Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 42 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1838 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Developed by Rocksteady Studios, Batman: Arkham City builds upon the intense, atmospheric foundation of Batman: Arkham Asylum, sending players soaring into Arkham City, the new maximum security "home" for all of Gotham City's thugs, gangsters and insane criminal masterminds. Set inside theDeveloped by Rocksteady Studios, Batman: Arkham City builds upon the intense, atmospheric foundation of Batman: Arkham Asylum, sending players soaring into Arkham City, the new maximum security "home" for all of Gotham City's thugs, gangsters and insane criminal masterminds. Set inside the heavily fortified walls of a sprawling district in the heart of Gotham City, this highly anticipated sequel introduces a brand-new story that draws together a new all-star cast of classic characters and murderous villains from the Batman universe, as well as a vast range of new and enhanced gameplay features to deliver the ultimate experience as the Dark Knight. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 42
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 42
  3. Negative: 0 out of 42
  1. Arkham City should be celebrated as a shining achievement for the action-adventure genre for its masterful execution. [Holiday 2011, p.70]
  2. Oct 14, 2011
    100
    There's a real sense of progression to Arkham City in its gameplay, in its story, in the variety of its missions (the abundance of open world side-quests will keep you busy for a long, long time), and in the evolution of its pointy-eared protagonist, that really deserves to be commended.
  3. 100
    If there is one game you buy this year, make it Batman: Arkham City. Few other games released this year will reach this level of polish, variety, story quality, action, scale, and length.
  4. Oct 20, 2011
    95
    Rocksteady already proved that they're an amazing studio with Arkham Asylum, but with Arkham City they now belong to the Olympus of the Action/Adventure genre. This game is the ultimate superhero experience.
  5. Nov 29, 2011
    95
    All in all, outside of a few minor issues, I couldn't ask for a better Batman experience. If Arkham City was a graphic novel, it would be considered a classic.
  6. Nov 9, 2011
    94
    We're sure you've already seen plenty of quotes and sound bites that announce Arkham City as the best superhero game ever made but such statements sell the game short: Batman's latest digital outing is probably one of the best games this year, if not the entire generation.
  7. Oct 19, 2011
    80
    Even if there is still some reason to quibble here and there, Arkham City is undoubtedly the result of which we dreamed, rich and surprising in many ways. A feat which makes it a must-see title of 2011.

See all 42 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 19 out of 398
  1. Oct 18, 2011
    10
    I picked up this game right at midnight and have been playing it for almost 4 hours now and I'm blown away. This is by far one of the bestI picked up this game right at midnight and have been playing it for almost 4 hours now and I'm blown away. This is by far one of the best looking and action packed games I have played in a very long time. This game has it all and it really lives up to all of the hype that has been surrounding it. The detail is all here in each and every aspect and there is so much content I'm going to be at this one for a very long time. Due your self a HUGE favor and pick up this blockbuster right away and you can thank me later. Expand
  2. Apr 30, 2015
    10
    There's a real sense of progression to Arkham City in its gameplay, in its story, in the variety of its missions (the abundance of open worldThere's a real sense of progression to Arkham City in its gameplay, in its story, in the variety of its missions (the abundance of open world side-quests will keep you busy for a long, long time), and in the evolution of its pointy-eared protagonist, that really deserves to be commended. Expand
  3. Dec 21, 2011
    10
    Batman Arkham City is one of the best games out on the market. Rocksteady are a company that love to create genius ideas for their own games.Batman Arkham City is one of the best games out on the market. Rocksteady are a company that love to create genius ideas for their own games. Everything about Batman Arkham City makes the quality of the original look like a test for this one. We all look forward to see what Rocksteady can do in the highly anticipated 'Arkham World.' Expand
  4. Mar 22, 2015
    10
    Now this game just surprised me. Arkham City surpassed all my expectations and it has become what I believe to be one of the best video gamesNow this game just surprised me. Arkham City surpassed all my expectations and it has become what I believe to be one of the best video games I've ever played. This may well be one of the best things that ever happened to Batman after The Dark Knight trilogy. The gameplay we've come to know and love from the Arkham series has been refined and refurbished to where I can simply not imagine a better Arkham experience. Expand
  5. Nov 11, 2012
    9
    Gas, man. Seriously. Bouts of some freaking ridiculous gas came exploding out of me for like a week. Coupled with painful stomach cramps. IGas, man. Seriously. Bouts of some freaking ridiculous gas came exploding out of me for like a week. Coupled with painful stomach cramps. I thought my stomach was swallowing itself for a little while there but damn... Never had better gas in my life! Expand
  6. Oct 24, 2011
    9
    Amazing game. You really get the essence of a sand-box title with this one. The environment is much larger than Askham Asylum. Traveling is aAmazing game. You really get the essence of a sand-box title with this one. The environment is much larger than Askham Asylum. Traveling is a little easier with the flying TYGER helicopters roaming the city. AI is similar to the previous title, if anything. Voice overs for ever character are spot on. Controls are familiar if you've played Arkham Asylum before. Just recently finished the game and the storyline is well built. Most notable thin I loved about this game, the process of achieving 100% in Normal mode. While there are the options of playing through Hard mode and various challenges they give you. Finishing normal mode and getting 100% is very enjoyable. There's a wide range of villains and their designs are very twisted. With so much to do, you won't regret picking this one up. Not a perfect game but the flaws are minimal, if even visible. Expand
  7. Jun 5, 2013
    0
    Um monte de tempo e energia parece ter ido para este jogo e tudo o que era divertido sobre Arkham Asylum ainda divertido aqui. No entanto, oUm monte de tempo e energia parece ter ido para este jogo e tudo o que era divertido sobre Arkham Asylum ainda divertido aqui. No entanto, o jogo tem suas desvantagens. Por um lado, eu não acho que a história foi melhorada por ter um mundo "livre de roaming Em outros jogos, a liberdade de circulação fantástico jogos como Red Dead Redemption e Oblivion. Com Batman, no entanto, eu estava irritado com Expand

See all 398 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2011

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2011 Image
    Published: January 9, 2012
    The results are in! We've tallied your votes for the best movie, TV show, video game, album, and song of 2011. Find out which titles our users preferred inside...
  2. The Best Videogames of 2011

    The Best Videogames of 2011 Image
    Published: December 23, 2011
    It wasn't just your imagination; 2011 was indeed a great year for videogames. In our yearly report, we take a look at the year's best releases overall as well as the top games for each platform.
  3. Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases

    Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases Image
    Published: September 13, 2011
    We take a look at the biggest games due out between now and the end of the year, from "Uncharted 3" to "Battlefield 3" to "Modern Warfare 3." It looks like three is indeed the magic number.
  4. The Most Anticipated Games of 2011, Part 1: Multi-Platform Titles

    The Most Anticipated Games of 2011, Part 1: Multi-Platform Titles Image
    Published: January 13, 2011
    Our 2011 videogame preview kicks off with a look at the two dozen most-anticipated titles that will be available for multiple platforms, from Portal 2 to Mass Effect 3.