User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 10 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 10
  2. Negative: 2 out of 10

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 11, 2013
    7
    I just registered so I could dispel the crap reviews this game is getting. I am really fed up with reviewers right now...it seems they can't seem to understand that in order to be a 'good' game it has to be 'fun' to actually play! All these reviews of Journey...okami...far cry 3 blood dragon....ac3....dmc reboot etc etc. These may be solid games with solid gameplay and everythingI just registered so I could dispel the crap reviews this game is getting. I am really fed up with reviewers right now...it seems they can't seem to understand that in order to be a 'good' game it has to be 'fun' to actually play! All these reviews of Journey...okami...far cry 3 blood dragon....ac3....dmc reboot etc etc. These may be solid games with solid gameplay and everything else....but they weren't fun! Out of all the demo's I have downloaded off of psn blade kitten's was the only one that I actually enjoyed playing. And this demo was actually the longest one I've come across...so by the end of it you actually have an idea if you are going to like the game or not. Now your going to hear all of these bad comments about the gameplay and the fighting and....the regular crap people pick apart when reviewing a game. I downloaded the demo and for some reason a few days later I saw the game price dropped from $15 to $5 CDN/US. It wasn't even in the bargain section....it didn't even say or indicate that the price was originally $15. FOR $5 there is a load of content here to enjoy. If you enjoyed the demo, you will enjoy the game. The game will offer you enough challenge with the enemies and ultimately.... a fun time! The demo enemies are easy once you learn their attack patterns and your own controls....it's a tutorial level afterall! Know that the difficult scales appropriately after the demo content.This argument that the combat system is about spamming the attack button and for some enemies it's about hitting an extra block button in between....yes you can probably beat all the enemies hitting a combination of 2 buttons....but you won't. You will be using all of Kit's special attacks...cause they are rewarding to do! The 2 button mechanic requires you to properly position yourself the same way against every enemy. Nobody would do this....especially when you can do it in a much more satisfying and quicker manner using the special moves! When all is said and done... Play the demo. For $5 this game is a steal. If you want a personalized review I'd rate it as probably an 7.5-8/10. The game has flaws....but they aren't nearly as bad as every other bad review would have you believe. Collapse
  2. Sep 18, 2012
    7
    Well, Blade Kitten is a decent but fun downloadable game. But since I was playing the game, there were some minor bug problems and some of the levels were good, but 2 levels including the final boss battle, Dreadnaught, is kinda too hard for me to beat and that's why they keep pushing the game too much time. But one of my favorites were the in-game cutscenes that any anime that fans chooseWell, Blade Kitten is a decent but fun downloadable game. But since I was playing the game, there were some minor bug problems and some of the levels were good, but 2 levels including the final boss battle, Dreadnaught, is kinda too hard for me to beat and that's why they keep pushing the game too much time. But one of my favorites were the in-game cutscenes that any anime that fans choose may wanna take notes on. It's like Robotech meets Oh My Goddess!. The characters look amazing, I actually like Kit Ballard. And an incredible collection of concept art from the Blade Kitten website. Although there's no Episode 2, which they were supposed to be released as a downloadable content, but it never happened. It's kind of a challenge, but Blade Kitten is kinda disappointing, but I sure hope Atari or any other company could release all of the episodes of Kitten. Decent game, but worth renting. Expand
  3. Oct 19, 2010
    7
    This game is sort of like Strider and Earthworm Jim platforming, but its much more fun. Combat is basic and enemies are best to be avoided. Blade kitten controls like a dream and levels are fairly good. The music is great and the graphics aren't too bad. There might be mixed reviews, but this game is worth buying for any platformer fan.
  4. May 11, 2013
    0
    I just registered so I could dispel the crap reviews this game is getting. I am really fed up with reviewers right now...it seems they can't seem to understand that in order to be a 'good' game it has to be 'fun' to actually play! All these reviews of Journey...okami...far cry 3 blood dragon....ac3....dmc reboot etc etc. These may be solid games with solid gameplay and everythingI just registered so I could dispel the crap reviews this game is getting. I am really fed up with reviewers right now...it seems they can't seem to understand that in order to be a 'good' game it has to be 'fun' to actually play! All these reviews of Journey...okami...far cry 3 blood dragon....ac3....dmc reboot etc etc. These may be solid games with solid gameplay and everything else....but they weren't fun! Out of all the demo's I have downloaded off of psn blade kitten's was the only one that I actually enjoyed playing. And this demo was actually the longest one I've come across...so by the end of it you actually have an idea if you are going to like the game or not. Now your going to hear all of these bad comments about the gameplay and the fighting and....the regular crap people pick apart when reviewing a game. I downloaded the demo and for some reason a few days later I saw the game price dropped from $15 to $5 CDN/US. It wasn't even in the bargain section....it didn't even say or indicate that the price was originally $15. FOR $5 there is a load of content here to enjoy. If you enjoyed the demo, you will enjoy the game. The game will offer you enough challenge with the enemies and ultimately.... a fun time! The demo enemies are easy once you learn their attack patterns and your own controls....it's a tutorial level afterall! Know that the difficult scales appropriately after the demo content.This argument that the combat system is about spamming the attack button and for some enemies it's about hitting an extra block button in between....yes you can probably beat all the enemies hitting a combination of 2 buttons....but you won't. You will be using all of Kit's special attacks...cause they are rewarding to do! The 2 button mechanic requires you to properly position yourself the same way against every enemy. Nobody would do this....especially when you can do it in a much more satisfying and quicker manner using the special moves! When all is said and done... Play the demo. For $5 this game is a steal. If you want a personalized review I'd rate it as probably an 7.5-8/10. The game has flaws....but they aren't nearly as bad as every other bad review would have you believe. Collapse
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 28
  2. Negative: 3 out of 28
  1. Jan 13, 2011
    68
    Blade Kitten is a controversial platform / action game, with some strenghts (Kit can do almost everything, from climbing the walls to fight with a flying sword) and some flaws (the level design is mediocre, the combat system is simplistic and there are some minor bugs). With its nineteen levels, the game will entertain you for a few hours.
  2. Jan 12, 2011
    55
    Blade Kitten is based on a internet comic and the comic is fun, but the game isn't. The gameplay is in 2D and way too simple, you're weapons are too strong and the many bosses doesn't deliver a competition. The basis is here and let's hope that any sequel will be better.
  3. Dec 25, 2010
    50
    It's a generously proportioned campaign, laden with collectibles; shame it's not a bit more fun to mess about in. [Issue#232, p.87]