User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 675 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 70 out of 675

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AndrewL
    Oct 24, 2009
    10
    It's funny how this game works. There's no doubt it is tedious, but no game is as much fun in bursts. You can play, love it, and stop. Then in a month you will pick it up again and play, love it, and stop. It's weird how the game does this, but I think our attention spans as humans don't last as long as they should. Running away from guards is so much fun, awesome It's funny how this game works. There's no doubt it is tedious, but no game is as much fun in bursts. You can play, love it, and stop. Then in a month you will pick it up again and play, love it, and stop. It's weird how the game does this, but I think our attention spans as humans don't last as long as they should. Running away from guards is so much fun, awesome music plays behind you as you bolt up walls and try to get away from them. It's a must have title and I'm glad its a release title with the PS3 Slim, that way newcomers to the PS3 can get a taste of what next gen games should be. A few years after its release and it still stands above most titles, both graphics and gameplay wise. Expand
  2. Apr 15, 2011
    7
    liked this game quite a bit i just wish there was a bit more variety but the game has amazing graphics and a story that made me keep coming back for more and steadily gets harder and harder with fluid movements and precise controls although i never finished the game because part way through it stopped telling me where to go which annoyed me and i never picked it up again but i plan to doliked this game quite a bit i just wish there was a bit more variety but the game has amazing graphics and a story that made me keep coming back for more and steadily gets harder and harder with fluid movements and precise controls although i never finished the game because part way through it stopped telling me where to go which annoyed me and i never picked it up again but i plan to do so and try again with another copy of this game Expand
  3. assanssinscreed
    Nov 24, 2007
    9
    Brilliant animation, enormous cities, not enough sneakiness, too much talking! Stealth action at its best! Buy It!
  4. Nick
    Nov 26, 2007
    10
    Chris is right. most reviews have to race through the game anfd i also take it one step at a time. If u play it slowly you will definately love this game.
  5. JasonX.
    Dec 19, 2007
    7
    Great graphics and good controls; however, the gameplay becomes very repetitive and uninteresting.
  6. Jul 18, 2012
    9
    What a Tremendous game! From the high flying acrobats to the Medieval charm this is one hell of a game! This Franchise has caught my eye and I am hooked! All I can say is wow, what a way to start of a series with a bang!
  7. Aug 17, 2012
    10
    ASSASSIN'S CREED simply take you in the history. I liked the game play because one can feel himself as part of history and I really like the way how they portrait ancient civilization. Best Game if you love history and video games both :)
  8. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    absolutely great game, no doubts. i pity the poor haters among us...
  9. Apr 3, 2013
    8
    Assassin's Creed Good Points: The introduction of parkour (or free running)Assassin's Creed Good Points: The introduction of parkour (or free running) to videogames, and being able to interact with the environment. Combat, a bit frustrating for those who don't have agility with the controls. The idea of the animus, and struggle of Templars and Assassins for thousands of years. The hidden blade. The transformation of the main character, Altaïr. The mysterious atmosphere. Well constructed story. Massive cities, and the fluid, realistic people. Very nice graphics for the moment. Soundtrack. Bad Points: Very long cinematics, can get the player very, very, bored. The limited inventory. Not being able to enter the city with the horse. Present day was boring, you had to walk and go to sleep, to then get back to the animus. Getting chased by guards, for only touching them. Final Score: Assassin's Creed is a fun game, with a lot of nice ideas, but ideas that were not fully completed. It posses a story and background story very interesting, and the gameplay was nice but it could be really frustrating at times. Average Score: 8.2 Expand
  10. JonM.
    Jul 9, 2008
    0
    Balancing the hype vote --- 1) game play was too repetitive 2) sci-fi angle detracted from the game 3) I saw the "twist" coming from a mile away (i.e. the storyline was too predictable) 4) for the record, arguably the most aesthetically pleasing game I've ever played... hopefully AC2 will be more than a pretty face and have more substance.
  11. Mimo
    May 27, 2008
    4
    Visuals are excellent. Framerate can slow down at times but is not gameplay hindering. The story isnt all too gripping and is pretty emotionless. The gameplay itself is extremely repetitive and is only worth-while for the so-so boss fights. As for the cut-scenes they are again only good before and after the boss fights. Just dont get this game. You will bore yourself to a dungeon which Visuals are excellent. Framerate can slow down at times but is not gameplay hindering. The story isnt all too gripping and is pretty emotionless. The gameplay itself is extremely repetitive and is only worth-while for the so-so boss fights. As for the cut-scenes they are again only good before and after the boss fights. Just dont get this game. You will bore yourself to a dungeon which then to recover from the pain of traveling on-top of buildings with the lackluster yawn fest of a control scheme you will cry in a dark corner. Expand
  12. Sep 28, 2011
    4
    This game has some great ideas, but they didn't get it right until the next game. The story is ridiculous - why all this crap about the animus and Desmond? That really put me off, god. The gameplay is sometimes incredibly fun, but often so frustrating and repetitive. I really see no point in playing this game, unless you want to punish yourself. Go straight to AC II which is the same asThis game has some great ideas, but they didn't get it right until the next game. The story is ridiculous - why all this crap about the animus and Desmond? That really put me off, god. The gameplay is sometimes incredibly fun, but often so frustrating and repetitive. I really see no point in playing this game, unless you want to punish yourself. Go straight to AC II which is the same as this game - only great. Expand
  13. LeonL.
    Mar 19, 2008
    6
    I'm kind of disappointed of the game. Graphic is excellent but it is the same throughout the game. I just walk through the cities and perform the same mission over and over again. There isn't much action happening and I'm getting bored after the 3rd memory. There is no subtitle of the video chip (unlike Uncharted, and Ratchet and Clank).
  14. FACTG
    Nov 13, 2007
    0
    Another game that is much better on the 360. The PS3 version lacks the visual quality of its counterpart, has ridiculous load times, and a low quality framerate. Ubisoft has just about had it with the PS3. No wonder the next Splinter Cell is 360 exclusive.
  15. MarkK.
    Feb 8, 2008
    6
    It's Next-Gen on some levels, but this is still a very one-dimensional experience that always gives you the urdge to go and do something else. A real disappointment.
  16. DilbertD.
    Nov 14, 2007
    0
    This game is overhyped and not worth any cent. Basically its a metal gear Solid/prince of persia clone that shows exactly that publishers these days are afraid of trying something new and innovative. Note worth any minute of playing at all.
  17. D.J.
    Jan 25, 2008
    6
    Lovely to look at dull to play.
  18. jimb
    Oct 27, 2009
    10
    An absolute marvel of a game. Should've been Game of the Year!
  19. Jul 11, 2011
    4
    This game is ridiculously unpolished. The game says that if you start a fist fight, the guards won't care. I start a fistfight, and the guards start attacking me. That pretty much summarizes the inconsistency of this game. It's just completely overshadowed by its successors. The "cutscenes" are pitiful, the voice acting of the main character is laughable, there are just so many thingsThis game is ridiculously unpolished. The game says that if you start a fist fight, the guards won't care. I start a fistfight, and the guards start attacking me. That pretty much summarizes the inconsistency of this game. It's just completely overshadowed by its successors. The "cutscenes" are pitiful, the voice acting of the main character is laughable, there are just so many things wrong with this game. Expand
  20. Nov 26, 2010
    6
    Assassins creed positives. Beautifull graphics, a stirdy cast of voice actors, great eviroment features such as people noticing your actions etc gaurds investigating a murdered person and warning other gaurds of you in a certian vicinity and people noticing you do unusual things that attrack unwanted attention and simple to learn combat.
    negatives. the story with the mix of medieval time
    Assassins creed positives. Beautifull graphics, a stirdy cast of voice actors, great eviroment features such as people noticing your actions etc gaurds investigating a murdered person and warning other gaurds of you in a certian vicinity and people noticing you do unusual things that attrack unwanted attention and simple to learn combat.
    negatives. the story with the mix of medieval time period and science fiction realy unballances the setting and feeling of the game especialy with the poorly made story that could have been better if it was not for the science fiction. The gameplay is nothing new, i found my self button mashing most of the time, and found it ridiculous that the gaurds were able to chase me in their full body armor scaling buildings. Plus some pointless gameplay such as spying on conversations with no real purpose in the game, and the fact on how simple it is to hide from your persuers. I also felt that the boss fights were made to simple, you could either waste your time in a sword fight or just jump on them with your concealed blade.
    Assassins creed brings good enviroment to the table but it also brings too much repeat feeling gameplay and pointless tasks of searching for far too many flags just to get a special weapon such as the crossbow.
    It could have been better.
    Expand
  21. Mar 24, 2011
    6
    This game has so much potential. The graphics and pixels are stunning. The sword play is smooth and impressive that I have ever seen to date. The voice acting is great with the big exception of the main character whose monotone american accent is obviously out-of-place with the others. To many game freezes for a PS3 frustrated me a lot. I found myself being very annoyed at having to saveThis game has so much potential. The graphics and pixels are stunning. The sword play is smooth and impressive that I have ever seen to date. The voice acting is great with the big exception of the main character whose monotone american accent is obviously out-of-place with the others. To many game freezes for a PS3 frustrated me a lot. I found myself being very annoyed at having to save what seemed to be the same person from soldiers like over fifty times. And what is up with those flags? I could care less how many I got. Expand
  22. Jan 6, 2013
    5
    I've played all the games in this series (except for the handheld ones) and, for the most part, enjoyed them, but there was very little to enjoy in this game for me. The free-running mechanic is good, and the combat is fine for a while. However, the visuals are not special (it felt like there was little or no color in the world!), the story is kind of boring, the voice acting is fairlyI've played all the games in this series (except for the handheld ones) and, for the most part, enjoyed them, but there was very little to enjoy in this game for me. The free-running mechanic is good, and the combat is fine for a while. However, the visuals are not special (it felt like there was little or no color in the world!), the story is kind of boring, the voice acting is fairly ridiculous, the modern-day parts felt like homework, and some of the gameplay things are painstakingly stupid (folding your hands and walking slower lets you "blend in," despite the fact that you are only person in the city that is hooded and armed to the teeth). If you're thinking about playing through the AC games, do yourself a favor: just read the wiki on this game and start with AC II. Expand
  23. aspentitan
    Jan 4, 2010
    7
    Some things were done nicely in this game. The cinematics and 3D world were fantastic and the story aspect of the game was interesting however the gameplay itself was very very bland and unexciting which is why you buy a game in the first place. I give a 7 just for the quality of the game being solid in most repects but just could not play it through with so many other fun games out on Some things were done nicely in this game. The cinematics and 3D world were fantastic and the story aspect of the game was interesting however the gameplay itself was very very bland and unexciting which is why you buy a game in the first place. I give a 7 just for the quality of the game being solid in most repects but just could not play it through with so many other fun games out on the market. Expand
  24. TheMule
    Mar 5, 2008
    5
    It's half a game. One level of design copy-pasted multiple times. Moronic gameplay, combat, moronic enemy AI, poor story, character developement, and surpisingly non-existent ending deserving of such a scam. One painful example of what "hype" can do (and some major videogame websites paid to write forgiving reviews and give good scores. STAY AWAY.
  25. MadsR.
    Dec 10, 2007
    6
    Allthough it is a very visually beautiful game and the controls are great, it lacks in variation and you basically do the same thing over and over until your fed up.
  26. Anonymous
    Jan 2, 2008
    9
    Besides the jumbled up storyline its open world environment was breathtaking and gameplay is respectable going around jumping and climbing using some of ubisofts great prince of persia mechanics but there is still more room for the future sequel and prequel we will hopefully see.
  27. BobW.
    Jan 7, 2008
    10
    A mavelous game. Beautiful, huge settings, and an excellent story line.
  28. SteamZ.
    Jan 7, 2008
    8
    Great Game, would be better if I can skip through sence.
  29. Guardian
    Jul 18, 2008
    7
    Ok Assassins Creed, one of the most hyped up games of the year, its great its got good controls and graphically very nice. Story wise im sure will come into itself a little when they release number 2, but its pretty tight. I bought the collectors edition with the steel case etc and it was good value for money except the replay value just isn't quite there. Its unique in its time Ok Assassins Creed, one of the most hyped up games of the year, its great its got good controls and graphically very nice. Story wise im sure will come into itself a little when they release number 2, but its pretty tight. I bought the collectors edition with the steel case etc and it was good value for money except the replay value just isn't quite there. Its unique in its time period and fantastic until its all over. I'm a lover of story based games, and ive tried to replay this one a few times but just end up in random sword fighting duels to try and keep interested. First time around though, i loved it, kept me interested enough to want to finish it off.....but at the end of the day i wanted more and once its over...its over. Just needed to have a few more options and perhaps an extra mode of play or two ie: dueling mode etc just to keep those of us who enjoyed this overall going. Polished, solid and entertaining but as said b4 when its over its over. Expand
  30. PinCushion
    Aug 10, 2008
    5
    Pretty good graphics although copy pasted and color palette changed here and there, once you've played one city you've played them all. The main problem to me is the horrible programming, ridiculous missions and game systems that just don't make any sense, plus inform you some times then don't inform you others. I have been playing for about 6 hours now and have Pretty good graphics although copy pasted and color palette changed here and there, once you've played one city you've played them all. The main problem to me is the horrible programming, ridiculous missions and game systems that just don't make any sense, plus inform you some times then don't inform you others. I have been playing for about 6 hours now and have crashed the game 7 times...it just locks up when i am running, in mid air, on a horse....walking.....totally sucks. the only reason it got a 5 is for the main character model, although poor looking in some instances, the attempt at fighting and the ability to put together a city like that....to me though this is typical ubisoft, maybe one nice thing amidst a crap load of crappity crap things.....but hey they did polish a t**d...and that's what this game is, hopefully next one will be better, i will wait way way down the line to see how the reviews pan out before buying again though. Expand
  31. pasinduS
    Apr 7, 2009
    2
    I haven't the slightest idea how a game this boring and repetitive could get a score of 80. Sure the graphics are amazing and the scaling of buildings is great fun but that's all there is. The gameplay is incredibly weak, the combat system is daft and the assassinations are just pathetic. You can actually take on 10 guards and they'll attack in single file. Its ridiculous. I haven't the slightest idea how a game this boring and repetitive could get a score of 80. Sure the graphics are amazing and the scaling of buildings is great fun but that's all there is. The gameplay is incredibly weak, the combat system is daft and the assassinations are just pathetic. You can actually take on 10 guards and they'll attack in single file. Its ridiculous. If you must, then rent it. Paying more than 5 bucks for this drivel is a crime. Expand
  32. JH
    Jan 1, 2008
    10
    Another great game to come out from '07, engaging story and a graphical marvel. The game play may be repetitive but this is truly a sandbox game.
  33. DavidH.
    Jan 14, 2008
    10
    Fantastic game with great story, immersive and varied combat, gourgerous graphics, if a little repetative.
  34. MarkP.
    Jan 26, 2008
    9
    This is a great game. These negative reviews on here don't do it justice. May be repetitive but the graphics and movement options are awesome. Climb, ride, jump, I am addicted. This game rocks!!
  35. PeterV.
    Jan 30, 2008
    10
    The gameplay is solid and the story is engaging and interesting. There is a myriad of ways to tackle each mission making for a decent replay factor. The only hang up is that the game ocassionaly locks up. other than that its a great game and i can't wait for the second installment
  36. StevenC.
    Jan 3, 2008
    8
    Environments are huge, game play is fun though previous comments about the repetitiveness is justified. I found the graphics to be quite good. Solid game overall.
  37. JamieS.
    Feb 12, 2008
    10
    Really good game, and so far my fav. for the PS3. Great graphics, interesting storyline with a fantastic combat system. Which other game has such a varied way of killing someone? 3 blades and your fists. Each with various different kill shots. I never once got bored of the assassination missions and a person mentioned the fact that you COULD do stealth or you could just butcher everyone. Really good game, and so far my fav. for the PS3. Great graphics, interesting storyline with a fantastic combat system. Which other game has such a varied way of killing someone? 3 blades and your fists. Each with various different kill shots. I never once got bored of the assassination missions and a person mentioned the fact that you COULD do stealth or you could just butcher everyone. Well I chose the former for every assassination and maybe that is why you didnt enjoy the game... you are an assassin, not the terminator. Come in from the roof, kill your target and leave with out being seen... brilliant. Expand
  38. SamR.
    Feb 16, 2008
    10
    It is an incredibly realistic game. The climbing is brilliant and it is great to just run across the roof tops. The fighting is very well done especially the counter attacks
  39. MasJ.
    Feb 5, 2008
    2
    Controls are too cumbersome to feel natural and a corny sci-fi element is tacked on to ruin an otherwise decent adventure game. Over-rated.
  40. JonathanS.
    Feb 9, 2008
    3
    This game is incredibly overrated, I don't understand why its getting such a high score from professionals, did they get bribed or something? Only thing that holds this game from getting a 1 is the great graphics. Other than that its really dull, all you do is move to target, kill him, kill 10 guards, run, kill more guards, repeat.
  41. [Anonymous]
    Mar 12, 2008
    0
    I'll balance out the hype with a fat 0/10. Many lament over the repetition of the missions
  42. BryanS.
    Mar 8, 2008
    9
    Unique story, great animations, and fun gameplay = Great game! Missions can get repetitive, but it doesn't make the game suffer that much, since you aren't forced to complete all of them if you choose not to.
  43. Jared
    Jul 16, 2008
    8
    Come on people give it good reviews so it gets a non-repetitive sequel with splitscreen co-op. Anyway I thought this game was fun the 1st time around but not the 2nd time because the reason i didn't stop playing the 1st time was because I liked the story. The graphics are excellent and you should buy if you like story-driven games. seriously ubi put splitscreen co-op in the sequel. Come on people give it good reviews so it gets a non-repetitive sequel with splitscreen co-op. Anyway I thought this game was fun the 1st time around but not the 2nd time because the reason i didn't stop playing the 1st time was because I liked the story. The graphics are excellent and you should buy if you like story-driven games. seriously ubi put splitscreen co-op in the sequel. It would be intense. Expand
  44. Stuart
    Aug 10, 2008
    8
    Good gameplay, great controls. Gets a little repetitive. Skimming the roof tops while evading guards after a hit is when the game shines.
  45. LeeB.
    Sep 23, 2008
    4
    Do not drop full price on this game. I bought this game used and after 3 days doing the same thing over and over again a had to trade it in and get some of my money back. The game looks great and plays good but after the same thing you just want to put it up and play something else.
  46. BobtheBuilder
    Sep 30, 2008
    10
    Not much you could really ask for, the game is repetitive but hey, why complain when your repeating brilliance. graphics are awesome and the fighting scenes are also amazing - a must have for fans of prince of Persia and ps3 owners alike.
  47. BoffoJ.
    Jul 16, 2009
    6
    Most has already been said but I'll add my two cents anyway. The game is fun and the graphics are amazing which is what gives it a 6. The reason I can't give it a 10 is as follows: When I originally bought this game the repetitive nature of it grew tiresome and I gave up. I picked it up again a year or so later to finish it and it was a long repetitive task. The ending was so Most has already been said but I'll add my two cents anyway. The game is fun and the graphics are amazing which is what gives it a 6. The reason I can't give it a 10 is as follows: When I originally bought this game the repetitive nature of it grew tiresome and I gave up. I picked it up again a year or so later to finish it and it was a long repetitive task. The ending was so anti climactic that I was pissed off that I spent all that time to get there. There should never be a.... to be continued at the end of a game. It should be a complete package. The dual story line was ridiculous and the ending atrocious. All that said it was still fun to play. Let's hope they work out the kinks for the inevitable number 2. Expand
  48. ChadH
    Aug 3, 2009
    6
    A beautiful game that offers alot for the eye. It also has a unique system of climbing, and moving around your environment that was definitely pioneered (at least mainstream from what I've seen) by Ubisoft's developers. The story is pretty good, but the missions are unbelievably repetitive. I never finished the game despite wanting to further the story because of this A beautiful game that offers alot for the eye. It also has a unique system of climbing, and moving around your environment that was definitely pioneered (at least mainstream from what I've seen) by Ubisoft's developers. The story is pretty good, but the missions are unbelievably repetitive. I never finished the game despite wanting to further the story because of this repetitiveness. I'd suggest renting it and spending at least 20 hours playing it before making the call to spend 60 bucks on it. Not to mention you could easily beat the game before your rental ends, and I doubt you'll see any replay value in this game. Maybe in a couple years or when number 2 comes out you'll pick it up again. Expand
  49. DickL.
    Nov 14, 2007
    7
    What the hell, this was the most anticipated game for two years and is such a dissapointment, then again the third crusade wasnt all that exciting anyways.
  50. JeremyL.
    Nov 14, 2007
    10
    Unbelievably original. Like GTA with brains and stealth. The environment is a "see it to believe it" type of thing.
  51. CarlosG.
    Nov 15, 2007
    10
    The controls in this game are very smooth, from accessing horses to fighting to climbing and shuffling around. very pleased indeed! not so stilted like hitman and thief. also, a very good story to go with the game! 10 out of 10 from me!!
  52. BethB.
    Nov 15, 2007
    10
    Tremendous gameplay value here, the fight mode is spectacular, the music is breathtaking, the controls and movements of Altair as he jumps from rooftop and climbs walls... This game is by far the best game available for the XBOX 360, hands down.
  53. GeorgeA.
    Nov 17, 2007
    3
    Apart from some pretty graphics, there's really nothing compelling about this game.
  54. MichaelO.
    Nov 19, 2007
    10
    Excellent. I really enjoyed this game: the storyline is fun, the action is enticing, the fights are brilliant, and after you are done with it...you can still play and have fun.
  55. Chris
    Nov 19, 2007
    10
    I love this game and i struggled to see why so many of the critics failed to agree with me and i think iv finally figured it out. Most reviewers have only one or two days to review a game, and one of the biggest apparent flaws with the game is that its a bit repetitive, but this is coming from people who have raced through the game to finish the story so they can meet the deadline for I love this game and i struggled to see why so many of the critics failed to agree with me and i think iv finally figured it out. Most reviewers have only one or two days to review a game, and one of the biggest apparent flaws with the game is that its a bit repetitive, but this is coming from people who have raced through the game to finish the story so they can meet the deadline for their review, and alot of good games get repetitive if you play them non-stop. Whereas me, i play my games for about an hour and a half then i go and do something else so this game has not as yet felt repetitive because when i put the disc in i look forward to workin towards the assassination. So, the bottom line is, i your a hardcore gamer who must finish his game as quickly as possible, give this title a rent or a miss, however if like most people, you stop gaming... you know... to sleep and stuff, little things like that, then this shud definately be on the top of your list. Expand
  56. WinkyD.
    Nov 21, 2007
    3
    This is part review part rant. First of all, the game is not horrible but is not spectacular - certainly better than other recent Ubi releases like "Beowulf" which might be the worst game released this year. As a gamer you sort of feel obligated to play it, but when you do there is a complete lack of fun. Good graphics but completely uninspired game play that has moments, but in general, This is part review part rant. First of all, the game is not horrible but is not spectacular - certainly better than other recent Ubi releases like "Beowulf" which might be the worst game released this year. As a gamer you sort of feel obligated to play it, but when you do there is a complete lack of fun. Good graphics but completely uninspired game play that has moments, but in general, is not fun and monotonous. With all the hype that went into this game, for it to be as flawed as it is and to the extent that it is - is mind blowing. The voice acting is horrible, the story is really bad and I absolutely hate that just when you are starting to get into the game and environment they pull you out take you into the "future". The future aspect feels like a cheap and tacked on. Also having blue transparent walls to prevent you from going into areas...complete suckage...bad design. The game also crashed no less than 6 times in 5 hours. I am 5 hours into this pile of poop and am still not having fun and will probably not pick this up again. Jade Raymond - you have sold your sole to make a buck for a third rate game company, maybe the same energy could have gone into making the game fun. Your team completely let you down and made you into a joke, you should be pissed. Ubi you guys suck, 98% of your games are crap, every PSP game you have done blows. I am boycotting Ubi for trying to profit by ripping off gamers. Also the PS3 version of AC is not as good as the Xbox360 version, why? The system is more powerful there is more space on the disk. Did you try or did you just port your code from the 360? Expand
  57. JamesR.
    Nov 22, 2007
    1
    Total, utter disappointment. Slow, monotonous, rent before you buy.
  58. TravB.
    Nov 25, 2007
    10
    It is totally awesome. thought it is better on the ps3 than the xbox 360, xbox just does quite bad with this quality. i do own both systems. assassins creed is a must have.
  59. JoshuaB.
    Nov 30, 2007
    10
    Great game innovotive and original.
  60. GregD.
    Dec 1, 2007
    7
    Great graphics, great AI, interesting storyline...unimaginative adventures for an assasin and repetitive in the worst way. Still worth playing though.
  61. DonM.
    Dec 17, 2007
    7
    I won't lie....I played this game for about 20 hours total and was hooked for a while. I found it completely fun at times but it quickly became repetitive. I began by completing every task in each level but about halfway through I realized it was pointless. So I only completed the tasks needed to get the assassination. Basically you assassinate a guy and then run like hell back to I won't lie....I played this game for about 20 hours total and was hooked for a while. I found it completely fun at times but it quickly became repetitive. I began by completing every task in each level but about halfway through I realized it was pointless. So I only completed the tasks needed to get the assassination. Basically you assassinate a guy and then run like hell back to base---repeat 8 times and then battle a couple bosses. A more stealth approach and exit would have made it much more interesting. The dialog is completely recycled in every level so much so that you may just get pissed and stab the woman who keeps bumping into you asking you for change around every corner in every level of the entire game. When I beat it I quickly pulled it out of my PS3 and returned it to the video store. If you need a day or two worth or fun then get this, but that's about all the fun will last. If you're looking for something with more depth and variety keep looking. However, I will say that the groundwork is layed for a rad sequel ---if they can improve on the faults of this one. Expand
  62. MeganF.
    Dec 19, 2007
    8
    Solid running-on-rooftops, very decent combat system, but... the game is very, very easy, giving you no real reason to USE said combat system to its fullest extent, etc. Very enjoyable if you like sandbox games and can ignore general ease of gameplay, not so good if you go into this expecting Hitman, or something particularly challenging. Think Prince of Persia in a sandbox world, with Solid running-on-rooftops, very decent combat system, but... the game is very, very easy, giving you no real reason to USE said combat system to its fullest extent, etc. Very enjoyable if you like sandbox games and can ignore general ease of gameplay, not so good if you go into this expecting Hitman, or something particularly challenging. Think Prince of Persia in a sandbox world, with the difficulty cranked down a few notches. Expand
  63. jl
    Dec 30, 2007
    5
    good graphics dumb story line, remember in the short movie before u start playing the game the dude has lots of weapons on him that u cant get in the game including the cross bo but i could be wrong maybe theirs some way 2 get it ,and after u beat the game u can only repeat the same
    boring stuff all in all piss this
  64. SimonM.
    Dec 31, 2007
    5
    The game starts off well but unfortunately the missions soon become repetitive and dull. Add a rather uninteresting story and cue hours of tedium.
  65. DarrenP.
    Dec 5, 2007
    2
    A terrible, terrible game - poor A.I, repetitive to the point of boredom & absolutely terrible story (that ruins the structure of the game). The biggest disappointment of 2007 - avoid at all costs.
  66. Gus
    Jan 22, 2008
    10
    Great game. superb graphics to admire. ambitious and excting to play.
  67. IanR.
    Jan 23, 2008
    5
    I must be the only person who thought this game was rubbish. Fair enough it looks nice (hence the generous 5 out of 10) but thats irrelevant when the game is so boring and annoying. The initial training is tedious and slow, you cannot skip any of the storline and you seem to just wander around not really knowing what the hell your supposed to be doing. If you don't have the latest I must be the only person who thought this game was rubbish. Fair enough it looks nice (hence the generous 5 out of 10) but thats irrelevant when the game is so boring and annoying. The initial training is tedious and slow, you cannot skip any of the storline and you seem to just wander around not really knowing what the hell your supposed to be doing. If you don't have the latest 1080 hi-tech TV it's very difficult to see the info on the screen, especially when viewing your map. When duelling the controls seem unresponsive and you just end up tapping all the buttons like a girl playing street fighter2, and the running and jumping is slow and aggrivating. I was gutted when I part exchanged Ratchet and Clank (which is serious fun) with this game, and have more fun playing Tetris. I've been gaming since before the NES and take my advice rent this game before buying it. Don't believe the hype. Expand
  68. DanishA.
    Feb 10, 2008
    10
    Awesome graphics and really great gameplay. Interesting gameplay and the story is interesting throughout the game. This game should have a better rating than what it has right now.
  69. KayC.
    Feb 8, 2008
    4
    The combat system could be a bit more diverse, the speed of jumping on objects could be increased slightly, the cities could be a bit more memorable, the story could be a bit more clear, the dual storyline and 2 character gameplay seems useless, the areas could be less a distance to travel through, they could have made the horse riding a bit more interesting, they could have made it The combat system could be a bit more diverse, the speed of jumping on objects could be increased slightly, the cities could be a bit more memorable, the story could be a bit more clear, the dual storyline and 2 character gameplay seems useless, the areas could be less a distance to travel through, they could have made the horse riding a bit more interesting, they could have made it harder to find a safe spot, they could have allowed more than 1 attack button, they could have made it a bit harder after you kill a leader. So many things stopping this game from being fun. In watching the TV advert you might think the game looks innovative, but it seems like the guys who made it just lack the skills and market research to produce a game that is actually fun. It's not fun riding to different cities on a horse while enemies 'attempt' to catch you. Though the graphics are great I don't really care, graphics don't make up for uncreative gameplay on what looks to have been a creative game. Highly overrated by many people who swayed me to get the game, but I'm disappointed that I have to climb the top of high buildings and look around, rather than doing real stealth type missions, the gameplay doesn't even involve much stealth, you could walk around in a populated city, steal someone's knives and the guards will only suspect you. I'm in no rush to get the sequel Expand
  70. AnonymousMC
    Mar 27, 2008
    8
    This game is undeniably brilliant graphically and in gameplay. Although some of the missions can seem similar and rather easy, you get heavily involved in the unique story and freedom of exploring the cities. Unfortunately, it is only a 'play once' game. It would have been better if the game ended in a way that allowed you to play on similar to games like 'grand theftThis game is undeniably brilliant graphically and in gameplay. Although some of the missions can seem similar and rather easy, you get heavily involved in the unique story and freedom of exploring the cities. Unfortunately, it is only a 'play once' game. It would have been better if the game ended in a way that allowed you to play on similar to games like 'grand theft auto'. However, there are other incentives such as collecting flags and things that can keep you occupied.
    The makers of the game should have made it a bit more realistic in some situations and improving the AI which was a bit annoying. Overall, a game worth buying for its unique nature and addictive gameplay.
    Expand
  71. AaronL.
    Jul 11, 2008
    5
    A somewhat unique game, great graphics, stunning level & costume design, and absolutely amazing gameplay (in terms of combat and climbing around the city etc) HOWEVER, this game feels like a tech-demo, it takes less than 2 hours before you realized it's very very repetitive, and very soon after that you're just hoping to skip all the middle missions and just have all the A somewhat unique game, great graphics, stunning level & costume design, and absolutely amazing gameplay (in terms of combat and climbing around the city etc) HOWEVER, this game feels like a tech-demo, it takes less than 2 hours before you realized it's very very repetitive, and very soon after that you're just hoping to skip all the middle missions and just have all the boss-fight (that tells the stories) line up right next to each other and be over and done with the game. i do however feel that with the same format, this game can be transformed into one of the best fantasy rpg games out there. assassin's creed itself however seems to be a combination of genres, action, adventure and rpg, but yet it fails to grasp the exciting features in each genre, ending up in the middle of nowhere. Expand
  72. IanB
    Oct 19, 2009
    6
    Not a bad game, but I thought it was too repetitive to enjoy fully. I felt i was playing the same mission over and over again.
  73. FabrizioF.
    Jun 17, 2009
    10
    It is a game to be remembered. First of all, a very original idea of the game and awesome graphics. Also it is really fun killing soldiers in several different ways and there are nearly no glithes during gameplay.
  74. AlexH
    Sep 8, 2009
    6
    The presentation and style of the game grabs a lot of attention but the quality of the game lacks creativity and effort. The low score comes from its repetitive gameplay, although the interesting storyline and immensely beautiful graphics can keep this game on the list of a PS3 gamer.
  75. BestReviews
    Nov 13, 2007
    8
    With the games out for the ps3 we should be very thanknful that we have something so much different to play for a little while. Graphics incredible, controls with a low-medium difficulty learning curve. Repetition does pose a little dissapointment but with a storyline as interesting as this, it finds a way to keep you playing until the very end, thank you ubisoft!
  76. YoungK.
    Nov 14, 2007
    10
    I was pretty skeptical about this game because it looked like a sort of hitman rip-off, then i played it. it's nothing like hitman, and the storyline accounts for that. whereas hitman is a drunken-frat-fest kind of game, this is a thinking game, a history game (ubisoft keeps cranking these out don't they?), an a scientifically exhilarating game - i don't want to give away I was pretty skeptical about this game because it looked like a sort of hitman rip-off, then i played it. it's nothing like hitman, and the storyline accounts for that. whereas hitman is a drunken-frat-fest kind of game, this is a thinking game, a history game (ubisoft keeps cranking these out don't they?), an a scientifically exhilarating game - i don't want to give away any secrets. the ending will blow you away!! Expand
  77. BradlyL.
    Nov 14, 2007
    10
    They haven't revealed the secret in the game yet.. the secret being WHY I BOUGHT THE GAME! But we all know that the game primarily takes place in 1191AD during the first crusade, but what's up with some of these glitchy things going on, such as "computer offline," when Altair dies? Three missions deep and I still don't know. But in the meantime this has been the most They haven't revealed the secret in the game yet.. the secret being WHY I BOUGHT THE GAME! But we all know that the game primarily takes place in 1191AD during the first crusade, but what's up with some of these glitchy things going on, such as "computer offline," when Altair dies? Three missions deep and I still don't know. But in the meantime this has been the most enjoyable time I've spent with a game in a while. I'm more into video games for the stories, the plot, the intrigue, and so I usually do RPGs, but this one caught my eye as soon as I saw some screens and read a little bit up on the issues involved. Assassinating leaders from the medieval era is probably the most exhilarating thing I've ever done in the video game... And the mystery... ugh, it makes MYST look like a level one Sudoku! :D Highly recommended, btw. Expand
  78. MarkF.
    Nov 14, 2007
    9
    On the message boards they were saying that it was just going to be a hitman rip-off, but it's nothing like hitman. the gameplay, controls, graphics, physics engine, the developers, down to the plot, are totally original. i was caught off guard, didn't think the game would be THIS good, but it is.
  79. BenJ.
    Nov 14, 2007
    9
    A little screen tearing here and there, no framerate issues for me. I am loving this game. Huge world to explore. Not a ten due to the screen tearing, but if we could do decimals, I'd give it a 9.4.
  80. TeddyB.
    Nov 16, 2007
    9
    These graphics are so beautiful and smooth, what is the next "next-gen" system going to make games look like!! I read that AC was made by the same guys who did Splinter Cell and Prince of Persia (both games that I really like!) and the smoothness of gameplay shows this is true. Every movement, even the fighting (and pushing around.
  81. William
    Nov 20, 2007
    9
    I would give this game a 9.1 It has great graphics and controls. I agree that it gets repetitive but the story was enought to keep me playing.
  82. ChristianNewton
    Nov 21, 2007
    9
    *SPOILERS* A game not without it's faults, but still the best adventure game I have played this year. Almost like a mixture of Shadow Of The Colossus, Oblivion and Crackdown. I love the controversial plot twist, it adds something extra to the game for me. I know other players would have preferred the modern day elements to be removed from the game altogether, but to be honest I*SPOILERS* A game not without it's faults, but still the best adventure game I have played this year. Almost like a mixture of Shadow Of The Colossus, Oblivion and Crackdown. I love the controversial plot twist, it adds something extra to the game for me. I know other players would have preferred the modern day elements to be removed from the game altogether, but to be honest I don't think I would have been as interested in the game otherwise. Graphics are gorgeous, but I really am enjoying the combat and running across rooftops. 'Assassin's Creed' is just a fun game. Just don't go expecting 'GTA Holy Land!' Expand
  83. AndyK.
    Nov 23, 2007
    9
    Amazing game...beautiful graphics, great story...a milestone! Great job Montreal!
  84. DanielVanHerwaarden
    Nov 25, 2007
    10
    VERY fun and VERY innovative. The storyline draws in greatly with the gameplay and the graphics really good. (get it for the PS3)
  85. OzzyK.
    Nov 25, 2007
    10
    I just bought this game 3 days ago. Im impressed! I love stealth like 3rd person games. If you liked the feel of GRAW2 then you'll love this game. I can sit for hours scaling roof tops like a cat or planning assasins etc. Visually the game is practically perfect. The story line is inticing, and the controls almost feel as if your in the game. Exciting stuff by Ubisoft.
  86. VoiceofReason
    Nov 26, 2007
    8
    This is a quality game. If you believed the hype and were expecting christ to pop out of the screen then I could see why some people are angry. It seems like the only games that get reviewed positively these days are first person shooters or games with familiar engines. Try to give a gamer something different and they will get angry. If you take the time to learn how this game works then This is a quality game. If you believed the hype and were expecting christ to pop out of the screen then I could see why some people are angry. It seems like the only games that get reviewed positively these days are first person shooters or games with familiar engines. Try to give a gamer something different and they will get angry. If you take the time to learn how this game works then you will have an enjoyable experience. The graphics and environments are second to none. The gameplay is slightly above average. Expand
  87. Brian
    Nov 27, 2007
    7
    Very disappointed. This game started off great, however, it becomes repetitive quickly. I was also bored by the fighting system. Fighting basically consists of countering attacks or just hitting one button over and over again.
  88. SzakK.
    Nov 28, 2007
    10
    The best game in the history of the play station, great life like graphics, awesome story line i like the stealth missions they are great that is why i am giving this game a 10.
  89. hoshokaruni
    Dec 17, 2007
    4
    this game basically started making me mad at the menu screen. Its hard to interact with it. The actual gameplay is a little to straight forward and the only cool thing about this game is the inovative ideas and scenery
  90. Warmonger
    Dec 4, 2007
    5
    This game Reminds me a bit of thief and prince of Persia..but they sort or ruined it with that whole future past storyline,they should have just kept it in the past. The graphics are very nice but the gameplay becomes too tiresome and repetitive after awhile.Definitely rent before you buy.
  91. DaveG.
    Dec 7, 2007
    6
    A beautiful bore. 3 hours into this game, I wanted to stop since it was already painfully repetitive and pointless to continue since the combat was a brutal chore and not the least bit fun. A gorgeous game that fails at everything else.
  92. Dave
    Jan 24, 2008
    3
    In the end, the eye candy aspect of Assasin's Creed just compounds the beating of the repetitive and inane game play, since you seem to be promised so much, only to receive so very little.. There is basically no real variation in the sub-missions you complete before attempting an assassination, as others have noted. The combat is so easy once you get the hang of it that the easiest In the end, the eye candy aspect of Assasin's Creed just compounds the beating of the repetitive and inane game play, since you seem to be promised so much, only to receive so very little.. There is basically no real variation in the sub-missions you complete before attempting an assassination, as others have noted. The combat is so easy once you get the hang of it that the easiest way to get out of a guards line of site, whether it is 1 or 20 of them, is simply to reduce them all to corpses. This also tends to hollow out the actually assassinations themselves, since stealth/evasion is both superfluous and inefficient. I find it shocking that it received such high reviews from so many professsional reviewers -- a clear indication that very few bothered to play the game all the way through before lavishing it with undeserved praise. Expand
  93. gunzofglory
    Nov 12, 2009
    7
    Fantastic at first, but...does get repetitive. You have to congratulate Ubisoft on their hard work and dedication for creating what has to be one of the finest games of 2007. What they didn't take into consideration was how repetitive it would be, both in terms of combat and the environment. Nonetheless, it is a visually stunning epic that explores the Third Crusade both brutally and Fantastic at first, but...does get repetitive. You have to congratulate Ubisoft on their hard work and dedication for creating what has to be one of the finest games of 2007. What they didn't take into consideration was how repetitive it would be, both in terms of combat and the environment. Nonetheless, it is a visually stunning epic that explores the Third Crusade both brutally and appropriately. My suggestion - rent it for a week and then decide, or pay £10, which seems highly worth it. Look forward to their much anticipated Assassin's Creed 2, which will, most definitely, be a stellar one. Expand
  94. tomA
    Nov 4, 2009
    9
    excellent combat, stealth, graphics and exploration, if only the missions were varied, it would be a perfect 10
  95. xxxxxx
    Nov 15, 2007
    9
    I really want to give 8.8 but since the rating system here doesn't allow that.. 9. It's an exciting experience to play this game. If you mix and match difference pro reviews, you'll get the idea. While elements like graphics & animation are next-gen, AI is still last-gen. It amazes you for a couple of hours and it get repetitive very fast. It wasn't meant to be played I really want to give 8.8 but since the rating system here doesn't allow that.. 9. It's an exciting experience to play this game. If you mix and match difference pro reviews, you'll get the idea. While elements like graphics & animation are next-gen, AI is still last-gen. It amazes you for a couple of hours and it get repetitive very fast. It wasn't meant to be played through one-all-nighter. Play, relax, and play again... just don't rush to ruin the experience. Expand
  96. HughH.
    Nov 16, 2007
    8
    This is a good game that has taken a big leap forward in the future of gaming. It is not as much a game as it is an interactive experience. You don't play Altair, you are Him! When bustling through streets running from guards or scaling rooftops to picking the best spot to leap on your prey, you are in his shoes make no mistake, it is intense. Casual gamers may not like this game This is a good game that has taken a big leap forward in the future of gaming. It is not as much a game as it is an interactive experience. You don't play Altair, you are Him! When bustling through streets running from guards or scaling rooftops to picking the best spot to leap on your prey, you are in his shoes make no mistake, it is intense. Casual gamers may not like this game because it can get repetitive after a few missions and the difficulty ramps up towards the end and also the feeling of not knowing where to go or what to do at some points but still, i have to applaud ubisoft for taking a chance and making this game memorable. Expand
  97. Ryencoke
    Nov 17, 2007
    3
    I was expecting a lot from this game due to the hype. It's really nothing special unless you're only there for the amazing graphics. The gameplay is so so repetitive that is does really get ever so boring after like 2 hours. There is also such a retarded amount of talking in the game that makes it seem like you're watching a Film. The free-walk concept is really awesome I was expecting a lot from this game due to the hype. It's really nothing special unless you're only there for the amazing graphics. The gameplay is so so repetitive that is does really get ever so boring after like 2 hours. There is also such a retarded amount of talking in the game that makes it seem like you're watching a Film. The free-walk concept is really awesome they did an excellent job on that. Otherwise, just rent it. Expand
  98. JonasL.
    Nov 18, 2007
    9
    Beautiful and very Impressive. Potential to reach 10/10, but it does miss out on a few importent ingredienses. The ways to assassinate a target are very limited. The flags you can collect seem pointless. Why cant you disguise yourself? But it still is an amazing game. Nice work Montreal!
  99. UncleDougB.
    Nov 28, 2007
    2
    This game has serious issues. It's too repetitive. It becomes tiresome after an hour and how the fighting system ever passed play testing is beyond me. Frame rate sucks too. Seriously people, this trash is not worth your time.
  100. DesmondM
    Dec 26, 2009
    9
    You jump across the roof tops in three huge cities. Two roofs ahead is a bowman guarding. You discretely put your hidden blade up. Moves slowly against the back of the unaware guard. He hears you turns around says "Hey you are not supposed to..." then his neck is penetrated by a blade he can not see. He falls down towards the ground. People down there jumps away, scared when the body You jump across the roof tops in three huge cities. Two roofs ahead is a bowman guarding. You discretely put your hidden blade up. Moves slowly against the back of the unaware guard. He hears you turns around says "Hey you are not supposed to..." then his neck is penetrated by a blade he can not see. He falls down towards the ground. People down there jumps away, scared when the body falls down infront of them. They look up to see where it cae from. But you, you are gone. A fantastic game that I don't find repeatedly at all. To anyone that reads this: buy this game if you like awesome animations, great freedom and lots, lots of murders. Because you will murder a lot, and you will enjoy it. Mostly because of the animations and voice acting. Awesome! Expand
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 40
  2. Negative: 1 out of 40
  1. Its stunning visual style, high concept story, and wildly open level design are like nothing else, even if too much repetition begins to frustrate in the later hours. It’s a game people will still be talking about five years from now.
  2. With its riveting story, beautiful visuals and surprisingly lifelike world, Assassin's Creed is an incredibly deep, enjoyable game that kept us addicted from beginning to bizarre end.
  3. 70
    It attempts a lot of ambitious things and it almost succeeds at every one. But it's apparent that these grandiose ideas may have been a little too much to master the first go-round. But hey, at least the groundwork is laid for a killer sequel -- right, Ubisoft?