Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 500 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Revelations follows master assassin Ezio Auditore as he walks in the footsteps of his legendary mentor, Altair, on a journey to recover five ancient seals that hold the keys to the future of the Assassins brotherhood. It's a perilous path - one that will take Ezio to Constantinople, the heart of the Ottoman Empire, where a growing army of Templars threatens to destabilize the region. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. Nov 14, 2011
    93
    Revelations closes the Assassin's Creed journey with a familiar looking videogame, but with a new iteration so epic and amazing as you might expect. It's a worthy end for the first volume of the series.
  2. Nov 14, 2011
    90
    ACR has its shortcomings, but they're nothing compared to the pleasure this title delivers. Large, more polished and varied, quite pretty and offering an adventure and a story more enticing than ever, the solo play doesn't disappoint, even though it's still based on the same tricks and elements established a few episodes ago. It may be time to alter the formula. Ben even so, the multiplayer has been refined, all the while becoming more accessible. Overall, it's an action-adventure must-have.
  3. Nov 14, 2011
    88
    A number of new features have been attempted to make Revelations feel new and different from its predecessors. In that quest for broader variety and a unique identity from the earlier games, Revelations makes some missteps that are hard to ignore. However, the game offers more of what has been great about the franchise, and that should be enough to bring most fans to the table, even if it a poor starting point for new players.
  4. Nov 14, 2011
    85
    This is the best Assassin's Creed yet, even if that victory is claimed by an inch and not a mile. If you've been following the lives of Altair and Ezio this long, you owe it to yourself to see their last adventure.
  5. Nov 23, 2011
    80
    Assassin's Creed: Revelations might not be the apex of the Creed, but its not a forgetable one either.
  6. Dec 1, 2011
    75
    Buckles under the weight of familiarity, irrelevant additions and overlooked flaws. [Issue#212, p.76]
  7. Jan 3, 2012
    58
    In the end, Revelations mostly feels like a step backwards that was probably rushed to market just to satisfy the need for a yearly installment.

See all 39 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 13 out of 163
  1. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    A well deserved finale to the series protagonists, Ezio and Altair. Stands up to it's name and builds upon the already solid storyline of the game and keeps us hooked every minute. Even though some might complain it's almost the same as the previous titles. But I don't believe they need to HAVE a new gameplay mechanic in every game. When you have a story such as this, it needs to be told on an annual basis and the gameplay need not be revamped every year. Even then they did have their fair share of improvements such as the hookblades and Desmond's memories. The only thing which they went a bit far with was the Tower Defense minigame, which seemed to be a nuisance to say the least.

    Other than that, visually appealing as always and well worth the money. I for one hope they don't stray far from their winning formula and don't succumb to adding new gameplay features for each iteration of their game.
    Expand
  2. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    Amazing game. Awesome campaign. Multiplayer is great. Overall the game is great. No horses from Brotherhood but you get the hook blade to enjoy free running even more. Bombs are a great bonus. Expand
  3. Nov 17, 2011
    9
    If you like AC2 or Brotherhood you will enjoy this game, simply put. It follows much of the same formulas as the previous installments while adding new features that add variety. I always thought just platforming in the open worlds (rome, istanbul etc) to be great fun, so no need to change this, however, with ziplines, there is added excitement. The major changes for me this time around is the multiplayer, which is really great.

    Multiplayer is similar to Brotherhood but is very much expanded with more game modes and of course maps. The new modes are fun and add variety, but I think the overall gameplay experience is well balanced and is much smoother. I feel much more accomplished in this game when I play well were there were a lot of times I got frustrated in AC:B. There are still frustrating points, but you can appreciate it much more when you succeed or understand what you did wrong. The story so far (~half way through) is similar to other games, as is the city building, but the small tweaks add to the already great experience. If you enjoyed improving rome, you will enjoy it more in Revelations. The new tower defense mini game that you can get is fun, albeit it would become repetitive if done too much. Sending recruited assasins off on missions is much better (also similar to old brotherhood) in that you see progress in the cities. Small but I enjoyed this a bunch in brotherhood and its better this time around.

    Also, the hookblade does just enough to change your fighting style to add to what is already a great fighter.

    Overall, if you enjoyed the exploration and fighting of previous games, that base of an experience is built subtly better with this installment. Nothing major or game changing, but as I said if you enjoyed previous versions, that is a great thing. Graphics: 9.0 (small glitches, new style is great- platforming still realistic with each holding modeled)
    Gameplay: Story: 8.5 Multiplayer: 9.5
    Sound: 9.5 Really strong, immersive and better than previous games, good music choices.
    Overall: 9.0
    Expand
  4. Dec 10, 2011
    8
    Assassin's Creed: Revelation is a great game. Ezio final mission is great with better character and including one of the bestfunniest mission I have played in the series, I had a great time. The hook-blade is good for some thing, like going on the zip lines but it prevented me from doing the double air-assassination which i found that really unforgiving and it doesn't really add more to climbing. I didn't really like the den defense, I thought it was a bit pointless to me and just something that I tried to avoid because it just annoyed me. I loved playing as Altair again (especially now he has a proper Arabic accent not an American accent) and it really fills in some of the missing story points which was great. One thing is the better story and characters in this game, I did miss Leonardo da Vinci :'(, but the character here have personality which was missing in Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood. And now the online, it has been improved so much from Brotherhood, its quicker, better servers and just a better experience, it has been improved so much compared to Brotherhood. I loved it. But I'm really waiting out to Assassin's Creed 3 which has been announced for next year. This is a great game and I am having a good time. It has improved much from Brotherhood but still nothing could really beat AC 2, AC 2 driven out story and fleshed out characters really is the best in the series, so it better than Brotherhood for me but it isn't as good as AC 2. 8/10 Expand
  5. Sep 19, 2012
    8
    This game is the best assassins creed yet. It introduces a couple of really cool new ideas to the series, such as making your own bombs with materials you collect. It is awesome to mess with guards using all the different bombs you can create. Another new feature i really like that has been catching a lot of flak from other reviewers is the tower defense mini game they have put in the game. Good times. The fighting is better than ever, with many different enemy types that employ a variety of different tactics during battle. The counter kills are BRUTAL in this edition my friends. Even though there are a million more games out there with more graphic gore and blood, i feel this is some of the wildest violence i have seen in a game. Some other cool things are the missions you undertake with a friendly AI assassin, capturing templar "dens", and the altair flashback missions. I did have a few issues with the game though. I encountered several minor bugs throughout the game, nothing major but i feel i have never encountered any bugs, at least noteworthy bugs, in other AC games. Sometimes getting ezio (your character) to do what you wanted was not easy or not intuitive, and sometimes the game would take away certain abilities without reason. one example that comes to mind was a time when i couldnt use poisons. also the game is packed with content which is awesome except that some of it just felt like filler (finding hidden books, sending your assassins to other cities on missions). while sending your assassins on missions levels them up, i felt that they could have found a better way to implement that. but at least the filler content is optional. the multiplayer is not something i spent a lot of time with but it is fun and def different from what other m rated multiplayer games are offering so thats a plus. Overall great game, cant wait for ACIII Expand
  6. Feb 19, 2013
    7
    I must say I was expecting more in Ezio's last chapter in Assassin's Creed but I was satisfied playing the story, a few new features that Ubisoft tries to present as improvements prove to be little more than annoyances that made the game less entertaining Expand
  7. Dec 27, 2011
    0
    I played this game right after my second playthrough of AC II. I have to say, this game took the maturity of the Assassin's Creed franchise and transformed it into an adolescent action/adventure American piece of garbage. How come a director of Far Cry 2, which is a mediocre FPS and Tennis Masters series took the position of directing one of the biggest and best franchises in the videogame industry is still a mystery to me. Also before I finish my review, for anyone that knows mediterranean history, this game has some serious flaws in presenting what exactly the Ottomans/Turks were and most importantly, how civilized they were. I also find it funny that in Italy of Renaissance the guards didn't have any weapons but at the same time in Turkey, which was in the middle ages at that time, they had found rifles! In the end, one thing I learned from the Assassin's Creed series is:

    Nothing is true. Everything is permitted.

    And I use my critical thinking in everything. Thank you Ubisoft for teaching me how to do it. :P

    Here's looking forward to the next series by Patrice Désilets. Hang in there brother! :D
    Expand

See all 163 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases

    Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases Image
    Published: September 13, 2011
    We take a look at the biggest games due out between now and the end of the year, from "Uncharted 3" to "Battlefield 3" to "Modern Warfare 3." It looks like three is indeed the magic number.