Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 42 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 42
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 42
  3. Negative: 0 out of 42
  1. Arkham City should be celebrated as a shining achievement for the action-adventure genre for its masterful execution. [Holiday 2011, p.70]
  2. Oct 30, 2011
    100
    Rocksteady Studios has done it again. It may not be perfect, but it has taken it's predecessor's place as the best superhero game of all time. One of the best that this year has to offer.
  3. Oct 26, 2011
    100
    A stunning, impeccable achievement in game design and execution, Batman: Arkham City is every bit as good as you've heard. And more.
  4. Oct 26, 2011
    100
    Is Batman: Arkham City a perfect game? It's a bold statement, but if not, it's very close.
  5. Oct 24, 2011
    100
    Rocksteady has managed to do something nobody else has in the two years since Arkham Asylum: they've improved on that combat system. Add to that the larger, more free-roaming play area as well as the masses of extra content and Arkham City is an exceptional achievement.
  6. 100
    If there is one game you buy this year, make it Batman: Arkham City. Few other games released this year will reach this level of polish, variety, story quality, action, scale, and length.
  7. Oct 21, 2011
    100
    Speaking of some of the things Batman does in the game, there are new emphasis on Batman's sleuthing abilities and gadgets to assist in crime scene analysis. This is in addition to the detective mode from the first game. Which is pretty awesome since there are so many new and different things in this game it breaks it up and makes it that much more interesting.
  8. Oct 20, 2011
    100
    Rocksteady's heavily modified Unreal Engine is a sight to behold as well. I'd go so far as to say the developer has beaten Epic Games at its own technology with Batman: Arkham City handedly surpassing Gears of War 3's highest visual achievements. The entirety of the open world is detailed, vibrant, and packed to the gills with content.
  9. Beautifully polished and endlessly exciting, Rocksteady's latest take on Batman is finally the hero that PS3 truly deserves. [Dec 2011]
  10. Oct 14, 2011
    100
    Arkham City is stuffed to the edge of the disc with content and replay value (in addition to the gigantic campaign there's an expanded Challenge Mode and New Game Plus), is incredible amounts of fun, is polished to perfection, has had real love poured into every aspect, and most importantly, it makes you feel like Batman.
  11. Oct 14, 2011
    100
    There's a real sense of progression to Arkham City in its gameplay, in its story, in the variety of its missions (the abundance of open world side-quests will keep you busy for a long, long time), and in the evolution of its pointy-eared protagonist, that really deserves to be commended.
  12. Oct 14, 2011
    100
    Rocksteady delivers a new masterpiece, enhancing the original in almost every way. Batman Arkham City offers a better story, masterfully paced storytelling, more freedom, more surprises, secondary missions and tasks, an intensified combat with new moves... To sum it up, a follow-up that met our expectations, without forgetting the strengths of the original, and growing up to be a spot-on tale of adventure and excitement: a serious candidate for the GOTY title.
  13. Oct 14, 2011
    100
    Controlling Batman as he completely terrorizes his victims, whether via the invisible predator gameplay or the brutal combat, is an experience rivaled by few others. From its memorable Bourne Identity-esque opening to its shocking ending, Batman: Arkham City secures its place as my favorite superhero game since Freedom Force.
  14. Oct 14, 2011
    100
    It doesn't take the world's greatest detective to spot that this is an expertly crafted adventure, one that maintains a breathtaking pace and invigorating rhythm from beginning to end. Dizzyingly extensive and lovingly detailed, Rocksteady has created an intricate, spirited and unequalled playground worthy of one of the most iconic characters in modern fiction.
  15. Oct 11, 2011
    100
    This game could be one of the biggest and most enjoyable time sinks of the year. Arkham City not only lives up to the standards set by Arkham Asylum, it bests its predecessor in every way and stands tall as one of Batman's greatest moments. [Nov 2011]
  16. Just so there's no confusion, let's state it plain: Batman: Arkham City is not only the best superhero game ever made, it's one of the best games ever made full-stop. Batman: Arkham City takes the already superlative original and gloriously expands on it. It's a deeper game, more complex, more inventive, more mature. In our view it brings the caped crusader's world to life better than any comic, movie, or television show before it ... To say it one last time: this is what it means to be Batman. And when it comes down to it, who the hell doesn't want to be Batman? [Nov 2011, p.62]
  17. Oct 30, 2011
    98
    Is this the perfect sequel? Yes. Rocksteady takes the core experience from the already fantastic Batman: Arkham Asylum and expands on it in every imaginable way. This is how every superhero game should be. Action game of the year!
  18. Oct 27, 2011
    98
    Unparalleled in its representation of the Bat, Batman: Arkham City is a pedigree of gaming making and content adaption that no Batman fan should be without.
  19. Oct 27, 2011
    98
    Batman: Arkham City is one of the best games I've ever played. It isn't perfect, but it's only kept away from perfection by a weak plot and a few nagging gameplay flaws.
  20. Nov 15, 2011
    96
    Batman: Arkham City sets the standard against which future superhero games will be judged.
  21. Oct 18, 2011
    96
    Batman is coloer than ever in this all new adventure. You'll fly from one magnificent moment to the other, with absolutely no time for boredom. Batman: Arkham City offers you the ultimate package, the best of the best and has everything you can ever ask for from a superhero game.
  22. Nov 29, 2011
    95
    All in all, outside of a few minor issues, I couldn't ask for a better Batman experience. If Arkham City was a graphic novel, it would be considered a classic.
  23. Oct 31, 2011
    95
    Batman: Arkham City is an absolute must for anyone who loved Arkham Asylum. If you didn't play that, then do that first because the storylines tie into each other.
  24. Oct 27, 2011
    95
    Bigger, better and more versatile than its predecessor. Arkham City is a superb gaming achievement, and with it Rocksteady earns a rightful place in this generation's most talented developers.
  25. 95
    An expansive and brilliantly crafted playground to test Batman's abilities as a detective, brute, and predator, Batman: Arkham City is highly addictive, and a work of digital art.
  26. Oct 21, 2011
    95
    Batman: Arkham City is great. It has the main features from Arkham Asylum but improves every possible aspect to create a bigger, better and more exciting Batman game. It delivers constantly and it's the best superhero videogame we've ever seen.
  27. Oct 20, 2011
    95
    Rocksteady already proved that they're an amazing studio with Arkham Asylum, but with Arkham City they now belong to the Olympus of the Action/Adventure genre. This game is the ultimate superhero experience.
  28. Oct 19, 2011
    95
    Rocksteady has done a brilliant job integrating villains from the rouge gallery as side quests.
  29. Oct 19, 2011
    95
    The control and responsiveness is perfect, the open-ended exploration is immersive as all hell, the stunning visual display and on-point voice performances are gigantic highlights, and the combat mechanic is second-to-none.
  30. Oct 14, 2011
    95
    Batman: Arkham City isn't just better than Batman: Arkham Asylum, it's better than most games on the market.
  31. Nov 13, 2011
    94
    A bold, confident reworking of a winning formula - one that takes Batman to the next level with incredible tech, skill and imagination. [Dec 2011, p.98]
  32. Nov 9, 2011
    94
    We're sure you've already seen plenty of quotes and sound bites that announce Arkham City as the best superhero game ever made but such statements sell the game short: Batman's latest digital outing is probably one of the best games this year, if not the entire generation.
  33. Oct 20, 2011
    94
    Batman: Arkham City is The Empire Strikes of the Batman gaming series. It's darker, grittier and adds so much to the original universe that Rocksteady created. If you liked Arkham Asylum then you will love Arkham City.
  34. Oct 21, 2011
    93
    It is not as surprising as Arkham Asylum, but it improves upon it, updating and enhancing all its elements, and also allowing us to feel like Batman patrolling the troubled streets of Gotham. Although with few new features in gameplay, it is the best Batman game ever made, and one of the best games of this year.
  35. Nov 6, 2011
    90
    Games have the ability to give players the experience of being a superhero in a very special way that is unique to the medium, and in Batman: Arkham City that experience has been crafted to a near perfection. It's a downright shame that the game has the aforementioned issues, because everything else is absolutely masterful.
  36. Nov 3, 2011
    90
    Though the overload of features and the hit-the-ground-running pace can be dizzying for some players, this approach is a smart move on Rocksteady's part. There is no better way for gamers to truly understand the Dark Knight unless we're placed in his boots and have the world hoisted on our shoulders.
  37. Oct 18, 2011
    90
    Takes the formula we loved in Arkham Asylum and advances it to a level I would have not thought possible in this medium. In Arkham Asylum, I felt as if I was playing a Batman tale; in Arkham City, every takedown I preform makes me want to scream "I am Batman!"
  38. Oct 17, 2011
    90
    Batman is back, better than ever with new tools, new areas to explore and an exiting adventure. Arkham City is better that it's predecessor in every possible way and in the end, it's one of the best games of this generation.
  39. Oct 14, 2011
    90
    A worthy successor.
  40. Oct 14, 2011
    90
    From the speedy exhilaration of soaring high above the streets to the atmospheric thrill of discovering long-forgotten secrets in the tunnels below Gotham, this is an unforgettable adventure that will keep you coming back to the cape and cowl long after you've seen the credits roll.
  41. Arkham City is the best reflection of the Batman-comic books ever. Not because of the sheer amount of famous enemies that challenge our hero, but thanks to the amazing atmosphere that oozes from every pore of this remarkable action game. [Nov 2011, p.70]
  42. Oct 19, 2011
    80
    Even if there is still some reason to quibble here and there, Arkham City is undoubtedly the result of which we dreamed, rich and surprising in many ways. A feat which makes it a must-see title of 2011.
User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1620 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 18 out of 377
  1. Oct 18, 2011
    10
    I picked up this game right at midnight and have been playing it for almost 4 hours now and I'm blown away. This is by far one of the best looking and action packed games I have played in a very long time. This game has it all and it really lives up to all of the hype that has been surrounding it. The detail is all here in each and every aspect and there is so much content I'm going to be at this one for a very long time. Due your self a HUGE favor and pick up this blockbuster right away and you can thank me later. Full Review »
  2. Oct 26, 2011
    9
    It is a great game, but not perfect by any means. The combat is obviously the best part, with so much going on but always an absolute joy to play. The story and graphics are all good, as well as the detective elements. The only problems are, first the load times. Any time you retry or load a new area it can take up to 30 seconds just to load up. It can get frustrating when you play on hard and must redo some parts to have to wait so long to load up. The biggest and most notable problem is the platforming. So many times I would look at a ledge or something I had just grappled to it and would not let me for some reason and I would spam the R1 button, because that is your best bet of getting anywhere, and it would spin me around and grapple something not even on the screen. It can be very frustrating. Also I would be standing next to a wall or ledge and it would not let me hang on it or grab on to it for no reason. They could have done a better job with that but great with EVERYTHING else besides a few minor errors and one major one.....great job rocksteady Full Review »
  3. Oct 18, 2011
    10
    ok , well i have been playing since midnight eastern time and let me start off by saying WOW. i am feeling like i am in an open world interactive batman comic/cartoon. it is that good. the details are top notch, everything from catwoman's hips to the dive bombing/thrust kicking villains. the graphics are beautiful, and there has been very little frame rate issues whatsoever. the controls familiar to asylum's mechanics, but more precise counters and great takedown sequences. the game starts off in a way which was very creative, and the story has been steady since pressing start. playing as catwoman is not only a great addition but the way she is seamlessly running parallel to the story, while taking turns from batman to catwoman. the upgrade/skill point is based on combat combo's and tech which gain batman his exp, doing other actions also will give some xp but combat being points plentiful. then can upgrade armor, techniques etc, categories ranging from gadgets to combat, and even catwoman has a small "tree" to upgrade. the villains are not the smartest bunch but instead of feeling like the a.i is pathetic, i feel like there is no match for batman while im playing him. so they give me feelings of being a bad a** who's moves got moves rather than the feeling of just going through the motions. that wasnt/isnt a easy task. i am one w/ batman. and my weapons are not over powered, if anything they are designed for 2 primary reasons. # 1 stunning / confusing the villain or # 2 used to solve puzzles(riddles) , break through walls and create diversions etc. they do not kill. batman has use his muscle to put enemies on the ground. and my fav is the "DIVE BOMB" lol, coasting around finding villains and pressing the right trigger to dive into a mob never gets old. the campaign isnt long if you go from a to b. but solving all the riddles as well as side quests tacks on many hours, fun hours. and im not usually a big fan w/ a ton of side quests but there are exceptions and its usually when i dont want a game to end, batman is an exception. i dont want the game to finish, and thats what tells me that im playing something special. batman has alot to offer. and it offers them on a silver platter. the only faults ive found is the main villains, in my opinion they did not get enough screentime, they just seemed to be an after thought rather than challenging foes. dont get me wrong, the details and voice acting of the joker, penguin etc were top notch but i just wished their presence made a bigger impact , cameo's is a word that describes my feelings on certain villains. and not knowing how many more batmans are to come, just wished that i had more interaction w/ them in this game because this is the one which is truely as close to a superhero to video game translation ive seen to date, and ive been playing games since commodore 64,lol..
    i took a break to share my thoughts as the game is paused in the background and its been about 13 hours of gaming so far and i cant wait to pick the controller back up.
    i must be honest before i go. i had no true desire for this game. almost switched my pre-order to something else. i must say that i would have made a mistake if i did because this is everything i want in a game and more, this is by far oe of the best games i have played in a while. ive played just about everything, check my psn if you wish. this is one which i will replay and one which i wont want to let go of. i dont think a perfect 10 exists but i have to grade a game which is pretty close. i would rate a 9.5 but considering the games that get scores that high and falling way short in comparison well hey im giving it a 10. the music hits all the right notes , the graphics are sweet and the story is one to enjoy. ultimately this game hits all the right notes and is very worthy of goty contention.

    if you a fan of batman or a fan of getting your monies worth in a game, then this is for you.
    if only rocksteady could call clark kent and have him sign a contract to jump in a phone booth and fly to our consoles. that would be nice...
    Full Review »