• Publisher: Sega
  • Release Date: Mar 17, 2003
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. 90
    The best console baseball game I've ever played. If you love baseball, there is no other choice.
  2. Simply the best and most addictive baseball game available this year.
  3. Clearly the top of its class, World Series Baseball 2K3 manages to take everything we love about the sport as well as the fun of physically playing the game itself and compressed it all into a PS2 disc.
  4. Nothing even comes close to touching its encyclopedic approach toward statistics. [Apr 2003, p.83]
  5. 84
    Has the edge on the management and simulation side of the game. Its franchise mode is excellent and makes "MVP Baseball 2003"'s look like a Johnny-come-lately. On the flip side, "MVP Baseball 2003" has a slight edge in gameplay.
  6. 100
    On the field, player controls are as smooth as a 6-4-3 double play.
  7. Not as deep or as complex as some of the other competitors in the field, World Series Baseball 2K3 is the perfect blend of an arcade baseball game and a hardcore sim.
  8. If you're the type who goes for intricate Franchise modes, then you'll probably dig WSB 2K3. The same goes if you like astounding graphics and good gameplay dynamics.
  9. For 2003, Sega has upped the ante once again and has developed a near-perfect baseball game. [Apr 2003, p.70]
  10. If Sega can fix some of the problems and totally do away with the worthless batting cursor (batting cursors, like crying, don’t belong in baseball), next year could crown yet another new PS2 baseball champion.
  11. Complete in nearly every way and is a good bet for casual fans who just want to slap a few balls out of the infield and diehards who will settle for nothing less than a full career simulation.
  12. Mechanically, a solid game. But somehow, it lacks the one intangible element "High Heat" has managed to capture: urgency. There's no tension here. [Apr 2003, p.97]
  13. Simply the best overall baseball simulation on the PS2 this year. [May 2003, p.36]
  14. Gorgeous visuals (slowdown notwithstanding), a killer Franchise mode, adequate commentary, smart A.I. decisions and a mid-game save option (yes!) compensate for WSB 2K3's small amount of pitches (compared to "High Heat 2004"), awkward replays, average control and stat tracking that still can't touch 3DO's baseball sim.
  15. An amazing-looking game with some pretty serious muscle under the hood. If only the game actually played better - especially the batting - you'd have the "Madden" of baseball games. [Apr 2003, p.65]
  16. Such a detailed game it really feels like a PC game first, console second. However, don't panic. It's still played with a gamepad and played well I might add.
  17. 75
    Pretty good, but don't expect a hardcore sim. [May 2003, p.49]
  18. 100
    What’s so cool about the game is that anyone can pick up and play, and can get into the deep simulation that the game is. I like that fact a lot. [Score = A+]
  19. The graphics should have been better and the sound could use some improvement but the gameplay and depth are practically untouchable.
  20. In the latest edition, crushing those 500-foot homers is still possible, but not nearly as fun as flashing the leather: Even a routine double play is elevated into breathtaking spectacle. [2 May 2003, p.79]
  21. If you prefer a quicker-paced game buy "High Heat," but if you like a more methodical and in-depth game, buy WSB.
User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 17 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 12
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 12
  3. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. EvanW.
    Aug 10, 2003
    7
    It's a good game.... BUT, I find it too easy to get base hits even on All-Star, i'm afraid that if i put it on Legend then players like Ichiro or Juan Pierre will be hittin homers off me like nothin!! OR do i have to change the AI to an easier or harder level... some1 help me out!! Full Review »
  2. Tom
    Jul 17, 2003
    9
    Awesome game, although I'm having trouble trying to adjust other teams rosters in the middle of a season.
  3. PaulD.
    Jul 5, 2003
    8
    MVP has a little better control.