User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 181 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 10 out of 181
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 28, 2010
    10
    Wow,lets get right to it and I have to tell you that it's August 2010 and I have yet to find a wrestling game or fighting game as good as this game.I have wwe smackdown vs. raw 2010 and that game is amazing but this game's game play is mind blowing.Especially for how old this game is.The lack of commentary is the only reason I'm knocking off a 1/2 of a point,even though the commentary inWow,lets get right to it and I have to tell you that it's August 2010 and I have yet to find a wrestling game or fighting game as good as this game.I have wwe smackdown vs. raw 2010 and that game is amazing but this game's game play is mind blowing.Especially for how old this game is.The lack of commentary is the only reason I'm knocking off a 1/2 of a point,even though the commentary in all the wrestling games is terrible and the games weakest point,but to this day I play it and love it the best of all my wresling games,I give it a 9.5 Expand
  2. DezB.
    Dec 2, 2003
    6
    Great graphics and a big improvement on the last 2 titles Very Very dissapointed that they havent gone with the Multi player season I used to have so much fun on Smackdown "know your role" on the PSone but good Idea bringing blood back onto the game I have been a fan of wrestling for 20 years and this is the closest ive been to happy with a wrestling game Also why the hell cant you enter Great graphics and a big improvement on the last 2 titles Very Very dissapointed that they havent gone with the Multi player season I used to have so much fun on Smackdown "know your role" on the PSone but good Idea bringing blood back onto the game I have been a fan of wrestling for 20 years and this is the closest ive been to happy with a wrestling game Also why the hell cant you enter a womans wrestler into season mode I mean the womans title is in the game and during the season mode it is defended I hope THQ can rectify this because women are fans of wrestling aswell also About the fact that we were promised superstar voice overs but we didnt get them Many superstars are missing from the game(i:e La resistance, Spike dudley, Mark Henry, Shannon moore,just to name a few) but voice overs and The missing superstars are on the american version(arent us brits good enough for the full version the Yanks even have Zach gowen on the game) I am appalled by their decision to give us a second class game But over all it is the best game on the market. Expand
  3. BobD.
    Mar 28, 2006
    10
    It should be on PC.
  4. BrianM.
    Nov 5, 2003
    1
    More smackdown drivel... When will THQ bring out the defining WWE game? I suppose never.. A wasted oppurtunity.. but than there is always next year.. here comes Smackdown 6 or WWE Smackdown YOU TAPPED OUT! cough
  5. BenjaminH.
    Nov 7, 2003
    0
    It is a bag of rubbish and needs snapping in half!!!!
  6. LohG.
    Feb 7, 2004
    4
    This game is shallow and overrated, you freaks don't know anything about good games. The graphics arent, "good". The Models colide terribly, so when someone punches a fat wrestler, his hand goes through his abdomen, a little weird. All you horny 14 year olds got this game because of the bra and panties match, I bet. The grappling system is better, but still shallow, I think of it as This game is shallow and overrated, you freaks don't know anything about good games. The graphics arent, "good". The Models colide terribly, so when someone punches a fat wrestler, his hand goes through his abdomen, a little weird. All you horny 14 year olds got this game because of the bra and panties match, I bet. The grappling system is better, but still shallow, I think of it as advanced button mashing, and as all these guys say, its the best wrestling game ever, sadly, its not that good. Expand
  7. BobD.
    Jan 17, 2004
    1
    It should be on PC.
  8. BOOKERT.
    Nov 17, 2003
    1
    This game aint da shiznit. story mode should be like madden franchise and it should be multiplayer like the original. the story mode should be changed to be a wrestler . here you practice , attend meetings and take your player through 10 + years . copy madden franchise mode but do it with a wrestling twist. these games grow old too fast!copy the madden franchise mode for a new be aThis game aint da shiznit. story mode should be like madden franchise and it should be multiplayer like the original. the story mode should be changed to be a wrestler . here you practice , attend meetings and take your player through 10 + years . copy madden franchise mode but do it with a wrestling twist. these games grow old too fast!copy the madden franchise mode for a new be a wrestler mode!!! I am genius!!! Expand
  9. GregM.
    Dec 19, 2003
    2
    There are a lot of wrestlers missing (la resistance,mark henry,maven,etc...)the royal rumble matches are cheap. royal rumble should be played like real life where you have to work to eliminate your opponent or cpu eliminate you. i started number 1 with goldberg, threw out half a dozen wrestlers then got punched twice by hurricane and knocked out. story mode should be longer in year termsThere are a lot of wrestlers missing (la resistance,mark henry,maven,etc...)the royal rumble matches are cheap. royal rumble should be played like real life where you have to work to eliminate your opponent or cpu eliminate you. i started number 1 with goldberg, threw out half a dozen wrestlers then got punched twice by hurricane and knocked out. story mode should be longer in year terms and player attributes shouldnt be based on winning matches. strength should be based on lifting weights in weightroom, speed and endurance based on running on tracks and city streets, technique and submission should be based on training in the ring. all belts should be able to be defended in exhibition. dissapointed that theres no commentery and voice overs. create mode should be upgraded. the ladies in bra and panty some should have thongs on. the legends suck because they dont have their original entrance music or moves. wrestlers should not get pinned after a little clothesline. some wrestlers stats are underrated(ex.haas, benjamin) Expand
  10. Nov 13, 2013
    8
    This was like three years of my life, no joke all I played in middle school was this Here comes the pain, Pokemon Gold and that s really it. WWE SmackDown Here comes the pain is the best!!!!! I really do think this is one my favorite games of all times list. Like I easily put in over one million hours into this game and I never knew the whole time I played this game that the wrestlersThis was like three years of my life, no joke all I played in middle school was this Here comes the pain, Pokemon Gold and that s really it. WWE SmackDown Here comes the pain is the best!!!!! I really do think this is one my favorite games of all times list. Like I easily put in over one million hours into this game and I never knew the whole time I played this game that the wrestlers where real people.....I'm not joking. The music was epic and to this day I still have the whole soundtrack memorized and I also still feel that this game has the best create a wrestler mode out of all other wrestling games I have played. The story mode is awesome but I have to admit after the first time you become the WWE Champion it isn't the same game. Your the best out of over fifty wrestlers and none of them can touch you. Another thing that kinda is broken about this game is that if you spend about fifty hours making a create a character with perfect skill points you can copy him and make a tag team that is perfect and can never lose. My one regret is that I never made my own WWE with perfect wrestlers and had them fight for my honor(that would of been so cool). I will never forget my hundred of hours that I spent hitting half naked dudes with metal chairs and sledgehammers. This is one of my fondest gaming memories and no game other than Pokemon Gold will ever be better. Expand
  11. PillsburyDboy
    Mar 18, 2004
    10
    The best game ever.
  12. SaqibA.
    Nov 7, 2003
    10
    Cool good graphics.
  13. AllenK.
    Dec 21, 2003
    10
    I am the rocks # 1 fan, and this game is the best AND THE ROCK MEANS THE BEST game ever.
  14. KiyoungS.
    Jan 10, 2004
    8
    The worst part about this game is the announcers. It's so boring with no sounds. Also if you beat season mode 1 time the rest will be the same. But, i'm a #1 wrestling fan, so I quite like the game. Oh, and quite a number of wrestlers are missing, especially they should have had Mark Henry or Maven.
  15. [Anonoymous]
    May 4, 2004
    10
    Great.
  16. HeshtHardy
    Jul 5, 2004
    9
    This game is really addictive but the only good legend is the old school Undertaker.
  17. MatthewK.
    Nov 11, 2003
    10
    The best graphics of any wrestling game i've ever played!
  18. AniarA.
    Nov 19, 2003
    5
    I give the game a five because there isn't a two player season mode and i also think it is dumb as hell that your created female can not do bra and panties match it is just not fair i also think you should still be able to use superstars face in create mode other than that the game is good.
  19. JohnM.
    Nov 4, 2003
    10
    Shut your mouth might have been great but here comes the pain is much much more better you have got the likes of elimination chamber bra and panties and first blood also new wrestlers like scott steiner rey mysterio goldberg and many more and the and the best bits of all is chris jerichos highnight reel evolution and kane unmasked one more thing to say if anyone doesn't know what toShut your mouth might have been great but here comes the pain is much much more better you have got the likes of elimination chamber bra and panties and first blood also new wrestlers like scott steiner rey mysterio goldberg and many more and the and the best bits of all is chris jerichos highnight reel evolution and kane unmasked one more thing to say if anyone doesn't know what to get for christmas this is the game for you. Expand
  20. RobertR
    Nov 6, 2003
    8
    It kicks a$$ but needs more like everybuddy thats in the wwe.
  21. HeribertoS.
    Oct 22, 2003
    10
    This sh.t is hot as hell.
  22. PatS.
    Oct 20, 2003
    10
    This game is the best game so far, with the newest characters. The INjury report in the top of the screen gives the players a good idea of were to work on.
  23. StepIn
    Oct 9, 2003
    10
    It is going to be the best game this year. Nothing will amount to it. all sexy ladies heyyyyy.
  24. KennyH.
    Jan 6, 2004
    10
    This is definetely THE best wrestling game ever. *Bra and Panties matches!* There's a great create a wrestler thing in it. And it's not frustrating like ECW Hardcore Revolution.(The worst wrestling game ever) Just a flat out great game.
  25. PeterL.
    Feb 7, 2004
    10
    This is one of the most addicting games for anyone to play. You'll literally spend hours on the game.
  26. PeterG.
    Mar 2, 2004
    8
    This game is the best wrestling game ever in terms of gameplay and graphics. However I feel there are things missing that could have made the game even better. I think there should be more matches at PPVs, I think there should more wrestlers (such as APA), I think storymode should be longer, I they should bring back create a PPV, AND also I think they should pay more attention on the This game is the best wrestling game ever in terms of gameplay and graphics. However I feel there are things missing that could have made the game even better. I think there should be more matches at PPVs, I think there should more wrestlers (such as APA), I think storymode should be longer, I they should bring back create a PPV, AND also I think they should pay more attention on the wrestlers enterance. Other than that I think the game is the TITS. Expand
  27. GaryM.
    Mar 23, 2004
    9
    The only thing bad about this game is u cant brake moves or sumbissions. but the season made is krazy it like real life. its very easy and the finishing moves in this game are incredable. my favorite thing about this game is the running specails rynho and test so easy to do running specails but the other thing about this game is it takes about 5 stunners to take brock lesner down.
  28. [Anonymous]
    Mar 8, 2004
    10
    Easily the best game in the series. The ultimate game for wrestling fans everywhere.
  29. HenryT.
    May 30, 2004
    5
    This game is half wack because the old school undertaker should have his old music like the one he is using now with paul bearer and he should not come out in that little ring at entrance.
  30. ShelbyA.
    May 9, 2004
    9
    It is really cool! The only problem I have with it is that I dont know how to use the people I create! But, other then that the game is great! If anyone knows how to use the people they create please e-mail me at rubberducky022792@hotmail.com.

Awards & Rankings

30
3
#3 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2003
1
#1 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2003
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. 91
    One of the best wrestling games we've ever played...With its ultra-improved gameplay mechanics, enhanced visual engine, smarter career mode, and established create-a-character feature, Yukes and THQ are definitely the track to success.
  2. 80
    How about a Bra & Panties mode where WWE Divas rip off each other’s clothes? It’s the raunchiest Teen-rated action you’ll find anywhere.
  3. PSM Magazine
    90
    An absolutely awesome wrestling experience...Thanks to features like improved graphics, more match types, and an overhauled grappling system, it's definitely the most realistic and rewarding WWE game on the market. [Dec 2003, p.56]