Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 502 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Battlefield 4 is an action blockbuster that aims for unrivaled destruction. Fueled by Frostbite 3, Battlefield 4 allows you to demolish the buildings shielding your enemy. You will lead an assault from the back of a gun boat. Battlefield grants you the freedom to do more and be more while playing to your strengths and carving your own path to victory. Beyond its hallmark multiplayer, Battlefield 4 features an intense, dramatic character-driven campaign that starts with the evacuation of American VIPs from Shanghai and follows your squad's struggle to find its way home. Change the landscape in real-time with interactive environments that react to your every move. Dominate land, air and sea with all-new, intense water-based vehicular combat. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Oct 28, 2013
    94
    Even on current-generation consoles, this game looks great. The sheer amount of on-screen action is astounding for this aging hardware to be capable of producing. Character models are easily the sharpest that they have ever been; the weapons look accurate and clean, and character animations flow through the environment without looking stiff or forced.
  2. Oct 29, 2013
    92
    While Battlefield 4 isn’t perfect, but it’s a much better, more refined experience in comparison to BF3.
  3. Oct 30, 2013
    86
    Battlefield 4 is like a big, jovial belly laugh. It’s intense, flashy, amusing, and explosive, and it doesn’t bother about having a brain. It doesn’t need one, either, as the multiplayer is dense, involving and ultimately enjoyable from top to bottom. Still, I refuse to completely disregard the campaign, which, as entertaining as it often is, remains a disappointment for me.
  4. 80
    With a campaign this good and plenty of graphically astounding action in single player and multiplayer, Battlefield 4 is a complete shooter package.
  5. Nov 7, 2013
    80
    A fantastic online multiplayer mode and a disappointing singleplayer? Sounds like Battlefield, all right. Don't expect any huge graphical leaps either, just a fabulous and highly destructive - Levolution is a blast! - online experience.
  6. Nov 1, 2013
    80
    The single-player component is an uninspired yet enjoyable enough aside, while the multiplayer component - however great it may be - hasn't really enhanced the series in any tangible way. Great fun, of course, but more of the same. Good news for Battlefield fans, if nothing else.
  7. Nov 4, 2013
    70
    The multiplayer is the life and soul of the game, and lives up to and improves upon what Battlefield 3 had to offer. There’s greater variety of vehicles, maps which push off into new and interesting directions with changeable elements thanks to Levolution...Yet finding a score is tricky. The single player is quite frankly poor.

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 62 out of 141
  2. Negative: 59 out of 141
  1. Oct 29, 2013
    10
    To all those saying this game is rehashed or the same as BF3... Let's see:
    Levolution: THis basically getting a map switch mid-level, and YOU
    do it! or don't, that's up to the players, every map is almost two maps and it looks immense.
    Interactivity: Raise vehicle barriers, trap opponents in lifts and trains, destruction is overwhelming. EVERYTHING can get messed up and it is so much fun!
    Commander mode.. Play on the commute on your tablet? Hell yeah. You can even speak into your tabvet mic and people hear you in-game :D amazing!!
    64 vs 64..... no more need to be said here...
    Different classes and specialization trees: these are not minor tweaks, but sweeping changes
    I can go on and on but I am nearly off the train from my lunch break.
    Wake up haters, this is SO so much more than a reskinned BF3, this is a genuine evolvement and until you can show me a better FPS I am firmly in the 10 camp here.
    COD fans must be terrified, and it shows with these bogus, baseless reviews from people that clearly haven't even played BF4 yet.
    DICE FTW, take a bow guys.
    Expand
  2. Nov 1, 2013
    10
    One of the best shooters of this generation. The campaign is short but sweet and the multiplayer is probably the most fun I have had playing a shooter on the Playstation 3. Expand
  3. Aug 12, 2014
    8
    This game looks and feels amazing on the current generation consoles, and it's serious, breathtaking multiplayer works great along side a stellar, thoroughly engaging campaign. It's a much more impressive game then "Call of Duty: Ghosts", which debuted a month after BF4. The scale of sheer destruction and freedom that the Multiplayer aspects of the game provide is unprecedented, and a whole lot of fun. Get this game, not "Ghosts". The graphics, story-line, and multiplayer beat the tar out of the latest installment in a stagnant franchise. Expand
  4. Oct 29, 2013
    5
    Not bad and not good as well.Most features and gameplay of it are same as BF3. Graphics are slightly different and destruction are same. Lack of cutscenes and events have impact for it. Singleplayer is too damn short and worst than WarZ. Multiplayer is good but very unbalanced and buggy. Especially SP.

    No more words, modes are same as well. 5/10.
    Expand
  5. Nov 17, 2013
    4
    People will talk about how Call of Duty is the same thing every year but when I play this all I see is Battlefield 3. The game play is the exact same thing as Battlefield 3. Completely unsatisfying! And on top of that there is mass of glitches in bugs the EA just slaps you in the face with! But that is just the multiplayer. The campaign is slow and boring and I get no emotional connections with the character like I would in other games. Expand
  6. Dec 26, 2013
    2
    I'm a huge fan of Dice and the Battlefield games. I've been playing them since Bad Company 2/1943. I've talked many people into switching from C.O.D. to Battlefield. However, Battlefield 4 was a HUGE disappointment. I don't know how they could ruin such a good thing.
    The graphics are terrible. They would only be appealing to Helen Keller. When I play the game, it looks like I'm displaying rejected forms of abstract art on my tv.
    The graphics aren't the worst part about this game, it's the controls! Everything and anything you want to do in this game is confusing. Who's decision was it to change the vehicle controls from great to garbage? There was never a problem with the controls in any of the previous games, why did you change them?
    I can only guess Dice messed this game up so badly, because they needed a bunch of tax write-offs. This game is good for one thing, and one thing only, re-gifting. But re-gifting this game is just like re-gifting used toilet paper.
    Expand
  7. May 25, 2014
    0
    this game is awful I hate it played it for 15 minutes and got sick of all the bull graphics overall a boring game battle field 3 was a much better game than this piece of **** Expand

See all 141 User Reviews