User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1795 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 4, 2011
    9
    I been playing this game since the day it released and Rocksteady Studios has made the best superhero game or maybe one of the best games I ever played. But it is a little bit overrated in Metacritic for the critic scores. I recommend you go buy this game right away.
  2. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    Very fun and addictive game. Enjoyed every minute of it! Really liked the new features (New game + mainly) which adds just that much more to an excellent game!
  3. Nov 8, 2011
    9
    Batman Arkham city, for me, is the best game of the year. The key selling point for me is that you are Batman, the world's greatest detective, the caped crusader. The feeling of being him is perfect and a key part of that is Arkham City itself. Dripping in detail, no it's not the biggest of open worlds but every inch seems painsatkingly hand-crafted. Even down to the location of the nextBatman Arkham city, for me, is the best game of the year. The key selling point for me is that you are Batman, the world's greatest detective, the caped crusader. The feeling of being him is perfect and a key part of that is Arkham City itself. Dripping in detail, no it's not the biggest of open worlds but every inch seems painsatkingly hand-crafted. Even down to the location of the next main story mission. The bat signal appears in the sky, not only for mindless fanservice but it marks your next main story mission. Rocksteady seem like they're masters of integrating game mechanics into the Batman world and making it feel completely authentic. Even on par with Bioshock by telling a story through the enviornment. It does feel a bit overwhelming when you're first thrown in to the mega-prison itself, but when you get over that obstacle its amazing. Gameplay hasn't changed mush since Arkham Asylum with the brilliant freeflow system. Some critics that said the combat system isn't deep enough and if they didn't like it they won't like this one. But for me the simplicity is key to the feeling of being Batman that it's as simle of a press of a button to take out an enemy. The detective scanning system, however, seems a bit gimmicky and tagged-on. The main story, once you get into it, is amazing and engaging and boss battles are largely improved from AA and feel fun and especially the MR. Freeze battle which tests your skills as Batman. But side missions are also amazing, spanning several hours each, and pack alot of (rather obscure) batman characters into it. I've spent several hours just gliding around the city and exploring it getting riddler trophies determined to unlock the next hostage and saving them and once you save them and hear the next rally of utter disbelief from the Riddler you feel like Batman once again. Catwoman (if you have the dlc) adds another dimension and view on Arkham City, she has her own agenda and motives. She's quicker, faster and alot of fun. You get a choice later on, as Catwoman, and I urge you to take the 'wrong' decision. The ending and beginning of the game are the most gripping and best begginings and endings I have ever experienced and are clear WOW moments. So, overall, Batman Arkham City is THE Batman game and builds on all the foundations that Arkham Asylum built, but is bigger, bolder and better. For me, this is the most confident game/sequel of the year. Bravo Rocksteady. Expand
  4. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    simply put if this does not win GOY then all that means is Skyrim ended up being far better than anyone expected it to be. Arkham City is one of the best games i have ever played. MUST BUY!!!!
  5. Nov 9, 2011
    10
    this is a great game.the story is nicely told with interesting characters from batman unvierse showing up.the voice acting is spectacular like uncharted 3.this game also looks beautiful with huge amount of detail and street lights reflecting off of the wet ground.it's a sweet sight on a console.the combat is as good as it gets on ANY console ,and the predator challenge mixes up thethis is a great game.the story is nicely told with interesting characters from batman unvierse showing up.the voice acting is spectacular like uncharted 3.this game also looks beautiful with huge amount of detail and street lights reflecting off of the wet ground.it's a sweet sight on a console.the combat is as good as it gets on ANY console ,and the predator challenge mixes up the gameplay and save it from being repetitive.the enemy is very intelligent and during the predator challenges they shoot the gargoyles if the spot u on one.it's an awesome game in everyday. Expand
  6. Nov 15, 2011
    8
    Visually this game is stunning and swinging from roof top to roof top is as fun as leaping around the roofs on Assassins Creed. The gadgets are good again and the fighting on it, like the first one, makes all other games take notice of how to actually do it. The introduction of Catwoman as a playable character as well is really fun. However I cant help but think I have played it all beforeVisually this game is stunning and swinging from roof top to roof top is as fun as leaping around the roofs on Assassins Creed. The gadgets are good again and the fighting on it, like the first one, makes all other games take notice of how to actually do it. The introduction of Catwoman as a playable character as well is really fun. However I cant help but think I have played it all before and the story line is a little bit weak in comparison to the first one. I have yet to 100% it and I am not sure I will. Good game but seems like they are running out of new idea's. Expand
  7. o-k
    Nov 20, 2011
    8
    the only complaint that i have is that it was WAY too short. everything else was amazing. i just hate that xbox doesn't have a blu ray player. why not just port from the PS3? geez.
  8. Apr 13, 2013
    10
    if I could give this game more than a ten I would this game is amazing the combat is fluid and easy to learn the story is fantastic and playing as catwoman is so much fun this game is a must have for any real gamer
  9. Jun 22, 2013
    7
    (My opinion): Huge open world, numerous side missions and activities interrupt the flow and excitement of the narrative. There's a certain type of disconnect you feel towards the main story. This wasn't the case in Arkham Asylum and this game could've used more linearity.
  10. Jan 29, 2015
    10
    Arkham Knight has the potential to be even better than this game, and that says alot about how great this game was, so I hope Arkham Knight surpasses this game's greatness and becomes the best of them all so it can be the best way to out with the amazing Arkham trilogy.
  11. Nov 12, 2011
    7
    I don't get how everyone is giving this game 10s. Don't get me wrong, it's a good game, very close to being a great one, but it's missing something that Arkham Asylum had and I can't put my finger on what it is. The story is very good and it's well told. The combat is basically more of the same with a few tweaks. It just doesn't "feel" as good. When I was playing AA all I could think aboutI don't get how everyone is giving this game 10s. Don't get me wrong, it's a good game, very close to being a great one, but it's missing something that Arkham Asylum had and I can't put my finger on what it is. The story is very good and it's well told. The combat is basically more of the same with a few tweaks. It just doesn't "feel" as good. When I was playing AA all I could think about was how much I wanted it to be an open world game in Gotham. Now that I have that I realize that this type of game works better with more structure and less open world freedom. The city looks very "samey" for the most part so is not very interesting to explore. There are WAY too many Riddler trophies, 400 in all, which wouldn't be an issue except that you HAVE to find them all to open the Riddler's puzzle rooms (which are quite fun to solve) and it just becomes tedious. The Catwoman missions just feel tacked on and add nothing to the game, when I was playing them I couldn't wait for them to be over. On the plus side there is incredible fan service with some classic villains turning up. The combat once again is excellent. SOME, and I stress SOME of the Riddler trophies are fun to work out, but most are just ass. Like I said, overall a good game but short of a great one. Expand
  12. Oct 21, 2011
    10
    Just an amazing game. Rocksteady took what already worked well in Arkham Asylum and just immensely improved on it. Arkham City contains a perfect ammount of stealth, combat, and free roam to make it an amazing game. GOTY for me.
  13. Oct 26, 2011
    8
    My goodness what can I say, well with all the hype surrounding this game I was pretty sure that these scores were too good to be true. I do not come from a place of profound misunderstanding about how much time and effort it takes to make a game of this nature, but I do believe that this game received far greater acclaim than it deserved for it's meek campaign and tedious ass riddlerMy goodness what can I say, well with all the hype surrounding this game I was pretty sure that these scores were too good to be true. I do not come from a place of profound misunderstanding about how much time and effort it takes to make a game of this nature, but I do believe that this game received far greater acclaim than it deserved for it's meek campaign and tedious ass riddler challenges. All in all, damn good with absolute expert execution, but I felt that far more could have been done to make this game more engrossing. There were many more opportunities in Arkahm City than were taken. If you have watched or read any batman at all in your day you will squeal with piggish excitement when you meet any of the bosses. Salomon Grundy was a flipping shocker to play against, but I must say I still feel like their could have been more. But I guess I'm **** bravo Rocksteady. Buy it used, pay for any of the downloadable extra content, cat-woman you will be forced to pay extra for if buying used, enjoy. Expand
  14. Oct 22, 2011
    10
    Batman began as a comic, and as time and technology progressed he moved forward, to television, then movies and now finally games. And for the first time, fans of the hero get to actually feel like Batman in Gotham. With the side missions and dizzying cast of characters, anyone who doesn't think this game deserves the best rating you can give is wrong, period.
  15. Oct 23, 2011
    10
    Batman is easily the coolest superhero and definitely my favourite but all the games featuring superhero always manage to be a huge letdown until UK based Rocksteady studios released Batman Arkham Asylum and if you haven't played asylum you should but you don't need to have played Arkham Asylum to fully enjoy Arkham City the grimy gritty horrible location being Arkham City is fantastic IBatman is easily the coolest superhero and definitely my favourite but all the games featuring superhero always manage to be a huge letdown until UK based Rocksteady studios released Batman Arkham Asylum and if you haven't played asylum you should but you don't need to have played Arkham Asylum to fully enjoy Arkham City the grimy gritty horrible location being Arkham City is fantastic I love the idea. The story of Arkham City is great but could have been better it only needed a few more villains in it Firefly flying about committing arson for example I love the free roam of the game but wanted more, and I only hope that Rocksteady release some campaign DLC and not just the challenge maps and predator maps I only hope at least. maybe some more catwoman episodes or some robin episodes instead of just challenge maps. All in all Batman Arkham City is amazing all the best things about asylum with plenty of new aspects the new gadgets are good but could have been better the fighting is brilliant I would have liked to play the whole campaign as Robin though but alas I have plenty of challenge maps and The Riddler campaign which are just linked challenge rooms but offer a nice change of pace. New Game + is brilliant if only the original had it too. Final Thought buy this game if A) Your a Batman Fan, B) You like stealth based free roam beat-em-up or C) If you want to play a truly brilliant game that is a game changer. Expand
  16. Oct 19, 2011
    10
    Probably one of the best games I've ever played. The controls work perfectly, with most abilities being simple, yet complex at the same time. Combat works perfectly after a bit of practice and gliding through the city never touching the ground is an amazing experience. Gameplay balances out perfectly between variation based combat, stealth and exploration. There is so much bonus contentProbably one of the best games I've ever played. The controls work perfectly, with most abilities being simple, yet complex at the same time. Combat works perfectly after a bit of practice and gliding through the city never touching the ground is an amazing experience. Gameplay balances out perfectly between variation based combat, stealth and exploration. There is so much bonus content from Riddler trophies, side missions and the new challenge mode. Catwoman offers a nice distraction during the story but is not 100% vital to the experience.

    The voice acting is of course amazing with the biggest examples being Batman (Kevin Conroy) and the Joker (Mark Hamill). The rest of the cast do pretty good as well like veteran Tara Strong as Harley Quinn. The story may seem a little TOO big at times but every twist and turn feel real in the universe. The ending alone was worth every penny I spent on this game. Fair warning that you may not understand character relationships and back stories if you're not a Batman fan.

    The graphics, while not mind blowing, look good and fit with the tone of the game, having both gritty and bright characters and locations. The music is epic and goes well with what goes on during gameplay. The amount of banter and dialogue recorded for this game is insane. Every group of criminals you come across, every hostage you rescue and every guard you chat with ALL have original dialogue.

    Overall Batman: Arkham City is amazing and 100% recommended for fans of Batman or action/adventure games.
    9.8/10 or 10/10 for Metacritic.
    Expand
  17. Nov 1, 2011
    10
    I liked Arkham Asylum, but this just puts it to shame. The last Arkham got off to an incredible start and stayed strong until the last couple hours. This game however blows the lid off the awesome jar from start to finish. It deserves every bit of this 10 and the only even slight gripe I have is I wish 2 face would be in it more, but when I'm complaining about something like that amongI liked Arkham Asylum, but this just puts it to shame. The last Arkham got off to an incredible start and stayed strong until the last couple hours. This game however blows the lid off the awesome jar from start to finish. It deserves every bit of this 10 and the only even slight gripe I have is I wish 2 face would be in it more, but when I'm complaining about something like that among all this badassery, I know it's a GOTY candidate. The pacing is pitch perfect, the side missions are incredible and do their villains justice, and the story takes you to places that even Batman hasn't been to before. Rocksteady improved the traversal to feel less stiff and made the boss encounters much more epic. Gotham is not some lifeless open world for you to travel from A to B. Every inch of this map is packed with content from side missions, to riddler trophies, to groups of thugs. If you're a Batman fan and haven't played both Arkham games, then you are not a Batman fan. If you aren't, you don't have to be to enjoy a great game. This is what licensed games should be and what I hope they become. It captures everything this character has ever been; combatant, detective, ninja, flyboy, and savior. Expand
  18. Nov 1, 2011
    8
    DNA never meant soo much to the Joker as of now! Batman Arkham City is the best Batman game I have ever played in my entire life. I never played Arkham Asylum but I have completed this title and this is my perks and let downs of this game. Perks: Non-stop action, fun challenging puzzles, weapons and gadgets, boss battles, taking down villians such as the Penguin, Mr. Freeze, Joker. LetDNA never meant soo much to the Joker as of now! Batman Arkham City is the best Batman game I have ever played in my entire life. I never played Arkham Asylum but I have completed this title and this is my perks and let downs of this game. Perks: Non-stop action, fun challenging puzzles, weapons and gadgets, boss battles, taking down villians such as the Penguin, Mr. Freeze, Joker. Let downs: Not a very long game story mode wise, some places are hard to find on the map they could have done a better job with the map more detailed, no online modes. All and all a fun game worth renting over a weekend and beating but not worth $60 unless your a huge fan of Batman and half to collect this one. You will not be let down by this title. Expand
  19. Nov 1, 2011
    8
    That game definitely worth to buy. Fun factor is awesome. Only game that IMO are better then this one so far this year are UC3 and Infamous 2.
    Control are great once your used to them, which does not take long. Graphics are very nice. The story is fun and the combat is awesome.

    Verdict: that game is really a must have
  20. Nov 1, 2011
    7
    I cannot understand where these ridiculously high scores come from. Be certain of this: the feeling of disconnect from Arkham City itself is almost total. Spending most of your time on the rooftops of the city means you don't really know where you are in the map (unless you keep checking every 2 minutes) as you can cover large distances in very short periods of time. Nor does it reallyI cannot understand where these ridiculously high scores come from. Be certain of this: the feeling of disconnect from Arkham City itself is almost total. Spending most of your time on the rooftops of the city means you don't really know where you are in the map (unless you keep checking every 2 minutes) as you can cover large distances in very short periods of time. Nor does it really matter - one rooftop is the same as the next, and the game becomes very monotonous very quickly. Adding to this are the myriad of trophies, side quests and riddles all piled on top of one another and in my playthrough of the game there was not even an explanation as to why the riddles and trophies are there. If I hadn't played the first game I would have been very confused. The fighting aspect can be pleasing and provides a real sense of achievement once the timing and more complex moves are mastered, but most of the smaller boss battles play out like Nintendo cliches from 10 years ago. In my opinion better to pick this up as a pre-played; definitely not worth these amazing review scores that seem to lift this game above all others this year. Expand
  21. Oct 12, 2012
    6
    Really, this game should be about a 6.5, but MC won't let me give that and I'd rather this be counted as a "mixed" review.

    There's a lot that's good about AC, but it's held back by a few serious flaws. The first, and most common , you won't know where to go or what to do a lot of the time. The map is not very helpful when indoors. Second, you often have to use a very specific
    Really, this game should be about a 6.5, but MC won't let me give that and I'd rather this be counted as a "mixed" review.

    There's a lot that's good about AC, but it's held back by a few serious flaws. The first, and most common , you won't know where to go or what to do a lot of the time. The map is not very helpful when indoors. Second, you often have to use a very specific combination of gadgets to get to your goal. This wouldn't be as big a problem in a more linear game or if the game gave you hints or skyrim style "go here" arrows. If you decide to play this game, find a good walkthrough on youtube and favorite it. You'll need it.

    Second, the combat can be infuriating. Often, the game throws a fistful of normal enemies at you and one or two especially annoying enemies (e.g., baddies with armor, shields, guns or stun batons) at you. If you could (A) easily target the annoying enemies or (B) take out the normal enemies and then deal with the annoying ones last, things would be fine. But neither of these can be done. Often you'll knock down all or almost all of the bad guys but be able to knock anyone out because Batman's ground finishing moves take so long. (It's not even worth trying, once you start a finishing move you can only be interrupted by an enemy's attack. And trust me, you will be interrupted.) Quick-firing a gadget is far too imprecise to hit any one specific enemy and long-firing takes too, well, long. The end result is that you're forced to adopt a needlessly defense battle strategy and battles take far longer than they ought. This makes the truly difficult battles extremely frustrating since you're liable to invest (repeatedly) gobs of time in a battle that you'll ultimately lose (often because you'll get frustrated and attempt a more aggressive strategy.)

    So that's the bad. The remarkable thing is, AC's still a lot of fun to play. At it's best it really is everything you've heard. The atmosphere and characters are great. And very little is more fun than hearing criminals cower as you stealthily eliminating a room full of them. One. By. One. You really do feel like the terror of Gotham's underworld. Also, combat is still fun most of the time (It's only the fights with a big bad *and* loads of normal enemies that are likely to incite controller throwing.)

    So, that's it. Is it as good as everyone says? No, the flaws are just too glaring. Does that mean that it's not worth owning or even playing? No (after all, a 6.5 from a metacritic user isn't quite like a 6.5 from IGN), but you should know what you're getting into. It's score would suggest that AC is happiness dressed in a batsuit. Under the mask, it's really the love-child of happiness and frustration.
    Expand
  22. Nov 2, 2011
    8
    The truth is......you fancy yourself as abit of a dark knight, and their is no coming closer to the experience than playing this amazing game. Upon reflection the game throws you thick and fast, deep into the action, and that's great, the gritty dark mood throws you into a sinister world of crime, and it's you job to clean up....quickly. While the game expands openly compared to itsThe truth is......you fancy yourself as abit of a dark knight, and their is no coming closer to the experience than playing this amazing game. Upon reflection the game throws you thick and fast, deep into the action, and that's great, the gritty dark mood throws you into a sinister world of crime, and it's you job to clean up....quickly. While the game expands openly compared to its predecessor, it can sometimes feel a little crammed in, it's a little hard to connect with the bad guys the way I did with arkham asylum to greater the experience, and the amount of different divides between these criminals felt from one to the next, this was my only downer, other than that the game has an immense amount of unlockables that will keep the fans engines ticking over. And some require some patience, and skill in equal measures. Expand
  23. Nov 2, 2011
    10
    I`ve been waiting for this game very long. I hoped that this will be awesome, and it was. I though that they can`t improve anything after the Arkham Asylum, but Rocksteady showed us that they can suprise us. New gadgets, very interesting story line and side mission make this game awesome. From my view this game could be a bit longer ( i mean the main plot ) but this is just a small minusI`ve been waiting for this game very long. I hoped that this will be awesome, and it was. I though that they can`t improve anything after the Arkham Asylum, but Rocksteady showed us that they can suprise us. New gadgets, very interesting story line and side mission make this game awesome. From my view this game could be a bit longer ( i mean the main plot ) but this is just a small minus in whole part. This is game which you have to buy and play. Expand
  24. Oct 29, 2011
    10
    i played Batman Arkham Asylum and it was a great game for me. i didn't hear anything about a new batman but when i saw the good reviews from the new batman i had to give it a try. And now playing it, it can't be any better for me.
  25. Oct 28, 2011
    10
    This game is a wonderful experience. The only downside I found was the lack of the much lauded multiplayer I had heard about for months. Other than that, it's as good as it gets. The best part is easily the amazing gameplay. To take the gameplay I loved so much in Arkham Asylum and open up the world into a full scale city. It's just an amazing idea. This is my favorite game in years.
  26. Oct 29, 2011
    9
    this game has everything from story, graphics and gameplay it simply excellent
  27. Oct 29, 2011
    10
    great game have a amazing history and a great open world to explore, batman have more moves, and a lot of side quests to spend time, a lot of time, dont miss the chance to play this game. Many games get scores of 10/10 because gamers simply love them. This game is one of the very few that earns its 10s by the sheer quality and perfection of its design. This game is not only a 10/10 becausegreat game have a amazing history and a great open world to explore, batman have more moves, and a lot of side quests to spend time, a lot of time, dont miss the chance to play this game. Many games get scores of 10/10 because gamers simply love them. This game is one of the very few that earns its 10s by the sheer quality and perfection of its design. This game is not only a 10/10 because of the fun factor. Its a 10/10 in nearly every single area of design. It ends up to be a game that simply everyone should play. Not only gamers, most of whom will love, it, but NON-GAMERS as well, to show the 'normal people' just how amazing games can be. As for game designers, and industry people, this is a masterclass in game design. Arkham City is a well balanced, well paced, brilliantly realised masterpiece. It brings atmosphere, character, story, cinema, action, MORALITY and gameplay into a near perfect recipe. It takes a great first game and makes it better. It makes a game that looks GREAT and plays PERFECTLY across all platforms. Its not finally perfect in every single detail, but so what! Games are the result of extremely complex processes of co-operative labour. It's totally shameful that a game this good, could presently stand with 42 green and 11 red user scores. As if there were a genuine 20% of players who found THIS GAME 'bad'! Nonsense, these are TROLLS. I'm going to rewrite a long review for this masterpiece of a game when I have the time. Right now, more important is something I realised: the metacritic user review system is itself fatally flawed. Reviewers in here should not be able to spam accounts and hide behind anonymous user names. It's not acceptable for industry people to dump zeros on rival studios. If they even try they should be exposed (and slapped about). Designers giving their own games 10/10 is fine, so long as they name themselves and give reasons, and are limited to ONE account (not multiple spam accounts). You are allowed to love your own labour, but not cheat by inventing 10 user names to distort the facts. Other users should know when a game designer has written a review so they can safely ignore the review if its not convincing enough. It's totally putrid that a few agents deliberate spoiling could create the false impression that this game is merely good, rather than the stand-out great it is. How metacritic finally cleans up the user review process is their problem, but one they better solve soon, because its getting WORSE. One key is to strip away user anonymity. I have nothing to hide, and no secret aggenda with this or any review. if anyone has any problems with this review or any others, you can address the author directly: . I will respond to replies and don't mind a bit of heated disagreement. If you have a strong case I may concede and change my scores if you can make a strong enough case to convince me. Also useful if you are an industry employer looking to hire someone with my obviously superior discrimination. I am not posting this 10/10 and running away to giggle and hide. I stand by it, and look forward to argue it with anyone who has a serious REASON to Expand
  28. Oct 31, 2011
    10
    It is AMAZING, SPECTACULAR, ADICTIVE, the best game of superheroes and the best game of this generation.
    And serious candidate of GOTY. Im very happy for this game, thank you Rocksteady.
  29. Nov 1, 2011
    9
    Believe the hype - so much depth and polish and hours and hours of adventure to be had. This really steps up from where they were with the last game, and expands the Batman universe - Just a brilliant, brilliant game.
  30. Nov 1, 2011
    9
    Loved this game but the side mission structure was weird where not all of them were available by the time I beat it. And I took it slow and did a LOT of side stuff before playing story missions. Wish that was different, but all around an amazing game.
  31. Nov 1, 2011
    10
    Rocksteady sets the bar high for video games this year and possibly the next 3 years until the new generation of consoles come to light. This game is a masterpiece in both story and design. The Batman mythos engulfs this game with such effort and such passion that it suceeds in almost every aspect to it's previous iteration, Arkham Asylum. Content that will keep you playing this game forRocksteady sets the bar high for video games this year and possibly the next 3 years until the new generation of consoles come to light. This game is a masterpiece in both story and design. The Batman mythos engulfs this game with such effort and such passion that it suceeds in almost every aspect to it's previous iteration, Arkham Asylum. Content that will keep you playing this game for months if not years, the lasting appeal of this game knows no bounds. Rivalling only Uncharted 3 in score, a deserving and renowned 10/10 . Expand
  32. Nov 2, 2011
    9
    I'm not sure what crazy drug Dragonslayer007 is on. Graphics are fantastic. I think where the series has always lacked is in Boss Battles. They're always far too predictable and no where near rewarding enough, especially for how well written the characters and story are. I say leave it to Metal Gear Solid. Other than that, it is a magnificent game, worthy of all the praise it has received.I'm not sure what crazy drug Dragonslayer007 is on. Graphics are fantastic. I think where the series has always lacked is in Boss Battles. They're always far too predictable and no where near rewarding enough, especially for how well written the characters and story are. I say leave it to Metal Gear Solid. Other than that, it is a magnificent game, worthy of all the praise it has received. Graphics- 9.5

    Sound- 9.5

    Story- 8

    Gameplay- 9

    Replayability- 8.5

    8.9/10 (but let's round it up to 9 to reward Rocksteady's effort)
    Expand
  33. Nov 2, 2011
    10
    This game is one of my favorite games of all time. I enjoyed the gameplay, though it gets a bit repetitive at times. Voice acting is exceptional and the open-world setup is a nice move on Rocksteady's part.

    If you're looking for a good buy this holiday season, this game is great (as well as Uncharted 3!) and should definitely be on your list.
  34. Nov 4, 2011
    10
    This game is phenomenal. It has amazing visuals, amazing story, amazing gameplay, and a mind-boggling story. Stop reading reviews and just buy this game!
  35. Nov 4, 2011
    10
    Who in the living hell gives this game a 0/10????????? LOL at this site. This is by far the best licensed game ever and one of the very best action games out there.
  36. Nov 4, 2011
    10
    the Batman series was dead but thanks to batman arkham assylum resurrected the Batman franchise. and this game is still better than arkham assylum I recommend this game stunning graphics and good gameplay.
  37. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    Simply stunning. An absolute joy to play, for Batman fans this is akin to porn. This took everything that was good about Arkham Asylum and improved upon it. Well done Rocksteady.
  38. Nov 15, 2011
    6
    A lot of time and energy seems to have gone into this game and everything that was fun about Arkham Asylum is still fun here. However, the game has its drawbacks. For one, I don't think the story was improved by having a 'free-roaming' world. In other games, the freedom of movement is fantastic - games like Red Dead Redemption and Oblivion. With Batman, however, I was just annoyed atA lot of time and energy seems to have gone into this game and everything that was fun about Arkham Asylum is still fun here. However, the game has its drawbacks. For one, I don't think the story was improved by having a 'free-roaming' world. In other games, the freedom of movement is fantastic - games like Red Dead Redemption and Oblivion. With Batman, however, I was just annoyed at having to traverse the map to continue the story. Some of us are not into collecting every Riddler trophy or freeing every political prisoner crying out for help from above.

    I typically buy a game for its story and for feeling a sense of accomplishment after completing critical sequences. Unfortunately, Batman: Arkham City is extremely short if you mainly concern yourself with the core storyline, and the 'side quests' are neither extensive enough nor engaging enough to entice you to continue with them. Despite all the fun to be had beating up bad guys, the game leaves you feeling like you fell asleep at the beginning of a movie only to wake up just as the climax has gotten underway. There was so much more that could have been done with the story, but I think the creative team had to spend the bulk of their time making a very intricate sandbox. If you liked Asylum, play City, but I recommend renting as opposed to buying. I will be trading my copy in as soon as I get the chance.
    Expand
  39. Nov 2, 2011
    10
    Batman Arkham City is a game that has to be experienced. It has a mind blowing ending and an incredible combat engine. Did I mention that it also has some of the finest graphics in gaming and one of the most detailed open worlds ever? Yeah. Get it NOW!
  40. Nov 4, 2011
    10
    This game has Game of the year all over it. In fact, do some research and you will find that Rocksteady packages the game with a little bit of coke to make the game extremely addictive.
  41. Nov 2, 2013
    0
    Despite all attempts to bury the bad reviews and bully those who spoke the truth, this bait and switch wrecked the franchise as the sequel bore out. Bad characterization, absurd story, subpar graphics for a game of this class and a mean-spirited bait-and-switch by the Batman editor with a record of doing just that, and surprise, presales for the sequel are in the toilet. Nobody is behindDespite all attempts to bury the bad reviews and bully those who spoke the truth, this bait and switch wrecked the franchise as the sequel bore out. Bad characterization, absurd story, subpar graphics for a game of this class and a mean-spirited bait-and-switch by the Batman editor with a record of doing just that, and surprise, presales for the sequel are in the toilet. Nobody is behind Arkham Origins. No one cares. There's a lesson, no matter what kind of a rosy picture you paint online, fans remember and you'll pay in future sales. Expand
  42. Nov 1, 2011
    8
    This is a good game but it's way too short. I understand that there are trophies and riddles to collect however I beat the game at 29%, WTF?

    I thought that ending was okay as I thought there was more to it.
  43. Oct 9, 2013
    2
    Great looking game and very fun to run around the city, but the game play is the most boring I have ever played. I play games on the hardest level and this game is just horribly slow. In the beginning fights it takes over 10 minutes to kill 10 goons. The harder level does not mean it should take forever to kill people. It should just be harder. This game is extremely slow and boring if youGreat looking game and very fun to run around the city, but the game play is the most boring I have ever played. I play games on the hardest level and this game is just horribly slow. In the beginning fights it takes over 10 minutes to kill 10 goons. The harder level does not mean it should take forever to kill people. It should just be harder. This game is extremely slow and boring if you are on the harder levels. Other than the graphics this game wasn't worth the money. Expand
  44. Jun 27, 2013
    6
    Now I may be the only one who thinks this but Arkham City is way overrated. Don't get me wrong the graphics are great and the world is extremely immersive (down to details such as original comic book appearances) but man is this game repetitive. When I think of Batman, I think of a hero who has a gadget for every situation. I also think of a hero who uses intelligence to gain the upperNow I may be the only one who thinks this but Arkham City is way overrated. Don't get me wrong the graphics are great and the world is extremely immersive (down to details such as original comic book appearances) but man is this game repetitive. When I think of Batman, I think of a hero who has a gadget for every situation. I also think of a hero who uses intelligence to gain the upper hand on every foe. So why is it that the Batman I'm playing as in this title can only conceive three ways to approach an open map with almost limitless possibilities? In Arkham city you either 1) use hand to hand to kill twenty guys, 2) sneak and tie enemies up, or 3) fly over any enemies and obstacles. I applaud Rocksteady for not just releasing a licensed cash in, but this game isn't as great as people have made it out to be. Expand
  45. Jun 12, 2013
    0
    I hate that Batman have to find question marks or items to go next mission, it takes a lot of time to find it, figure it out. I don't like martial arts games, slow motions.
  46. Jun 5, 2013
    0
    Um monte de tempo e energia parece ter ido para este jogo e tudo o que era divertido sobre Arkham Asylum ainda divertido aqui. No entanto, o jogo tem suas desvantagens. Por um lado, eu não acho que a história foi melhorada por ter um mundo "livre de roaming Em outros jogos, a liberdade de circulação fantástico jogos como Red Dead Redemption e Oblivion. Com Batman, no entanto, eu estavaUm monte de tempo e energia parece ter ido para este jogo e tudo o que era divertido sobre Arkham Asylum ainda divertido aqui. No entanto, o jogo tem suas desvantagens. Por um lado, eu não acho que a história foi melhorada por ter um mundo "livre de roaming Em outros jogos, a liberdade de circulação fantástico jogos como Red Dead Redemption e Oblivion. Com Batman, no entanto, eu estava irritado com Expand
  47. Nov 9, 2011
    10
    Arkham Asylum was pretty much one of the best superhero games I have ever played and is up there with Spiderman 2 and Infamous 2 and Rocksteady has outdone themselves again with City. Going for a more open world exploration, you are Batman who is stuck in a city full of thugs and prisoners of different source. That in itself is awesome enough but what surprised me is how City uses Asylum'sArkham Asylum was pretty much one of the best superhero games I have ever played and is up there with Spiderman 2 and Infamous 2 and Rocksteady has outdone themselves again with City. Going for a more open world exploration, you are Batman who is stuck in a city full of thugs and prisoners of different source. That in itself is awesome enough but what surprised me is how City uses Asylum's already brilliant gameplay mechanics and made it work in the open world without being stale in itself. The story itself, though a bit bloated because of the countless villains in it, it does an awesome job making the bloatedness engaging and at times provocative. If you love Asylum, you will love City and if you love Batman in general, why do you even want to miss this? Expand
  48. Nov 9, 2011
    10
    what a game!..this is everything a sequel should be, it is truly magnificent..this game will keep you coming back to play it one more time even after the story is finished there is still so much more to complete, thats a sign of a great game.This has got to be GOTY..graphics are awesome , voice acting is awesome, game play is awesome. story is awesome..I read that this game is what itwhat a game!..this is everything a sequel should be, it is truly magnificent..this game will keep you coming back to play it one more time even after the story is finished there is still so much more to complete, thats a sign of a great game.This has got to be GOTY..graphics are awesome , voice acting is awesome, game play is awesome. story is awesome..I read that this game is what it means to be Batman, and thats so true..go buy it! Expand
  49. Nov 24, 2011
    10
    Arkham City is truly a superb game, for both normal gamers and die hard comic fans. The game has fluid gameplay with an excellent combat system that can be as deep as you want to take it, and moving around the map is a breeze once you obtain certain upgrades. The graphics are beautiful and the voice acting is top notch, as Batman and his rogues gallery are all brought to life in satisfyingArkham City is truly a superb game, for both normal gamers and die hard comic fans. The game has fluid gameplay with an excellent combat system that can be as deep as you want to take it, and moving around the map is a breeze once you obtain certain upgrades. The graphics are beautiful and the voice acting is top notch, as Batman and his rogues gallery are all brought to life in satisfying fashion, and the story is one of the best Batman tales you'll find. There is a lot of fan service to comic readers that makes the experience that much richer for them, but doesn't drag down the game for anyone who is unfamiliar with Batman lore. There are an incredible number of villains that make an appearance, but the story plays out in a way that none of them are present just for the sake of throwing them in. Just when you think you've encountered everything Arkham City has to offer, you find another hidden portion that blows your mind. Arkham City is by far the best game to come out this year, and is a must play for everyone, whether or not you played Arkham Asylum. Expand
  50. Nov 10, 2011
    9
    The characters the plot the game play the storyline the music are AMAZING in this game. I would not say it would be my game of the year but it was ones that were pretty much on top way to go rocksteady keep those batmans coming.
  51. Nov 8, 2011
    8
    I start by saying i bought Arkham Asylum last year, and after 30 minutes i hit eject. I found it too boring. Two months later and sold it shamelessly. Now appears Arkham City. Beautiful game! Visuals 8.5, Audio 9.0, history 8.5, gameplay 8.5. This results in a 8.6. A game with satisfactory immersion , good visuals, good dose of fun and nice sound effects. In my opinion this end being theI start by saying i bought Arkham Asylum last year, and after 30 minutes i hit eject. I found it too boring. Two months later and sold it shamelessly. Now appears Arkham City. Beautiful game! Visuals 8.5, Audio 9.0, history 8.5, gameplay 8.5. This results in a 8.6. A game with satisfactory immersion , good visuals, good dose of fun and nice sound effects. In my opinion this end being the best part of the game ... I mean i like the game, i'm almost finished the campaign by the way, but 96 is a lot of hype for this game! Expand
  52. Dec 8, 2011
    7
    Arkham City is a fun and a worth while single player game but is not the masterpiece many claim. I enjoyed the open world of Arkham city and found gliding and fighting around at my own leisure fun for a time. The environmental graphics are good, batman also looks good with a great animating cape. The story has a few moments but did not surprise me at all and ends up being completelyArkham City is a fun and a worth while single player game but is not the masterpiece many claim. I enjoyed the open world of Arkham city and found gliding and fighting around at my own leisure fun for a time. The environmental graphics are good, batman also looks good with a great animating cape. The story has a few moments but did not surprise me at all and ends up being completely unbelievable even for a cartoon which is unacceptable for a claimed 'masterpiece'. The combat is good and feels unique (much improved from Arkham Asylum being more fluid and giving the player more options in combat). Most of the Batman franchise is over used in the game with too many villains that are just there for the sake of it without much use or need. unfortunately as its a franchise Batman will never really learn any real lessons about crime or criminals and there never will be an end to Batman's troubles, batman is never going to die which destroys any suspense of danger, he will never totally defeat his enemies either, Joker will always come back again and again and again which does water down any story's significance. Recommened. Expand
  53. Nov 8, 2012
    5
    I'd rather microwave some popcorn and grab a triscut, open a can of coke and relax with mah girlfriend watching a batman movee dan this k? Yea im coo. In udeer words just mak out with ur girlfriend and smochin her whil watching a batman movee instead of playing bat ark citeh.
  54. Nov 12, 2011
    7
    I'm sure we all remember the last Batman adventure and how it was awesome. Well so now's here's more of that. now Batman has a whole city to run, fly, and glide around in while finding random hoodlums and ruining their days. The good this besides more neat toys and is as far as squeals this one is well done though not without problems. The story while still good doesn't have the sameI'm sure we all remember the last Batman adventure and how it was awesome. Well so now's here's more of that. now Batman has a whole city to run, fly, and glide around in while finding random hoodlums and ruining their days. The good this besides more neat toys and is as far as squeals this one is well done though not without problems. The story while still good doesn't have the same impact the first game had and most twist are reveled as a "and then suddenly this villain shows up" The boss fights are fun though even if they do boil down to figure out the method and repeat. And the Riddler is back which will take up more of your time then dealing with the actual story. The side missions and the game story are a tad bit loosely connected. But worst of it is that the villains have less screen time then they should because we all know the supervillians are more interesting than all the generic henchmen Batman eats for breakfast. But the worst is the ending, it doesn't leave a "what next" feeling like the last game, it leaves a "that's it?" feeling. And we all know the people of this game can do much better. Expand
  55. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    Possibly one of the best games I have ever played. I don't know why anyone would give this game a negative review...drugs maybe. This game will have you truly feeling like the Dark Knight and is an absolute thrill ride from beginning to end. If I had a single complaint, it would be that there are just too many riddler puzzles, over 400, but I don't let that keep me from giving this game a 10/10!
  56. Jan 28, 2012
    10
    This review is from a non batman fan, There was nothing to else rent so I decided to "try" Batman: Arkham City. Thinking I would be turning the game off after 15 mins of play! But I was blown away. by the presentaion, the graphics, the open world, the depth of characters, the gameplay. Wow!! Just an amazing game!!!
  57. Apr 4, 2012
    7
    I got this for my birthday and I was sceptical about playing it until I checked on the web and saw the great reviews. So I started playing it and I wasn't disappointed. The combat system was enjoyable and satisfying, the level up system was ok and I really enjoyed grapplehooking myself and gliding through the map. So why give it a seven instead of a nine or ten? The reason that I gave it aI got this for my birthday and I was sceptical about playing it until I checked on the web and saw the great reviews. So I started playing it and I wasn't disappointed. The combat system was enjoyable and satisfying, the level up system was ok and I really enjoyed grapplehooking myself and gliding through the map. So why give it a seven instead of a nine or ten? The reason that I gave it a seven is because the storyline is extremely short for the thirty quid that it costs. I didn't really care that much because I got it for my birthday but for those of you who do go out and buy it BE WARNED! And fans of the game might cry out to what I've just said, "SIDE MISSIONS, WHAT ABOUT THE SIDE MISSIONS" but the truth is that the side missions have no depth to them at all. I would have preferred it if the creators of this game had focused more on making the storyline longer and less on making an open world map. Yes lots of games have benefited from an open world map like Red Dead Redemption, Skyrim and the Assasins Creed series but in this game it just means that you have to fight off hundreds of meaningless thugs just to get from A to B, you have to collect riddler trophies that are annoying and difficult to get, exits and entrances out of the buildings take hours to find even though they're in a seemingly obvious place and it's always dark which is really depressing. Expand
  58. Nov 7, 2011
    10
    Batman: Arkham City will prove to be one of the best video games ever made. Like Arkham Asylum, the core mechanics revolve around brawling, stealth takedowns and open-world action. The chain fighting is simple to learn, yet difficult to master. With a little proficiency, the game effectively gives you the exhilarating feeling that you've just beat up a room full of dudes. However, toBatman: Arkham City will prove to be one of the best video games ever made. Like Arkham Asylum, the core mechanics revolve around brawling, stealth takedowns and open-world action. The chain fighting is simple to learn, yet difficult to master. With a little proficiency, the game effectively gives you the exhilarating feeling that you've just beat up a room full of dudes. However, to really excel at the combat, it takes some practice. The stealth "predator" rooms pit the dark knight against a bunch of armed thugs. Since they have guns, you can't just take them out head-on. Rather, you've got to take them out one by one, retreating into the walls or atop gargoyles to stay out of sight. You're an invisible predator, and as you take down more enemies, the ones remaining start to freak out. It's really quite amusing. Unlike Arkham Asylum, the game is more open world. There are side-missions you can engage in whatever order you like. Where unnecessary to complete the story, these side missions are critical to leveling up more powerful attacks and armor. Not to mention that they're simply fun. Play as Catwoman. Catwoman missions could stand-alone as its own game. Where the controls are congruent to Batman (so you don't have to learn a whole new combat mechanic) she has her own style and way of moving and fighting that's quite a bunch of fun. It's also fun playing a character with a more mercenary sensibility.

    But the over-arching quality that makes this game so terrific is that every aspect of it is FUN. Recently I've played games (like LA NOIRE) that, in my opinion, have oodles of technical merit but just aren't any fun. Batman is an exhilarating, no-sleep, kill-your-weekend thrill ride from start to finish.

    If you've just bought your PS3 system, do yourself a solid and make BATMAN: ARKHAM CITY (along with Uncharted 2 and Bioshock) your first purchase.
    Expand
  59. Nov 8, 2011
    8
    This game is a solid 8. It's got more depth than the first one, a better story, and Catwoman is playable! If you enjoyed the first one, this is a must have. The only real drawback to the game is the same as the first, it's FAR too short to charge $60 for. The game can be beat in 10-12 hours, that's with side quests. The challenges mode is fun at first, but become boring, very quickly.This game is a solid 8. It's got more depth than the first one, a better story, and Catwoman is playable! If you enjoyed the first one, this is a must have. The only real drawback to the game is the same as the first, it's FAR too short to charge $60 for. The game can be beat in 10-12 hours, that's with side quests. The challenges mode is fun at first, but become boring, very quickly. The option to start the story over after beating it with all of your upgrades is cool, but it's much more of a chore to play through the story again once you have seen it. I would suggest catching it on sale at Best Buy, or just waiting for the price to drop. Expand
  60. Nov 8, 2011
    9
    Amazing is an understatement. There are surprises at every turn. The best part of this game is the wide range of characters. This game takes what Arkham Asylum did right, and makes it 100x better
  61. Nov 8, 2011
    9
    This game is pretty amazing. The open world, scenery, action, puzzles, detail... It did everything right, except one thing. They tried to put too much in it. It has almost every villain known to Batman in this game, which seemed to have made top-villains appear like thugs. Seemed like the plot wasn't thick enough to contain all the extra top-villains. Overall, a 9.
  62. Nov 9, 2011
    7
    Great game, but suffers a little too much from what I like to call "Sandbox Syndrome" it took an original idea from Arkham Asylum which was an outstanding game and tried to capture the spirit of the original game and make it bigger, which they succeeded in doing, however they tried to do a little TOO much.

    Theres so many villians from the DC universe or just from Batman in general and
    Great game, but suffers a little too much from what I like to call "Sandbox Syndrome" it took an original idea from Arkham Asylum which was an outstanding game and tried to capture the spirit of the original game and make it bigger, which they succeeded in doing, however they tried to do a little TOO much.

    Theres so many villians from the DC universe or just from Batman in general and alot of their motives are unexplained, as are the majority of your interactions with them, the overall scope of the story just falls really short because of it and the main story feels weaker because of the insane amount of other directions the game is trying to pull you into.

    Its still a great looking and well handling game, but there is a such thing as quality over quantity.
    Expand
  63. Nov 9, 2011
    8
    Overall great game. It was just a little two short for my liking. But the story was top notch and the voice acting is just so good. Nolan North giving a great performance as The Penguin, and honestly what more can be said about Mark Hamills Joker other than legendary. I cant wait to see how the story continues.
  64. Nov 9, 2011
    10
    IMO this is the game of the year hands down. This game almost has it all. A compelling story, Amazing main characters, simple yet complex combat system, amazing graphics with no screen tearing or rendering (that I saw), Gadgets from the very start, fun open world element, CatWoman.......(enough said), one of the best openings I've seen in a long time, and one of the most perfect endings IIMO this is the game of the year hands down. This game almost has it all. A compelling story, Amazing main characters, simple yet complex combat system, amazing graphics with no screen tearing or rendering (that I saw), Gadgets from the very start, fun open world element, CatWoman.......(enough said), one of the best openings I've seen in a long time, and one of the most perfect endings I have seen or can think of. The physical and psychological strain you see Batman go through is something you don't see a main character go through in very many games gives the Arkham City and Batman a very human element to it, where most games the main character never has a scratch or a tear of clothing. As the game goes on you see the weight of the world riding on Batman's shoulders as he continues to "save the day" making him the most realistic character I've seen in some time.

    The combat is both fun and easy to use, with hot keys to unleash gadgets, one button to attack and one to dodge, and etc. It's always fun bending one of Joker's goon's gun in half then leaping over to bash a another delinquent over the head with his own bat.

    I could go on and on about the positives of this game.....Riddler Trophies....

    Some of the Negatives though are that there are super-villians I would have liked to have received a bigger or more menacing role, or some characters were added to just be there and be a fan service but that's okay. Another downside is the traveling in Arkham City, it was annoying getting to one end of the city then finding out you need something that on the other side of the city, but you could always swoop down kick some bad guy butt real quick then continue gliding over the city.
    Expand
  65. Nov 10, 2011
    9
    A great game. The story mode was disappointingly short, but the side missions, challenges, etc. make up for it. It still has it's flaws, such as the story telling (which was weaker than Asylum), and it isn't as engaging as Asylum was (or at least when it first released) but it's definitely superior to its predecessor. Highly recommend it to batman fans and strongly recommend to gamers in general
  66. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    Arkham City set the benchark for all games. It is just the pinacle in gaming.
    I wish there was more games like this. It is my 2011 GAME OF THE YEAR.
    10/10
  67. Nov 16, 2011
    6
    Have to say I was a bit disappointed with this game but overall it is quite enjoyable. The negatives is that is does drag on and can be tiresome to follow with every side mission and trophies to collect. A tutorial of how to use items and ways around the map would not go a miss. However, like asylum it still is a great game to play and would recommend as the graphics are second to none andHave to say I was a bit disappointed with this game but overall it is quite enjoyable. The negatives is that is does drag on and can be tiresome to follow with every side mission and trophies to collect. A tutorial of how to use items and ways around the map would not go a miss. However, like asylum it still is a great game to play and would recommend as the graphics are second to none and storyline worth the time. Expand
  68. Jan 16, 2012
    7
    First of all, I'm not a huge Fanboys of Batman or comic books in general but I still genuinely enjoyed this game! The combat is fluid & fun to watch, once you figure out how to execute properly, that is. The learning curve is gradual & not too punishing, but when the baddies start carrying weapons, you have to be ready to incorporate a lot of your gadgets into your combos, which takes aFirst of all, I'm not a huge Fanboys of Batman or comic books in general but I still genuinely enjoyed this game! The combat is fluid & fun to watch, once you figure out how to execute properly, that is. The learning curve is gradual & not too punishing, but when the baddies start carrying weapons, you have to be ready to incorporate a lot of your gadgets into your combos, which takes a lot of practice & adds a whole new layer of difficulty to the game. The addition of other playable characters like Catwoman, Nightwing & Robin are nice play extenders & add more value for Fanboys, but I only played the Catwoman add-on as it came w/ the purchase of the game because honestly, I would rather spend my money on additional content for other games I play more. While I did enjoy this game, it's not w/o it's faults. The environments are nicely rendered & the fact that most of your time is spent outside, the whole game takes place in the span of one night, would've been cool to see this environment in the daylight, but I guess that kind of defeats the purpose of a Batman game. Also it seems that an awful lot has been recycled from Arkham Asylum. The only differences that stood out for me were the ability to soar from one en of the city to the other, & the available gadgets have expanded.

    All in all the game is a lot of fun, the evironment is big & beautiful & the side missions add a lot of gameplay to the otherwise relatively fast-moving main plot, the ending to which is absolutely amazing, I might add. But there was a lot of what seemed like recycled gameplay & characters which kind of left me a little disappointed in the end I kind of felt like I was playing Arkham Asylum all over again but this time more outside...
    Expand
  69. Nov 25, 2011
    10
    A lovely line up of great bosses. Great free roaming capabilities. More moves characters. And simply this is the vest superhero game ever created and it makes me feel like im actually batman which is exactly what its supposed to do!
  70. Dec 27, 2011
    10
    Great game, went back to this after i bought that abortion of a game skyrim, and wonder why I left at all. Must buy, great replay value and engaging story. Plenty to find and exploring and side missions are great! Plus voice acting is top notch with Kevin and Mark as Batman and Joker!
  71. Dec 24, 2011
    7
    what to say...............................much improvements from asylum but the game is not that great..............maybe many of u will hate my review but its MY REVIEW................ graphics r mindblowing but overall its not amazing.................
  72. Jan 1, 2012
    9
    After playing arkham asylum didn't think it would get much better but I was wrong I got this one as soon as it came out and I couldn't stop playing it and the storyline was amazing you should get this game
  73. Mar 15, 2012
    7
    Great game but somewhat overrated, I believe. What annoyed me was traversing the map for not only each mission, side-mission and collectibles, but the political prisoners as well and the constant respwaning enemies. Fantastic game, but too short and I much preferred Arkham Asylum. Much easier to navigate and was more inclined to collect all riddles and everything else in that game. I wouldGreat game but somewhat overrated, I believe. What annoyed me was traversing the map for not only each mission, side-mission and collectibles, but the political prisoners as well and the constant respwaning enemies. Fantastic game, but too short and I much preferred Arkham Asylum. Much easier to navigate and was more inclined to collect all riddles and everything else in that game. I would still recommend. Expand
  74. Apr 28, 2013
    5
    Wasn't a fan of batman growing up, but decided to take the risk; it wasn't a good one. The "T" rating should've given it away. I only played about half an hour and decided this game was just not worth playing, no blood, the combat was as about for the PG era as it can get, even the stealth takedown's were lame. The city although looks great is dark and gloomy, It made me depressed lookingWasn't a fan of batman growing up, but decided to take the risk; it wasn't a good one. The "T" rating should've given it away. I only played about half an hour and decided this game was just not worth playing, no blood, the combat was as about for the PG era as it can get, even the stealth takedown's were lame. The city although looks great is dark and gloomy, It made me depressed looking at it; I couldn't see myself roaming this sandbox type game and getting depressed because of how gloomy it looks. At the end of the day you're in a bat suit, how corny is that? I wondered if I could've won this game by only pressing triangle. disappointed. Expand
  75. Jun 15, 2012
    7
    As a Marvel fan I don't really care for DC and its characters, but I will say both Arkham asylum and arkham city were extremely well put together games deserving of their high scores. The first several minutes of Arkham city had my full attention, from the graphics, kicking butt while still restrained, character interactions, and the stories intro of being trapped in a makeshift prisonAs a Marvel fan I don't really care for DC and its characters, but I will say both Arkham asylum and arkham city were extremely well put together games deserving of their high scores. The first several minutes of Arkham city had my full attention, from the graphics, kicking butt while still restrained, character interactions, and the stories intro of being trapped in a makeshift prison within the heart of a city. Yet, I couldn't get over the fact, that after playing the previous game, Arkham asylum, I as batman let all those sociopath super killers live and eventually escape again to continue murdering fellow criminals, guards, and innocent political prisoners?!? for such a dark game, that concept seemed to childish for me to continue playing Arkham City. It's as if batman just plays with his enemies, hoping one or two might accidentally kill themselves while everyone else continues to suffer. But I guess that leaves room for the third batman game. Expand
  76. Aug 23, 2012
    10
    This is a great game, the graphics are way better than San Andreas on the Playstation 2, it has a good story too, but there are still 2 vehicles missing that i would like to have in GTA V, planes and tanks (when you six-star rankin), other than that it`s a really good game
  77. Nov 11, 2012
    9
    Gas, man. Seriously. Bouts of some freaking ridiculous gas came exploding out of me for like a week. Coupled with painful stomach cramps. I thought my stomach was swallowing itself for a little while there but damn... Never had better gas in my life!
  78. Jan 6, 2013
    9
    I wasn't all that crazy about Batman: Arkham Asylum, but Arkham City improved on everything that I had an issue with. The game looks and plays great, the voice acting is phenomenal, and the only thing I wanted to do after finishing the story was keep playing.
  79. Oct 25, 2014
    6
    Arkham Asylum(AA) was one of my most favourite game ever. hands down. loved the **** of it. one its batman. two you have batman tools. third you got some bad guys to mess about with and to scare the **** out of them. but it lacked that special something so me and cousin spoke about it would be cool if it was free roam and well... heres Arkham city(AC). exactly what we wanted but is it?Arkham Asylum(AA) was one of my most favourite game ever. hands down. loved the **** of it. one its batman. two you have batman tools. third you got some bad guys to mess about with and to scare the **** out of them. but it lacked that special something so me and cousin spoke about it would be cool if it was free roam and well... heres Arkham city(AC). exactly what we wanted but is it?

    AA was a linear semi sort of free roam which was limited compared with an open world gotham in AC. you would think free roam is better but I did not find it was. AA was based on the structure of going into separate rooms and taking out bad guys in various ways including stealth, tools or just Rambo jumbo. almost like a puzzle where there was more than one answer. to keep it sweet you would face some fight parts and had a bane fight where had to work how to kill him. I loved that. freedom to be creative but within a limited space. I thought AC would give me that unlimited space but I felt that STRUCTURE was torn apart in a free roam game. you would find you just go around hitting random guys on the street. thats the difference. the structure disappeared. don't get me wrong. you can still use tools. its fun to glide around the city but I thought I felt a bit lost. I like it. you still get sections of bad guys to take down but it just didn't fit with me to run around for no reason. just smahing the x button to kill even though the fighting system is actually very sexy but repitive. thats what AA was good at. keeping me interested by breaking up the parts of the game. AC failed to keep me entertained for long enough.

    my cousin enjoyed it but still thinks AA was better. I mean if you like batman go for it. if you liked AA go for it. great game that does deserve the amazing reviews it got but it didn't use quite the same recipe as AA. they decided to add some nuts to my cake it seems.(and l don't like nuts). the only reason im giving this a 6 is so people who look for mixed reviews of this game will see mine. in reality I would give this a good solid 7 and maybe a 7.5.
    Expand
  80. Jan 2, 2014
    6
    The best super hero game I have ever played. The only thing that comes close is lego marvel. It has a great story and really fun gameplay my only complaint is that the enviroment is to dull and grey for my taste.
  81. Jul 23, 2014
    0
    The damn game itself isn't what pisses me off so much about this game (even though it does suck dick). The story line is trash, fighting is extremely repetitive, but no. It's gotta be paraded as one of the best **** games to ever exist. The developers of this game don't even deserve to call this piece of **** an "open world game." Doesn't come anywhere close, the only way to physically useThe damn game itself isn't what pisses me off so much about this game (even though it does suck dick). The story line is trash, fighting is extremely repetitive, but no. It's gotta be paraded as one of the best **** games to ever exist. The developers of this game don't even deserve to call this piece of **** an "open world game." Doesn't come anywhere close, the only way to physically use open world dick**** is for the main storyline in the first place. So, let me get out of my raging mode real quick, and be civilized as I review this.

    PROS:
    Countering attacks

    CONS:
    Horrible storyline
    Repetitive fighting
    Braindead dialogues
    Predictable cutscenes
    Lighting
    "whaddya gona dew, bet?"
    The most overrated and non-researched reviews.

    PERSONAL OPINIONS:
    I already let everything out about this ****ty game in the first paragraph, so I feel as if I'm just going to say one thing: This game is not a damn masterpiece of video games. It tried its best to combine multiple fighting mechanics into one game, and it completely failed. The stealth of this game clearly had no effort put into it, most of the gadgets are **** useless, but no, damn NINETY-****-SIX. These **** people, Jesus Christ.

    OVERALL:
    This game sucks major dick, it needs to stop being paraded as being so good. MAJOR. ****. DICK.
    Expand
  82. Jun 25, 2014
    6
    Reading the reviews, I expected a fantastic gaming experience. I couldn't play more than 2 hours. The game want you to win that way, and no other way, which is completely ruining the open world feeling.

    Flying from building to building is great, but the missions are too linear. If you don't go behind that door, then behind that table, you fail you start again from the beginning. This is
    Reading the reviews, I expected a fantastic gaming experience. I couldn't play more than 2 hours. The game want you to win that way, and no other way, which is completely ruining the open world feeling.

    Flying from building to building is great, but the missions are too linear. If you don't go behind that door, then behind that table, you fail you start again from the beginning. This is quite frustrating as you don't get the impression you can really control what you do.

    Conclusion : I guess you have to like the Batman comic to enjoy the game
    Expand
  83. Feb 22, 2015
    6
    Después del impresionante Arkham assylum este juego me parecio muy forzado. Las mecánicas del juego son sumamente similares a su predecesor ademas de que el mundo abierto , hizo que el juego perdiera ese sentimiento de nerviosismo e impacto que desprendía su pre cuela. Aunque el juego tiene momentos memorables, siento que el juego deja mucho que desear al buscar sitios y enfrentarte conDespués del impresionante Arkham assylum este juego me parecio muy forzado. Las mecánicas del juego son sumamente similares a su predecesor ademas de que el mundo abierto , hizo que el juego perdiera ese sentimiento de nerviosismo e impacto que desprendía su pre cuela. Aunque el juego tiene momentos memorables, siento que el juego deja mucho que desear al buscar sitios y enfrentarte con enemigos que una vez derrotados, mágicamente vuelven a aparecer si te das la vuelta.
    El juego esta vez pierde ese sentimiento de survival que tenia el primer titulo ya que en la ciudad puedes huir si te va mal en un combate.Lo mejor del titulo son sin duda los ultimos momentos donde aparece una extraña coalición de enemigos: Aunque para ser honestos el juego parece que salio sin idea de como manejar una secuela y mucho menos una historia por que el argumento desaparece cuando metes a tantos rivales de Batman en un solo juego.

    Lo peor del juego es su sistema de batallas: Que si bien emula a su pre cuela, en esta ocasión, peleas tantas veces que acabas odiando pelear con los criminales de ciudad Gotica(Arkham).

    Si quieren un buen juego de Batman les recomiendo la pecuela de este titulo que es Arkham Assylum y Batman de NES, pero este titulo se gano mi rabia desde que se hizo tan cansado y repetitivo. No me intereso en lo mas minimo re jugarlo ya que como lo mencione sus mecánicas son sumamente fastidiosas.
    Expand
  84. Dec 19, 2011
    9
    Batman Arkham Asylum raised the bar of how good licensed games need to be. Does Arkham City raise the bar even more? No. Is it worse? Yes and no. The gameplay is now better. Boss battles aren't repeatitive recycled '' Fight againts a big guy with the same method multitiple times in the game '' and are actually quite fun. You have bigger enviroment, with even more side missions and riddlesBatman Arkham Asylum raised the bar of how good licensed games need to be. Does Arkham City raise the bar even more? No. Is it worse? Yes and no. The gameplay is now better. Boss battles aren't repeatitive recycled '' Fight againts a big guy with the same method multitiple times in the game '' and are actually quite fun. You have bigger enviroment, with even more side missions and riddles to solve. Catwoman is a nice addition too, even though I would have appericiated, if she would have had more own missions to do. Why I said yes to is the game worse than Arkham Asylum then? It doesn't have as good Batman feeling as Arkham Asylum had. Joker isin't saying his funny dialogue much, unlike in Arkham Asylum and Riddler doesn't even react anymore, which makes solving the riddles feel less fun. The ending also felt a little lame, it didn't feel like the game is going to end at all. It has pretty good twist at least, but I wouldn't say the ending was very good. There isin't also any '' wtf lol wut '' moments, unlike in Arkham Asylum, which is a shame. The game is still great and I recommend you to buy it. Wait, you aren't fan of Batman? Don't worry! You don't need to be Batman fan in order to enjoy this game! Expand
  85. Jul 4, 2012
    8
    I was not a huge fan of Arkham Asylum, so I was somewhat skeptical about how good Arkham City would be. When I played the first installment of this series, I thought it was just too repetitive and revolved too much around mindless button-mashing fight sequences...but in Arkham City, the developers added a lot more variety to the missions and added some great new controls to go with theI was not a huge fan of Arkham Asylum, so I was somewhat skeptical about how good Arkham City would be. When I played the first installment of this series, I thought it was just too repetitive and revolved too much around mindless button-mashing fight sequences...but in Arkham City, the developers added a lot more variety to the missions and added some great new controls to go with the open world environment. Gliding around the city and using the grappling hook are a blast. And some of the stealth missions are actually pretty challenging. Add on the replay value of the Riddler content and you have a pretty solid game. Expand
  86. Feb 12, 2012
    8
    The first Batman Arkham Asylum was better. The new Batman Arkham City didn't improve the bad graphics the first one had. But it does have som e new cool mechanics. The one character that saved the game was Catwoman. And **** you on the developers that spoiled the ending before releasing the game.
  87. Feb 20, 2012
    10
    Batman: Arkham City coming to consoles to reaffirm its position as the best game inspired by superheroes. The Rocksteady managed to repeat the feat of the previous game and expanded universe character even more. With a fantastic plot that surprising since the first scene, the title still offers subtitles in Portuguese, and hours of operation in a city full of mysteries, villains and thingsBatman: Arkham City coming to consoles to reaffirm its position as the best game inspired by superheroes. The Rocksteady managed to repeat the feat of the previous game and expanded universe character even more. With a fantastic plot that surprising since the first scene, the title still offers subtitles in Portuguese, and hours of operation in a city full of mysteries, villains and things to discover. Expand
  88. Dec 29, 2011
    10
    SO this is how Super Hero game get made. Rocksteady does it again and even better this time around! Love everything about this game and if you liked the first one there is just more batman here to love.. not to mention the catwoman missions. also robin and nightwing depending on what copy you bought but all available as DLC. At first I was a bit taken aback at how small the open world ofSO this is how Super Hero game get made. Rocksteady does it again and even better this time around! Love everything about this game and if you liked the first one there is just more batman here to love.. not to mention the catwoman missions. also robin and nightwing depending on what copy you bought but all available as DLC. At first I was a bit taken aback at how small the open world of Arkham City is compared to other open worlds, even it's predecessor. But once you start playing you realize it is bigger than the map shows. Lots of interiors to explore and all the space inside and out is so jam packed with stuff to do that it becomes a lot bigger. Quite the opposite of something like Just Cause 2 where there is largely dead space on a huge map, This is a smaller map with TONS of things to do. Then add in the challenge maps and you have one hefty game. The characters are great and so is the story. This is a must buy for any fan of Batman, the series or open world adventure games. Expand
  89. Jul 12, 2012
    10
    The best Batman Game ever made.I got the goty edition on ps3 but played Arkham city when it first came out on xbox 360.so I got the goty edition for my ps3 and this is still the most amazing game ever made.the story and graphics are superb and the gameplay is just amazing.you must play this game.
  90. Nov 23, 2011
    9
    "Perfect" is as close to a description as your going to get with this game, though it isn't quite that, but going any lower can't be done with this game. Arkham Asylum was one of my favorite games, giving me the power of batman with all his gadgets, strength, smarts, and more importantly his morals. Arkham City follows on every aspect in that and adds much more. I loved it from start to"Perfect" is as close to a description as your going to get with this game, though it isn't quite that, but going any lower can't be done with this game. Arkham Asylum was one of my favorite games, giving me the power of batman with all his gadgets, strength, smarts, and more importantly his morals. Arkham City follows on every aspect in that and adds much more. I loved it from start to finish, but there were times where i felt that it could have done more with the villains. There were plenty of them, ranging from the well known Gotham faces such as Joker and Penguin, to the almost unknown Mad Hatter and Dead Shot. It's the many cameos that ruin it though, very few get any real time on screen and when they do its rarely a memorable moment. You will smile, cringe, or chuckle at them being there, but something new will appear and will move on. But that is my only problem with this game, there is nothing else i don't like. The combat is fast, powerful, and makes you feel like the Dark Knight is in control. The visuals of this game are awe-inspiring, sometimes its enough to make you just wana stop and look at it for a moment. Voice acting is a major step up this time, which every person in the game giving it a Oscar worthy sound. Mark Hamill steals the show as Joker, who is having problems after the first game, and Nolan North as Penguin is just as good to. The open world of Arkham City is a true open world experience as well, with the intensive being Riddler placing over 400+ trophies for you to find. Sadly Scarecrow does not make a return, and while those shoes...if he had any, are hard to fill, Riddler himself makes an appearance that is as memorable as any in the game. The story is vast and worth every minute of your time, but cameos are many and never given much time. Even Robin has one, but like the rest is only brief and just there to make you smile. Batman: Arkham City is worth you time and money though, be it if your a comic book lover, action game lover, or just someone who wants a great game for Christmas, you can't go wrong with this. Expand
  91. Apr 1, 2012
    10
    When people thought Rocksteady have reached their peak with Arkham Asylum, it was pleasent to see that Arkham City managed to be as good, and even better then it's predecessor. The core mechanics of the game are nearly identical to Arkham Asylum's, but the new huge city and the veriety of new villians and superheroes create a bigger impact that makes Arkham City more exciting. Truthfuly,When people thought Rocksteady have reached their peak with Arkham Asylum, it was pleasent to see that Arkham City managed to be as good, and even better then it's predecessor. The core mechanics of the game are nearly identical to Arkham Asylum's, but the new huge city and the veriety of new villians and superheroes create a bigger impact that makes Arkham City more exciting. Truthfuly, the game is massive, and you can spend dozens of hours just gathering the Riddler's trophys and solving his puzzles, but the game also boasts many fantastic side missions that are heavily relying on the main story. Since the game is based on a comic series, it was much easier to connect between different characters to create new side storys. The game also genuianly makes you feel like you are Batman. You get all the possible gadgets, and you can pull off amazing stunts. I can also mention the accurate voice acting and incredible soundtrack, or perhaps the top notch graphics, but the thing that makes this game outshine most action games nowadays is the flow. The game let's you move at your own speed and move from mission to mission fluidly and comfortably. That gives the game a flare that only a great sandbox game can deliever, but it also has the qualities that most sandbox games don't reach. Rocksteady have trully pulled off something magnificent with Arkham City.Hell, Even non-fans of Batman will appreciate this game, because it manages to do so much and do it the best way it can. Expand
  92. USG
    Nov 21, 2011
    9
    Arkham City is a stellar game that improves on Arkham Asylum featuring a fantastic open world and familiar, great voice acting by much of the cast from Batman: The Animated Series (notably Mark Hamill as the Joker). The scenery is fantastic and gliding between missions is an enjoyable experience. The gameplay is extremely smooth and complimented with competent difficulty settings andArkham City is a stellar game that improves on Arkham Asylum featuring a fantastic open world and familiar, great voice acting by much of the cast from Batman: The Animated Series (notably Mark Hamill as the Joker). The scenery is fantastic and gliding between missions is an enjoyable experience. The gameplay is extremely smooth and complimented with competent difficulty settings and various missions. Unfortunately, the story mode could be longer considering its engagement (and, of course, the entire game is single player). There are not enough side-missions to keep a player around long once the game is finished. Gathering Riddler trophies can become an unpleasurable task at the end of the game preventing some players to keep at it. Downloadable content keeps the player active for longer, but not too long. By the time the story is finished along with all side-missions and gadget upgrades, there is not much motivation to continue in the city. Otherwise, anybody who has an interest for Batman would find this game great, with dialog from the characters to models. Expand
  93. Feb 23, 2012
    10
    A must buy for gamers.A must buy for gamers. ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Expand
  94. Apr 26, 2014
    9
    Rocksteady Studios takes everything that was great about it's first Batman game and applies it all to an open-world. It's clear that Rocksteady was trying to best their previous outing in every way, and by doing so they have created one of the best Batman games yet created. With one of the best Batman stories ever told, a large amount of content, and tons of new gameplay elements, this isRocksteady Studios takes everything that was great about it's first Batman game and applies it all to an open-world. It's clear that Rocksteady was trying to best their previous outing in every way, and by doing so they have created one of the best Batman games yet created. With one of the best Batman stories ever told, a large amount of content, and tons of new gameplay elements, this is sure to please any Batman fan out there.

    One thing that is noticeable shortly after starting is that Arkham City features much more life then the asylum. Thugs patrol streets and rooftops, political prisoners fight for survival, and classic Batman villains wreak havoc throughout the city. This makes little things like listening to thugs talk about the current events going on the city a real treat. While I prefer the atmosphere and locations Arkham Asylum had, the city is still a cool place to explore that is filled with secrets. Various side-qests are available that will place Batman up against classic foes, which lead to some incredibly memorable moments. There are also an insane amount of Riddler challenges and trophies to acquire. As far as side content goes Rocksteady has it covered, so there are plenty of reasons to come back after the credits have rolled.

    The main campaign is an absolute blast that is filled with tons of villains and unforgettable moments. It takes a little bit to get going, but one it does it does not stop. The boss battles are fantastic, and show a lot of diversity. I do feel that it was shorter than Arkham Asylum's story, but I'm thankful that Rocksteady didn't add any unnecessary content.

    The only real complaints I have with the game are a few irritating combat scenarios and some control design choices. For instance, why do I have to double-tap and hold the X button to make the grappling hook climb faster when in the previous game simply holding X would do it? Sure it takes on a new role, but simply holding X would have made things simpler. This is just one of the minor complaints I have with the game, and overall it and my other ones don't really matter. This is one fantastic game, and one any Batman fan should play pronto. Rocksteady outdid themselves with this one, and while I do prefer it's predecessor, I will in no way deny this game's high-level of quality. It is truly a must play experience.
    Expand
  95. Dec 7, 2011
    10
    ATTENTION USERS! BEWARE! I just found two reviews posted in my name that I did not wrote. One of them, I haven't even played the game. Don't know how it happened, if someone hacked my account or my informations were given away. Anyway, check your reviews and ratings, see if everything is right. (sorry to do this as a review, but it was the only way I found). Batman is a superb game, by the way.
  96. Nov 26, 2011
    10
    Arkham City isn't only fun but has a beautiful story, awesome characters and an interesting environment to explore. Unlike its predecessor, this game gives you much more to do after beating the main story. I really have nothing to say, I gave it a 10 and its perfect for me.
  97. Jan 8, 2012
    10
    Batman Arkham City delivers and meets everyones expectations. Thanks to a bigger scope, while still remaining an alive and detailed comic book world, improved combat, a deeper story, a jaw dropping ending, and tons of replay value, Batman Arkham City is not only one of the best games of the year, but it's also the best licensed video game ever made.
  98. Jan 28, 2012
    10
    if u love action and advancer with a lot of fighting you'll love batman Arkham city. even if your not a really big batman fan i really do recomand this game for people that whant to have a good time kicking but.
  99. Nov 18, 2012
    10
    un videogioco senza pari.

    bellissimo, rifinito, vario , pieno, rifinito in ogni suo aspetto e con un sacco di cose belle e diverse da fare. buona anche la storia, caratterizzazione dei personaggi da OSCAR, combat-system che fà risultare ridicolo e stupido quello di un qualsiasi assassins's creed. che altro dire, l'action migliore su console degli ultimi anni. non credo vi
    un videogioco senza pari.

    bellissimo, rifinito, vario , pieno, rifinito in ogni suo aspetto e con un sacco di cose belle e diverse da fare.

    buona anche la storia, caratterizzazione dei personaggi da OSCAR, combat-system che fà risultare ridicolo e stupido quello di un qualsiasi assassins's creed.

    che altro dire, l'action migliore su console degli ultimi anni. non credo vi siano dubbi al riguardo.

    semplicemente insuperabile, voto pieno e non potrebbe essere altrimenti.
    Expand
  100. Dec 29, 2012
    9
    I loved this game. Even if you are not a Batman fun you will love this game because it has every ingredient an action game should have:a perfect mix of funny combat and puzzles, great story and characters and the all the "dark knight" feeling. The combat system is one the best i've seen in action games and you will enjoy every fight you get into. I don't give it a 10 just because some partI loved this game. Even if you are not a Batman fun you will love this game because it has every ingredient an action game should have:a perfect mix of funny combat and puzzles, great story and characters and the all the "dark knight" feeling. The combat system is one the best i've seen in action games and you will enjoy every fight you get into. I don't give it a 10 just because some part can be too difficult and annoying even for a skilled gamer. Expand
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 42 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 42
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 42
  3. Negative: 0 out of 42
  1. Arkham City is the best reflection of the Batman-comic books ever. Not because of the sheer amount of famous enemies that challenge our hero, but thanks to the amazing atmosphere that oozes from every pore of this remarkable action game. [Nov 2011, p.70]
  2. Nov 29, 2011
    95
    All in all, outside of a few minor issues, I couldn't ask for a better Batman experience. If Arkham City was a graphic novel, it would be considered a classic.
  3. Arkham City should be celebrated as a shining achievement for the action-adventure genre for its masterful execution. [Holiday 2011, p.70]