Blades of Time PlayStation 3

Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 19
  2. Negative: 5 out of 19
Buy On
  1. Mar 26, 2012
    30
    Blades of Time is a decidely below-average game that tries to make up for it's generic nature by invoking the "sexy card". The treasure hunter Ayumi, is promoted in and out-of game as 'the sexy, gorgeous treasure hunter', but even her bare midriff can't hide the flaws in this action platformer. With a story and characters that are as thin and predictable as game manuals these days, there isn't much to appreciate in Blades of Time.
  2. Mar 21, 2012
    45
    I'm not your financial advisor, and I don't care how you spend your money. As one human being to another, I feel a responsibility to advise you not to bother with this boring mess. There are way better bad games out there to play, and even more good ones that are worth your time.
  3. Mar 19, 2012
    40
    Blades of Time had a good starting point with this time bending idea, allowing the player to clone himself for combat or puzzle purposes. But its basic level design, poor artistic direction, and overall confusing combat, when paired with an uninspired story render the game quite disappointing.
  4. Official PlayStation Magazine Benelux
    Apr 25, 2012
    42
    We're pretty sure the guys over at Gaijin Entertainment mean well. They have genuinely tried to improve the mediocre X-Blades, but that game didn't exactly raise the bar for the genre. This time Ayumi (now with more clothes on) travels to - wait for it - Dragonland. [May 2012, p.85]
  5. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    May 7, 2012
    40
    Features; criminally stupid AI, rehashed enemies, ear-defiling voice acting and paint-by-numbers levels. This is 'so bad it's bad' gaming. [May 2012, p81]
User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 24 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 11
  2. Negative: 2 out of 11
  1. Mar 23, 2012
    10
    It has an interesting use of time and space concepts for combat and puzzle solving.
    The combat is kinda simple but is entertaining.
    The
    It has an interesting use of time and space concepts for combat and puzzle solving.
    The combat is kinda simple but is entertaining.
    The enviroments are beautiful , the character model are pretty decent.
    I liked this games, its like a Prince of Persia game with better battle system.
    For a low budget game i totally enjoyed it.
    Full Review »
  2. Feb 21, 2017
    8
    A very pretty looking choise of levels, interesting combat and this time at least a bit more story than X-Blades, though still lacking andA very pretty looking choise of levels, interesting combat and this time at least a bit more story than X-Blades, though still lacking and with the end of it very underwhelming. With me having a thing for anime-styled characters I think Ayumi does not look as good as her spiritual ancestor as well as did I miss the Gun-Blades but I really liked the game mechanics with the combat, the dashing and generally playing through what I thought of just very good looking and interesting levels, the choice of levels in general was a colourful mix and I guess that is what I like about it the most. A bit of a let-down for me might be though that the combat can be quite a bit too hard at times. Full Review »
  3. Feb 8, 2016
    7
    Blades of Time
    More than just booty this time
    Blades of time is the much anticipated sequel to x blades If you’ve seen my review for that
    Blades of Time
    More than just booty this time
    Blades of time is the much anticipated sequel to x blades
    If you’ve seen my review for that game, you’d know this is complete sarcasm
    this game is miles better though, but that’s not saying much
    This is an over complicated hack and slash adventure game where you play as your favorite gun slinging sword wielding treasure hunter Ayumi
    You spend the game trying to find a way to escape the island shes been treasure hunting on
    Ayumis has grown up a bit from last time we saw her
    her booty’s a bit covered, and much like Madonna she seems to have moved across the pond and ditched her valley girl accent for a fake English accent
    , Throughout the game you’ll find treasure chests with upgraded gear and jewelry for bonus perks and you’ll stop at alters to gain elemental powers of your choice
    You use these weapons and powers to destroy every creature that dare cross your path, you meet a fiery version of you along the way that gives you hints on how to progress through the story, and also gives you a pretty awesome rewind ability.
    This rewind ability can create essentially an infinite amount of clones of you so you have more woman power in a battle to do double triple or quadruple the damage at once, as well as for solving puzzles that have 2 or more pressure pads
    This rewind ability takes a little time to get used to, really over complicates things, but you will grow to appreciate it.. not love it..just appreciate it
    The challenge in this game really comes down to the combat, enemies are pretty tough, you’ll die in 2 to 3 hits, so you have to actively watch your health bar and dodge or counter attacks to let your health regenerate, there are 10 chapters here that take you to varied locations, that will have you dashing through shadows to avoid the sun or hopping from plant to plant sonic the hedgehog style
    and these locations all feature their own boss..
    Boss battles can be a little frustrating at times, but none ever feel cheap...
    Like any great boss battle, you just need to feel them out, study a bit and go for the killing blow.
    Blades of times is an enjoyable time and far less repetitive than the prequel
    But ultimately it delivers a lackluster experience and story that I really didn’t care about…
    I didn’t care about ayumi or any of the characters I met along the way…
    I took every twist and turn as they came..
    Nothing punched me in the gut, which sadly leaves blades of time feeling like just another hack and slash game with a gimmick
    I got to the end and something happens that should’ve made me feel something.. anything.. it just didn’t
    The credits started to roll and I just said, oh…
    There’s fun to be had here, but nothing special at all.
    I give Blades of Time
    a 7/10
    Full Review »