Metascore
42

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 15 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.5

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 12 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 15
  2. Negative: 11 out of 15
  1. Jul 29, 2013
    52
    ArcaniA and its expansion are ultimately worth playing, but there's no reason to do so on the PS3. Whatever went into porting ArcaniA to the PS3 was not done with care, and the result is an ok-to-good game that now has a lot more technical and presentation issues it didn't have when it first released nearly three years ago on other platforms.
  2. Jul 23, 2013
    50
    ArcaniA has an expansive world to explore. Unfortunately there's almost nothing of interest to find there and you'll likely leave unsatisfied.
  3. Nov 24, 2013
    50
    With an interesting main storyline, creative enemies, and fundamentally solid gameplay, it's too bad that that Arcania: The Complete Tale's technical flaws prevent it from being a must-play. There aren't enough decent action-RPG hybrids for console players as it is, and Arcania isn't going to do much to fix that.
  4. Jun 26, 2013
    40
    A decade ago Arcania would be a pretty decent RPG. Time has not been friendly to this game and repackaging something that was never a classic to begin with is a misguided move.
  5. At the beginning of the game there is a gut wrenching choice to be made of whether you want to be a mage, a hunter or a fighter. We have played racing games with more original RPG-elements than this utterly dull game. [June 2013, p.86]
  6. Jul 31, 2013
    40
    ArcaniA is just an altogether frustrating experience. Its few good points fail to shine through in any way thanks to the vast number of technical and design issues. Even a fun battle system can't do much for the game other than highlight even further the wasted potential.
  7. Jul 1, 2013
    25
    ArcaniA – The Complete Tale stands as one of the worst games I have ever played to completion in my nearly twenty years of gaming. It’s an example of how a terrible porting job can serve to do nothing but damage your intellectual property. A clear case in which losses should have been cut and accepted but instead we have this tragedy of a game, unfit for even the most hardcore action RPG fan.

See all 15 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 1 out of 2
  1. Jan 8, 2014
    8
    Great game. really got me coming back for more. the only things i didn't like were the combat for the regular combo set, and the fact that some of the voice acting was a bit wooden. would recommend this to anyone. Expand
  2. Sep 9, 2013
    2
    i hate hate hate with all my heart the people who made this game.
    Gothic 1 & 2 was an excellent game.
    Its a shame how my favorite saga its a
    now a garbage total sadness. Collapse