packed into this game with over 100 hours of challenges and secrets to uncover as well as a slew of things to do, including free skating, timed high score runs, and Career Mode. A masterpiece of gaming, for sure. Expand
  6. Apr 26, 2011
    9
    9/10 = Amazing = Extremely well designed, very challenging, and very fun. Great sports game.
  7. Someidiot
    Mar 9, 2005
    0
    Are you even joking?? i'm not sure where to start on why this doesn't deserve a 95% average, so i won't bother. i will say Are you even joking?? i'm not sure where to start on why this doesn't deserve a 95% average, so i won't bother. i will say that it is basically the same game that came out on the PS1 about 8 years ago, with a bit more novelty crap added on, it aint bad but its all a bit pointless really. Collapse

See all 31 User Reviews