User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 26 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 26
  2. Negative: 7 out of 26

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 25, 2011
    8
    Great game , Story seems a little silly and the game play can be a little frustrating at times but it is fun to see the back to the future story line continue on. For the price I would say buy it ,
  2. Apr 7, 2011
    3
    Not happy here. Ep. 1 was pretty good. Doc and Marty looked and sounded legit. Music was from the movies. Characters seemed right. Story was just OK. I finished it but wouldn't go back and play it again.

    But now I can't seem to get Ep.2. Went to PS store and Telltale but no joy. Bad customer service from Telltale Games. Money back please. Sucks.
  3. Apr 1, 2011
    6
    Not the best investment but as a package deal I wont complain, well maybe a little. The controls are sloppy and the walking around is even weird when the camera tries switching to a different angle. As for the story, it is funny and hearing the voices bring back some memories. I couldnt see anyone being interested in this game other than fans of the movies. Trying to figure out a puzzle with inventory can be a bit frustrating but once figured out, excitement sets in for whats in store. Expand
  4. May 12, 2011
    6
    Sweet plutonium piles, this time travel adventure is one hell of a trip down memory lane. It's got everything: Doc's real voice! The DeLorean! Einstein the dog! That score! Well, everything except real gameplay. This is more an extended cut-scene where you occasionally get to press a button, move between locations or chat to NPCs. There's no risk of failing puzzles, only of taking a really long time to solve them - and even that's unlikely seeing as they're more 'show the dog the shoe' than 'attach cheese doodle to fly paper and throw at crocodile'. Still, BTTF! Expand
  5. Nov 7, 2011
    10
    Excellent game. Great story. Nice time wasting with adventure like this, especially for "Back To The Future" fans. Thanks a lot Talltale - it's exactly what I wanted.
  6. Jul 20, 2013
    4
    Wow this game has higher scores than I'd expect. Let's start with the good: The dialogue, the story, the voice acting are all superb in this game. If you are a back to the future fan this game was literally written for you in mind. There are tons of inside references to the lore of the movies. The environments are relatively well thought out and the puzzles 'on paper' are actually good. The whole base for a good-great game is here...but it's incomplete. In a nutshell: It basically succeeds as a story, and fails as a game. I'll be reviewing the ps3 version not the pc version so keep that in mind. This game is just plain incomplete. It feels like the intentions were great and the foundation got laid properly....but then it was rushed out the door before bug, framerate, and error testing was done. The bad: Graphics on this game...the cell shading suits the game great but overall it looks like something you could play on a ps2. This would be tolerable and understandable given its a budget title but the game has framerate and animation problems! There are many many times in the game where a character will repeat their last word over again like a hiccup. Originally I thought this was maybe intentional to give the characters depth or something....but it becomes pretty apparent it isn't. How to describe this: The lipsyncing on alot of the game is spot on. But on quite a few parts its just terrible or nonexistent...and it really prevents you from immersing yourself in this story and loving these characters. When you get to walk around the environments: your actual walking animation has framerate problems. Your 'fast walk' is sloooow. You run into invisible walls in every single environment you are in. Especially at the beginning of the game...you start out in a large open area and it lets you walk in all directions until bam...invisible wall out of nowhere hits you. On the inside environments this is tolerable....but outside its not. you feel like your free roaming from one stair case to another (if you can define that as free roaming). The controls too are broken here. You will be having a painful time getting your controller buttons to register...or to select the item to interact with. There were alot of awkward moments were I literally couldn't walk in the direction I wanted to or didn't know how to since the controller was accepting up for up and down for up at the same time. The puzzles: there is honestly one puzzle here where it wouldn't let me interact with an item until I walked into the corner of the environment....the corner next to the door where there is absolutely nothing to do or see but another invisible wall...you have to go out of your way and walk there to trigger the cutscene that allows you to do the puzzle....really? Yes really. Final verdict: 4/10. I would only recommend this to people who are big back to the future fans. As I said earlier....the game succeeds on the story and many other aspects...but it fails gameplay wise. A noteworthy story with funny reference jokes and lots of cool interactions....but a broken game. I wanted to love this game I really did, but the end result is an skip-able experience. Collapse
  7. Jul 20, 2013
    0
    Wow this game has higher scores than I'd expect. Let's start with the good: The dialogue, the story, the voice acting are all superb in this game. If you are a back to the future fan this game was literally written for you in mind. There are tons of inside references to the lore of the movies. The environments are relatively well thought out and the puzzles 'on paper' are actually good. The whole base for a good-great game is here...but it's incomplete. In a nutshell: It basically succeeds as a story, and fails as a game. I'll be reviewing the ps3 version not the pc version so keep that in mind. This game is just plain incomplete. It feels like the intentions were great and the foundation got laid properly....but then it was rushed out the door before bug, framerate, and error testing was done. The bad: Graphics on this game...the cell shading suits the game great but overall it looks like something you could play on a ps2. This would be tolerable and understandable given its a budget title but the game has framerate and animation problems! There are many many times in the game where a character will repeat their last word over again like a hiccup. Originally I thought this was maybe intentional to give the characters depth or something....but it becomes pretty apparent it isn't. How to describe this: The lipsyncing on alot of the game is spot on. But on quite a few parts its just terrible or nonexistent...and it really prevents you from immersing yourself in this story and loving these characters. When you get to walk around the environments: your actual walking animation has framerate problems. Your 'fast walk' is sloooow. You run into invisible walls in every single environment you are in. Especially at the beginning of the game...you start out in a large open area and it lets you walk in all directions until bam...invisible wall out of nowhere hits you. On the inside environments this is tolerable....but outside its not. you feel like your free roaming from one stair case to another (if you can define that as free roaming). The controls too are broken here. You will be having a painful time getting your controller buttons to register...or to select the item to interact with. There were alot of awkward moments were I literally couldn't walk in the direction I wanted to or didn't know how to since the controller was accepting up for up and down for up at the same time. The puzzles: there is honestly one puzzle here where it wouldn't let me interact with an item until I walked into the corner of the environment....the corner next to the door where there is absolutely nothing to do or see but another invisible wall...you have to go out of your way and walk there to trigger the cutscene that allows you to do the puzzle....really? Yes really. Final verdict: 4/10. I would only recommend this to people who are big back to the future fans. As I said earlier....the game succeeds on the story and many other aspects...but it fails gameplay wise. A noteworthy story with funny reference jokes and lots of cool interactions....but a broken game. I wanted to love this game I really did, but the end result is an skip-able experience. Collapse
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 13
  2. Negative: 1 out of 13
  1. Apr 21, 2011
    71
    An oversimplified but enjoyable counterpart to the Back To The Future films. [Issue#204, p.96]
  2. There's no risk of failing the puzzles. [May 2011, p.117]
  3. Telltale has absolutely nailed the feel of the franchise and the charming visuals are a treat. Christopher Lloyd is great as Doc Brown and newcomer A.J. LoCascio's impersonation of Michael J. Fox's Marty has to be heard to be believed. The music, a blend of cues from Alan Silvestri's memorable original score with a hint of Huey Lewis, is near perfect. [April 2011, p.81]