Metascore
40

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 14 Critics What's this?

User Score
3.5

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 18 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Adventure Time: Explore the Dungeon Because I DON'T KNOW has you save the Candy Kingdom by exploring the mysteries surrounding a massive Secret Royal Dungeon deep below the Land of Ooo.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 14
  2. Negative: 9 out of 14
  1. Nov 25, 2013
    58
    It will be thoroughly enjoyed by the show's fans, although any adult giving it a try wouldn't be as excited. Co-op mode makes it the ideal game to spend an evening with the family, even though WayForward didn't make the most of the show's license.
  2. Dec 25, 2013
    55
    Fans will get a kick out of it, but anyone else would be advised to try the glorious cartoon instead. [Jan 2014, p.83]
  3. Dec 27, 2013
    50
    The show Adventure Time is funny, quirky and even heartwarming at some times. It’s a shame the game is the opposite of that and just plain old boring. There is too little variation in the game and with a hundred levels; it’ll be difficult to get through the game.
  4. Nov 15, 2013
    40
    What's most frustrating is that with more enemies, more graceful control and a more compelling structure, there's no reason why a retro-styled Adventure Time roguelike couldn't have been an absolute treat and a game worthy of the show.
  5. Dec 6, 2013
    35
    Unlike the show it’s based on, it’s both deeply boring and devoid of imagination. For a real sense of adventure, play Spelunky.
  6. Nov 19, 2013
    30
    It's not entirely without entertainment value – kids will no doubt get a kick out of the license – but its longevity to even the most faithful followers is severely limited. We've got no time for this adventure.
  7. Jan 23, 2014
    30
    It's not broken, it's just dull. A disservice to the excellent franchise. [Issue#143, p.119]

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. Dec 25, 2013
    9
    I honestly don't understand why there's so much negativity surrounding this game. I thought it was really fun, not perfect mind you, but entertaining to say the least. I actually really like the retro style of it (I was also a fan of the 3ds adventure time game" hey ice king why'd you steal our garbage") and it has some great voice acting provided by the cast of the show. I keep seeing remarks along the lines of "for anybody who isn't a fan of adventure time, this game wont have much to offer." which is... stupid to say the least. I mean, yeah, duh. next you're gonna tell me people who don't like Spider-man probably isn't going to like a Spider-man game. though real talk, there isn't nearly enough enemies and the game's much better with multiplayer. if you can look past that, it's a fun game. grab your friends and play it if you get the chance Collapse