Metascore
45

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 26
  2. Negative: 14 out of 26
Buy On
  1. Play Magazine
    70
    I just couldn't sink my teeth into the game, mostly because of the seven-character-based non-linear play, which left me a bit disinterested. I guess I like my games more straighforward. [June 2003, p.57]
  2. 66
    Whether it's the clunky navigational setup, a bothersome interface, or the overly complicated battle system, UNLIMITED SaGa may still be a bit too hardcore for its own good.
  3. Game Informer
    65
    Interaction within the environment and the board game movement and structure are tedious and archaic. [June 2003, p.102]
  4. Edge Magazine
    60
    New skills are simply triggered randomly during battles, resulting in the confusing hit and miss levelling up that so infuriates attention deficient westerners... Indeed, the manner of the execution makes for tough gaming but, paradoxically, it's the exclusivity of the gameplay that will attract a few. [Nov 2003, p.108]
  5. While I applaud the developers for shedding the trappings of contemporary role-playing games that opt for style over substance, that does not excuse the fact that the actual gameplay is many times awkward and cumbersome.
  6. If you take the time to fully understand its mechanics and enjoy the menu-based format, then SaGa will prove to be a unique, rewarding experience. As the alt text for this section says, only hardcore fans need apply.
  7. There's a lot of game to be had if you can get past the game's quirks.
  8. 60
    Hard-core hobbyists may appreciate the title's extreme challenge level, esoteric presentation, and pioneering play mechanics. On the other hand, confusing campaigns and a mind-boggling mission structure guarantee casual enthusiasts just won't get the picture.
  9. I could do without fancy-schmancy visuals and professional voice-acting, all I require in my RPG is good solid gameplay and satisfying plot progression. Neither of which are present in this game.
  10. 50
    Even basic navigation is difficult in this game—it will take you an hour or two before you have any idea how to get anywhere.
  11. With its ill-defined gameplay, sloppy graphical execution and unclear combat mechanics, Unlimited SaGa is proof that even experienced developers can slip every now and then.
  12. Just based on the amount of character customization, Unlimited Saga has so many good ideas that were ruined by poor interface, poor presentation, a below average story, and truly horrendous voice-acting.
  13. The game fails to tell an interesting (or even a cohesive) story and you'll often wonder why you're doing what you're doing.
  14. Every aspect of the game, from the combat mechanics to the movement to the technical execution of the graphics, is lacking in some regard, and when you add these elements together, you get a game that's simply unpleasant to play.
  15. Another complaint I have with the game is the map. No longer do you have much control of where your character goes.
  16. A truly abysmal gaming experience that doesn’t do the Square moniker justice, we know they are capable of better.
  17. I’d rather have root canal without anesthesia than to ever put myself through the pain that is playing this game any more than I had to already!
  18. Cheat Code Central
    40
    Don't expect much help from the interface. It's a confusing mess that after some 20-hours of gameplay still makes little sense as to its existence - I thought these things were meant to be helpful.
  19. Official U.S. Playstation Magazine
    40
    It also suffers some stultifying strikes: excruciating difficulty, obtuse mechanics, a stifling lack of freedom, and a brutal mission structure that punishes you as often as it rewards you. [July 2003, p.94]
  20. Let's not kid ourselves - Unlimited Saga is overly deep and complicated to a fault. It's as if Square was trying to make a complex game but failed to add some serious polish or just cut out the excess.
  21. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    33
    This game sucks. Unlimited Saga exemplfies everything that's wrong with RPGs today and throws it all together in one deluxe package for all to avoid like the plague. [July 2003, p.108]
  22. GMR Magazine
    30
    Having every move consume HP is somewhat unbalancing when enemies already do so much damage, and the reworked HP/LP setup can be bafflingly random. [July 2003, p.72]
  23. 28
    Everything you never wanted in an RPG -- an awkward and tedious mess.
  24. Boring. I mean, the battles could have fallen back on the classic turn-based formula, or at the very least opted for a passable framerate. And even if the minimal road had to be taken, it could have been done in a much easier and welcoming manner instead of obtuse for the sake of being obtuse.
  25. Graphics aside, battling with the Unlimited Saga system is clunky and completely unintuitive. The battle engine features an insane potluck of disparate elements, almost as if Square-Enix took all of the purged leftovers from ten or fifteen other games and smashed the scraps together to create the unholy videogame sausage that it is.
  26. GameNow
    0
    The gameplay experience never becomes even remotely fun... An excruciating bore. I've never had less fun playing a videogame. [July 2003, p.55]

Awards & Rankings

72
#72 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2003
51
#51 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2003
User Score
3.3

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 31 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 31
  2. Negative: 20 out of 31
  1. Jul 11, 2014
    0
    Without a shadow of doubt the worst RPG I have ever had the unfortunate experience of "playing".

    This takes linear RPG's to a completely
    Without a shadow of doubt the worst RPG I have ever had the unfortunate experience of "playing".

    This takes linear RPG's to a completely new level, gameplay and movement are so restrictive it would make chess seem more appealing. Any positive reviews would only be from Square employees.

    Avoid at all costs even if it was being given away for free, please don't waste even a single hour of your life on this.
    Full Review »
  2. May 19, 2017
    5
    Contrary to the negative reviews here, Unlimited SaGa isn't a bad game. It's a horribly average one brought to us by the same guy who madeContrary to the negative reviews here, Unlimited SaGa isn't a bad game. It's a horribly average one brought to us by the same guy who made FINAL FANTASY 2, not 3, not 6, not 7, not 10. 2. Final Fantasy 2 had a system where you didn't gain experience by killing enemies but simply by using skills and attacks. Want more HP? Take hits. Want more attack? Attack more. There's a really deep system involved with skills in U SaGa that is just poorly explained and leads to people scratching their heads minutes into the game. Combined with a lackluster story and a high difficulty curve and people will be turned off immediately.

    My first several HOURS of the game were spent in two or three towns, progress inching forward as I would need to spend more time battling to increase stats instead of trying to further the story. When I would finally make headway with the story a boss would inevitably pop up and slam me back into grinding mobs for stats until I was strong enough to fight the boss. This sounds like a very typical RPG set up, but realize that if I don't get hit my defense doesn't go up. So a fight could be me standing there guarding to take hits for several minutes, and then not getting a stat up because RNG decided not to give it to me. This can be mitigated and abused at times, but it also means that the average gamer becomes frustrated and gives up.

    In the end, the game doesn't innovate anything, it borrows from old ideas the designer of Final Fantasy 2 had, slaps them on a new art style, and is honestly a very mediocre game in the SaGa series. Yes, series. This isn't the only SaGa game, it wasn't even the first, and it wasn't the last. And quite a few of those are better than this one. It seems like the man behind FF2 is doomed to always fall when Square pushes his titles West.
    Full Review »
  3. JesseS.
    Jun 18, 2005
    0
    I am a sucker for Square-Enix games. I tried to approach this game with an open mind, and I tried to enjoy it. I really did. However, this is I am a sucker for Square-Enix games. I tried to approach this game with an open mind, and I tried to enjoy it. I really did. However, this is one of the most TERRIBLE games in existence. The graphics are pen & paper based, which wouldn't be so bad if the gameplay was actually tolerable. Which it isn't. Avoid this game at all costs. Consider it to be the worst RPG ever made. Full Review »