Beyond: Two Souls Image
Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 98 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2676 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Live the life of Jodie Holmes, a young woman who possesses supernatural powers through her psychic link to a mysterious invisible entity. Experience the most striking moments of Jodie's life as your actions and decisions determine her fate. As she traverses the globe, Jodie will faceLive the life of Jodie Holmes, a young woman who possesses supernatural powers through her psychic link to a mysterious invisible entity. Experience the most striking moments of Jodie's life as your actions and decisions determine her fate. As she traverses the globe, Jodie will face incredible challenges against a backdrop of emotionally-charged events never before seen in a video game. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Beyond: Two Souls - Tribeca Film Festival Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 98
  2. Negative: 8 out of 98
  1. Oct 20, 2013
    100
    Sure, there are a few plot holes and clichéd moments in Beyond Two Souls but like Heavy Rain, it may become one of your most memorable gaming experiences to date.
  2. Oct 8, 2013
    90
    Beyond is both better and worse than its illustrious predecessor Heavy Rain. It features a more varied gameplay, a better story, talented Hollywood actors and outstanding graphics... but it also lacks something: the ability to make truly decisive choices throughout the adventure. Significant changes you can make story-wise are actually concentrated at the end. However, games of this type and this quality are still too rare to deny yourself the pleasure.
  3. Oct 8, 2013
    85
    Beyond: Two Souls could be considered an experimentation on new dramatic devices within a game that is visually stunning and whose interactive scenery will be the delight of all Quantic Dream fans, despite its limitations.
  4. Oct 8, 2013
    75
    Don’t get me wrong, the game tells an interesting and emotional story, and the acting is top notch, but it does aimlessly plod along here and there. Thankfully, Quantic Dream ensured that Beyond: Two Souls would wrap up in an amazing, thought-provoking way which does make the ride very much worth taking.
  5. Oct 15, 2013
    69
    The gameplay has vastly improved for this new genre, the game mechanics and puzzle solving are unique and fun, the voice acting was incredible, and it is visually stunning. It’s very unfortunate that the story has continuity difficulties, unnecessary padding, too many boring stretches, and repeated plot devices, as the story is what’s supposed to keep you going in an interactive drama.
  6. Oct 14, 2013
    60
    After completing Beyond: Two Souls it’s understandable why this is one of the most divisive games around. Even now it’s difficult to say whether we enjoyed it or not, it’s certainly an interesting game, and does have some nice ideas. So despite a story that feels disjointed, tonally uneven and a mid-section that feels completely out of place, it’s something that is different enough from the norm that maybe, just maybe it’s worth picking up.
  7. Oct 17, 2013
    20
    But Beyond: Two Souls is far worse than convenient, facile, and ridiculous. It’s overall tone is low-key and morose, without energy or enthusiasm. Scenes drag out, with long pauses. Glances shift awkwardly. Character models fidget. This is about an eight hour game, but I’d estimate two or three of those hours are pregnant pauses.

See all 98 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 66 out of 566
  1. Oct 8, 2013
    10
    Awesome graphics, beautiful gameplay, maybe a interactive novel, excellent characters great history you can felt joy, suffer and felt scaryAwesome graphics, beautiful gameplay, maybe a interactive novel, excellent characters great history you can felt joy, suffer and felt scary with the protagonist,
    good work for Quantic dream
    Expand
  2. Oct 13, 2013
    10
    This game is amazing. It has greatly improved controls since heavy rain and everything feels natural. It in my opinion, strikes the perfectThis game is amazing. It has greatly improved controls since heavy rain and everything feels natural. It in my opinion, strikes the perfect balance between action and story telling and Jodie's relationship with other characters feels natural and tries to be a normal person despite her powers and has a love-hate relationship with Aiden whether she is in combat or trying to go on a date. Game of the Year for me. Expand
  3. Oct 11, 2013
    10
    Great game I love it. Awesome graphics for a PS3. That game was awesome. Everybody, who did any work on this game is a great person. I hopeGreat game I love it. Awesome graphics for a PS3. That game was awesome. Everybody, who did any work on this game is a great person. I hope there will come more games from Quantic dream Expand
  4. Oct 13, 2013
    9
    This game's story offered one of the most fufilling experiences I've had in years. Ellen Page really makes you fall in love with Jodie HolmesThis game's story offered one of the most fufilling experiences I've had in years. Ellen Page really makes you fall in love with Jodie Holmes with incredible sincerity. Amazing how much respect I've gained for her with her performance in a video game of all things.

    I've finished this game twice, and the 2nd ending I got nearly moved me to tears. THEY'RE ARE OVER 20 ENDINGS I'M TOLD! With Kadeem Hardison and Williem Dafoe playing supporting roles, it's very well acted out material. Solid performances all around.

    No, Beyond is not a deep gameplay experience: it's light on skill, little exploration, and you don't grow stronger or anything. There's a small learning curve with pointing the right stick in the direction of the area of attack during fights (esp if you're like me and played without the arrow). Truthfully though, I've got plenty of video games I can turn to to fill that deep gameplay experience void..plenty. Who cares if Quantic Dream's games take a more cinematic approach? Just about everyone else is still making video games in the "traditional sense". I have a diverse collection of games, and Beyond adds to that even more.

    The Playstation 3 has several exclusive gems available. Beyond Two Souls is definitely one of those gems for the system. Graphically, it might arguably be the best the PS3 has ever offered. When you take the time to invest into the main character, and immerse yourself into her struggles with life and her reality, Beyond Two Souls is one awesome tale that can give you quite an emotional connection with an amazing protagonist.
    Expand
  5. Oct 10, 2013
    9
    Amazing game interesting story, excellent graphics great game play and one of the biggest pluses is that it's different more like anAmazing game interesting story, excellent graphics great game play and one of the biggest pluses is that it's different more like an interactive movie or novel definitely worth full price and looking very much forward what quantic will achieve on the ps4 Expand
  6. Mar 21, 2014
    8
    Beyond: Two Souls was a very intriguing game, mostly plot wise. Though it may have had some confusing parts and areas that just did not makeBeyond: Two Souls was a very intriguing game, mostly plot wise. Though it may have had some confusing parts and areas that just did not make sense whatsoever, it was a memorable game that was worth my money. Plus, come on, Quantic Dream got Willem Dafoe and Ellen Page for it. You can't go wrong with that, my friends. Expand
  7. Jun 25, 2014
    0
    Let me start out first by saying that I was very late playing this game. I got a PS3 and Ps4 all just this year because i was in a 360 craze.Let me start out first by saying that I was very late playing this game. I got a PS3 and Ps4 all just this year because i was in a 360 craze.
    I hated this game. The graphics were nice yes. But unless you like playing a movie then this game isnt for you. So much drama and no action. I fought a couple ugly zombie things or whatever - other than that it was very eventful. I dont understand the obsession. And no, im not one of those call of duty players - i like adventure, rpg games. This one was too corny for me.
    Expand

See all 566 User Reviews