BioShock 2 PlayStation 3

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 442 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 21 out of 442

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 19, 2012
    6
    Bioshock 2 is clearly a game made to make money. The only significant gameplay change between Bioshock and Bioshock 2 is the new Little Sister mechanic (and the related Big Sister attacks). For those who don't know, this mechanic means that now, whenever you find a Little Sister and kill the Big Daddy, you can take the sister with you to collect Adam from corpses while you get hit byBioshock 2 is clearly a game made to make money. The only significant gameplay change between Bioshock and Bioshock 2 is the new Little Sister mechanic (and the related Big Sister attacks). For those who don't know, this mechanic means that now, whenever you find a Little Sister and kill the Big Daddy, you can take the sister with you to collect Adam from corpses while you get hit by waves of enemies (that smell you collecting Adam?). It's a very frustrating mechanic, and tends to ruin pacing. The rest of the gameplay is copy/paste from the original Bioshock. The story is simultaneously a sequel and a prequel. You are playing in a time after the events of Bioshock, but all the diaries you find are from a time before the events of Bioshock. These diaries feature Andrew Ryan, Frank Fontaine, and many of the other old characters. The new diaries establish a whole new issue that Ryan was apparently worried about around the time Fontaine was becoming a problem. It seems very much like it was tacked on just to be able to include Ryan in the story. In fact, the whole game just seems like it was tacked on to the old Bioshock to make money. Is it a good game? Well, Bioshock was a great game, and this copies that, so sure. Is it original? No. Is it as great as it was to visit Rapture for the first time? Of course not. But if you're having trouble finding other good games to play, this one won't disappoint you too much. Expand
  2. JamesN
    Feb 12, 2010
    7
    I bought this game right after lunch and was able to return it right before dinner. About 5 hours is all thats in this game, I took my time I walked around and I listened to all the little tapes. I had my fun and marveled at the world I was being show. There was just so much LESS of it all. Not many people spoke about bioshock for its amazing shooter gamechanging and that fact remains. I bought this game right after lunch and was able to return it right before dinner. About 5 hours is all thats in this game, I took my time I walked around and I listened to all the little tapes. I had my fun and marveled at the world I was being show. There was just so much LESS of it all. Not many people spoke about bioshock for its amazing shooter gamechanging and that fact remains. Its all about the perfect story telling. This game is worth a rent to see it and play it I wouldnt dare call it a bad game in any respect. Multilayer is all shooter and frankly there are simply BETTER shooters out there. So thats all. Good game I wish there was more of it. Expand
  3. jeremiaht.
    Feb 15, 2010
    5
    I was fairly disappointed in Bioshock 2. Sure it was a fun FPS but in an aged sort of way. Kind of like how I loved Power Rangers as a kid but when I watch the new ones I can't remember why I loved it. The story was a bit lacking for me, you're just a good guy in another city full of bad guys and although the new weapons and plasmids were fun they couldn't make up for the I was fairly disappointed in Bioshock 2. Sure it was a fun FPS but in an aged sort of way. Kind of like how I loved Power Rangers as a kid but when I watch the new ones I can't remember why I loved it. The story was a bit lacking for me, you're just a good guy in another city full of bad guys and although the new weapons and plasmids were fun they couldn't make up for the repetition of this game. I just hope that if there's a third installment the guys a 2k man-up and try something new. "crossing fingers". Expand
  4. Aug 14, 2010
    5
    Fairly good game. However it just doesn't seem to have any appeal to me after a few missions. The impression that you are this massive "Big Daddy" seems unreal, because you can be easily taken out by a relatively weak splicer with ease. Haven't even bothered with multi-player. I'll eventually get round to playing it again, but I guarantee that'll be a long time waiting. Have no idea whyFairly good game. However it just doesn't seem to have any appeal to me after a few missions. The impression that you are this massive "Big Daddy" seems unreal, because you can be easily taken out by a relatively weak splicer with ease. Haven't even bothered with multi-player. I'll eventually get round to playing it again, but I guarantee that'll be a long time waiting. Have no idea why people are claiming this will be game of the year, no chance. However, I would recommend renting/ lending it before you buy. It's not a bad game by a long shot, but there are better games with more appeal out there. Expand
  5. Feb 9, 2011
    5
    The whole game is decent, but nothing more than that. Not as interesting to play as the first, offers nothing we are significantly better off with having. skip or rent (or pirate)
  6. You
    May 12, 2011
    5
    I played this game with the friend on his xbox. It looked great and i bought it for ps3 but wasn't very interesting. It is very boring. When i played it at first it was exciting. But soon i understood that itis very line game. It is not bad. It is not good
    5.0
  7. Oct 10, 2011
    7
    BioShock 2 is a great shooting game i only paid £5 so i didn't pay much i like the horror part of the game mix with the powers you get i give it 7/10
  8. Jun 4, 2012
    7
    It's equally good to the first Bioshock, minus the novelty aspect. Here are the changes: new hacking system (it's better), new story (it's worse). That's about it - it's really the same game with a different story. I enjoyed it almost as much as the first, though, because it remains that the gameplay is awesome.
  9. aspentitan
    Feb 10, 2010
    7
    Well, I have only played a few hours obviously but did want to give this game a rush review which is premature of course because I didn
  10. Jan 29, 2011
    7
    i thought the first bio shock was a ok game so didnt have any hype or great expectations for the second and waited for it to come down in price and got it for $10 on amazon, much like the first it is just ok but the first one is alittle bit better. the story mode has you playin as a big daddy out to find his little sister who was taken from him . the story isnt as good as the firsti thought the first bio shock was a ok game so didnt have any hype or great expectations for the second and waited for it to come down in price and got it for $10 on amazon, much like the first it is just ok but the first one is alittle bit better. the story mode has you playin as a big daddy out to find his little sister who was taken from him . the story isnt as good as the first bioshocks with no real suprises in store and no real boss fights. you pretty much have all the same guns as you had in the first game plus the rivet gun and a drill arm . you also have 2 new enimys theese giant brute looking things and the big sisters. the game doesnt feel like any thing fresh and the story doesnt do much . the online is a mixed bag . the servers are complete crap after 9 months you would think they would be more stable you will get kicked out of games alot and i do mean alot . ive gone from level 1-40 in the online and you can go to 50 if you get the DLC that lets you for $4.99 . i passed on it . the game can be fun online provided you are playing with people that are around your level . lvl 40s and higher will just own you at lower levels as they have so many cheap and i do mean UBBER cheap tatctics they can use to just 1 hit kill you causing the game to be very frustrating if you are playing on a team of alot of high lvls and you are just a lower lvl . so the games balance online can be complete crap . the online is also headed on its last leg with people playing it as finding a match online can some times take you 5 min or more some times . all in all bioshock 2 is ok and worth owning if you liked the first one just dont expect a vast improvement to any thing. Expand
  11. Nov 21, 2010
    7
    I appreciate the game makers' attempt to inject life into the same world, but I feel like the magic of the first game is just being recycled. In its own right, this is an enjoyable and thrilling game, but I'd stick with the original. 74%.
  12. Nov 30, 2010
    7
    I wish I could say I enjoyed this game, but it felt too similar to the first Bioshock which really detracted from the experience. However, it's not a horrible game for it has redeeming qualities, such as the gameplay itself where you can wield both plasmids and a weapon at the same time. Also the multiplayer wasn't too shabby and I actually enjoyed it. Overall, its okay, but thoseI wish I could say I enjoyed this game, but it felt too similar to the first Bioshock which really detracted from the experience. However, it's not a horrible game for it has redeeming qualities, such as the gameplay itself where you can wield both plasmids and a weapon at the same time. Also the multiplayer wasn't too shabby and I actually enjoyed it. Overall, its okay, but those expecting to have their minds blown like the first will be a bit disappointed. Expand
  13. Feb 1, 2011
    7
    A thrilling and entertaining game. Good graphics, a great amount of possibilities and... well, that's it. The storyline is too simple, it doesn't trap you at all (is the only bad point compared with it's predecessor). But, which is the principal objective of a game? To entertain the player. In my case, Bioshock 2 did it.
  14. Mar 31, 2013
    7
    This game has a Good Story, has good gameplay mechanics, good ambientation but, in my opinion it is not as good as the Original, but is still a Good Game with a deep Story, and a lenght of about 6 hours, and the multiplayer is unnecessary
  15. May 8, 2013
    7
    I'm rating this as 7 for one reason. nothing new in game-play experience from original BioShock. No surprised in the story as in original BioShock.
    Overall it's a nice game and I enjoyed it. But I was expecting more for rapture sequel. I would say play Original BioShock and if you got this one for free you can play it. But I won't recommend buying it alone. You can get with the ultimate
    I'm rating this as 7 for one reason. nothing new in game-play experience from original BioShock. No surprised in the story as in original BioShock.
    Overall it's a nice game and I enjoyed it. But I was expecting more for rapture sequel. I would say play Original BioShock and if you got this one for free you can play it. But I won't recommend buying it alone. You can get with the ultimate rapture edition as I did.
    Expand
  16. Sep 17, 2012
    7
    The first Bioshock is better. Bioshock is good but falls short of a couple of things. I thought the story was great and I thought the multiplayer was god awful. Nevertheless its worth 20 dollars.
  17. Jul 12, 2013
    7
    I really love Bioshock. It has to be one of my favorite games I ever played for the PS3. I gained Bioshock 2 right after buying the first, as a used copy was at Cashland for $15. I don't know why, but I didn't like this one as much. It didn't capture me in the story as the first one did, I got bored around halfway through the game. Going into the world of Rapture for the second time isn'tI really love Bioshock. It has to be one of my favorite games I ever played for the PS3. I gained Bioshock 2 right after buying the first, as a used copy was at Cashland for $15. I don't know why, but I didn't like this one as much. It didn't capture me in the story as the first one did, I got bored around halfway through the game. Going into the world of Rapture for the second time isn't as exciting as the first. Also, the I said I had no frame-rate issues with the first, but this one was a different story. I also wanted better graphics than the first, but no such luck there. To me, this just feels like more of a shooter than the first. If you like shooters, then you might like this game. Expand
  18. Oct 2, 2013
    6
    After playing all of the Bioshock games, this one seems like a much lower quality experience than the other two games. A lot of this game is spent doing mundane tasks over and over again, and because of this, it seems to go on and on for way too long. At certain points, it just seemed like a waste of time to play this game, and I would only go on since I already committed to beating thisAfter playing all of the Bioshock games, this one seems like a much lower quality experience than the other two games. A lot of this game is spent doing mundane tasks over and over again, and because of this, it seems to go on and on for way too long. At certain points, it just seemed like a waste of time to play this game, and I would only go on since I already committed to beating this game. To the game's credit, every mundane section would be followed by an fairly interesting section. In all, this game just left a mediocre impression, it wasn't bad, but I wouldn't recommend it. Expand
  19. Aug 26, 2013
    5
    I got this game with the mindset that it was going to be really good and possibly better than the first which i gave it a 9.3. Bioshock 2 was no means a bad game but i was very diddapointed and im easily pleased with games but bioshock 2 felt like Bioshock V.05 Because the story wasnt as interesting, the idea of being A big daddy was cool but there was no real upgrades exept using 2I got this game with the mindset that it was going to be really good and possibly better than the first which i gave it a 9.3. Bioshock 2 was no means a bad game but i was very diddapointed and im easily pleased with games but bioshock 2 felt like Bioshock V.05 Because the story wasnt as interesting, the idea of being A big daddy was cool but there was no real upgrades exept using 2 things at once, While the shooting and combat was intacted there were no real improvements and there wasnt very many new enemys... Big sister, Really? The game is OK but could be better. 5.5 Expand
  20. Oct 19, 2013
    7
    Story isn't this games strong suit. Gameplay is improved quite some in this version but most of the game is a form of escort mission, so that's annoying. This game wants to be a sequel when Bioshock didn't need a sequel. I feel like this game would have been better as a prequel, think about it. You would have spent more time in a living rapture, growing a connection to your little sister.Story isn't this games strong suit. Gameplay is improved quite some in this version but most of the game is a form of escort mission, so that's annoying. This game wants to be a sequel when Bioshock didn't need a sequel. I feel like this game would have been better as a prequel, think about it. You would have spent more time in a living rapture, growing a connection to your little sister. The whole Lamb vs Ryan thing would have made more sense and would have more impact if Ryan was alive, fighting Lamb in political debate. We could see the deterioration of rapture as everything breaks apart. The splicers splice, the politics go mad, and rapture begins to die. That would also make the whole playing as a prototype big daddy make sense. At the end of all you can kill Lamb or help her get the f*** out of dodge. Did you know metacritic f***ing censors you? I have to add the asterisks or else they remove whole sections, and that's just weird. Expand
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 62 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 60 out of 62
  2. Negative: 0 out of 62
  1. Unless the familiarity really gets to you, you're going to love BioShock 2. It's a lovingly crafted, carefully constructed masterpiece of narrative richness and smart game mechanics. It can even be enjoyed as a straight-up shooter thanks to its innovative, tactile combat system. [Feb 2010, p.72]
  2. 91
    It's a game in which story, setting, and gameplay are expertly blended to create an experience that's as thought-provoking as it is entertaining.
  3. 90
    This second tour of duty with far superior toys is everything it needs to be, though. Familiarity breeds a little contempt, but as, simply, a game in which you shoot monsters in city under the sea, it's better in every respect.