Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 46 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 511 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Batman: Arkham Origins features an expanded Gotham City and introduces an original prequel storyline set several years before the events of Batman: Arkham Asylum and Batman: Arkham City, the first two games in the franchise. Taking place before the rise of Gotham City’s most notoriousBatman: Arkham Origins features an expanded Gotham City and introduces an original prequel storyline set several years before the events of Batman: Arkham Asylum and Batman: Arkham City, the first two games in the franchise. Taking place before the rise of Gotham City’s most notorious criminals, the game showcases a young, unrefined Batman as he faces the defining moment of his early career and sets his path to becoming the Dark Knight. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 46
  2. Negative: 0 out of 46
  1. Oct 30, 2013
    86
    Arkham fans can expect to really enjoy Origins, so long as they don't go into the game expecting to experience sweeping changes to the gameplay that made Asylum and City so great. Origins is a great game that can proudly stand outside of the shadow of its predecessors.
  2. Nov 1, 2013
    80
    Yes, most of the game seems like a copy of Arkham City, but that doesn't take away the overall high quality that comes from the lush world, the superb fighting system and the great characters WB Montreal created.
  3. Nov 26, 2013
    80
    Arkham Origins is essentially just more of the Batman you already know without a lot of new offerings. But despite some small problems the core gameplay, especially the Free Flow-system, is still a lot of fun.
  4. Oct 25, 2013
    78
    Next to Arkham City, Arkham Origins is a bit of a disappointment in its lack of new ideas and use of win buttons, making it the least interesting of the trilogy.
  5. Nov 4, 2013
    75
    I actually enjoyed the story in Origins more than the wildly implausible (even by comic book standards) Arkham City, but my fun was constantly interrupted by bugs and questionable design decisions. While this is arguably still the third-best Batman game ever made, WB Games Montréal unfortunately dropped the high bar set by Rocksteady down a few notches.
  6. Nov 7, 2013
    70
    It's all there - fun and intuitive combat, challenging stealth gameplay and an engaging story - but Warner Bros. Montréal never truly hits Rocksteady's mark. At times the game feels rushed, empty and frankly, uninspired. It's an enjoyable title, to be sure, but it's nowhere near as good as its predecessors.
  7. Oct 25, 2013
    60
    In the absence of new elements, the tried-and-true free-flow combat and predator mechanics feel routine rather than inspired. Origins is worth experiencing for the way it sets the stage for the events of the other Arkham games, but it also resides squarely in their shadows.

See all 46 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 16 out of 148
  1. Oct 25, 2013
    10
    The cape is finally black, and there are no man panties in sight. Now Rocksteady should learn to make a serviceable Batman by omitting theThe cape is finally black, and there are no man panties in sight. Now Rocksteady should learn to make a serviceable Batman by omitting the absurd blue/purple cape and briefs, their Batman design is a walking paradox.
    P.S. The grey belt is nice, keep that too.
    Expand
  2. Nov 1, 2013
    10
    Great addition to the Arkham series. If you loved City and Asylum this is perfect. The combat is basically the same with WB Montreal adding aGreat addition to the Arkham series. If you loved City and Asylum this is perfect. The combat is basically the same with WB Montreal adding a couple new things. The story is definitely up there with the other two games if not better then them. Expand
  3. Aug 5, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. When you hand off your franchise to another studio, it's a hard move to make. Rocksteady have done this to please fans while they work on the series-ender Arkham Knight and at first, I wasn't sure if this would work. They gave us a brilliant superhero game in the form of Arkham Asylum and then improved upon it in every way with City- which is widely considered to be the greatest licensed game of all time. Arkham Origins is a chance for WB Montreal to show us what they've got and it's also a chance to jump back into the Arkham universe and embrace the old mechanics before Knight swings around. It's a chance that is definitely successful.

    The strongest part of the game is its narrative. However, this won't be obvious to you when you first boot up. The idea is that it's two years into Batman's career on a Christmas night. Gang boss Black Mask has become tired of the hero and has set a 50 million dollar bounty on the Bat's head that eight assassins plan to acquire. Killer Croc, Bane, Deathstroke, Deadshot, Firefly, Lady Shiva, Electrocutioner and a female Copperhead are up to the task and the Bat is bracing for an epic night. After the effective beginning, we're off to Gotham City. A young Riddler is messing around, Penguin is up to his old tricks, Deathstroke is keen for the money and Mad Hatter is even mucking around. I was overwhelmed by the constant villain reveals and was prepared to write the game's story off. Then a sudden smile spread across the screen as the Joker popped up. His introduction is fairly ridiculous, but it is an excellent twist and one that works. After Joker appears the whole plot just straightens out and everything seems to become so clear. In fact, I'd say that this could be the best plot in the whole series- it certainly works and the climax is excellent.

    Another win for the game is its amount of content. The side missions return and they're better than ever, with each mission following a certain villain. They usually end in a nice battle and incorporate plenty of cool investigation scenarios and combat sequences. Along with the side quests, there are also riddles returning. This time they aren't much more than breakable/collectible objects, but the radio towers are perplexing, well thought out challenges that always end in you getting the reward of a fast travel point. The challenge mode also returns and it's slightly expanded. Like the rest of the game, WB Montreal have stuck to the basics, but added their own spin on parts. The ranked challenges are fairly similar to their former counterparts, as are the campaign and custom challenges. There is a lot of content here and the new training challenges make up a small part of the mode, but they are surprisingly enjoyable and help you grasp the mechanics of the game if you're a newbie. Of course, concept art, themes and character models are all valuable objects to unlock and everything seems to go towards 100%. You can also access the challenges from the Batcave now- which is kind of like a hub.

    One part where the game kind of disappointed me was in the open world. Not that it's small- it certainly isn't. Not that it isn't detailed- there is a lot to find and do. Not that there aren't any civilians- while the reason is lousy (they're all inside), I don't think it would suit the game to have people wandering the streets. It's because of the bugs and the small amount of Easter eggs. While none of the glitches were game breaking, they smash your immersion and the lack of big references (like the Scarecrow boat in City) is a little disappointing. It isn't enough to really damage the game though.

    The gameplay itself is excellent, even if highly familiar. Combat is highly refined and requires maximum concentration and great response time. There are new animations and upgrades that flesh it out and the scoring system is rewarding and well implemented. Stealth is also tense once again and the new enemies mix things up. The gadgets are slightly overpowered this time, but I love the remote grapnel and the shock gloves give you a good feeling as they activate. The gliding and traversal is pretty much the same as what we got in Arkham City and is still fluid- it also helps that the cape is black.

    Finally, Origins has a multiplayer mode. It has a great levelling system, plenty of customization options and a few large maps. However, it only comes with one mode (new modes and maps are planned for future updates) and it's hard to get a game seeing as how there is no drop in. The gameplay is nice though, with Batman and Robin feeling good and the other thugs making for interesting variations. The shooting is great and playing as the big bosses is rewarding- Bane is cool.

    To wrap things up, Arkham Origins is a great prequel. It's the same gameplay, just with a larger open world, a better narrative and surprisingly enjoyable multiplayer. It's also a great jumping on point for newbies- though City shouldn't be dismissed!
    Expand
  4. Feb 1, 2014
    8
    The Arkham series has always hit that sweet-spot that so many superhero games strive for. It brings the stealth of Batman while mixing itThe Arkham series has always hit that sweet-spot that so many superhero games strive for. It brings the stealth of Batman while mixing it perfectly with masterful combat mechanics. While this doesn't do anything revolutionary in the series, it's a nice unexpected romp through Arkham to say the least. It has the best story in the series, and in my opinion the new voice actors fill their big shoes excellently. I just hope Rocksteady hits the brakes, and truly does something special for next time. I would hate to see this franchise become the next Assassin's Creed, with every consequent game leaving a "been there, done that" mentality.

    Pros:
    - New baddies to fight through (Some will even counter now)
    - Boss Battles are great. Need to critically think to get through them instead of just button mashing.
    - Brand spankin new gadgets to mess around with
    - Excellent story
    - New riddles
    - Tons of new content to keep any Bat busy for a while

    Cons:
    - Multiplayer feels like a shoe-horned, rather forgettable experience.
    - More of the same, not really a bad thing, but it plays exactly like Arkham City. If you got tired of the last game, you won't find anything to tickle your pickle here.
    Expand
  5. Jan 17, 2014
    8
    I loved this game. Once again, the Arkhham series has produced a game that makes you feel like you are really the Caped Crusader. Let me startI loved this game. Once again, the Arkhham series has produced a game that makes you feel like you are really the Caped Crusader. Let me start this review with I liked about the game, first and foremost, the story. Origins tells a compelling story of a younger Batman who tries to survive Christmas as 8 dangerous and professional assassins hired by Black Mask try their best to kill him for the bounty. But that's not all. Somewhere, The Joker is wrecking havoc on Gotham City and it's up to the Dark Knight to stop him. Now, the story, in my opinion, is one of the best Batman origins tales I've ever experienced even though the title is sort of a misnomer as it really doesn't have anything to with the origins of Arkham but the asylum is mentioned a lot of times and there are a few easter eggs which i won't spoil. The voice acting is stellar. No Kevin Conroy and Mark Hamill but the voice actors doing Batman's and Joker's voices are incredible. You'd think they were younger versions of Kevin and Mark, that's how on point their voices and impressions are. Another thing I liked was how huge this world was, double the size of Arkham City and it's filled with things to do such as the main story missions, bunch of sidequests, challenges and puzzles for collectibles. Now these collectibles which are the Enigma packs (you know who he is) and although there are definitely plenty of them, they're not as difficult or as challenging to collect as it was in Arkham City which was a bit disappointing. Now there's the boss battles, those glorious boss battles. Definitely the best and most refined boss battles in the entire Arkham series. Nearly every boss battle was, in it's own way, unique and challenging. My personal favorite was the one with copperhead and my least favorite, in fact the laziest boss battle in the game was against Electrecutioner (no spoilers but it's pretty lame if you ask me).Finally, another part of the game I liked which many will debate on is the combat and stealth mechanics. I say it's debatable because a lot of people will complain on how it's just the same, exact combat system from previous installments while others will argue that if it ain't broke, don't fix it. Personally, I'm with the latter. The combat's still as solid as it was in the previous Arkham games. Admittedly a little shallow but for a Batman game, it's near perfect and the stealth segments are still as cool as ever.

    Now for the things I hated, the detective missions are forgettable because they have the same exact formula. Review a crime scene, get info from Alfred, beat the crap out of the suspect and you're done. Rinse and repeat. They could have done so much better. I mean you'd think the "World's Greatest Detective" would have a deep detective system that's engaging like maybe a bit LA Noire-ish mixed with elements from CSI but what you get are these mediocre and way too easy clue finding, goon beating side quests. I hope they do better in future installments. Another annoyance are the numerous bugs and glitches especially when you have to fast travel. This game froze like twice, both of them coming from the fast travel animation and when it doesn't freeze, the screen goes black for like 20 seconds and the audio is out of synch and this is post-patch btw. Also, there's this bug where Batman's costume goes back to the default costume whenever you restart and reload the game even if your last save had Batman wearing something completely different. I'd understand if this due to the bigger world but then again, there are games out there with much bigger worlds and a lot less bugs so this is an excusable. Thirdly, the story does a 180 or at least a 90. Without spoiling anything, the plot of Batman's assassins hunting him down for the bounty disappears towards the end of the story and you would pretty much forget that there was a bounty on his head in the first place. Like I said no spoilers but you would understand if you play it.

    Overall, Arkham origins is like The Dark Knight Rises movie. It's bigger and on a grander scale then it's predecessors but just a tad step down from the second one. I enjoyed Arkham Origins and it's my second favorite game from the Arkham trilogy, just above Asylum and behind City.

    P.S. I gave Asylum a higher score but because it's a 9 as an isolated game. I gave Origins an 8 as an isolated game. But if I were to review these 2 games based solely on comparison, I would give Asylum an 8 and Origins a 9 but no, I want to review them in isolation so those are the scores I came up with.
    Expand
  6. Jan 21, 2014
    7
    Arkham Origins is a troubled game. It possesses a fantastic story that establishes the perfect foundation for the Arkham universe. In fact,Arkham Origins is a troubled game. It possesses a fantastic story that establishes the perfect foundation for the Arkham universe. In fact, this is probably one of my favorite Dark Knight tales out there, creating a thrilling back story that flawlessly demonstrates the excitement and repercussions of Batman's first encounter with the Joker. The gameplay is still solid in most regards, inheriting the same fluid fighting mechanics that made the Arkham games some of the best action games ever made. Boss battles have been fine-tuned to perfection, making each fight gripping and challenging, sharply contrasting those in the previous two Arkham titles. Even the acting is great, with fantastic performances by both Roger Craig Smith as the Caped Crusader and Troy Baker, the best voice actor of 2013, portraying a younger, volatile, and deliciously psychotic Joker that even rivals the work of Mark Hamill in the original games.

    With all this praise, it seems like Origins would be another stellar Batman experience. But it's not.

    Origins is a good game marred by repetitiveness and unwelcome additions that hold it back from being a truly memorable experience. For instance, the combat features the new Shock Gloves, along with all of your favorite old gadgets. These new weapons can destroy any shield or break any barrier standing between you and your foes, causing you to ridiculously overpower anyone who stands in your path. In Arkham City, each fight against a new foe, such as the ninjas from the League of Shadows, required planning and different combos in order to take down the opposition. Here, you can mash the square button once the gloves are powered, quickly ruining any enjoyment or challenge to the campaign by giving you a practically automatic victory. The fighting feels much shoddier in this game as well. While City's battles felt like I was establishing a rhythm with each broken bone, Origins' fights are a struggle just to connect Batman's fists to the skulls of the street thugs. Not only do punches consistently miss their marks, but rooms can also become packed as well. In one of the later fights, enemies start randomly spawning at exponential rates, making it nearly impossible to focus on the fight, as well as causing the game to lag.

    Arkham Origins' Gotham feels like a hollow version of Arkham City's masterful open world. Not all grappling points are functional, forcing you to think of alternate routes to seemingly accessible locations. What's worse about traversal, though, is the fact that you have to cross a long bridge when journeying from one end of the map to the next. This becomes extremely frustrating, since the game offers a fast-travel system via the Batwing that allows you to skip over these segments. Arkham City's world was fun to explore and full of secrets, making you want to soar over rooftops and plunge into alleyways to search for every last Easter egg. Here, the world is barren, featuring no incentive to explore or enjoy the near clone of the original open world, which is a striking missed opportunity.

    Overall, the greatest sin Arkham Origins commits is the fact that it's not an entertaining experience. Aside from the engaging plot, nearly everything that made Arkham City a masterpiece has been unnecessarily edited to fit the canon or just flat out dropped altogether. Riddle trophies and puzzles have been replaced by randomly scattered extortion packs, which require little to no skill to obtain and are extremely disappointing. Similarly, most of the side missions are copied and pasted from City, swapping the villains that are involved to make it seem novel. Even Detective Mode, which on the outset looked like an intuitive new gameplay feature to compliment the blood-pumping combat, is a monotonous quest searching for red triangles instead of legitimate investigation.

    When all is said and done, Arkham Origins is a game that should be played. The narrative is intense and occasionally unbelievable. Sadly, however, it doesn't receive the solid gameplay accompaniment it deserves. Too often I found myself wondering about what the game could have been, rather than enjoy the campaign I was playing. Fighting is fresh, but new additions cause the experience to feel much more hollow and less rewarding than in prior games, making you feel more like a player than the actual Dark Knight. While the flawless story, voice acting, and boss fights soar, the rest of Arkham Origins holds the game back from becoming the Batman prequel that the gaming industry truly deserves.

    6.5/10
    Expand
  7. Feb 7, 2014
    0
    Now that is a bad Batman game. I've played all the Arkham games and this was completely ruined the franchise. I know Rocksteady did not makeNow that is a bad Batman game. I've played all the Arkham games and this was completely ruined the franchise. I know Rocksteady did not make this one, but I am absolutely done with these games. The fighting is tiresome, boring, and unimaginative. Actually, that's how the whole game is. Expand

See all 148 User Reviews