User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1650 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 21, 2011
    10
    Batman Arkham City is one of the best games out on the market. Rocksteady are a company that love to create genius ideas for their own games. Everything about Batman Arkham City makes the quality of the original look like a test for this one. We all look forward to see what Rocksteady can do in the highly anticipated 'Arkham World.'
  2. Dec 29, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. this game is one of the best games ever. i didnt really know at first if "city" would be better than "alsyum" but this game succeds on many levels. the game involved many new features to arkham alsyum, the biggest being a open world game and the new side missions to keep you busy and interested in this game for hours after the original story ends. these new addictions make the game feel like a whole new feeling then alsyum and to me feels like infamous. one flaw i need to point out though is the amount of bosses in the game. these portions of the game are very annoying because they all have their weaknesses and after you figure them out the battle goes on for way too long. once again the voice acting is great and the story is fantastic. the new effect of many villians is only better. penguin is a great addiction to this game and that boss battle is the only one i enjoyed. nolan north (nathan drake) is great as penguin and of course mark hamill shines as joker. the catwoman levels are boring but are not effecting this score. overall this game is a great story with great combat and great voice acting. seeing batman interact with so many people ( robin, strange, alfred) is awesome and is very great. 10-10 Expand
  3. Dec 29, 2011
    9
    This is batman's finest adventure and a game that had a lot to live up to. In this game Batman has found himself in Arkham City and is poisoned by the Joker. Batman now has to find away to cure himself while clearing the filth which dominates the streets of Arkham City thankfully this time round he has some help from to downloadable characters Catwoman and Robin each with there own unique combat, lines and missions. Arkham City is not the GTA huge open world but is big enough and with a ton of places to go inside its plenty. I only have one criticism which is the main campaign was very quick and I completed it in 7 hours I thought with all the area that they're was to cover I though it was going to be a bigger excursion but luckily when you finish the main campaign you have a lot of side missions and riddler trophies to go and collect. The world is also very beautifully done and designed superbly and does the DC universe proud. Another great aspect of the game is the voice acting there all brilliant from Mark Hamill's Joker to a random thug in the street this is not just a great game it is a smart game and in my opinion should of gained more awards or game of the year. Expand
  4. Jan 1, 2012
    9
    After playing arkham asylum didn't think it would get much better but I was wrong I got this one as soon as it came out and I couldn't stop playing it and the storyline was amazing you should get this game
  5. Jan 2, 2012
    10
    I love the Rocksteady's take on Batman. These games always remind me of a mix between Burton and Nolan films. Its a great looking game and the character direction and theme are particular highlights. I've found the combat extremely repetetive tho and not really improved from the last game. The characters are extremely well created, their looks and voice acting is 1st class but the problem is there are too many of them so it fails to create the depth of Arkham Asylum. It tries to recreate parts of Asylum without reaching the same heights like the Scare Crow moments. Lastly this game would be nothing without the Joker and hes bang on form again!! cool math games, pandora, limewire daemon tools, pandora, limewire Expand
  6. Jan 3, 2012
    10
    In my opinion this is an awesome game, I never thought that a superhero game could be that cool, I loved it. I can wait until I finish this game! If you haven't bought the game and is reading this, buy it, you won't regret it.
  7. Jan 4, 2012
    10
    Rocksteady is simply one of the best video game developers. They are able take one of the worst video game genres- comic book games, and turn it into one of the finest video games ever made. Batman: Arkham Asylum was an incredible game. I don't even read comic books and I still loved every thing about it. It made me feel like Batman and I always felt like a badass, sneaking up to thugs and taking them down silently, dropping down onto them from a gargoyle and taking out dozens of enemies with ease. And now Batman Arkham City is out. It impresses with a fantastic story, incredible gameplay, great visuals, a great soundtrack, incredible voice acting and inventive Riddler challenges. Batman: Arkham City is a complete package. It can be challenging, fun, addictive, but never boring. I highly recommend getting this incredible game. It is certainly up there with Uncharted 3, Skyrim, Rage, Portal 2 and LittleBig Planet 2 as one of the best games that I have had the pleasure of playing this year. It isn't perfect, but it sure is close. Expand
  8. Jan 16, 2012
    9
    This is one of the best games of the year. The combat is fun and satisfying. There's nothing like gliding through Gothom and swooping down into a bunch of thugs. The story is incredible. It's dark, bold, and will make you want to keep playing. There are also 440 collectibles in Arkham City. These brain teasers will keep the game entertaining even after you beat the main story. My biggest complaint is that through the story new characters that will show up without introduction. This can make people who don't know the Batman universe confused as to why a certain character would do a certain thing. Besides that though this is one of the best videogames out there. Expand
  9. Jan 19, 2012
    9
    The only reason I am not giving this a 10 is because the game throws you into this immense world too quickly without allowing the player to get a better feel for the controls and environment. But after you play it for a while, you pick up on things. This game took everything that was awesome from the first one and made it better and then threw it into an open world environment. It also added tons of side missions that were a welcome break in the action, as well as much improved (and more challenging) Riddler puzzles. The story was long and satisfying, but the ending was only a little above average. Overall, I think this might have been the best game of 2011. Expand
  10. Jan 19, 2012
    10
    Being a fan of Arkham Asylum, this was a must buy for me. They've vastly improved on the Free-Flow combat system, the graphics are greatly improved also. The Riddle-Solving game play is back, with more diversity then the original. There are also 12 side missions, which is a great addition to the "Open World"
    aspect that they were going for. There was one thing that i thought Arkham Asylum
    lacked, Characters. But in this game there are alot more characters than the original. Villains like Hugo Strange, The Penguin, Two-Face, Solomon Grundy, make this game feel alot bigger and better then the original.
    This is a must-buy for Batman Fans.
    Expand
  11. Jan 20, 2012
    10
    If you played Arkham Asylum, you should get this game, no questions about it. And more than likely, you have already. Regardless, this game should be in your library if you like action games. This is the best superhero open-world game I've ever played. The environment, as large as it is, is full of details around every corner. The combat has been expansively upgraded from Arkham Asylum in that it's easier to use your gadgets in combat and it's easier to engage more opponents at once. Movement around Arkham City is very fluid and easy to use. Once you obtain a couple of choice upgrades, it makes movement in the sky of Arkham City even easier. The only things I might complain about is that the story ended too quickly in my opinion and that the Catwoman stages are actually DLC that are only obtainable behind an Online Pass, which is becoming the industry norm, it would seem. To see Catwoman gameplay shown at E3 and then learn that the character's blocked by use unless you have an Online Pass seems kinda shady. I'm not really upset by all the Online Passes because I try my hardest to buy all my games new, but it doesn't make sense to tout that you have a playable character in your game only to have said character blocked by the use of an Online Pass. Other than that, the game is worthy of a 10 because its gameplay is just a step above the rest. Expand
  12. Jan 21, 2012
    10
    Everything you could ask for in a game is in Batman: Arkham City. It has great action, amazing graphics, awesome heroes and villains, a story that is fun to follow, and it has many challenges to keep even the most experienced of gamers satisfied. You will not be disappointed in this game.
  13. Jan 22, 2012
    10
    Quite possibly one of the greatest games of all time. It steps out of the confines of what a "comic book" game has been, and set a new standard in games. It did what was thought to be impossible, improve upon Arkham Asylum, in almost every single way. The storyline: GREAT! The gameplay: AWESOME. If I were the developers, I'd almost be afraid to try to make a third one. This is their Empire Strikes Back! Expand
  14. Feb 5, 2012
    10
    Superb,amazing,fantastic,great.Some of the words that can describe this game.It is perfect in every way.The graphics are just superb.The lighting is great,the details of everything,even a public telephone is perfectly detailed.The campaign took me 18 hours on normal.Possibly the best 18 hours i have spent on a game's single player.The combat system is great,with the primary buttons being simply so that somebody new in action games can easily play.Detective mode is great,helping you out whenever you need help.Also,the fact that more bosses where added,such as Penguin and others.The open world gameplay is amazing.It comes close the being as good as in GTA IV,which is,for me,a big achievement.Challenge mode is really good,with a variety of challenges to pick from.New game plus is also good,giving you the chance or re-playing the game with all your gadgets and upgrades.The expansion packs are also great,with Robin and others.I was a bit disappointed with Batman's ending but that depends on the reviewer.
    This is by far the best super-hero game I have ever played and is a masterpiece.Best 60$ i have ever spent.
    Expand
  15. Feb 5, 2012
    10
    Al principio me emociono mucho el juego, pero conforme fueron pasando las horas me di cuenta que no era tan grande como parecia, y el tipo "sandbox" era solo un disfraz, era un Arkham Asylum con personajes que faltaron, me quedo por mucho con el Asylum y afortunadamente el City solo lo rente, de haberlo comprado me hubiera arrepentido, es bueno, mas no excelente y a mi parecer no sobrepasa al Arkham Asylum, quiza el que no pelees con los enemigos de Batman tanto como en el primero, o que la principal caracteristica del juego sea la dificultad para encontrar la entrada a las misiones, pero en general no me agrado del todo, mucho hype poco juego Expand
  16. Feb 14, 2012
    9
    It's hard to find something to say about this game that hasn't been said already, so I will just say this: this game is so good that it is almost hard to believe.
  17. Mar 6, 2012
    10
    This is one of my favorite all time games; and that's coming from someone who plays way too many games. The use of the DC license is perfect. The gameplay mechanics are incredible - to me if felt like GTA meets Metroid, with a graphical detail similar to Bioshock. Rocksteady really outdid themselves. If you're a comic book fan or if you like wide open games with a ton of detail - don't miss this.
  18. Feb 7, 2013
    9
    I LOVED arkham asylum. The puzzles were great, voice acting is top notch, graphics are incredible. There was no other game that made me feel like batman the way AA did. Then AC came. Its even better! A bit more sandbox. I particularly loved the catwoman parts! Story was also very well written and paced! Excellent game!
  19. Mar 13, 2012
    9
    What can I say that hasn't already been said by the other 562 (at this time) postitive reviews. It takes the solid basis of arkham asylum and builds on it. New gadgets that fit amazingly well into the story, some new moves to keep the combat fresh, a ton of new content in regards to side missions and riddler trophies (even though some may complain that these sidequests are not very long), and a ridiculously good story to boot. Fans of the Animated Series are treated well by Paul Dini in this one. To address a few specifics, I thought that the riddler trophies were very cool this time around, requiring a little more thinking to obtain (or the right gadgets). The riddler rooms were a nice touch as well, giving the riddler a more modern take rather than just being a wacky wise guy. Some of the characters are a little under used, but I can hardly fault the game for that. My only complaint is that if you spent a lot of time with arkham asylum (i got the platinum trophy and in doing so completed the combat challenges), then this game is a bit of a cakewalk even on higher difficulties. The main area where you may find yourself getting rocked is when you lose track of the many button combinations during combat and make a mistake. All in all, pretty amazing game. Expand
  20. Mar 18, 2012
    10
    This game puts you right in Batman's shoes and keeps you there for the entire game. Although the Riddler's Revenge Mode is rather boring, this game is constantly leaving you with a feeling of awe. The fluency of exploring the open-world of Arkham City is great and the plot is very well done.
  21. Jun 12, 2012
    10
    Almost flawless. Just when i thought the series could not get any better, of course rocksteady proves me wrong. the game improves in almost every aspect of the previous game. The combat is more fluid and the graphics are better. The storyline captivates you and keeps you coming back for more. There is so much to do in arkham city with all the side missions and the riddles now with over 400 riddles. But now you need to access enough riddles to save the hostages that Edward Enigma took. The game is full of easter eggs that tie into the first game and its a blast trying to find them. The challenge maps are extremely fun yet difficult. The DLC is great even though harley quinns revenge was kind of a disappointment. overall this is one of the best games i have ever played and it will go down as one of my favorite games of all time. Any person that gave a negative review is a hater and likes the game vampire rain. Expand
  22. May 24, 2012
    10
    I love this game it could not better. There were most of the villains from Batman series. I was little disappointed that you cant free roam with Robin and Nightwing. Bosses are challenging if you don't know what to do. Free roam is very good you can go almost anywhere and no one stops you. Riddler Challenges were little easy but still there are 400 riddles in this game so there is like 12-15 hours of gameplay. I did love the voiceacting Mark Hamill as Joker and Kevin Conroy as Batman. My last rewiev was little too short and I didnt really like it. Expand
  23. Apr 6, 2012
    9
    Having not ingratiated myself at all into the DC universe prior to playing (asides from Batman Begins and The Dark Knight), this game made me long for the free time to read Batman comics. The whole world was utterly absorbing in its detail and atmosphere, it actually felt as though I was playing a movie. For one as uninitiated as myself, the combat spoiled me - its hard to recount any other game that has been as comparably fun to play. The graphics were of course gorgeous, and the voice acting and characterisation were equally unparalleled with anything I have played on the 360. Best game of the year? Yep. Possibly too short? I want more and more and more, so yes. Expand
  24. May 25, 2012
    9
    Excellent game, although seems to try and through everything into the game for the mere sake of it and the story suffers as a result.

    Not as good Arkham Asylum, but a brilliant game nevertheless.
  25. Jun 16, 2012
    10
    It's hard reviewing this game. It's indescribably awesome and listing it's awesomeness would take too long.
    So, I will just leave my thoughts about this game: if you're a Batman fan, BUY IT. If you're not but apreciate an action game with over the top graphics, astounding sound and soundtrack, thrilling and impressive story with remarkable characters, gameplay that features incredible
    boss fights, amazing combat, really cool stealth mechanics, open world exploration and a bit of puzzling, THAT'S YOUR GAME TOO.
    Rocksteady made open world masterpiece based on the most awesome comics character of all times. Don't miss it, please.
    Expand
  26. May 6, 2012
    10
    This game is incredible. The story is full of cliffhangers and twists to keep you captivated and really fires on all cylinders when it comes to perfectly executing combat. The open-world atmosphere gives you a reason to play for much longer than just the incredible campaign. A ton of side quests allow for endless gameplay experiences. Detective Mode is amazing and really lets you plan your strikes on the Joker's men. Amazing graphics and character animations make Batman: Arkham City what it is... Amazing. Expand
  27. Jul 23, 2012
    9
    Great game, but not the best. The combat is so satisfying in this game and that is the peak of the enjoyment that can be had with playing this game. The graphics are pretty damn good too and most of the textures are really detailed which is great. One minor complaint I have is when Batman dies or you need to restart the the mission, there should be no hassle to show a villain talking and they you have to select the option to restart. This should happen instantly with a 5-7 second wait time to load. The story seems a little far-fetched at times but its still very enjoyable and doesn't disallow you to have fun with the game by any means. The voice acting is great, but sometimes the dialogue can be on the cheesy side. I believe that this game definitely is an improvement of its predecessor, Batman Arkham City, since it isn't as repetitive and boring. Overall, this game is fantastic which just a few minor flaws but that shouldn't spoil the experience which is Batman: Arkham City. Expand
  28. May 26, 2012
    10
    Rocksteady kept me on my toes by peppering in special enemies. Guys with stun rods, armored outfits and broken bottles all have to be dealt with in very specific ways. I needed to assess threats and engage situations like Batman would. I don't know if I can express how awesome that makes a comic nerd like me feel; after years of hypothesizing how Batman would beat Character X, I now have to do it to survive. Expand
  29. May 26, 2012
    10
    Everything you've heard about this game is true: it's easily the best superhero game ever made, an improvement on its already excellent predecessor Arkham Asylum. What really sets Arkham City apart is its gameplay; both the Combat and Predator modes are impeccably designed to be intuitive, but without spoon-feeding the player or preventing him from making mistakes. The result is simply a joy to play, whether you're grappling around the game's large open world, taking on a dozen street thugs at a time, or sneaking in the shadows to eliminate armed enemies. It's a back-to-basics approach to game design that focuses on player experience, in an era when too many developers are fixated on spectacle.

    There are a few elements that could've been improved. The control scheme is complicated, and depending on platform, it can be a pain. If you're playing on the PC, I strongly suggest using a gamepad or gaming mouse. The main storyline is too short, and often feels like an excuse to cram in as many supervillains as possible. (This is mitigated by the outstanding voice acting for all of them, especially Mark Hamill's Joker.) If you're not the type of player who enjoys scavenger hunts, side quests, optional puzzles, and combat challenges, you may feel shortchanged. The good news is that the game is so much fun that even I, as a relatively casual gamer who doesn't often succumb to the completionist bug, wound up doing almost all of that stuff anyway! AC's flaws, such as they are, are completely forgivable in light of Rocksteady's achievement, which is easily the best game of 2011, and a fair contender to be one of the best of all time.
    Expand
  30. May 28, 2012
    10
    I have been a true batman fan ever since I was a kid, but I have never seen Batman at his best when I played Arkham City. After playing for four consecutive days, I have come to a conclusion that this game is one of my personal favorites. Arkham City did not only show a strong and well developed plot, but it also tied in a lot of characters including villains compared to Arkham Asylum. Out of all the superheros in the DC Comic series, Batman is a hero that has many foes and that is what makes them famous. Get ready to see your favorite villains including the reappearance of the Joker, and others such as The Penguin and Mr Freeze. This is game portrays Batman as you have never seen him before. Besides the well developed story line and the introduction of many characters, I found that the game play was one of the main aspects of this video game. Similarly to Arkham City, Batman takes down bad guys with very effective fighting moves and techniques but the creators added new features such as new gadgets and different fighting combos that can be obtained from upgrades. I had high expectations for this game and I was impressed with the execution, this game is definitely worth playing. Expand
  31. Jan 23, 2013
    9
    A mind-blowing sequel to a mind-blowing original, Rocksteady did a fine job on increasing the scale of the game and adding tons of new DC characters (villains, mostly) and not dropping the quality bar on the story (which is even better than the original, with an awesome beginning where you get to play as Bruce Wayne without his suit, and the absolutely shocking unpredictable ending), graphics (still pretty, though as usual all the male models are super-muscular and the chicks are super-hot) and gameplay (new gadgets, new combos, more convict ass-kicking). My only little complaint are the Riddler's trophies. In Asylum I collected all of them and it was the first and only game where I actually got all the collectibles. Although in Arkham City there are just way too many of them - 400 (four bloody hundred!) for Batman and additional 40 for Catwoman. I tried getting all of them but it actually gets a bit boring after a while, so it was a bit of a letdown for me. Otherwise, it's a masterpiece. Expand
  32. Jun 12, 2012
    10
    This is probably one of the greatest games that I have ever played between the deep immersion into a fantastic story, the replay-ability of the game, the challenges, and the fact that it is by far the best game that I have seen in 3D to date this game deserves nothing less than the full price of the game. It significantly improves on it's already superb predecessor in just about every way. I would've given it's predecessor a 9/10 alone, but with how much they have done in the game it's worth every penny, and oddly enough it's not my favorite genre, but I had no problem playing this game. Expand
  33. Jan 23, 2013
    10
    You would be daft to say Arkham City isn't a game which has set a new standard for superhero games. It contains beautiful stealth and combat, easter eggs in every corner of the huge open world, loads of side-missions tying in with the comics and the best villain in gaming. This, my friends, is game of the year 2011 and I plead for you to buy it. I have only given two 10s in all of my reviews. It shows how good this game is. Expand
  34. Jun 27, 2012
    9
    This game is amazing.. Combat is the best out there I think and flying around the city is just fun.. The riddler trophies became a pain in the ass though
  35. Jun 4, 2014
    10
    One of the greatest games ever made! 10/10! Batman: Arkham City - amazing game! Everybody must to buy this masterpiece game! AWESOME!!! Rocksteady, I love you!
  36. Jul 12, 2012
    10
    The plot is 10, I loved how Paul Dini put awesome plot turns with classic Batman villains and allies (except the story DLC which is 7). Presentation is 10, Arkham city looks awesome, and when you fly through buildings, you really feel as if you are Batman. And gameplay of beat em up and stealth action is 10. Even if you are like me and you hate running away from villains, you should still pickup gameplay easily. Expand
  37. Jul 30, 2012
    9
    a beautiful game with a excellent combat style of gameplay and with excellent side missions but with a ok story which makes this game just from being perfect
  38. Aug 9, 2012
    10
    This not only the best superhero game made, its one of the best games i ever player, and this is coming from a guy who mainly likes the older games. Best portrayed characters ever in gaming, best voice acting, and the story was incredible! The environment was perfect for gothem, and gave you an eerie feeling, and made it very dark. The music was epic, and made the game feel even more like a true batman game. I doubt we will ever see another masterpiece in the superhero category ever again though. Expand
  39. Aug 23, 2012
    10
    This is a great game, the graphics are way better than San Andreas on the Playstation 2, it has a good story too, but there are still 2 vehicles missing that i would like to have in GTA V, planes and tanks (when you six-star rankin), other than that it`s a really good game
  40. Aug 24, 2012
    10
    Batman: Arkham City is one of the greatest games of this generation, perhaps even the greatest game of all time. The way Rocksteady handled The Dark Knight's fiction and rogues gallery is simply amazing and the gorgeously detailed open-world they crafted is hands down the best I have ever experienced and only Bethesda's beautifully detailed Skyrim could hope to be on par with the world Rocksteady has created. Arkham City's large and varied environment allows for Batman to navigate seamlessly with versatile aerial movement, and some of the more skilled players can go the entire game without even touching the ground, save for objectives and collectibles. The story is deep and engrossing and is sure to attract fans and non-fans of Batman's dark mythos alike. This is by far superior to Batman Arkham Asylum in every way which was a near flawless game that was the first game to do The Caped Crusader justice in a video game. So with my praise out of the way I must simply tell you if you haven't gotten this game already go to the nearest Walmart or Gamestop and pick up the GOTY Edition of the game and be prepared to have the time of your life. Expand
  41. Jul 6, 2013
    10
    Take an awesome game like Batman Arkham Asylum, Throw in more villains, Catwoman, Robin, and alternate costumes and throw it into a bigger and better environment and Boom you got Batman Arkham City.
  42. Sep 8, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The best game I've ever played till date. I enjoyed playing the game even more than GTA IV or Uncharted Series. I hope for a sequel to this game one way or another. Expand
  43. Sep 17, 2012
    10
    Wow. Just wow. I mean Arkham City is easily one of this generations best games. I mean Rocksteady added so much more things to do. They added Side Missions, more riddlers, and you can explore the open world of Arkham City which is just amazing. Perfect 10 from me.
  44. Oct 7, 2012
    9
    Are so fully packed basket of unexpected twists, to the best of Batman's enemies, top equipment and playability it for any other superhero. Good story
  45. Mar 18, 2013
    10
    I have always wondered how it would feel like to be Batman, and after playing Arkham City I can truely say it is amazing. From the graphics to the acting, the gameplay and the fights.. what makes this game so unique is the experience you have from feeling that you can kick anybody's ass, however and whenever you want. Rocksteady has done all of us a huge favor by creating this game.
  46. Oct 22, 2014
    10
    Batman: Arkham Asylum was a master piece when it came out. Arkham City made Arkham Asylum small. Need i say more? It´s the ultimate Batman experience.
    STORY AND CHARACTERS: With so many story background in the Batman universe how could it go wrong? Some new fighting villains and NPC's are also welcome.
    PRESENTATION: The dark feel to the game that Rocksteady presented us in AA is
    augmented in this installment which is to say that they managed to improve perfection.
    GAMEPLAY: New NPC's aside there are some tweaks in the combat system. Not much because it was already awesome.
    PROGRESSION: Same as AA. You get throughout the campaign new gadgets that are improved with the XP earning. Didn't find that much difference.
    ONLINE: Unexisting. No problem with that. For me Batman AC it's a solo experience. Anything different than that would probably ruin the game.
    Batman AC delivered a better experience than is predecessor which is to say a lot. One of the best PS3 games.
    Expand
  47. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    A simply brilliant games. The combat is great, the villians are excellent, the stealh mechanics are amazing and above all you get to truly feel like the dark knight.
  48. Nov 1, 2012
    10
    Batman: Arkham City is the greatest Batman video game of all time. Scratch that... Batman: Arkham City is the greatest Superhero video game of all time. Scratch that... Batman: Arkham City is one of the greatest video games in history. The graphics in this game are incredible, as well as the incredibly detailed city, with legendary landmarks that any comic book fan or Batman fan will find familiar. The attention to detail is bewildering, and the vast array of villains i mind-blowing. The combat in this game makes you feel like a martial art expert, with tons of combos, takedowns, and filled with different approaches as well. You can decide if you want to be stealthy or attack head-on. The story in this game is fantastic. It picks up right where you left off from Batman: Arkham Asylum and makes way for some incredible characters and villains. While running around in the streets of the city, you can hear endless chatter between thugs, some talking about what certain supervillains did to them or their friends... some talking about what happened back at the Asylum. After completing this mind-blowing game, you can still complete Riddler challenges and collect Riddler trophies, as well as fight as either Batman, Catwoman, Robin, or Nightwing (get the GOTY Edition) in multiple combat or predator maps that allows you to either use your stealth skills or your combat skills. The only minor issues with this game are some pop-in textures and some very rare glitches which I haven't come across in my first playthrough. It is also very interesting to see the various characters by looking at their character bios and/or a full 3D model of them. All in all, this game did not only exceed expectations, but came across and sent a message to all video game designers: If you want to beat me, you'll have to do better than that. Expand
  49. Nov 5, 2012
    10
    Easily one of the best games of this generation. Arkham City is very big, the ambientation in Batman is wonderful, you will play easy 50~80 hours in this game.
  50. Aug 19, 2013
    9
    Batman: Arkham City is an action pumped game and will keep you on the edge of your seat from start to finish. One of the few games i've played from start to finish and enjoyed the whole way.
  51. Nov 11, 2012
    9
    Gas, man. Seriously. Bouts of some freaking ridiculous gas came exploding out of me for like a week. Coupled with painful stomach cramps. I thought my stomach was swallowing itself for a little while there but damn... Never had better gas in my life!
  52. Aug 2, 2013
    9
    Batman: Arkham City 9/10..............................................................................................................................
  53. Nov 25, 2012
    10
    Este es el videojuego modelo, que escapa al género superhéroe y que trasciende mucho pero mucho más lejos, es lo más cercano a la perfección por donde lo mires, este es el juego que no deberías dejar pasar jamás, este juego no necesita mucha explicación simplemente es una obra maestra.
  54. Dec 17, 2012
    9
    Definitely the best comic based game out there. If you are thinking about buying assassins creed III spare those 60 bucks and buy Batman Arkham city instead. This game looks gorgeous it looks exactly like arkham city. That gothic style based city is really gonna suck you in . There are so many things to find too. THe best feature is the combat though. Its really dynamic and you will feel just like batman. A must HAVE! Expand
  55. Mar 7, 2013
    10
    The best game in years, everything about it is amazing. Story, gameplay, graphics, sound design, voice acting, absolutely everything is great. The main story is kind of short though, about 4-5 hours if you just do the main missions. There are side missions though, which make up for the length, a problem that Arkham Asylum had. I really liked the environment, the city at night was very memorable and it even changed a lot as you went through it. You could be in a fancy district with glass over the streets and then go to the rooftops of buildings surrounded by completely flooded streets. The best thing was the voice acting with the Joker and Batman, with the original voice actors that everybody knows. Gameplay is extremely fun and you could beat this game five times and not get bored. Expand
  56. Jan 6, 2013
    9
    I wasn't all that crazy about Batman: Arkham Asylum, but Arkham City improved on everything that I had an issue with. The game looks and plays great, the voice acting is phenomenal, and the only thing I wanted to do after finishing the story was keep playing.
  57. Jan 9, 2013
    9
    nice graphics, gameplay,story,characters,voice acting, atmosphere but it is a bit limited because u cant drive btw GREAt weapons and the chicks r hawt the next one will be even better get this game it rocks though
  58. Mar 1, 2013
    10
    The game is really good! The music is great, the visuals are great, but there is something in the gameplay that pisses me off. Don't get me wrong the fighting is really good and well made, but the weapons really are overpowered. Also the fighting is really repetetive sometimes when you beat all enemies from a area they are gonna spawn back. That means the same place, same enemies and the same stuff. Also sometimes theres a little bit of small lagging. Overall the game is really really good and well made. It's the best superhero game i have ever played! Expand
  59. Jan 14, 2013
    10
    This game has incredible graphics, intense action combat, and a mind blowing world. The story is great for any Batman fan! This game will keep you at your Xbox for a very long time.
  60. Jan 29, 2013
    10
    This game is probably the closest thing I've experienced to pure... speechlessness. The way this game enchants and mesmerizes me with it's story, gameplay and look is something incredible. I was looking forward to this game so much that I made a countdown for it, and I was the furthest things from disappointed that is possible. Please play this game, do yourself a favour and experience this awesomeness. Get over the blue cape and cowl nonsense and play the game. Expand
  61. Jan 30, 2013
    10
    What else is there to say about Arkham city? Story is awesome, fighting is great, etc. I thought Batman Arkham Asylum was the best Batman game back in 2009. When the news broke that Arkham city was announced I was spectacle at first because I didn't think the game wasn't going to be as good as the first. When I got the game, I was pleasantly surprised how great it was. It is so much better than Arkham Asylum. All the things that were lacking in the first game, Rocksteady Studios improved significantly and all the things that made the first game great made slight changes here and there, but kept the same concept. Batman Arkham City is definitely the best Batman game of all time, and one of the best games of 2011 Expand
  62. Feb 18, 2013
    10
    Wonderful full stop!!! I was a little surprised to be honest as I thought it could be nowhere near as good as Arkham Asylum........I was wrong. Arguably my favourite PS3 game. Right up there, for me, with Red Dead Redemption and GTA IV. Although restricted somewhat (and no sandbox by any means), there is still a great open world feel to it. Combat is well improved too. Play with the lights dimmed. A great gaming experience. Get this. Expand
  63. Jul 21, 2013
    10
    Best super-hero game ever and it is the best game of all time.
    Advanced Free-flow combat system is undisputed best fighting system in a TPS game.
    Paul Dini is writed a awesome story,it features a lot of characters of DC comics.
    Atmosphere is awesome,great,excellent.You can see a lot of references,masterpiece musics,and wonder city.I think it is the best created ghost town in a game.You
    can feel someone is lived in there.You must play this game before you death.NOTE:It should better you purchase GOTY Version if you want complete arkham city experience,you mustn't play arkham asylum but you should read plot of it. Expand
  64. Mar 4, 2013
    10
    I expected this game to be a 10 and it was indeed! It took everything great about Arkham Asylum and added on so much more. The campaign is epic to say the least, with tons of replay value. Combat is deep, and it feels rewarding when you master it. Boss fights are awesome, and the riddler trophies are addicting to find; you actually want to find them. The predator and combat arenas are tough, but very fun to play. The DLC content adds even more to the experience. This game is a must buy. Expand
  65. Mar 15, 2013
    9
    Batman: Arkham City is easily the best Batman game ever made, but even more impressive then that it is one of the best games ever made. It has some of the best combat in any game, some great graphics, exploring Arkham City is a lot of fun with tons of collectibles and side content to find, the main story itself is fantastic with great performances from several fantastic voice actors, If you are a fan of Batman or action games in general then this is a must buy, There have been many Batman games over the years, but none have managed the quality and near perfection that this game has achieved. Expand
  66. May 4, 2013
    10
    For starters its a proven fact that im probably the biggest Batman nerd alive!! hahaha... so its gonna be obvious that i absolutely loved this game!! This is the definative Batman experience! Whether you're doing the story, the side missions or just fighting crime on the streets of Gotham, this game makes you feel like you're Batman!! and seriously what more could you want?
  67. May 8, 2013
    10
    Flawless and one of the best games i have ever played in my entire life. Graphics and controls are so perfect i cant even begin to describe how amazing they are. Storyline was easy to follow and was well done. The combat and detective elements were impressive. A great masterpiece and awesome free world
  68. Apr 15, 2013
    10
    this is one of the best games in my opinion awesome gameplay. awesome story this a game that both video game and comic book fans has been waiting for
    and excellent voice acting specially from mark hammils joker this a game worth playing for everyone
  69. May 29, 2013
    10
    This is my favorite game of all time. The story is amazing and there is a lot of stuff to do after you finish the story like completing the side missions and playing the challenge maps. I've lost track of how many times I've played this game. As a fan of Batman, I'd say Arkham City is truly a masterpiece. I can't wait for Arkham Origins!
  70. Jun 13, 2013
    10
    Once again another success from another batman game. This game is an addictive game which includes puzzle solving, epic fighting and much more!.. One of the many reasons I love this game if the fighting mechanics and how there is endless combinations and how realistic the game feels as well as the great graphics. The game also contains many villains which is just hectic when fighting( which is a good thing). The only bad thing that I would say (even though there isn't really anything bad about this game) is.... having to beat the game over again in an even harder difficulty to get one of the PlayStation trophies. Expand
  71. Jun 15, 2013
    9
    The plot is typical action-comicbook filler, however there are some genuine twists to the plot. The voice acting is great, the visual style matches the gritty yet comicbook approach from the first, and the gameplay is a blast. If you don't want to get 100% in the game, at least play through the Riddler storyline, because it's even better than it was in Arkham Asylum.
  72. Jun 17, 2013
    10
    This is the Batman game that we have been waiting all the time. Rocksteady has done it again, with giving the gamers what they have always wanted. An open-world Batman, superb combat, excellent graphics, nice story, so many characters etc.
    Batman: Arkham City deserves a 10/10
  73. Jul 12, 2013
    9
    Batman Arkham City is amazing. Everything good from Arkham Asylum is here with improvements. But this game isn't perfect 10/10 since it has some issues.

    First of all, what it gets right: improved combat, new gadgets, free-roaming, side-quests, story, graphics, characters, amazing voice-acting and lots of enemies. Yeah, you should buy this game, but try Arkham Asylum first, so that you
    can get familiar with combat, story and predator.

    But why this game isn't 10/10? Well, story isn't so good, that it was in Arkham Asylum. I can't say why without spoiling and trust me, you don't want to read spoilers of this game. Sometimes there are some glitches and other issues, but those aren't so big deal. But buy this game and probably GOTY version, so that you shouldn't buy Nightwing, HQ's Revenge, Robin, maps and skins pack separately and trust me, you want to buy those.

    Rocksteady did amazing job with these and I'm waiting more of it.
    Expand
  74. Jul 1, 2013
    9
    Arkham City brings all of the characters, heroes and villains, back in the best superhero game ever. It shows you what it it's like to really be the Dark Knight in an amazing story that will blow your mind with awesome third-person open world gameplay that teach you Batman's ways as the DC character he truly is. I find nothing wrong with the game at all, giving the fun and spectacular experience a 10/10 Expand
  75. Jul 12, 2013
    10
    Just the best superhero video game in my opinion!

    Most of the main character of Batman are here, so you have lot of secondary quest to do if you want to finish this game!
    The sensation of freedom is really good (yeah, freedom in a jail, problem?), I really enjoyed all the game and I spend hours and hours trying to end it at 100%!

    If you never try it, just do it
  76. Jul 13, 2013
    9
    A great game!one of the best i have ever played!great story,impressive gameplay and a surprising ending!when you play you actually feel like batman.The videogame dark knight
  77. Aug 11, 2013
    10
    One of the best games I have ever played. Everything seems perfect to me. The graphics are great and the story is interesting and takes some great turns. But the best part is the gameplay itself. The freerunning, the riddles and of course the fighting are amazing. And as a gimmick I love Catwoman. She is not just a skinned Batman, but in fact a completely different character with different gameplay. Expand
  78. Sep 6, 2013
    10
    okay my favriote dc charcter is the batman im batman okay so lets start with the gameplay so in this game batman has variotes of knocking down his enimes with his gaget and his bare hands so you two ways how to knockdown your oppenent stealth or close up fighting think of this say if your fighting and a thug is behind you by pressing o you can counter and finish them but if your faceing armed thugs you know with guns you have to use stealth to beat them so the world is way bigger than arkham aslyum and looks so bad well thats how has to look story you bruce wayne aka batman are locked up for no reason and batman need to find out what is protacal 10 and a antidoteto heal him becaus joker has poisend you dialouge is super good becaus kevin conroy as batman so yea he is the batmanyou can play as catwomen and play as robin and nightwing in this kinda of thing arcade somthing were you can yous stealth or straight up fighting but there dlc catwomen free the rest not and costume too add too that so this game is a 10/10 Expand
  79. Oct 2, 2013
    10
    I can't tell you how big my excitement was for this game when it was announced. After reviving my hopes for a great batman game with Arkham Asylum, they seemed to be raising the bar higher. The game looks in my opinion slightly better than its predecessor especially the weather effects. The game, once again written by Paul Dini, has such an excellent story that I just cannot spoil at all. All I can say is that, like the first game, the list of villains is spectacular. Being fully moved to an open world game, there's tons of thugs around the street to beat, and side missions a plenty to keep you busy. You can choose to tackle story and side missions as you please since the side missions are completely separate from the main story. Hugo Strange has been tasked with running Arkham City, after the newly appointed mayor cut off a section of Gotham to turn it into a high security prison for all of blackgate inmates and Arkham Asylum inmates to run freely, turning into one huge street war to see who gets control over Arkham City while Hugo Strange uses this idea to lure Batman into the city to shut it down but he doesn't know that Strange has bigger plans for the bat. The boss battles are an improvement from the previous game and they really force you to think on your feet just like the batman would. Overall, there's so much to do in this game and there's so much good things in this game that I simply cannot begin to cover it all, just play this game. This is THE batman game to beat. Expand
  80. Oct 6, 2013
    10
    One of my favourite gaming experinces ever. Well done Rocksteady on delivering a proper sequel, it refines upon all of the features of Asylum, yet innovates the franchise into the Open World genre.

    10/10
  81. Oct 25, 2013
    10
    I bought this game late December last year) and got the double pack Asylum and City) and I have some good news. this game is incredible. This game has incredible gameplay and graphics.

    The gameplay is pretty basic and easy to get into, and can be challenging enough for it not to become boring.

    The graphics are very good it keeps a constant frame rate at all times. The CGI cut
    scenes are a little sandy compared to the nice colors of Arkham asylum but in no way do they look bad.

    The environment is in Arkahm city which is a section of Gotham blocked off to become a superprison. It is a very detailed and big experience. Every corner of this Prison is detailed down to the snow.

    The story is probably the best I have experienced in years.No spoilers here.

    The Music is definitely something you want to experience using headphones. It is very immersive too.

    Overall this game was a complete package for me, with side missions and huge environments to the music this game i a masterpiece for me.
    Expand
  82. Nov 2, 2013
    9
    All I can really say is that this game is really good, but there is no "X Factor"
    There is no wow feeling, but no deny this game is awesome.
    I believe that this game really captures the feeling of being the Bat. I mean what more is there to ask for, voice acting: really good. Combat: simply brilliant. And the story is quite good, cat woman is a cool DLC and hours of fun in the Open
    world Arkham City.

    But just no "X Factor"
    Expand
  83. Nov 3, 2013
    10
    The very few problems with Arkham Asylum for me (the repetetive boss battles and button mashing) have been fixed now. There is an immense lack of button mashing so my controller is safe once again, and the boss battles are all different. They are quite easy but I like that, playing as Batman I would want fighting a supervillain to be easy. The story in this one is just as good as the last, even if they try to put as many characters in as possible, with an ending which almost made me cry, and something in the credits sequence finished the job, trust me I was broken by the end of this game it has such a powerful ending. The open world system is great, and they were clever to not mess Arkham City up too badly and add respawning thugs so after you had completed the main story you could pretend you were in Gotham just fighting crime. The voice actors all do a fantastic job, especially Conroy as Batman and Hamill as the Joker. Just a purely brilliant game, made by a company who actually listen to the customers, and what they didn't like about the original Arkham. Expand
  84. Nov 19, 2013
    9
    Bueno ni que decir tiene que este juego me ha decepcionado muchisimo, el 1 estaba muy bien, pero me dejo un poco con ganas de mas, pense que este me haria conformarme pero e gusto mucho menos que el 1º, la ciudad es un laberinto, es como una prision de la 3º parte de alien, es algo inverosimil, batman no tiene vidad, esta como muy pesado, como dije, la ciudad esta como muerta, no tiene vida, no me gusto el juego, solo lo jegue unos dias hasta que me canse, porque se vuelve repititivo, aburrido y monotono, no lo recomiendo Expand
  85. Dec 31, 2013
    10
    This game succeeds every minor detail from Arkham Asylum. The flaws in gameplay from Asylum are corrected in City, and the mechanics work perfectly. The puzzle elements combined in this game (the Riddler trophies) will keep you coming back for more and are a great addition. If you have a spare twenty dollars to spend, go buy the GOTY edition. Rocksteady just doesn't perfect every detail from Asylum, but they created one of the best games of all time. Expand
  86. Jan 6, 2014
    10
    This game will be greatly enjoyed by both batman fans and those who are not. From beautiful graphics to a strong and interesting storyline, the player would be glued from the start to the finish of this game. The game play went very smoothly with no faults. Perfect details, fantastic characters and definitely one of the greatest games ever. A must for all batman fans
  87. Jan 9, 2014
    9
    An action game that improves on it's predecessor. Arkham City is much larger and just more fun. The villains are very well represented (the Joker especially), the world is massive, the narrative is well done, the visuals are impressive and the music is great. While i honestly found the beginning a little slow, this game is great in every regard.
  88. Jan 24, 2014
    10
    If one of the best game of this generation, is indispensable like ir or not batman, the game is long, with thrilling story, with many interesting side quests where we will know many characters of batman universe, and multiple secret where we will discover a part of batman universe. Finally the game play is simple but profound. For me in the top 5 the games of ps3.
  89. Jan 24, 2014
    9
    One of the best games I've played!!! Imagine this situation: you as Batman must circulate a huge city filled with criminals to capture the main vilans and contain the chaos. There is anything more awesome than that? Besides, the story is interpreted in an unusual way, which makes you pay attention constantly in what is happening. Graphics are spectacular and the movements are precisely well done. Firstly I couldnt believe in the reviews, but now I strongly recommend this game @imnohero_br Expand
  90. Jun 12, 2014
    9
    Last Played: May 2014 PROS: + Still feels like Batman + Successfully creates a sense of urgency + More enemy types and takedowns CONS: - Difficulty does not scale well – Some tedious fights – Story worse than Arkham Asylum REVIEW: While this game does stand on its own, comparisons with Arkham Asylum are inevitable, and in fact somewhat useful, since this game’s target audience seems to be those who played the first entry in the series. The developers have made some incremental improvements which preserve the “feel” of being Batman while improving some of the things that were weak in the previous title. One of the things that this game does better than its predecessor is to streamline the mission starts so that they aren’t quite so obviously divided. In fact, this game does what few others do in making it seem like there will actually be a consequence if you don’t pursue the main story-line fast enough (although it turns out that I happened to test this during the only event which is actually timed: most the game can spread out as much as you want it to). This game also introduces shields and body armor on enemies in crowdfights and several new mechanics to make the predator mode more interesting. This better balances the gameplay between the two modes so that the predator sequences are less of a chore than before.

    Where this game fails is in the scaling. As before, this game goes for difficulty mostly by increasing the number of enemies, rather than varying the environment or enemy behaviors, which can get boring (and annoying when you are almost finished with a crowd and another handful of goons stumble in to drag on the fight). As a consequence of the “hording” method of increasing difficulty, there are some boss fights that are downright hard because the way to beat the boss has little to do with the methods you have used. It is a little jarring to have a very easy game interspersed with frustrating moments where you can’t figure out how to win (though the game will prod you if you miss several of the Zelda-style boss vulnerability phases). Furthermore, the bonus round style riddler games can be much harder than the main game with little difficulty transition which may diminish the fun. The story is also worse than that of Arkham Asylum (in that it is less original), and though it introduces some new ideas feels more like a fragmented reason to cameo the biggest villains who didn’t get to appear in the last game. This is too bad, because the Batman franchise is ultimately successful only when it tells a compelling story.

    In the end, this game is relatively better than Arkham Asylum in most respects. It is superlatively good compared to other 3rd person action games in some ways, and by the measure of whether I’ll remember it in the future has one or two memorable moments. It isn’t perfect, though and it may not warrant a second play-though, much 100% completion-seeking.
    Expand
  91. Feb 8, 2014
    10
    First of all, the game is based on comics. This makes the story and characters fascinating. Also, this game has a great atmosphere, it really conforms with Batman. You can see the dark and gloomy feelings in the game.

    The game play is amazing. You can use bunch of amazing gadgets easily and it's fun. The combats are simple and satisfying but couldn't have done better in my opinion.

    I
    want to talk about voice acting too. The whole cast made very good job. But especially Kevin Conroy and Mark Hamill were spectacular. They really excited me. It's too bad that they weren't in Arkham Origins.

    Also, I really love the side missions. They were almost entertaining as the main missions. Especially Riddler missions were mind blowing. The games of Ridder were perfect.

    Lastly, the map is absolutely fantastic. It's very detailed and deliberative. It's huge, you always discover something astounding.

    There are so many things I love in this game but I want to mention about these ones. In short, this game is the best superhero game of all time. Batman fans will fell in love with this game. 10 out of 10 for sure.
    Expand
  92. Sep 29, 2014
    10
    Simply one of the best games period. Now obviously you'll play this game all the more likely if you like Batman, and these days most people do. And Rocksteady did not disappoint. They didn't just create the best Batman game of all time, but also one of the best games period. This is why.
    Pros:
    - True to D.C. It knows it's roots, it's original friendly, all of batman's skills, gadgets etc
    is all what you'd expect and nothing bizarre.
    - gameplay- the fighting system in this game is very extensive, all these combinations which surprisingly easy to remember, which you'll use to win. It's fun, challenging, and plain cool. The dodges, counters, strikes, combos, evades, and all the cool gadget you'd use like batarang, electrical shock etc. the gliding is great, the Riddler puzzles are great. Just so much to talk about!

    - the graphics are great, the colourful but bleak world is amazing. While on paper the map isn't the biggest, there's so many secret passages, it becomes quite large. It's not a empty place either, quality over quantity.

    Any bad? No actually. The story is amazing, it's fun to play, it's rewarding!
    Just play this game! If you liked Asylum you'll love this!
    Expand
  93. run
    Oct 8, 2014
    10
    This is an excellent game in all respects; and ultimately is an achievement for the industry itself. The graphics, story, voice acting were all brilliantly executed; and this game features some of the best action gameplay of all time.
  94. Apr 28, 2014
    9
    This game was so good that I actually felt like batman. The only problem is that it's too short and ridiculously easy. The fighting is bad-ass and graphics were nice. I loved the voice acting from Mark Hamill (Joker) and Kevin Conroy (Batman). Definitely one of the best games of 2011.
  95. Jul 25, 2014
    10
    I don't care how small the map is. The game is amazing. Beautiful Robotics, smart NPC's, a strong story, they made the character unforgettable (Especially The Joker) the combat is the best I've seen in a Super hero game. This game is a must have. Don't listen to the 125 dumbasses, who are giving this game low scores. They just wanted a big open world. Gameplay is what matters.
  96. Jun 11, 2014
    10
    Great!
    My first game to be played on PS3, so I don't really know, if just this game is so great or all games on PS3 are :D Well I guess I'll have to find out on my own. But it looks great, the graphics are neet, the story looks sophisticated. I have high expectations!
  97. Jul 23, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. To create the perfect sequel, only two things need to be done. First, the parts that players loved must be kept. Second, the parts that were loathed and needed improvement must be improved. Arkham City does all this and more. It delivers a more compelling story, better, more refined gameplay and an open world that ranks among the best in gaming. It does all this and becomes the greatest licensed game ever while in the process.

    The plot is masterful in its approach to storytelling. Of course it's another "Joker trying to kill Batman" plot, but this time things have changed. The clown prince is dying and he wants to go out with a bang by killing the dark knight once and for all. There's another catch- he's doing all of this in prison, where Bats is stationed as well. Arkham City is a sprawling mega prison where the villains are free to do what they want, so long as it doesn't impact New Gotham. Of course, that won't stay and this becomes apparent as Bruce Wayne is captured by the men of Hugo Strange and thrown into the deadly place. He soon suits up and begins to go after the villains causing havoc. Two-Face runs the court district, while Penguin is stationed around the shopping centre and museum and Joker has turned the Industrial District into a demented amusement park. Other villains also show up throughout the campaign, such as Ras Ah Ghul, Mr. Freeze and even Solomon Grundy. The final twist is perfect and the ending is phenomenal. Rocksteady have a stern hold over the Bats fiction, as they kill off a character just as important as the hero himself- that character being poor ol' Jokes.

    Once you're finished with the rather lengthy campaign, plenty of fun can be had in the open world. It's littered with twice the amount of riddles in Asylum and this time Batman can even die while trying to solve them! There are question mark knockouts, new breakable objects and feats to complete, along with a small amount of well designed hostage situations, where Batman must solve a riddle and save a civilian in danger. The climax is way better than that of Asylum's, as you finally get to knock out Edward Nigma. Riddles aren't the only side activities though. There are plenty of side missions throughout the city, with Deadshot chasing down targets, Bane asking for a favour, a mysterious foe killing inmates and political prisoners getting bashed. It's all fun to play through and the open world is, believe it or not, even better than Arkham Asylum. The amount of detail is astounding and the Easter Eggs show how much time has gone into this. There are cameos, references to sequels and Scarecrow's secret hideout all littered throughout the world. Trust me when I say that there is a lot to find.

    The gameplay is innovative and familiar at the same time. The gliding is one of the coolest things about the game. Launching above the world with your grapnel gun, before swooping down with your cape is an exhilarating experience and is just as fun as proper flying or even web swinging. The combat is another finely tuned part of the game that is recognizable, but a whole lot better than what we got in the original. Attacking, countering and stunning are still big parts of the fighting, but the upgrade system is extensive enough to completely change your approach to the brawling. With takedowns and weapon snaps, the villains won't know what hit them and the new enemy types also help to add variety to the Freeflow encounters. As for stealth, it's also better. Foes can see you in the dark, block your detective vision and stop you from taking them down from behind. But Bats also has new tricks, with better gadgets, a knockout smash and new attacks that would certainly hurt. There are a lot of improvements. New detective mode features; running and sliding; critical hits... Yep, there's a lot!
    Also a big part of the game: CATWOMAN! She brings her own way of getting around and it isn't faster, but it is better for stealth. She also has her own upgrades and feels lighter and deadlier in combat, bringing her own share of brutality. She is best in stealth, able to run up behind enemies and crawl on certain parts of the roof. She only has three gadgets, but they are great to use. She is key to the campaign with her own missions and 40 riddler trophies. She meets Poison Ivy in her second adventure, which is a lovely cameo. In short, Catwoman isn't better than Bats, but she is a change.

    There is also plenty of content in the new challenge mode, with cool new campaign and custom challenges along with more ranked. This adds more to an awesome game, that has simple controls, brilliant, next gen like graphics, a rousing score and voice acting and an amazing story. The amount of content is awesome and the boss battles- the original's worst part- are fixed. Even if you don't like Batman, this is an essential purchase that should not be missed. Once again, you will feel like the Batman. Who doesn't want to be the Batman after all?
    Expand
  98. Jul 4, 2014
    10
    Arkham City, summing up, is a work of art. It's gameplay is as fresh as its aesthetics, and a story that is so fresh and inventive. It's a step up from the previous game, with more unique boss battles and more things to do. It's hard to stop playing when you've got a badass main hero, a villain who sucks you in, gameplay that takes you to new levels, and graphics that are much better than the other games on the previous market. Arkham City is not than just a game: It's an experience. Expand
  99. Aug 28, 2014
    9
    Arkham City will be hard to top. I mean, with great graphics, greatly improved (And still fantastic!) combat, and one of the best rogues galleries I know of, with villains like Joker, Penguin, Two-Face, Ra's al Ghul, Zsasz and The Riddler, it is unforgettable. The stealth feels great, and it has one of the greatest boss battles EVER in Mr. Freeze, which has you using critical thinking. I only wish they could've made the open world bigger, and more involving. Overall, this game look at superheroes in a new light, and a fantastic new light at that. Expand
  100. Aug 12, 2014
    10
    One of the finest games on any platform this generation. Builds on what Asylum established and creates a phenomenal experience of what it's like to be the Bat. Literally dozens of hours of side stuff along with a great story and emotional finale. Cannot recommend highly enough.
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 42 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 42
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 42
  3. Negative: 0 out of 42
  1. Arkham City is the best reflection of the Batman-comic books ever. Not because of the sheer amount of famous enemies that challenge our hero, but thanks to the amazing atmosphere that oozes from every pore of this remarkable action game. [Nov 2011, p.70]
  2. Nov 29, 2011
    95
    All in all, outside of a few minor issues, I couldn't ask for a better Batman experience. If Arkham City was a graphic novel, it would be considered a classic.
  3. Arkham City should be celebrated as a shining achievement for the action-adventure genre for its masterful execution. [Holiday 2011, p.70]