• Publisher: Natsume
  • Release Date: Oct 6, 2009
User Score
6.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 35 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 35
  2. Negative: 11 out of 35

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 7, 2012
    6
    Ok, we meet Viva Piñata of Xbox 360, and the game is funny, pretty, and colorful, now SONY intent repeat the succesful of Microsoft with Afrika, but what happen? The game is BORING. Afrika have great graphics, really cool, the animals look awesome, but the problem comes with the gameplay, is very repetitive, and boring. Sony (or best say Natsume) can do a better thing, butOk, we meet Viva Piñata of Xbox 360, and the game is funny, pretty, and colorful, now SONY intent repeat the succesful of Microsoft with Afrika, but what happen? The game is BORING. Afrika have great graphics, really cool, the animals look awesome, but the problem comes with the gameplay, is very repetitive, and boring. Sony (or best say Natsume) can do a better thing, but with this regular intent the game fail. Expand
  2. May 24, 2012
    1
    I'm not sure what made me want to play this game but I played it. It really is incredibly boring. It's a game more so about visuals I think and they are average at best. Basically the concept of the game is to take pictures for money the better your picture quality the more money you make. You can use that money to buy other stuff or upgrade your camera. This is sadly the only part of thisI'm not sure what made me want to play this game but I played it. It really is incredibly boring. It's a game more so about visuals I think and they are average at best. Basically the concept of the game is to take pictures for money the better your picture quality the more money you make. You can use that money to buy other stuff or upgrade your camera. This is sadly the only part of this game I enjoyed. I don't know who I'd recommend Afrika to. A parent buying a non violent game for their kid maybe but that's about it. It is somewhat educational. However theres no real reason to play this game at all. I think Cabela's would be more fun for me. Collapse
  3. Jan 18, 2012
    5
    I like the game in theory and the graphics are nice, especially the animals, of course, but to be honest, everything takes MUCH too long and is MUCH to cumbersome to enjoy it. Couldn't bring myself to finish it yet. Controls are kind of amateurish, it feels like no actual game designer was involved, but ''only'' a bunch of people who love animals. On top of it, the photos you shoot lookI like the game in theory and the graphics are nice, especially the animals, of course, but to be honest, everything takes MUCH too long and is MUCH to cumbersome to enjoy it. Couldn't bring myself to finish it yet. Controls are kind of amateurish, it feels like no actual game designer was involved, but ''only'' a bunch of people who love animals. On top of it, the photos you shoot look kind of unclear and low-res. If you have the patience for this game and like the idea - shooting pictures of wildlife - this is pretty good, but personally, I ended up not liking the actual final product. Expand
  4. Jul 2, 2011
    2
    This game looks phenomenal and the core concept is great, but the final product is just incredibly boring. You need to have large amounts of patience while waiting for the animals to get into the position you need.
  5. Dec 31, 2010
    9
    It's a really great game for people, who love animals. I want a second part of it :) I love photographing but I cant go to Afrika. Why dont you like it? :<
  6. Oct 19, 2010
    0
    Une belle arnaque, un dvd documentaire sans interet. On s'ennuie, c'est absolument infecte. A éviter si vous ne voulez pas avoir le pire jeu de la ps3
  7. EdV
    Jan 11, 2010
    9
    I love to see game developers that step out of the box. To defy the tidal wave of cookie cutter games. It
  8. LarsH
    Jan 4, 2010
    9
    It's a relaxing game that is very different from all my other games this gen. My wife loves exploring and finding new animals. It's a lot of fun to experience Afrika with her. That's not something I can do with many other games.
  9. scotta
    Dec 18, 2009
    8
    so peaceful and relaxing, ign and the othes who complain about it being broken are rong, this 'games' fine as it is, more ground detail would have been nice but all in all its about the critters, no guns no blood now war, perfect to wind down and relax, animal modeling is well done and the camera work is good all in all buy it if you want something different
  10. DanR
    Dec 12, 2009
    8
    To those of you that claim this is not a game... you're right. Afrika is an experience. No run- and- gun, no hack- and -slash, no quick time events, just the "chaacter fulfillment" of being a nature photographer. Ambient and serene, with moments of extreme intensity, this game should be appriciated for both what it is and isn't. Anyone tired of the same ol', same ol' To those of you that claim this is not a game... you're right. Afrika is an experience. No run- and- gun, no hack- and -slash, no quick time events, just the "chaacter fulfillment" of being a nature photographer. Ambient and serene, with moments of extreme intensity, this game should be appriciated for both what it is and isn't. Anyone tired of the same ol', same ol' in their video games should give Afrika a try Expand
  11. RyanW
    Dec 11, 2009
    8
    It's no call of duty but thats the point. It is however a nice change of pace. While the game does spend way to much time loading its worth the wait. Overall I love when developers step outside the box.
  12. JOHNS
    Nov 15, 2009
    8
    I heard that its free roam and i was wondering if you could drive and hit some wildlife. AND are there any hunters.
  13. LaurenC
    Nov 9, 2009
    9
    The game started off limited, full of faults, and rather lame, and then, as if by magic, suddenly sprang into a full-fledged game. The lack of voice acting bothers me a bit, but this game was everything I hoped it would be. If you don't go in with really high expectations, you'll find yourself having a lot of fun.
  14. JohnP
    Nov 7, 2009
    0
    Some of the worst graphics this gen, there's nothing to do, absolute crap game. Worst than Superman 64, believe me.
  15. Johnnynumber5
    Oct 22, 2009
    8
    This game is equal parts education about animals and photography as it is entertainment in the traditional sense. I like this game as it's exactly what I expected it to be: photography. If I wanted to hunt animals I'd have gotten Cabelas Big Game Hunter. This game is kind of like Flower for me. After playing some Demons Souls or Uncharted 2 I'll pop this in for a bit and This game is equal parts education about animals and photography as it is entertainment in the traditional sense. I like this game as it's exactly what I expected it to be: photography. If I wanted to hunt animals I'd have gotten Cabelas Big Game Hunter. This game is kind of like Flower for me. After playing some Demons Souls or Uncharted 2 I'll pop this in for a bit and wind down ... it's a beautiful game, relaxing and informative. People should be more informed about their purchases. How can you hold this game being about photography against it? Thats just dumb. This game isn't for everyone (especially not the add generation) but it's a decent title thats beautiful to look at, fun and believe it or not very challenging. The shame is this is a 2 year old game so it looks dated to the expectations some gamers had. Still, I like the game and I'd recommened it if you are interested in photography or have children that you want to get into taking pictures. We train out daughter on our DSLR (same camera and lense in the game that we have) because it's an expensive piece of professional equipment and this allows her to understand the settings and the camera itself. Good game thats what I call (coined by Joystiq) Edutainment. Expand
  16. ChrisD
    Oct 8, 2009
    8
    If this game is reviewed as such, then that review shouldn't be trusted (ahem... IGN...) For me, this is a chance to relax after work without having to twitch my thumbs and throw the controller.. It's a simulation in relaxation and should be reviewed as such! That said, I thought the animal models were gorgeous and the backgrounds felt true to an Afrikan setting. In a PS3 world If this game is reviewed as such, then that review shouldn't be trusted (ahem... IGN...) For me, this is a chance to relax after work without having to twitch my thumbs and throw the controller.. It's a simulation in relaxation and should be reviewed as such! That said, I thought the animal models were gorgeous and the backgrounds felt true to an Afrikan setting. In a PS3 world where you can sink a hundred hours into a mediocre game, it's nice to have a more casual and idyllic offering every once in a while! Expand
  17. Zoltanz.
    Oct 6, 2009
    7
    Overall a nice package. Afrika viewer alone almost worths the price as an interactive screensaver with the excellent soundtrack. Online photo site is good, too. Using the binocular the animals are really nice and the backdrop is gorgeous.
  18. TheNose
    Sep 28, 2009
    3
    You take photographs of wild animals. Maybe that sounds good to some people, but for me was booooring.
  19. JustinQR
    Sep 24, 2009
    4
    NOT what I expected - and not in a good way. Limited freedom, animals looking like cardboard cutouts of themselves - the hype was way too exaggerated for this title.
  20. May 24, 2012
    0
    I'm not sure what made me want to play this game but I played it. It really is incredibly boring. It's a game more so about visuals I think and they are average at best. Basically the concept of the game is to take pictures for money the better your picture quality the more money you make. You can use that money to buy other stuff or upgrade your camera. This is sadly the only part of thisI'm not sure what made me want to play this game but I played it. It really is incredibly boring. It's a game more so about visuals I think and they are average at best. Basically the concept of the game is to take pictures for money the better your picture quality the more money you make. You can use that money to buy other stuff or upgrade your camera. This is sadly the only part of this game I enjoyed. I don't know who I'd recommend Afrika to. A parent buying a non violent game for their kid maybe but that's about it. It is somewhat educational. However theres no real reason to play this game at all. I think Cabela's would be more fun for me. Collapse
Metascore
63

Mixed or average reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 12
  2. Negative: 2 out of 12
  1. Afrika is one of the most pleasant, enjoyable and gently engrossing games I've played in a while. It's a shame Sony isn't releasing it here, and it's worth importing. [JPN Import]
  2. If you like it quiet, Afrika's peacefulness and sense of freedom offer something to savour.[JPN Import; Nov 2008, p.116]
  3. Approached with acceptance of its limitations and a willingness to cede true freedom, Afrika can still be a remarkable, memorable experience. [Dec 2008, p.121]