Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 500 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Battlefield 4 is an action blockbuster that aims for unrivaled destruction. Fueled by Frostbite 3, Battlefield 4 allows you to demolish the buildings shielding your enemy. You will lead an assault from the back of a gun boat. Battlefield grants you the freedom to do more and be more while playing to your strengths and carving your own path to victory. Beyond its hallmark multiplayer, Battlefield 4 features an intense, dramatic character-driven campaign that starts with the evacuation of American VIPs from Shanghai and follows your squad's struggle to find its way home. Change the landscape in real-time with interactive environments that react to your every move. Dominate land, air and sea with all-new, intense water-based vehicular combat. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Oct 28, 2013
    94
    Even on current-generation consoles, this game looks great. The sheer amount of on-screen action is astounding for this aging hardware to be capable of producing. Character models are easily the sharpest that they have ever been; the weapons look accurate and clean, and character animations flow through the environment without looking stiff or forced.
  2. Oct 29, 2013
    92
    While Battlefield 4 isn’t perfect, but it’s a much better, more refined experience in comparison to BF3.
  3. Oct 30, 2013
    86
    Battlefield 4 is like a big, jovial belly laugh. It’s intense, flashy, amusing, and explosive, and it doesn’t bother about having a brain. It doesn’t need one, either, as the multiplayer is dense, involving and ultimately enjoyable from top to bottom. Still, I refuse to completely disregard the campaign, which, as entertaining as it often is, remains a disappointment for me.
  4. 80
    With a campaign this good and plenty of graphically astounding action in single player and multiplayer, Battlefield 4 is a complete shooter package.
  5. Nov 7, 2013
    80
    A fantastic online multiplayer mode and a disappointing singleplayer? Sounds like Battlefield, all right. Don't expect any huge graphical leaps either, just a fabulous and highly destructive - Levolution is a blast! - online experience.
  6. Nov 1, 2013
    80
    The single-player component is an uninspired yet enjoyable enough aside, while the multiplayer component - however great it may be - hasn't really enhanced the series in any tangible way. Great fun, of course, but more of the same. Good news for Battlefield fans, if nothing else.
  7. Nov 4, 2013
    70
    The multiplayer is the life and soul of the game, and lives up to and improves upon what Battlefield 3 had to offer. There’s greater variety of vehicles, maps which push off into new and interesting directions with changeable elements thanks to Levolution...Yet finding a score is tricky. The single player is quite frankly poor.

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 61 out of 141
  2. Negative: 60 out of 141
  1. Oct 29, 2013
    10
    To all those saying this game is rehashed or the same as BF3... Let's see:
    Levolution: THis basically getting a map switch mid-level, and YOU
    do it! or don't, that's up to the players, every map is almost two maps and it looks immense.
    Interactivity: Raise vehicle barriers, trap opponents in lifts and trains, destruction is overwhelming. EVERYTHING can get messed up and it is so much fun!
    Commander mode.. Play on the commute on your tablet? Hell yeah. You can even speak into your tabvet mic and people hear you in-game :D amazing!!
    64 vs 64..... no more need to be said here...
    Different classes and specialization trees: these are not minor tweaks, but sweeping changes
    I can go on and on but I am nearly off the train from my lunch break.
    Wake up haters, this is SO so much more than a reskinned BF3, this is a genuine evolvement and until you can show me a better FPS I am firmly in the 10 camp here.
    COD fans must be terrified, and it shows with these bogus, baseless reviews from people that clearly haven't even played BF4 yet.
    DICE FTW, take a bow guys.
    Expand
  2. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    Best FPS experience I've ever played and definitely the most realistic. The graphics are stunning for a 6 year old hard drive and graphics card. I love this game. BF4 beats COD Ghosts any day. Expand
  3. Oct 30, 2013
    8
    We're finally starting to see the age of the current console generation. Couldn't help but think how dated this game looks at this point. Still, it's a good time and I'll sink a ton of hours into it. Sure, it seems very familiar, but the excitement is still there. Can't wait to see it on PS4. PS: The flood zone stage is very annoying. Expand
  4. Oct 29, 2013
    5
    Not bad and not good as well.Most features and gameplay of it are same as BF3. Graphics are slightly different and destruction are same. Lack of cutscenes and events have impact for it. Singleplayer is too damn short and worst than WarZ. Multiplayer is good but very unbalanced and buggy. Especially SP.

    No more words, modes are same as well. 5/10.
    Expand
  5. Nov 9, 2013
    4
    Comparing to Bad Company 2 and Battlefield 3, Battlefield 4 looks like a joke. It has a cliché low quality arcade feeling. With BF4 there is no more that real life war simulation feeling it had before.

    Congrats DICE! for ruining the game! It's the first time I really feel bad having paid for a game I used to love playing.
    Expand
  6. Dec 4, 2013
    2
    What a Disapointment.
    This game is a blurry shadow of what BF3 is.
    On PS3 the game graphics are garbage (plain and simple). Frostbite 3 is
    just a pipe dream. During parts of the campaign missions the rendering simply crashes and there is no way to know where to go or how to continue.
    Campaign is also really short and lacks of interaction with the story poor script.
    The "Genius" that decided to change all the buttons configuration should be fired! At least give an option to the players to customize the controls they way they like it that's common sense!
    The only good thing is the addition of a few new vehicles and that's it.
    My suggestion is to not even bother buying this game stay playing BF3.
    Expand
  7. Apr 27, 2014
    0
    This game is rubbish how on earth it got any rating above 3 stars is beyond me. The single player is heartless and boring but no- one buys it for campaign mode anyhow. The multiplayer is the big attraction but this fails miserably. There are so many glitches crashes and poor performance issues in general I wish I had bought COD instead so long dice and ea thats the last bit of my money you will see Expand

See all 141 User Reviews