Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 43 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 101 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Army of Two throws gamers into hot spots ripped from current day headlines where they utilize unique TWO man strategies and tactics while seamlessly transitioning between playing with intelligent Partner AI (PAI) and a live player. When one man is not enough, it takes an army of two to fight through war, political turmoil and a conspiracy so vast it threatens the entire world. This is EA's first original title for the next-gen systems. Army of Two is the first game to put players inside tactical warfare involving Private Military Corporations. EA has built this game with co-operative TWO man gameplay as the centerpiece of the experience. Whether you’re playing with PAI or a friend, it's about the TWO man missions, TWO man strategies and the TWO man advantage that really sets this game apart. [Electronic Arts] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 43
  2. Negative: 0 out of 43
  1. Army of two deserves the wait and buzz all around it. It is a true one of a kind experience when it comes to looking out for your buddy in the middle of a war.
  2. The slick presentation and intensely fun co-op play has made a believer out of me even though gameplay can feel sloppy at times. If you love shooters and are looking to play an interesting campaign mode with a friend, then Army of Two is a must-buy.
  3. Like an overblown Hollywood action flick, Army of Two is an explosive good time that has its weaknesses here and there but it won’t stop you from enjoying the bullet-fueled action.
  4. The game is short and sweet but with little to offer any replay value. It’s a mishmash of good ideas that have been thrown together with only some success. It bodes well for a sequel, though.
  5. It's a fun shooter, with a really well implemented COOP element, it's just that sometimes that illusion is needlessly broken and it makes a mockery of your tactics.
  6. The six missions, while short, are gorgeous to look at, and our heavily armored protagonists rank right up there with the baddest-looking dudes of all time. [May 2008, p.78]
  7. 60
    The enemies just aren't clever enough to keep up with players in most situations, not to mention the number of times your computer controlled partner will inevitably get stuck behind a wall. Plus, the seven-hour campaign doesn't provide enough entertainment value without the added fun of multiplayer gaming.

See all 43 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 34
  2. Negative: 6 out of 34
  1. Dec 17, 2013
    8
    Great fun to play with a friend on the couch. The reason this game is so good because it doesn't have any competition. How many games can you play in couch co-op these day? How many off them are fun? And how many off them are actually meant to be played that way? This one does just that. The gameplay is actually just a gears of war clone, which is a good thing. Killing enemies feels more satisfying then it does in gears of war though. Expand
  2. Jul 3, 2011
    7
    The charms of 'Army of Two' certainly outweigh the faults, but not by too vast a margin. While the characters in the game will give you a good laugh or two, and you'll definitely love to hate Clyde, the awkwardness of the game-play doesn't quite make you want to play much longer after the short campaign is over. Play 'Army of Two' with a partner. Expand
  3. Nov 21, 2012
    7
    I agree with other critics, the game it's far too short, the controls are very easy to master and once you do, no one can stop you on your killing spree, the solo missions are awesome, the story it's great but they could have added more weapons and customization for the characters. I had like 3 hours of excellent action game. Collapse
  4. Oct 21, 2012
    7
    I had a lot of fun playing army of two solo. Everybody tells you that this game is only good in co-op mode. I disagree. It was made to play in co-op i know but it can be as satisfying in a solo campaign. The story is forgetable but the game mechanics is what makes it good. Expand
  5. Aug 12, 2014
    6
    The Army of Two is a fun game a good 3rd person shooter specially if you play with a friend the graphics are ok but the story is lucking and the game is short .When you play with a friend the game it is at its best you feel like you really co-op with someone. I recommend to buy this game with a friend so you can both have fun. Expand
  6. Sep 1, 2012
    4
    This game should have been a lot more fun that the title promises. I felt like I was going to get a game that actually begs for a social life. You play with someone else all the time. You use their abilities and yours to achieve a goal. That sounds awesome. The problem is, the controls don't every seem to synch up. They want to. They just don't quite get there. That's okay. This game is one of a kind. Games that start up ideas or notions or principles of gaming always show their flaws more than a game in a tried and true genre. I guess the subject material should make you more involved. It just doesn't. For having the kind of weaponry that you have, and the kind of partner that you have, you should be able to knock it down all the time. You just never get to, at least, not really. That is why I can't really be nice to this game. It is a great idea, and it gets better(army of two....2!). This one should have been a little more polished. It looks good, just not great. The rest of this thing is just a mess, the story dies right away, and the gameplay becomes more of a job and less of a fun immersive gaming experience. I recently read a review on this website in which the user said, "I just don't know what gamers expect anymore..."; this implies we expect too much. We do. We gamers do complain an awful lot. Can you blame us? It's $60 dollars for a game. Can you blame the developers? They're paying a huge overhead just to make these things. They can't guarantee all their product. I think it's fair to look at both sides in the manner that I explained. However, it validates why this game isn't the greatest. It promises $60 of fun. You get the equivalent to just-okay Sega Dreamcast experience. Expand
  7. Dec 13, 2011
    3
    This game has a good idea: A game that is designed for Co-op play. One problem here is that it isn't really fun to play (lacks gameplay,humor and is really repetitive). I tried with some friends I know but it stopped at few things: 1) Controls were hard to learn 2) Game is boring 3) There are better games out there. So I wouldn't recommend to play this with a friend who is unfamiliar with shooters. But the BIGGEST PROBLEM here is that when you buy this game you want co-op action. But this is only mediocre co-op actions - other games have a lot better and funnier co-op modes. You can try this game - but be warned - it can disappoint you. Expand

See all 34 User Reviews