Assassin's Creed: Revelations Image
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 656 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Revelations follows master assassin Ezio Auditore as he walks in the footsteps of his legendary mentor, Altair, on a journey to recover five ancient seals that hold the keys to the future of the Assassins brotherhood. It's a perilous path - one that will take Ezio to Constantinople, theRevelations follows master assassin Ezio Auditore as he walks in the footsteps of his legendary mentor, Altair, on a journey to recover five ancient seals that hold the keys to the future of the Assassins brotherhood. It's a perilous path - one that will take Ezio to Constantinople, the heart of the Ottoman Empire, where a growing army of Templars threatens to destabilize the region. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Assassin's Creed: Revelations End of Beta Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. Nov 14, 2011
    93
    Revelations closes the Assassin's Creed journey with a familiar looking videogame, but with a new iteration so epic and amazing as you might expect. It's a worthy end for the first volume of the series.
  2. Nov 14, 2011
    90
    ACR has its shortcomings, but they're nothing compared to the pleasure this title delivers. Large, more polished and varied, quite pretty and offering an adventure and a story more enticing than ever, the solo play doesn't disappoint, even though it's still based on the same tricks and elements established a few episodes ago. It may be time to alter the formula. Ben even so, the multiplayer has been refined, all the while becoming more accessible. Overall, it's an action-adventure must-have.
  3. Nov 14, 2011
    88
    A number of new features have been attempted to make Revelations feel new and different from its predecessors. In that quest for broader variety and a unique identity from the earlier games, Revelations makes some missteps that are hard to ignore. However, the game offers more of what has been great about the franchise, and that should be enough to bring most fans to the table, even if it a poor starting point for new players.
  4. Nov 14, 2011
    85
    This is the best Assassin's Creed yet, even if that victory is claimed by an inch and not a mile. If you've been following the lives of Altair and Ezio this long, you owe it to yourself to see their last adventure.
  5. Nov 23, 2011
    80
    Assassin's Creed: Revelations might not be the apex of the Creed, but its not a forgetable one either.
  6. Play UK
    Dec 1, 2011
    75
    Buckles under the weight of familiarity, irrelevant additions and overlooked flaws. [Issue#212, p.76]
  7. Jan 3, 2012
    58
    In the end, Revelations mostly feels like a step backwards that was probably rushed to market just to satisfy the need for a yearly installment.

See all 39 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 13 out of 183
  1. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    A well deserved finale to the series protagonists, Ezio and Altair. Stands up to it's name and builds upon the already solid storyline of theA well deserved finale to the series protagonists, Ezio and Altair. Stands up to it's name and builds upon the already solid storyline of the game and keeps us hooked every minute. Even though some might complain it's almost the same as the previous titles. But I don't believe they need to HAVE a new gameplay mechanic in every game. When you have a story such as this, it needs to be told on an annual basis and the gameplay need not be revamped every year. Even then they did have their fair share of improvements such as the hookblades and Desmond's memories. The only thing which they went a bit far with was the Tower Defense minigame, which seemed to be a nuisance to say the least.

    Other than that, visually appealing as always and well worth the money. I for one hope they don't stray far from their winning formula and don't succumb to adding new gameplay features for each iteration of their game.
    Expand
  2. Nov 17, 2011
    10
    I can't believe I even see negative reviews on here! Every AC has imporved on the last and this one is no different. I love what they didI can't believe I even see negative reviews on here! Every AC has imporved on the last and this one is no different. I love what they did with the apprentice system. Some have complained about the den defense mini-game, but I enjoy that too. The flashback missions as Altair are a great way to show what happened to him after the first game and are really fun. I'm glad Ezio and Altair got such a great ending. This game really gives me great expectations for the next game. If your a fan, buy it. Expand
  3. Nov 15, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. (not including multiplayer) Assassin's Creed has been one of the great new IPs of this console generation, with its unique take on parkour and mixing that with a historical tale, and good combat. But has the constant iteration of this franchise led to the stagnation of the franchises quality? Or has this led to a constant evolution which benefits the gamer and is worth your buck.
    Story: With its beginnings set in the crusade era, moving from Florence to Rome and now Constantinople (modern day Istanbul) it is difficult to say that Ubisoft have a repetitive setting and gives the gamer a new world to explore. Revelations begins almost directly after the events of Brotherhood, the Borgia Templars are no more, and Ezío has succeeded in his lifelong revenge. Now his eyes set eastward to discover the lost Masyaf keys left by his ancestor Altaír to uncover its secrets. This seems quite similar to AC2's move to unlock his armour but in a broader sense, the main attractiveness of the story is not the keys themselves but the change in his character, we see a new Ezio, forever lost is the young charming Firenzian bachelor that we saw is AC2. This breaths a sense of fresh air on the characters and the batch of new accomplices add to the depth of the story. The addition of flashbacks to Altaír give some fan love to the story, and the confusion yet interesting story of Desmond's predicament add great variety and continuity to the story.

    Gameplay: Gameplay in this series has come under criticism with the new iteration for not evolving quick enough to warrant a new $60/£40 purchase, but it is hard to argue with Ubisoft that a great deal of effort has been made to correct these complaints. Though the same brilliant parkour gameplay we grew to love with the first game. The change of setting is more than enough to allow for the fun exploration of these areas, this fact alone seem to give the parkour increased value, even with the included hardly exploited hook blade feature. The hookblade as mentioned gives Ezío and increased jumping range and allows the player to adapt. The combat is probably the highest issue over the years, as many criticise its old R1/RB and wait for them. Brotherhood was the first game to attempt changes to this with a more combo filled action but provided less of a challenge. Revelations tries to remedy this with the inclusion again of the combo system, where if one enemy is killed a timed strike on another will immediately defeat him. However this time around the inclusion of enemies that can withstand these combos adds a higher difficulty to the combat, which forces the player to adapt as there is only a scarce few enemies you can kill counter, you must make good use of the other features in combat. This gives an overall sense of immersion into the combat and the rise in challenge definitely shows. Assassin's Creed is hardly known for it set pieces and the quicktime events of the last game haven't seemed to expanded (thank you Ubisoft), but in this game I was trully amazed by some of the settings Ezío and Altaír would visit, not as blockbuster as MW3 or Uncharted but adds a mellow methodic feeling to the story which adds great value. Along with this the long enemy free parkour scenes the fans wished for returns in a spectacular fashion with the discovery of the 5 keys. In Revelations we see the first inclusion of their take on tower defence with the Templars and Ezío taking areas of the great city. The annoying camera angle feels unnecessary but it adds to the variety of the missions which has been a major complaint. The missions themselves still follow the regular escort, kill, disrupt method but have some greater variety this time, especially with a dress up scene, where you must become a guitarist (joke at older annoyances) and infiltrate a crowd. The addition of a new game mechanic with Desmond allows for the creation and movement of first person movement, much like Portal this seems a lacklustre feature but again just adds to the variety and does not intrude on overall gameplay. The gameplay and design of this series has evolved, there are some discrepancies on my end with annoying cameras and lacklustre features, but it is inarguable that AC:R has seriously added to the franchise.
    Presentation: The engine itself is beginning to show its age but the beautiful city and areas all but make up for its age. Animation has really been AC strong suit over the years in its combat and parkour, and this is still present, though the visuals of the water in the game really do pull any scene involving it back from its visual premise. No doubt AC: R is a beautiful game with great mechanics, but the ageing engine needs a serious update if the franchise is to sustain its stance in the market.

    AC:R does brilliantly to end Altaír and Ezío's story and the gameplay and presentation just give the gamer more value.
    Story - 9.1
    Gameplay - 9.5
    Design - 9.1
    Presentation - 8.8

    Overall - 9.2
    Expand
  4. Dec 6, 2011
    8
    Assassin's Creed is one of those series that has it's faults and can both make you frustrated and happy over killing 20 guards without loosingAssassin's Creed is one of those series that has it's faults and can both make you frustrated and happy over killing 20 guards without loosing a sigle point of health. If you have nothing to do for a 7 - 30 days then you should pick up this game because you'll be kept busy trying to buy everything in the game, upgrade your armour, etc. And even though I've nearly screamed at the screen in annoyance I'll never be able to put the controller down. The major faults in this game is the controls, they feel a bit stiff and unforgiving and that in a game where you need to be able to make sure every single jump is on the spot right is unacceptable. The camera and analog stick aren't really the best when combined. Not to mention when the camera is put in a cinematic view when you're climbing in a cave or something. So when you're directing the analog stick upwards and when you make that jump you just slightly tilt it to the right and you jump away from the wall to your death, these are the moments that really ruin the game, especially when they ruin your 100% mission success or get you spotted. But even though this game is annoying it still is a game you're not gonna put down until you've nearly got a platinum. I think giving this game an 8 is fair but I'm not really sure, I think 7,5 would be a more correct score. If you liked previous Assassin's Creed games then you won't be disappointed in this game, but there are still more games out there that you should rather buy if you just LIKE the game. If you want to know what happened to Desmond, Ezio and everything in the AC universe, you're gonna love the heck out of this game. Just make sure you tell your self when you're really getting pissed off that at the end of the game you'll be totally untouchable. Expand
  5. May 9, 2012
    8
    AC: Revelations is fun and epic, continuing the story of Ezio Auditore Da Firence, and showing several memories from Altair. Overall, It'sAC: Revelations is fun and epic, continuing the story of Ezio Auditore Da Firence, and showing several memories from Altair. Overall, It's great, but I excepted more. I excepted huge place to explore, I excepted to have a better storytelling, but still it is great, and It haves the best ending I ever seen. (8.9) Expand
  6. Aug 12, 2014
    7
    A rather needless entry in the series, served mainly as filler in order to get their game-every-year quota out. The new mechanic of towerA rather needless entry in the series, served mainly as filler in order to get their game-every-year quota out. The new mechanic of tower defence is an unnecessary side quest, and the "out of the animus" sections as Desmond serve very little purpose bar scraps of information on his past. Expand
  7. Dec 27, 2011
    0
    I played this game right after my second playthrough of AC II. I have to say, this game took the maturity of the Assassin's Creed franchiseI played this game right after my second playthrough of AC II. I have to say, this game took the maturity of the Assassin's Creed franchise and transformed it into an adolescent action/adventure American piece of garbage. How come a director of Far Cry 2, which is a mediocre FPS and Tennis Masters series took the position of directing one of the biggest and best franchises in the videogame industry is still a mystery to me. Also before I finish my review, for anyone that knows mediterranean history, this game has some serious flaws in presenting what exactly the Ottomans/Turks were and most importantly, how civilized they were. I also find it funny that in Italy of Renaissance the guards didn't have any weapons but at the same time in Turkey, which was in the middle ages at that time, they had found rifles! In the end, one thing I learned from the Assassin's Creed series is:

    Nothing is true. Everything is permitted.

    And I use my critical thinking in everything. Thank you Ubisoft for teaching me how to do it. :P

    Here's looking forward to the next series by Patrice Désilets. Hang in there brother! :D
    Expand

See all 183 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases

    Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases Image
    Published: September 13, 2011
    We take a look at the biggest games due out between now and the end of the year, from "Uncharted 3" to "Battlefield 3" to "Modern Warfare 3." It looks like three is indeed the magic number.