Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 52 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 148 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Alice: Madness Returns takes place 10 years after the conclusion of the original game, with Alice struggling to recover from the emotional trauma of losing her entire family in a fatal fire. After spending a decade institutionalized in an insane asylum, she is finally released to the care ofAlice: Madness Returns takes place 10 years after the conclusion of the original game, with Alice struggling to recover from the emotional trauma of losing her entire family in a fatal fire. After spending a decade institutionalized in an insane asylum, she is finally released to the care of a psychiatrist who just may be able to help her conquer the nightmarish hallucinations that still haunt her. Alice embarks on a mission to root out the true cause of her family's mysterious death, jumping from a gloomy and stark London to a rich and provocative Wonderland. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 52
  2. Negative: 1 out of 52
  1. Jun 14, 2011
    92
    Alice: Madness Returns reminds me a lot of classic N64 platformers like Mario 64 and Banjo Kazooie in the best of ways. By mixing a dark reimagining of a literary classic with stylish combat and rock-solid platforming, EA and Spicy Horse have created a gaming experience quite unlike any other. At any rate, its miles better than the lacklustre Tim Burton movie released last year. This is one rabbit hole worth tumbling down.
  2. Jun 21, 2011
    80
    Alice: Madness Returns should please fans of the original and newcomers alike. The game can feel a bit dated and tedious at times, but the incredibly dark Wonderland that American McGee has crafted is just begging to be explored.
  3. Jun 17, 2011
    79
    Alice - Madness Returns is the kind of game that's retro in both a good sense and a bad: It's a tough game to beat, but lacks innovations and better graphics.
  4. Jun 14, 2011
    70
    Playing Alice: Madness Returns isn't as exciting as looking at it, but you'll still enjoy getting lost in this twisted fantasy adventure.
  5. Jun 17, 2011
    70
    Alice: Madness Returns is stylistically gorgeous, with its crazy characters and a great environmental design. It's a shame that everything is spoiled by huge technical issues, bad graphics and a great lack of variety.
  6. Jun 14, 2011
    65
    Presents a fantastically imagined vision of Wonderland full of secrets, collectables, and wondrous areas of classic platforming to explore. But through questionable level design, graphical inconsistency, and repetitive gameplay, I was pulled out of the experience more than I would have liked.
  7. Jan 9, 2012
    40
    Alice: Madness Return has a terrific visual style and intriguing ideas, which is why it's so frustrating to see what could've been a clever game turn into such a tedious, drawn-out mess.

See all 52 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 48
  2. Negative: 3 out of 48
  1. Jun 19, 2011
    10
    If u are a fan of action/adventure/puzzle games this is a beautiful experience. There is no reason to hate on Alice. I wish there were moreIf u are a fan of action/adventure/puzzle games this is a beautiful experience. There is no reason to hate on Alice. I wish there were more games like this masterpiece. Expand
  2. Jul 21, 2011
    10
    I think those with mixed reviews who have negative things to point out about Alice Madness don't understand what American McGee wanted to doI think those with mixed reviews who have negative things to point out about Alice Madness don't understand what American McGee wanted to do (and did, flawlessly...) with the story, gameplay and overall atmosphere. If you understood these things you would not frown upon what you "think" are repetitive puzzles and clumsy controls. Madness Returns is simply a MASTERPIECE. That is all that needs to be said. Expand
  3. Jun 20, 2011
    10
    Stunning. Absolutely stunning. It's been a long, long time since I've played a game that left me baffled at the level design this much. EveryStunning. Absolutely stunning. It's been a long, long time since I've played a game that left me baffled at the level design this much. Every new area I entered, I always just had to look around for a bit first, literally making me go 'ooh' and 'aah' at most occasions. This whole game is just so incredibly lovingly crafted. There's so much detail to everything, I can't even wrap my mind around it. The gameplay in itself is nothing special, but it works just fine. Target lock is a bit shoddy at times, but you'll manage. The dialogue might be a tad bit pretentious, but that actually fits the game's style. But really, this game is a bloody gem. A floating island of gold in a sea of mediocre **** I've never played a prettier game than this. Expand
  4. Jun 6, 2014
    8
    This game was so much fun I love how dark the atmosphere is in the game. It's a fun platform, the combat is great, and the controls are easyThis game was so much fun I love how dark the atmosphere is in the game. It's a fun platform, the combat is great, and the controls are easy to master. Alice's story as and adult was more interesting then the traditional Alice in wonder land. Expand
  5. Jun 14, 2011
    8
    Creo que es muy dificil juzgar un videojuego tan de autor solo por las mecanicas frias de la jugabilidad y sus graficos. Con Alice, estamosCreo que es muy dificil juzgar un videojuego tan de autor solo por las mecanicas frias de la jugabilidad y sus graficos. Con Alice, estamos frente a un juego bastante unico, que atrapa tanto por su propuesta como por sus diseños. Si bien hay detalles a mejorar en el aspecto jugable, creo que restar puntos a un trabajo cargado de originalidad y locura creativa seria injusto.. no olvidemos tambien que el juego trae de regalo el primer alice, de hace 11 años. me parece un juego altamente mejorable, pero que sin duda destaca como propuesta fresca y cargada de guiños de autor, que haran la delicia de quienes disfruten de la macabra creacion de McGee. Para mi es un 8.0 de 10 Expand
  6. Jul 16, 2011
    7
    OK, I agree with most of the critic's comments of the game, it is a one paced game, there is nothing new in the gameplay, the graphics areOK, I agree with most of the critic's comments of the game, it is a one paced game, there is nothing new in the gameplay, the graphics are pretty average, as is the narrative that runs throughout, but I loved playing it. Alice in Wonderland should be fertile ground for a console game, but neither of American Magee's Alices are particularly fantastic. There is a strange mix of levels in "Madness returns", from the dark grimy streets of victorian london, to the dreadful childish Undersea and Tundra levels, through to the druggy trippy levels, and it is perhaps this that makes the game passably playable.
    It might be worth commenting here that I was reminded initially, when Alice was collecting lost memories, of the superb PC (anti)game, "The Path", (now that IS a truly disturbing and Gothic piece of art), but Alice Madness Returns never quite reaches it's potential.
    Play it by all means, you will enjoy it, but it falls well short of being a great game
    Expand
  7. Mar 6, 2013
    4
    I hadn't played the original Alice McGee game but i still decided to check this game out because it looked creepy and interesting. What a hugeI hadn't played the original Alice McGee game but i still decided to check this game out because it looked creepy and interesting. What a huge disappointment i got. Every single level in this game follows the same pattern, platform jumping, fighting some enemies and collecting collectible items. Okay first i thought Wonderland was kinda cool but the truth is you cannot do anything other than enjoy views besides the actual playing. Game has huge problem with controls, sometimes character doesnt respond to my button pressing at all or does it way too slowly. Combat system is a huge f***kin mess, lock on system is useless because most of the enemies are too fast and attack you while you focus on other one. Last thing i want to make perfectly clear is that this game has ZERO horror in it. Expand

See all 48 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Critical Misfires: 40 High-Profile Games with Disappointing Reviews

    Critical Misfires: 40 High-Profile Games with Disappointing Reviews Image
    Published: October 4, 2012
    Mediocre reviews for a high-profile videogame? It does happen from time to time, as the new release "Resident Evil 6" demonstrates. Inside, we look at 40 games from the past decade that earned disappointing reviews despite major anticipation.