User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 68 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 59 out of 68
  2. Negative: 4 out of 68

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 26, 2010
    10
    Loved Blur. Got tons of hours of fun out of single player and multiplayer.

    I can now also say this about it: MUCH MORE FUN THAN GRAN TURISMO 5. I'll trade realistic cornering for an actual fun game (and better collision physics!) any day of the week.
  2. May 15, 2011
    10
    I'm much more of an RPG fan, but I really loved this racer. It's the first really good one I've played since Need for Speed: Underground so many years ago.

    Blur has speed, combat, excitement and most importantly a consistent learning curve (the speed & difficulty of the vehicles you unlock don't suddenly become unbearable). I'm looking forward to playing through again on a mixture of hard
    & medium instead of medium & easy through my first playthrough. Expand
  3. Aug 20, 2010
    8
    An arcade racer that will be enjoyable for a long time thanks to a strong online component, a range of real if not entirely realistic cars and fast paced tracks all boosted by a clever range of balanced abilities
  4. Sep 5, 2010
    1
    A real good racing game with very few players making access to many areas of the game impossable since they rely on multiple players in order to begin. I think the most ive seen online so far at one time was 27. and the same few people win every race no matter what you or they are driving, suggesting to me the use of 3rd party haks. what started out as a real good game quickly became blah once I went online with it. and the makers of the game dont seem to care about fixing it. Expand
  5. Nov 9, 2010
    8
    i have had this game since release and i am still unlocking..and playing...yes its comparable to mario cart because it has powerups AND THATS IT....it is VERY ADULT...and like mw2 u hear yelling and cursing cuz we hooked... the graphics are nice and eyeppopping...like mw2 u progress online called legendary and there are 10 and there is 55 cars...8 - 10 modes online . offline is good if u wanna be quiet and challenged...there is awesome liscensed soundtrack in the options menu...this game is still 1 of the best ever... but u gotta like powerup racing and dont expect to always win Collapse
  6. Oct 18, 2010
    8
    A very solid arcade racer with licensed cars and weapons to take out your opponents, fast and fun with simple controls and competitive play in a neat package. Activision have done well with this keeping it as simple as possible single player, multiplayer, choose between them and play not hard at all. The game has a nice if a little irritating at times fan and lights system, the fans are for doing things like drifting hitting opponents or completely taking them out as well as doing fan demands like going through 12 gates on an outlined route miss a gate and you'lll have to try again on the next lap, as for the light these are awarded for getting in the top 3 positions hitting the target number of fans as well as doing the dan demand which is usually going through the gates. The cars look pretty nice if a bit plain only the rival cars which you can earn by beating them seem to have any kind of decals as for the weapons they are intuitive but at same time can feel a little weak, the 3 bolts stun very slightly just enough to make you miss an item, the lightening domes do very little in terms of slowing down cars like its supposed to and even the mines being fired forward don't have as much an effect as you would like. Howvever the shunt does feel quite meaty sending you opponents flying when sent fowrard or backward and the nitro has a nice tactial use by using it as an airbrake for the tight turns giving you a couple of seconds to straighten up for a hard turn when fired backwards and thne giving a boost forward after very smart idea. As for the race modes basic races are where its best with upto 20 cars on track its pretty fast paced and hectic stuff you can be first with a couple of seconds but get hit by a shunt and that changes very quickly into double figure positions ooh nasty, as for the other modes destruction races are no where near as fun as the name may sound it in ifact one of the most frustrating modes and prbably one of the few reason why you might go down the shops for a new controller! The problem with this mode is that the fan targets for some can soon seem a bit unrealistic and even when you get within 100pts or less of the target it will get to that point where you will say enough is enough and either lob the controller or even stop playing altogether, the premise for the mode is simple use the bolts to destroy cars to extend the time and hit the points target set which is simple enough wreck the other colour cars for more points and time than the regular green cars but then add to this the fan target and fan demand of going through the gates and it soon becomes an annoying retry experience. Aside from this the multiplayer mode is good honest fun and worthwhile for the fact that once you hit rank 50 you can 'legend' which is Blurs version of prestige mode but unlike COD where the only thing you get for reseting your unlocks and progress is different badge emblem you actually get something a little bit more worthwhile you get a legendary car, these cars are better than their standard versions and the idea is to make llife a little simpler and you cand this up to 10 times getting 10 legendary cars in total all good for obliterating the competition. Well done Activision rewarding people for prestiging in Blur, now go do the same with COD! Expand
  7. Oct 19, 2010
    7
    This is, so far, the best online arcade racing game on the PS3. The weapon and power up system is well balanced and fun, sort of like wipeout. Cornering consists of jamming your car or truck into the wall, as braking properly will make you lose online. Sim fans or even NFS junkies won't have an advantage. Leveling isn't very interesting but it allows you to unlock new rides. The graphics are good and the sound is awesome. I think this is a good game but it loses some points because I had mastered it before the demo was over. Since the cornering doesn't matter, theres no need to memorize the tracks, something essential in all other racing games. I just got good at using the weapons system, then dominated online and got bored. Overall its the most fun racing experience and worth a shot until other racing games or a Blur sequel come out. Expand
  8. Nov 11, 2010
    10
    Great racer, great atmosphere and some great battles. It doesn't however have the buzz of burnout. Online you can progress into some great team battes when you achieve enough points. Id recommend it if you and your mates intend to play together. Lastly the power up system can often feel inaquate but they can be boosted with unlockables. I guess Im still waiting for mario kart on ps3........which uuuhhm wont happen. Expand
  9. Feb 23, 2011
    8
    A surprisingly fun, powered up, racing game that is essentially a grown up mario kart with real cars. The game is quick and easy to learn and provides great single and multiplayer experiences. It's simple and has some fantastic music and shiny graphics. Sadly the multiplayer base is not a large one and the level matching fails. A lot of multiplayer races will end up having a level 50 person dominating the majority of the races which can be disheartening. In light of that, it's a great game when your friends come over that's quick and fun for everyone but with less of the mario kart rage. Expand
  10. Dec 13, 2011
    9
    Blur. I got it cheap and what a suprise it is! Singleplayer campaign is decent, a bit short but ok in this genre. It will give you smile on your face when you complete it. But the singleplayer here isn't what you wan't in this game - the singleplayer is like rating 7/10. But the online is simply gold, it is the FUNNIEST experience in online I've ever got, by far. It's like Mario Kart with real cars and awesome graphics (comparing to how much happening in the screen). Playstation players who have microphones all time - so you can even hear how fun it is. This game almost lacks bad losers because even losing is so fun! I have 1000 online games, 40+ hours and I have like 11 wins, it is just so fun. Also there is 4-player split-screen offline multiplayer. So this is the ultimate arcade-racing multiplayer experience! Try it! Expand
  11. Oct 14, 2012
    5
    The game doesn't look that bad, quite the contrary. It's just the concept. It didn't get to me. it's Mario Kart with better looking cars that's all it is. And i'm not actually a fan of the Karts games.
  12. Jul 13, 2013
    8
    a really fun racing game where you can shoot each other up with actual real known cars. great range of maps and a somewhat number of items. the games seems to target more for people playing in groups like i do and is a really great alternative to a 4 player split screen instead of the usual COD
  13. Sep 29, 2013
    8
    No me agradan mucho los juegos de carreras, pero "Blur" es un juego totalmente bizarro que en realidad te termina divirtiendo y quedarás muy vicioso en la pantalla. Si bien no es uno de los mejores racing que he jugado, ofrece mucha diversión e interacción.
  14. Nov 9, 2010
    0
    i have had this game since release and i am still unlocking..and playing...yes its comparable to mario cart because it has powerups AND THATS IT....it is VERY ADULT...and like mw2 u hear yelling and cursing cuz we hooked... the graphics are nice and eyeppopping...like mw2 u progress online called legendary and there are 10 and there is 55 cars...8 - 10 modes online . offline is good if u wanna be quiet and challenged...there is awesome liscensed soundtrack in the options menu...this game is still 1 of the best ever... but u gotta like powerup racing and dont expect to always win Collapse
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 58 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 58
  2. Negative: 0 out of 58
  1. The fast-paced races, exciting power-ups and fun online mode aren't marred by a shallow single-player career and a low supply of race tracks. The game's fun online mode more than makes up for any minor issues I have with the game!
  2. Blur's mix of strategy-based power-ups, load-out menus, and largely varied challenges really make this game a must for all automotive fans. In a genre this oversaturated, it is good to know that there is still some innovation left.
  3. Blur is the thinking person’s death race – if there is such a thing – where your mind is racing just as fast as your motor.