Virtua Fighter 4: Evolution PlayStation 2

  • Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Virtua Fighter 4: Evolution Image
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 55 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Challenge a steady stream of opponents with varying ranks and skill levels, with the impression that you're playing online against human opponents with different styles. Along with this illusion of online play, Virtua Fighter 4 has also been expanded upon, including the roster, the characterChallenge a steady stream of opponents with varying ranks and skill levels, with the impression that you're playing online against human opponents with different styles. Along with this illusion of online play, Virtua Fighter 4 has also been expanded upon, including the roster, the character customization features, the visuals, the training mode, and even the arcade mode. With the different tournaments and two new characters to explore, VF4: Evolution will put your fighting skills to the ultimate test. Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. 100
    Beats its predecessor with souped-up visuals, new characters and moves, improved tutorials, hundreds of unlockable items, and the amazingly deep Quest mode. And this is a Greatest Hits title? Insane bargain alert!
  2. GameNow
    100
    A brilliant fighting game, perhaps second only to "Soul Calibur II." [Sept 2003, p.53]
  3. GMR Magazine
    100
    Not only the best 3D fighter of all time, it will make you a better fighting-game player. [Sept 2003, p.66]
  4. 95
    An incredibly deep and long-lasting single player mode, and the versus mode never gets stale; there's the included 10th Anniversary mode that's almost a separate game in itself; the graphics have been improved upon and almost perfected, and so has the gameplay.
  5. The main problem with Virtua Fighter has always been its relative inaccessibility, and VF 4: Evolution clearly represents an effort to introduce new gamers to the franchise.
  6. Cheat Code Central
    90
    Don't even think of renting if for this price. With such a simple-to-use, yet complex control system, you can be fighting in no time and continue refining your skills for months to come.
  7. Edge Magazine
    70
    Apart from minor graphical tweaks and two fresh characters, VF4E remains much the same game. [May 2003, p.102]

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. JonathanJ.
    Aug 15, 2003
    10
    WOW. I started playing VF in 1993/4 and have loved the series so much, of and on, since. I'm so very glad AM2 delivered us a U.S. port!! WOW. I started playing VF in 1993/4 and have loved the series so much, of and on, since. I'm so very glad AM2 delivered us a U.S. port!! This game literally takes years to master. It took me about a year to begin to master VF2 and VF4E will be my new love for quite some time. That is if I have enough time. Virtua Fighter is my personal favorite fighting game. I've been gaming for about 25 years now and have played thousands of games and I know when I play a top quality game and VF4 and VF4 Evo are both incredible games! I think VF4E is the best yet. I will buy Soul Calibur 2 as well. (I threw well over $1,000 on the sit down arcade big screen version of VF2 in Winchester VA in 1995 & 1996. That was great fun because the best local VF'ers always showed up for a long time. One guy was a master Akira player!) Expand
  2. JeffR.
    Aug 11, 2003
    10
    VF4+more replayability+sharper graphics+2 new characters = oh yes. 10.
  3. May 10, 2017
    10
    THE best Virtua Fighter out of all the series. The game that stopped SEGA from going bankrupt. I remember owning the PSM2 DVD with this andTHE best Virtua Fighter out of all the series. The game that stopped SEGA from going bankrupt. I remember owning the PSM2 DVD with this and Soulcalibur 2 as import reviews and they did not disappoint.

    The graphics were a big improvement over the normal version of Virtua Fighter 4. They looked nicer, smoother and very realistic. The animation looked superb. The soundtrack was really good. The sound was improved and the gameplay was more refined and I think it has the best gameplay out of all the series.

    It brought 2 new characters into the series: Brad Burns and Goh Hinogami. I did like their fighting styles. A lot of things were added to keep the game innovative such as: fighting records and opponent logs in quest mode, new special game modes, item and money battles, item stores and currency system in quest mode, new ring, better ranking system and emblem battles. You could buy the original Virtua Fighter stage and the original character models which was a nice touch as well.

    It has THE best training mode out of all the series. This was the first game out of the series to have the command list, ai position and difficulty setting, spawn and reset position and among other things.

    Definitely buy this.
    Expand
  4. ChaosLightning
    Aug 15, 2003
    10
    BEST FIGHTER EVER!!!!!!!
  5. ZachK.
    Apr 12, 2004
    10
    Best $20 i ever spent
  6. RaphaelR.
    Aug 15, 2005
    10
    THE score that i really wanan give this game is 9.7 but since that isn't here i gave it a 10 instead. ANyway, This game is just awesome, THE score that i really wanan give this game is 9.7 but since that isn't here i gave it a 10 instead. ANyway, This game is just awesome, This game is the most balanced fighting game you will ever play, also probably the most tactical fighting game, People say this game is hard well it is when you get to fight against 8th dans or higher ranked enemies. but there's nothing to be scared off really because the training mode in this game is just superb , it will teach you the basics , all the moves , all the tactics , special movements , and the training mode will just make you a better player... from a newbie to an expert. the graphics are great but not the best.. well thisg ame was made about 2 years ago so yea it still good though , anyway if you love fighting games, or are serious about fighting games, or just wanan have fun , this game is for you. the only bad thing you can say about htis game is it would have been nice if it had more characters. i mean i suppose you don't really need it since each character PLAYS ALOT different than others... so yea this game isn't like tekken who has characters with the same moves so yea Expand
  7. NinjaMafia
    Aug 5, 2003
    5
    This game is basically VF4 which wasn't that great of a game to begin with I guess I'll just have to wait for SC2.

See all 24 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

5
58
#58 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2003
85
#85 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2003