Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1110 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Pursue your enemies through 1775 America in an ever-changing environment. From the legendary battlefields of Lexington and Concord and the bustling streets of Boston and New York, to the snow-covered Appalachian wilderness, you’ll wage war in a stunningly mutable environment. Whether you’re tracking your quarry’s blood trail through fresh snow, or taking advantage of driving winds and thick fog to hide your attack, liberty is on the line, so unleash your killing power in Assassin's Creed 3. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. Oct 30, 2012
    100
    With the game's mix of a hugely interactive open world, a compelling setting, and a finely tuned combat system, I'm eager to return to delve even further into the Animus.
  2. Oct 31, 2012
    95
    Assassin's Creed III is unavoidably, inescapably epic.
  3. Oct 30, 2012
    93
    Freerunning has taken on new life with Connor's ability to flit through the trees, and the new weapons hem nicely into the freedom and wealth of options of the series...I can personally guarantee it'll see the top of many Game of the Year lists, perhaps even our own – Assassin's Creed III is a masterpiece.
  4. Nov 26, 2012
    88
    A great continuation of the Assassin's Creed series because of the strong visuals, gameplay and story. Though it must be said that the story gets somewhat boring towards the end, which leaves a sour taste.
  5. Nov 26, 2012
    80
    A gargantuan, lavish historical epic that pushes PS3 to its limits, only to be led down by linear missions and a clunky interface. [Christmas 2012, p.82]
  6. Nov 5, 2012
    80
    Generally, Assassin's Creed III delivers most of the things that fans want. It's a fresh new setting wrapped around the familiar core mechanics. We've lost the less engaging elements that they experimented with in Revelations while adding a couple of new tricks to the range of gameplay.
  7. Mar 6, 2013
    60
    The Assassin’s Creed formula of fighting and parkour is starting to get old, even with the ability to climb trees now. Maybe it’s the repetitiveness of the series, or maybe it’s just less interesting to toss crates of tea into the harbour than to hunt and kill corrupt bishops.

See all 41 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 72 out of 327
  1. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    AC3 is a all new AC Experience, it has a Read Dead Redemption feeling and the best things that you love on AC series. You watch the trailers, demos and theres no surprise, it is amazing like you saw by Ubisoft. Maybe GOTY 2012. Expand
  2. Nov 3, 2012
    10
    AC3 is a great game. It has a great time period for the setting and the story is excellent. There have been so not so positive reviews but I will say this, if you like adventure games with a lot action and if you like to take the time to explore then you will like this game. I have played all the assassins creed games and this is by far my favorite. It does not do a whole lot different from the previous games but it does fine tune the game into a much better game. The graphics are excellent even though the frame rate can slow down it is nothing major, the gameplay is easier but better and like I said the story is the best for the series. I recommend this game to anyone that just enjoys playing games. Expand
  3. Nov 25, 2012
    9
    This title is my Game of the Year. While a few bugs do exist, they were expected knowing that this is a brand new engine. However, none of the glitches are "game-breaking" which is definitely good news. Quite frankly, there is so much to do with this title, it's bound to keep you busy for weeks, if not months. Graphics are gorgeous. Controls work well. And running around in Revolutionary America is a whole lot of fun. You cannot go wrong with this game. Expand
  4. Jan 17, 2013
    7
    The story of Desmond is concluded, and we gets to say hi to the new assassin named Connor. the game is sprawling with brand new environments, new time setting, and new equipment. the soundtrack is delicious, and that is awesome. but.
    the ending disappointed me, and the cities could have been a little more varied.
    7/10 newcomers to the series may be a little confused, but for you assassin fans its a must-buy.
    Expand
  5. Jan 27, 2014
    6
    This assassins creed has disappointed me a lot, Connor is a character hasn´t have personality, he doesn´t know why he fight. The beginning of the game is slow, the first 4-5 hours are very boring. The game submit much graphical errors, like weapons in levitation, characters that appear suddenly. The combat system has been improved respect over previous releases but yet is still below other games like batman arkhan. The gameplay follows the patters of previous deliveries, but have errors, like getting stuck between tress that at times maddening. The story is very poor and how the story end, don´t like all.

    good thinks in the game: ship battles, are fun but lack depth.

    Only I recommend the game, diehard fans of assassins credd.
    Expand
  6. Dec 21, 2013
    5
    ACIII is a desperate try on Ubisoft's side; a try to be new, refreshing and innovative, a try to be patriotic, heroic and meaningful. I'm not sure what the original story was, but there are so many bugs and issues (honestly, it is so far the most problematic title I have ever laid my hands on) that you can't even get to the core of it. An almost complete abandonment of the legacy of the previous titles, ACIII is surely to make more enemies than friends. Connor has some big shoes to fill after Ezio, and fails miserably, looking more like a spoiled brat than a hero you could identify yourself with. There is a somewhat good game buried in there, but because it's trying too hard to be too many things, and fails as far as simple mechanics is concerned, you have to force yourself to find it enjoyable. Expand
  7. Mar 23, 2013
    0
    played AC since the first one released, this one is a total disappointment. Assassin running is wood or walking on ground are missing the original merit of this game, stupid and nothing cool. This will stop me from buying the game for the coming years. Who dare to being an assassin without style. Expand

See all 327 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Fall 2012 Games Preview: Notable Upcoming Releases

    Fall 2012 Games Preview: Notable Upcoming Releases Image
    Published: September 13, 2012
    You might have to wait until next year to play GTA V or BioShock: Infinite, but there are still plenty of major games arriving over the next few months, including a new Assassin's Creed, the latest Call of Duty, and the beginning of a new Halo trilogy.