User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2122 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 22, 2013
    7
    (My opinion): Huge open world, numerous side missions and activities interrupt the flow and excitement of the narrative. There's a certain type of disconnect you feel towards the main story. This wasn't the case in Arkham Asylum and this game could've used more linearity.
  2. Nov 2, 2011
    7
    I find myself torn between loving this game and being annoyed and turned away by some of its design choices. Firstly, the game looks and plays great, for the most part. But I just find it so tiring that once again the joker is the epicentre of everything. There is a subplot about Dr Strange knowing Batman's identity as Bruce Wayne that is referred to and then ultimately never expanded uponI find myself torn between loving this game and being annoyed and turned away by some of its design choices. Firstly, the game looks and plays great, for the most part. But I just find it so tiring that once again the joker is the epicentre of everything. There is a subplot about Dr Strange knowing Batman's identity as Bruce Wayne that is referred to and then ultimately never expanded upon and the story eventually ends up with the Joker making a final appearance with a boss fight that he isn't even involved in. It feels like he was only included as a draw for an audience, as if the developers didn't have faith that people would buy the game unless Joker was involved somehow.

    Also, the inclusion of the Riddler Campaigns and Challenges is a cheap, lame attempt from Rocksteady to make it seem like you're getting more bang for your buck. Regardless, Arkham City is definitely a notch above Arkham Asylum in almost every area, it's just a shame that the developers try to pull the wool over our eyes.
    Expand
  3. Nov 12, 2011
    7
    I don't get how everyone is giving this game 10s. Don't get me wrong, it's a good game, very close to being a great one, but it's missing something that Arkham Asylum had and I can't put my finger on what it is. The story is very good and it's well told. The combat is basically more of the same with a few tweaks. It just doesn't "feel" as good. When I was playing AA all I could think aboutI don't get how everyone is giving this game 10s. Don't get me wrong, it's a good game, very close to being a great one, but it's missing something that Arkham Asylum had and I can't put my finger on what it is. The story is very good and it's well told. The combat is basically more of the same with a few tweaks. It just doesn't "feel" as good. When I was playing AA all I could think about was how much I wanted it to be an open world game in Gotham. Now that I have that I realize that this type of game works better with more structure and less open world freedom. The city looks very "samey" for the most part so is not very interesting to explore. There are WAY too many Riddler trophies, 400 in all, which wouldn't be an issue except that you HAVE to find them all to open the Riddler's puzzle rooms (which are quite fun to solve) and it just becomes tedious. The Catwoman missions just feel tacked on and add nothing to the game, when I was playing them I couldn't wait for them to be over. On the plus side there is incredible fan service with some classic villains turning up. The combat once again is excellent. SOME, and I stress SOME of the Riddler trophies are fun to work out, but most are just ass. Like I said, overall a good game but short of a great one. Expand
  4. Nov 1, 2011
    7
    I cannot understand where these ridiculously high scores come from. Be certain of this: the feeling of disconnect from Arkham City itself is almost total. Spending most of your time on the rooftops of the city means you don't really know where you are in the map (unless you keep checking every 2 minutes) as you can cover large distances in very short periods of time. Nor does it reallyI cannot understand where these ridiculously high scores come from. Be certain of this: the feeling of disconnect from Arkham City itself is almost total. Spending most of your time on the rooftops of the city means you don't really know where you are in the map (unless you keep checking every 2 minutes) as you can cover large distances in very short periods of time. Nor does it really matter - one rooftop is the same as the next, and the game becomes very monotonous very quickly. Adding to this are the myriad of trophies, side quests and riddles all piled on top of one another and in my playthrough of the game there was not even an explanation as to why the riddles and trophies are there. If I hadn't played the first game I would have been very confused. The fighting aspect can be pleasing and provides a real sense of achievement once the timing and more complex moves are mastered, but most of the smaller boss battles play out like Nintendo cliches from 10 years ago. In my opinion better to pick this up as a pre-played; definitely not worth these amazing review scores that seem to lift this game above all others this year. Expand
  5. Oct 12, 2012
    6
    Really, this game should be about a 6.5, but MC won't let me give that and I'd rather this be counted as a "mixed" review.

    There's a lot that's good about AC, but it's held back by a few serious flaws. The first, and most common , you won't know where to go or what to do a lot of the time. The map is not very helpful when indoors. Second, you often have to use a very specific
    Really, this game should be about a 6.5, but MC won't let me give that and I'd rather this be counted as a "mixed" review.

    There's a lot that's good about AC, but it's held back by a few serious flaws. The first, and most common , you won't know where to go or what to do a lot of the time. The map is not very helpful when indoors. Second, you often have to use a very specific combination of gadgets to get to your goal. This wouldn't be as big a problem in a more linear game or if the game gave you hints or skyrim style "go here" arrows. If you decide to play this game, find a good walkthrough on youtube and favorite it. You'll need it.

    Second, the combat can be infuriating. Often, the game throws a fistful of normal enemies at you and one or two especially annoying enemies (e.g., baddies with armor, shields, guns or stun batons) at you. If you could (A) easily target the annoying enemies or (B) take out the normal enemies and then deal with the annoying ones last, things would be fine. But neither of these can be done. Often you'll knock down all or almost all of the bad guys but be able to knock anyone out because Batman's ground finishing moves take so long. (It's not even worth trying, once you start a finishing move you can only be interrupted by an enemy's attack. And trust me, you will be interrupted.) Quick-firing a gadget is far too imprecise to hit any one specific enemy and long-firing takes too, well, long. The end result is that you're forced to adopt a needlessly defense battle strategy and battles take far longer than they ought. This makes the truly difficult battles extremely frustrating since you're liable to invest (repeatedly) gobs of time in a battle that you'll ultimately lose (often because you'll get frustrated and attempt a more aggressive strategy.)

    So that's the bad. The remarkable thing is, AC's still a lot of fun to play. At it's best it really is everything you've heard. The atmosphere and characters are great. And very little is more fun than hearing criminals cower as you stealthily eliminating a room full of them. One. By. One. You really do feel like the terror of Gotham's underworld. Also, combat is still fun most of the time (It's only the fights with a big bad *and* loads of normal enemies that are likely to incite controller throwing.)

    So, that's it. Is it as good as everyone says? No, the flaws are just too glaring. Does that mean that it's not worth owning or even playing? No (after all, a 6.5 from a metacritic user isn't quite like a 6.5 from IGN), but you should know what you're getting into. It's score would suggest that AC is happiness dressed in a batsuit. Under the mask, it's really the love-child of happiness and frustration.
    Expand
  6. Nov 15, 2011
    6
    A lot of time and energy seems to have gone into this game and everything that was fun about Arkham Asylum is still fun here. However, the game has its drawbacks. For one, I don't think the story was improved by having a 'free-roaming' world. In other games, the freedom of movement is fantastic - games like Red Dead Redemption and Oblivion. With Batman, however, I was just annoyed atA lot of time and energy seems to have gone into this game and everything that was fun about Arkham Asylum is still fun here. However, the game has its drawbacks. For one, I don't think the story was improved by having a 'free-roaming' world. In other games, the freedom of movement is fantastic - games like Red Dead Redemption and Oblivion. With Batman, however, I was just annoyed at having to traverse the map to continue the story. Some of us are not into collecting every Riddler trophy or freeing every political prisoner crying out for help from above.

    I typically buy a game for its story and for feeling a sense of accomplishment after completing critical sequences. Unfortunately, Batman: Arkham City is extremely short if you mainly concern yourself with the core storyline, and the 'side quests' are neither extensive enough nor engaging enough to entice you to continue with them. Despite all the fun to be had beating up bad guys, the game leaves you feeling like you fell asleep at the beginning of a movie only to wake up just as the climax has gotten underway. There was so much more that could have been done with the story, but I think the creative team had to spend the bulk of their time making a very intricate sandbox. If you liked Asylum, play City, but I recommend renting as opposed to buying. I will be trading my copy in as soon as I get the chance.
    Expand
  7. Jun 27, 2013
    6
    Now I may be the only one who thinks this but Arkham City is way overrated. Don't get me wrong the graphics are great and the world is extremely immersive (down to details such as original comic book appearances) but man is this game repetitive. When I think of Batman, I think of a hero who has a gadget for every situation. I also think of a hero who uses intelligence to gain the upperNow I may be the only one who thinks this but Arkham City is way overrated. Don't get me wrong the graphics are great and the world is extremely immersive (down to details such as original comic book appearances) but man is this game repetitive. When I think of Batman, I think of a hero who has a gadget for every situation. I also think of a hero who uses intelligence to gain the upper hand on every foe. So why is it that the Batman I'm playing as in this title can only conceive three ways to approach an open map with almost limitless possibilities? In Arkham city you either 1) use hand to hand to kill twenty guys, 2) sneak and tie enemies up, or 3) fly over any enemies and obstacles. I applaud Rocksteady for not just releasing a licensed cash in, but this game isn't as great as people have made it out to be. Expand
  8. Dec 8, 2011
    7
    Arkham City is a fun and a worth while single player game but is not the masterpiece many claim. I enjoyed the open world of Arkham city and found gliding and fighting around at my own leisure fun for a time. The environmental graphics are good, batman also looks good with a great animating cape. The story has a few moments but did not surprise me at all and ends up being completelyArkham City is a fun and a worth while single player game but is not the masterpiece many claim. I enjoyed the open world of Arkham city and found gliding and fighting around at my own leisure fun for a time. The environmental graphics are good, batman also looks good with a great animating cape. The story has a few moments but did not surprise me at all and ends up being completely unbelievable even for a cartoon which is unacceptable for a claimed 'masterpiece'. The combat is good and feels unique (much improved from Arkham Asylum being more fluid and giving the player more options in combat). Most of the Batman franchise is over used in the game with too many villains that are just there for the sake of it without much use or need. unfortunately as its a franchise Batman will never really learn any real lessons about crime or criminals and there never will be an end to Batman's troubles, batman is never going to die which destroys any suspense of danger, he will never totally defeat his enemies either, Joker will always come back again and again and again which does water down any story's significance. Recommened. Expand
  9. Nov 8, 2012
    5
    I'd rather microwave some popcorn and grab a triscut, open a can of coke and relax with mah girlfriend watching a batman movee dan this k? Yea im coo. In udeer words just mak out with ur girlfriend and smochin her whil watching a batman movee instead of playing bat ark citeh.
  10. Nov 12, 2011
    7
    I'm sure we all remember the last Batman adventure and how it was awesome. Well so now's here's more of that. now Batman has a whole city to run, fly, and glide around in while finding random hoodlums and ruining their days. The good this besides more neat toys and is as far as squeals this one is well done though not without problems. The story while still good doesn't have the sameI'm sure we all remember the last Batman adventure and how it was awesome. Well so now's here's more of that. now Batman has a whole city to run, fly, and glide around in while finding random hoodlums and ruining their days. The good this besides more neat toys and is as far as squeals this one is well done though not without problems. The story while still good doesn't have the same impact the first game had and most twist are reveled as a "and then suddenly this villain shows up" The boss fights are fun though even if they do boil down to figure out the method and repeat. And the Riddler is back which will take up more of your time then dealing with the actual story. The side missions and the game story are a tad bit loosely connected. But worst of it is that the villains have less screen time then they should because we all know the supervillians are more interesting than all the generic henchmen Batman eats for breakfast. But the worst is the ending, it doesn't leave a "what next" feeling like the last game, it leaves a "that's it?" feeling. And we all know the people of this game can do much better. Expand
  11. Apr 4, 2012
    7
    I got this for my birthday and I was sceptical about playing it until I checked on the web and saw the great reviews. So I started playing it and I wasn't disappointed. The combat system was enjoyable and satisfying, the level up system was ok and I really enjoyed grapplehooking myself and gliding through the map. So why give it a seven instead of a nine or ten? The reason that I gave it aI got this for my birthday and I was sceptical about playing it until I checked on the web and saw the great reviews. So I started playing it and I wasn't disappointed. The combat system was enjoyable and satisfying, the level up system was ok and I really enjoyed grapplehooking myself and gliding through the map. So why give it a seven instead of a nine or ten? The reason that I gave it a seven is because the storyline is extremely short for the thirty quid that it costs. I didn't really care that much because I got it for my birthday but for those of you who do go out and buy it BE WARNED! And fans of the game might cry out to what I've just said, "SIDE MISSIONS, WHAT ABOUT THE SIDE MISSIONS" but the truth is that the side missions have no depth to them at all. I would have preferred it if the creators of this game had focused more on making the storyline longer and less on making an open world map. Yes lots of games have benefited from an open world map like Red Dead Redemption, Skyrim and the Assasins Creed series but in this game it just means that you have to fight off hundreds of meaningless thugs just to get from A to B, you have to collect riddler trophies that are annoying and difficult to get, exits and entrances out of the buildings take hours to find even though they're in a seemingly obvious place and it's always dark which is really depressing. Expand
  12. Nov 9, 2011
    7
    Great game, but suffers a little too much from what I like to call "Sandbox Syndrome" it took an original idea from Arkham Asylum which was an outstanding game and tried to capture the spirit of the original game and make it bigger, which they succeeded in doing, however they tried to do a little TOO much.

    Theres so many villians from the DC universe or just from Batman in general and
    Great game, but suffers a little too much from what I like to call "Sandbox Syndrome" it took an original idea from Arkham Asylum which was an outstanding game and tried to capture the spirit of the original game and make it bigger, which they succeeded in doing, however they tried to do a little TOO much.

    Theres so many villians from the DC universe or just from Batman in general and alot of their motives are unexplained, as are the majority of your interactions with them, the overall scope of the story just falls really short because of it and the main story feels weaker because of the insane amount of other directions the game is trying to pull you into.

    Its still a great looking and well handling game, but there is a such thing as quality over quantity.
    Expand
  13. Nov 16, 2011
    6
    Have to say I was a bit disappointed with this game but overall it is quite enjoyable. The negatives is that is does drag on and can be tiresome to follow with every side mission and trophies to collect. A tutorial of how to use items and ways around the map would not go a miss. However, like asylum it still is a great game to play and would recommend as the graphics are second to none andHave to say I was a bit disappointed with this game but overall it is quite enjoyable. The negatives is that is does drag on and can be tiresome to follow with every side mission and trophies to collect. A tutorial of how to use items and ways around the map would not go a miss. However, like asylum it still is a great game to play and would recommend as the graphics are second to none and storyline worth the time. Expand
  14. Jan 16, 2012
    7
    First of all, I'm not a huge Fanboys of Batman or comic books in general but I still genuinely enjoyed this game! The combat is fluid & fun to watch, once you figure out how to execute properly, that is. The learning curve is gradual & not too punishing, but when the baddies start carrying weapons, you have to be ready to incorporate a lot of your gadgets into your combos, which takes aFirst of all, I'm not a huge Fanboys of Batman or comic books in general but I still genuinely enjoyed this game! The combat is fluid & fun to watch, once you figure out how to execute properly, that is. The learning curve is gradual & not too punishing, but when the baddies start carrying weapons, you have to be ready to incorporate a lot of your gadgets into your combos, which takes a lot of practice & adds a whole new layer of difficulty to the game. The addition of other playable characters like Catwoman, Nightwing & Robin are nice play extenders & add more value for Fanboys, but I only played the Catwoman add-on as it came w/ the purchase of the game because honestly, I would rather spend my money on additional content for other games I play more. While I did enjoy this game, it's not w/o it's faults. The environments are nicely rendered & the fact that most of your time is spent outside, the whole game takes place in the span of one night, would've been cool to see this environment in the daylight, but I guess that kind of defeats the purpose of a Batman game. Also it seems that an awful lot has been recycled from Arkham Asylum. The only differences that stood out for me were the ability to soar from one en of the city to the other, & the available gadgets have expanded.

    All in all the game is a lot of fun, the evironment is big & beautiful & the side missions add a lot of gameplay to the otherwise relatively fast-moving main plot, the ending to which is absolutely amazing, I might add. But there was a lot of what seemed like recycled gameplay & characters which kind of left me a little disappointed in the end I kind of felt like I was playing Arkham Asylum all over again but this time more outside...
    Expand
  15. Dec 24, 2011
    7
    what to say...............................much improvements from asylum but the game is not that great..............maybe many of u will hate my review but its MY REVIEW................ graphics r mindblowing but overall its not amazing.................
  16. Mar 15, 2012
    7
    Great game but somewhat overrated, I believe. What annoyed me was traversing the map for not only each mission, side-mission and collectibles, but the political prisoners as well and the constant respwaning enemies. Fantastic game, but too short and I much preferred Arkham Asylum. Much easier to navigate and was more inclined to collect all riddles and everything else in that game. I wouldGreat game but somewhat overrated, I believe. What annoyed me was traversing the map for not only each mission, side-mission and collectibles, but the political prisoners as well and the constant respwaning enemies. Fantastic game, but too short and I much preferred Arkham Asylum. Much easier to navigate and was more inclined to collect all riddles and everything else in that game. I would still recommend. Expand
  17. Apr 28, 2013
    5
    Wasn't a fan of batman growing up, but decided to take the risk; it wasn't a good one. The "T" rating should've given it away. I only played about half an hour and decided this game was just not worth playing, no blood, the combat was as about for the PG era as it can get, even the stealth takedown's were lame. The city although looks great is dark and gloomy, It made me depressed lookingWasn't a fan of batman growing up, but decided to take the risk; it wasn't a good one. The "T" rating should've given it away. I only played about half an hour and decided this game was just not worth playing, no blood, the combat was as about for the PG era as it can get, even the stealth takedown's were lame. The city although looks great is dark and gloomy, It made me depressed looking at it; I couldn't see myself roaming this sandbox type game and getting depressed because of how gloomy it looks. At the end of the day you're in a bat suit, how corny is that? I wondered if I could've won this game by only pressing triangle. disappointed. Expand
  18. Jun 15, 2012
    7
    As a Marvel fan I don't really care for DC and its characters, but I will say both Arkham asylum and arkham city were extremely well put together games deserving of their high scores. The first several minutes of Arkham city had my full attention, from the graphics, kicking butt while still restrained, character interactions, and the stories intro of being trapped in a makeshift prisonAs a Marvel fan I don't really care for DC and its characters, but I will say both Arkham asylum and arkham city were extremely well put together games deserving of their high scores. The first several minutes of Arkham city had my full attention, from the graphics, kicking butt while still restrained, character interactions, and the stories intro of being trapped in a makeshift prison within the heart of a city. Yet, I couldn't get over the fact, that after playing the previous game, Arkham asylum, I as batman let all those sociopath super killers live and eventually escape again to continue murdering fellow criminals, guards, and innocent political prisoners?!? for such a dark game, that concept seemed to childish for me to continue playing Arkham City. It's as if batman just plays with his enemies, hoping one or two might accidentally kill themselves while everyone else continues to suffer. But I guess that leaves room for the third batman game. Expand
  19. Oct 25, 2014
    6
    Arkham Asylum(AA) was one of my most favourite game ever. hands down. loved the **** of it. one its batman. two you have batman tools. third you got some bad guys to mess about with and to scare the **** out of them. but it lacked that special something so me and cousin spoke about it would be cool if it was free roam and well... heres Arkham city(AC). exactly what we wanted but is it?Arkham Asylum(AA) was one of my most favourite game ever. hands down. loved the **** of it. one its batman. two you have batman tools. third you got some bad guys to mess about with and to scare the **** out of them. but it lacked that special something so me and cousin spoke about it would be cool if it was free roam and well... heres Arkham city(AC). exactly what we wanted but is it?

    AA was a linear semi sort of free roam which was limited compared with an open world gotham in AC. you would think free roam is better but I did not find it was. AA was based on the structure of going into separate rooms and taking out bad guys in various ways including stealth, tools or just Rambo jumbo. almost like a puzzle where there was more than one answer. to keep it sweet you would face some fight parts and had a bane fight where had to work how to kill him. I loved that. freedom to be creative but within a limited space. I thought AC would give me that unlimited space but I felt that STRUCTURE was torn apart in a free roam game. you would find you just go around hitting random guys on the street. thats the difference. the structure disappeared. don't get me wrong. you can still use tools. its fun to glide around the city but I thought I felt a bit lost. I like it. you still get sections of bad guys to take down but it just didn't fit with me to run around for no reason. just smahing the x button to kill even though the fighting system is actually very sexy but repitive. thats what AA was good at. keeping me interested by breaking up the parts of the game. AC failed to keep me entertained for long enough.

    my cousin enjoyed it but still thinks AA was better. I mean if you like batman go for it. if you liked AA go for it. great game that does deserve the amazing reviews it got but it didn't use quite the same recipe as AA. they decided to add some nuts to my cake it seems.(and l don't like nuts). the only reason im giving this a 6 is so people who look for mixed reviews of this game will see mine. in reality I would give this a good solid 7 and maybe a 7.5.
    Expand
  20. Jan 2, 2014
    6
    The best super hero game I have ever played. The only thing that comes close is lego marvel. It has a great story and really fun gameplay my only complaint is that the enviroment is to dull and grey for my taste.
  21. Jun 25, 2014
    6
    Reading the reviews, I expected a fantastic gaming experience. I couldn't play more than 2 hours. The game want you to win that way, and no other way, which is completely ruining the open world feeling.

    Flying from building to building is great, but the missions are too linear. If you don't go behind that door, then behind that table, you fail you start again from the beginning. This is
    Reading the reviews, I expected a fantastic gaming experience. I couldn't play more than 2 hours. The game want you to win that way, and no other way, which is completely ruining the open world feeling.

    Flying from building to building is great, but the missions are too linear. If you don't go behind that door, then behind that table, you fail you start again from the beginning. This is quite frustrating as you don't get the impression you can really control what you do.

    Conclusion : I guess you have to like the Batman comic to enjoy the game
    Expand
  22. Feb 22, 2015
    6
    Después del impresionante Arkham assylum este juego me parecio muy forzado. Las mecánicas del juego son sumamente similares a su predecesor ademas de que el mundo abierto , hizo que el juego perdiera ese sentimiento de nerviosismo e impacto que desprendía su pre cuela. Aunque el juego tiene momentos memorables, siento que el juego deja mucho que desear al buscar sitios y enfrentarte conDespués del impresionante Arkham assylum este juego me parecio muy forzado. Las mecánicas del juego son sumamente similares a su predecesor ademas de que el mundo abierto , hizo que el juego perdiera ese sentimiento de nerviosismo e impacto que desprendía su pre cuela. Aunque el juego tiene momentos memorables, siento que el juego deja mucho que desear al buscar sitios y enfrentarte con enemigos que una vez derrotados, mágicamente vuelven a aparecer si te das la vuelta.
    El juego esta vez pierde ese sentimiento de survival que tenia el primer titulo ya que en la ciudad puedes huir si te va mal en un combate.Lo mejor del titulo son sin duda los ultimos momentos donde aparece una extraña coalición de enemigos: Aunque para ser honestos el juego parece que salio sin idea de como manejar una secuela y mucho menos una historia por que el argumento desaparece cuando metes a tantos rivales de Batman en un solo juego.

    Lo peor del juego es su sistema de batallas: Que si bien emula a su pre cuela, en esta ocasión, peleas tantas veces que acabas odiando pelear con los criminales de ciudad Gotica(Arkham).

    Si quieren un buen juego de Batman les recomiendo la pecuela de este titulo que es Arkham Assylum y Batman de NES, pero este titulo se gano mi rabia desde que se hizo tan cansado y repetitivo. No me intereso en lo mas minimo re jugarlo ya que como lo mencione sus mecánicas son sumamente fastidiosas.
    Expand
  23. May 25, 2015
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I do not have to say anything. But i need to write one hundred and fifty characters. i think my score can describe it................................. Expand
  24. Jul 1, 2016
    7
    The gameplay is made less fun by input lag. The main missions have SOME merit for requiring intelligence, but overall I would rather replay Sleeping Dogs or GTA V. In Arkham City, I didn't feel adventurous, merely just a guy on duty. Pretty entertaining, but don't expect perfection.
  25. Oct 18, 2011
    0
    One of the greatest games of all time. Rocksteady has not only one-upped Arkham Asylum, they obliterated it. The story is excellent and starts off with an extremely intense arrest. The voice acting is absolutely flawless for the most part. Kevin Conroy knocked it out of the park as Batman (as always), this is easily one of his best performances. Mark Hamill was fantastic as Joker, andOne of the greatest games of all time. Rocksteady has not only one-upped Arkham Asylum, they obliterated it. The story is excellent and starts off with an extremely intense arrest. The voice acting is absolutely flawless for the most part. Kevin Conroy knocked it out of the park as Batman (as always), this is easily one of his best performances. Mark Hamill was fantastic as Joker, and Corey Burton was amazing as Strange. Tara had some big shoes to fill by playing Harley Quinn, but she did it, and boy was she good. The weakest voice in the game is the Penguin's. It's not terrible, but it doesn't match the rest of the game's quality voices. Nolan North is very talented, but someone like Ray Winstone would have been better. The gameplay is amazing and extremely fine-tuned, the story is interesting and engaging, the dialogue is insanely awesome and there's just so much content in the game! A definite 10/10 from me. Collapse
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 42 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 42
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 42
  3. Negative: 0 out of 42
  1. Official PlayStation Magazine Benelux
    Dec 29, 2011
    89
    Arkham City is the best reflection of the Batman-comic books ever. Not because of the sheer amount of famous enemies that challenge our hero, but thanks to the amazing atmosphere that oozes from every pore of this remarkable action game. [Nov 2011, p.70]
  2. Nov 29, 2011
    95
    All in all, outside of a few minor issues, I couldn't ask for a better Batman experience. If Arkham City was a graphic novel, it would be considered a classic.
  3. Playstation: The Official Magazine (US)
    Nov 18, 2011
    100
    Arkham City should be celebrated as a shining achievement for the action-adventure genre for its masterful execution. [Holiday 2011, p.70]