User Score
6.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 73 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 73
  2. Negative: 22 out of 73

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 28, 2013
    4
    Army of Two: The Devil's Cartel sort of continues the story of Salem and Rios but you do not play as the bruiting duo. Instead you play as the new protagonists, Alpha and Bravo, who are not as interesting or fun as the original two. The story has you run through Mexico shooting gang members, blowing up cars, and destroying cartels. The campaign has a descent story but is your typical summer blockbuster affair. The game play has improved slightly over its predecessor, the cover mechanics are better and also the shooting is more refined. The graphics have also have been improved but the environments themselves are bland and drab. Army of Two: The Devil's Cartel does not do anything new so if you are a fan of the series you will be right at home. But if you were expecting something new, you will be disappointed. Expand
  2. Mar 26, 2013
    4
    Decent story, great graphics and excellent gameplay make Army of two The Devil's Cartel a experience that you don't want to miss. The customization aspect is better than ever with a lot of weapons and masks that you can personalize any way you want. The story is simple our new protagonists Alpha and Bravo are in a fictitious city in Mexico named La Puerta the objective remove The Cartels from the city. The story can sometimes become bland and boring but the new characters can definitely be enjoyable and welcomed, sadly the game can get repetitive at times but it never becomes a game breaking issue. The co-op is excellent by taking different paths and covering your friend from a top building to just decide to rescue or leave someone it just adds more replayability to the game. In conclusion Army of Two: The Devil's Cartel is a great game that delivers a fun and interesting experience at times if your not a fan of the franchise or just not love that much third person shooter games you should wait for a price drop. Expand
  3. Jun 9, 2013
    4
    I may have gone on about how I dislike like shooting games; with the exception of Transformers Fall of Cybertron, so why am I here talking about this? Well because my step dad keeps trying to find co-op player games, and this one couldn't scream it any louder. We started playing, then I saw the EA logo and started to worry. I've always heard that EA was a bad company, I honestly don't know why, but I am not saying they're good either. The game the released however is just, Meh. That sums up this whole thing: Meh. The graphics are really uninteresting, the gameplay can be either okay or annoying, and the story & characters are completely boring. I probably could get more out of call of duty than this, and that's saying something. I think) Expand
  4. Mar 31, 2013
    3
    A better title for this game would've been Army of Two: Gun Collector, because customizing your weapons is about the only fun you'll have with this game. The graphics are pretty dull looking, even for a military shooter, there's also something just off about the sound in this game. The story seems slapped together just to make another buck off the franchise and having to be online all the time to play for a crummy shooter like this is terrible. Army of Two has always been bottom rung, but this time it just fell off the ladder. Collapse
  5. Mar 28, 2013
    2
    Good fun but very similar to the previous Army of two. The graphic doesn't look like it's from the Frostbite 2. The graphic is not bad but far from what would be expected especially since it's from the frostbite 2 engine. Gameplay is fun but gets repetitive too quickly. It's best to play the campaign in coop mode and shoot things up with your friends. The story is too predictable and gets really boring. Army of two could really do with a reich story and the experience would be very different. The customisation n the game though is great. There many many choices you can customise on your weapons and the customisation is a good experience. Overall the performance of this game is disappointing and not what i have expected. I expected a lot more of AoT devil's cartel but it is a let down. The recommendation is to buy the game when it gets cheap or on sale. Rental is also a good option. This games is NOT worth it's retail price and I highly recommend NOT to buy it until it get cheaper. If you want a solid and fun third person shooter experience there are a lot of choices both older games and new games. Expand
  6. Mar 28, 2013
    1
    EA is at it again. This game requires that you sign in to Origin before you are allowed to play it. If you have lousy internet you will not be able to play this mediocre title, so maybe that's actually a good thing (unless you already paid for the damn thing). Gameplay is always linear; AI is watered down, even on the hardest difficulty. The only way to enjoy this game is with a friend and while you both are intoxicated. Otherwise the game is unchallenging, unimagintive, and the repetitive. Oh and did I mention the story was written by a 12 year old. Skip this one and invest the money you save on a worthier title. Expand
  7. Mar 31, 2013
    0
    A better title for this game would've been Army of Two: Gun Collector, because customizing your weapons is about the only fun you'll have with this game. The graphics are pretty dull looking, even for a military shooter, there's also something just off about the sound in this game. The story seems slapped together just to make another buck off the franchise and having to be online all the time to play for a crummy shooter like this is terrible. Army of Two has always been bottom rung, but this time it just fell off the ladder. Collapse
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 27
  2. Negative: 6 out of 27
  1. Not every game (or player) needs a riveting story, sometimes some fun gameplay is all it (and the player) needs. Unfortunately nobody told Visceral en EA that. The Devil's Cartel is nothing more than “Duck, Shoot and Reload”, until the end of times. [May 2013, p.80]
  2. May 27, 2013
    44
    A humdrum shooter that runs on unabashed machismo and is completely devoid of imagination. [Issue#231, p.68]
  3. Sometimes ugly, often stupid and always unoriginal, but it still does 'shooting men with guns' well enough to be fun. [June 2013, p.100]