Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
Buy On
  1. Aug 4, 2014
    72
    It's better than the original Atelier Rorona, but I'd still rather be playing any other Atelier game.
  2. Jun 24, 2014
    72
    An example of IP with personality, Atelier's series can be recognized just taking at look at the screen. After Escha & Logy, Tecmo brings to the West another Atelier, second in a row in the same year, to keep the fans of its crafting system entertained the whole summer. It's better in all aspects than the original Rorona, but if you have already played that back in 2010, this Plus version dosen't have so many new things to pay again for the experience unless we are real fans of the game. The best part is that now we have the Arland trilogy complete on PS Vita.
  3. Jun 28, 2014
    70
    Atelier Rorona Plus, while being a nice addition to the PsVita library, has simply not enough new contents to appeal to the ones who already own the 2010 version for PS3. Still, we're talking about a nice and happy JRPG, different from the usual fare.
  4. Jun 27, 2014
    70
    The Alchemist of Arland is back in a sort of Director's Cut, that fans will probably enjoy. For everyone else, it's not easy to point at this chapter as an entry ticket to the saga, mainly because of complicated menus and the slow pace.
  5. Jun 20, 2014
    70
    An interesting makeover of an already solid but a bit bland JRPG. The Cross Save functionality is a good touch.
  6. Jun 19, 2014
    70
    Rorona Plus is not an instant classic, but accessible and enjoyable enough that it deserves to be more than just a curio.
  7. Jun 19, 2014
    70
    The additions are not likely to be enough for those who own the original episode, especially with so many rivals on PS3. However, it is a very recommendable option on PS Vita.
User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 47 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 1 out of 4
  1. Dec 10, 2014
    2
    This is an angry rant on Atelier Rorona Plus because the original review posted got taken down. And this will continue to be reposted becauseThis is an angry rant on Atelier Rorona Plus because the original review posted got taken down. And this will continue to be reposted because I paid 50$ for this game on the playstation store, and played this nightmare through to the end so I earned the right to speak out. Everyone will know how bad this game truely is.

    - Right off the bat, the game begins with a 30 minute tutorial, explaining synthesis, and how to recruit party members. Doesn't even give time for the player to collect their thoughts or look around as all areas are blocked off with invisible walls until it's over. Don't start your games like this!!! It makes new players feel uncomfortable having to process so much information at once. And not everyone can. And if skipped, they won't know what they're even doing. Break up your tutorials piece by piece; don't dump it all at once!

    - This game has good story, graphics, voice acting, and atmosphere, but fails to do everything else right.

    - A knight named Sterk gives you assignments to complete throughout the game. They range between crafting and killing monster. Miss one assignment within the in-game timer and it's game over, and you have to reload a save. All of this is just house chores! Here's what gameplay is like: you go out and kill monsters, collect ingredients, return to watch cut-scene, synthesis, then turn in assignments for your next headache! Rinse & repeat about 200 times! This isn't fun!!! Any real gamer can see that these are mini side-quests forming into the main quest storyline. You have to do them too, which is the torture of it all. It is boring and unacceptable for today's gaming. The game attempts to color it's synthesis menu by giving you a variety of things to make. But the problem is you end up making the same thing 20 times during gameplay. And when you run out of ingredients, you'll magically notice an assignment involving an item you just did 10 minutes ago!!! **** ARP!

    - This game continues to taunt players with what could have been a really enjoyable battle system. But it's destroyed by the in-game timer described above!

    - The deafening soundtrack will destroy you if you don't download the free BGM DLC on the store, because the few good songs isn't worth sticking it out for.

    - There is no enjoyment for doing anything outside of cut-scenes. I paid 50$ of my own money on the playstation store to tell everyone if this game was worth it, and it was some of the worst 30 hours of my life.

    Fortunately, Atelier Rorona Plus isn't the worst game I've ever played, but it's still pretty bad. I feel sorry for the developers who actually had to make this crap because this game isn't fun. No one should buy this game. No one needs to endure this torture.
    Full Review »
  2. Sep 28, 2014
    8
    its a good game. compra ae mano, é bom serio, testado, aprovado e selado com o selo rick felix(feliz) de qualidade, hu3hu3hu3 brbrbr, aprovaits a good game. compra ae mano, é bom serio, testado, aprovado e selado com o selo rick felix(feliz) de qualidade, hu3hu3hu3 brbrbr, aprova ae manos, vlw, flw Full Review »
  3. May 13, 2017
    8
    This was my first game in the series for me. Playing it during my Playstation Now subscription, I wasn't expecting much. Atelier Rorona wasThis was my first game in the series for me. Playing it during my Playstation Now subscription, I wasn't expecting much. Atelier Rorona was a colorful blend of the right amount of anime humor, item creation and good ol' turn based RPG combat for me. Sadly, my subscription ended and I haven't gotten a chance to get back into this. But I certainly intend to at a later time.
    When I was playing, I had fun. Period.
    Full Review »