User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 393 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 36 out of 393

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 6, 2011
    6
    I have always enjoyed games that have a decent story. Not necessarily epic stories complete with plot twists and gasp worthy moments, but just a narrative that helps drive the action forward. Borderlands is a game that completely lacks any sort of decent story, it even goes as far as not even having voice recordings to introduce missions to you, but rather makes you read through a passageI have always enjoyed games that have a decent story. Not necessarily epic stories complete with plot twists and gasp worthy moments, but just a narrative that helps drive the action forward. Borderlands is a game that completely lacks any sort of decent story, it even goes as far as not even having voice recordings to introduce missions to you, but rather makes you read through a passage of text which describes your task and also tries to inject some character development into these passages. This detracts from the experience for me and makes the action feel very repetitive and pointless beyond trying out your new weapon (of which there are thousands).
    Borderlands is a very interesting game in what it tries to become both visually and with regards to it's gameplay. Some will love everything about it including it's very relaxed approach to narrative as well as it's stark visual style. I, however found it tedious and lacking in direction but slightly redeemed when playing with friends either online or locally.
    Expand
  2. May 31, 2013
    5
    At first I liked it, but after completing the first chapter (which I did enjoy) I got extremely bored just walking around and waiting for an enemy to try and kill me. The boss fight looked fun at first, but I quickly realized that they to are boring, just a bunch of braindead enemies running at you, completely unaware that you have a shotgun pointing at their face. I get the fact thatAt first I liked it, but after completing the first chapter (which I did enjoy) I got extremely bored just walking around and waiting for an enemy to try and kill me. The boss fight looked fun at first, but I quickly realized that they to are boring, just a bunch of braindead enemies running at you, completely unaware that you have a shotgun pointing at their face. I get the fact that they're psychos but shouldn't they at least have common sense, at least a little. I just wish there couldv'e been more "fun" in this game, 'cause there ain't any to have here in the Borderlands. Expand
  3. j.V.
    Nov 3, 2009
    6
    A fun game but ultimatley too short, and boring, that said i keep playing it WTF?!?!
  4. Aug 8, 2011
    6
    A game that tries to be Fallout 3 but misses by a mile. The good: Unique graphics look, sound, and weapons. The bad: game play (we ve seen this before), storytelling, voice overs and repetitiveness. In short this game is cross between a Fallout game that lacks a bunch of features like true open world game play and first person shooter (pick one). This game tries hard to have an identityA game that tries to be Fallout 3 but misses by a mile. The good: Unique graphics look, sound, and weapons. The bad: game play (we ve seen this before), storytelling, voice overs and repetitiveness. In short this game is cross between a Fallout game that lacks a bunch of features like true open world game play and first person shooter (pick one). This game tries hard to have an identity but not sure what I can call this possibly a FPS (boring). This is another FPS that follows instead of leads. Expand
  5. MikeH
    Nov 12, 2009
    7
    Ok... This game is pretty cool, but how do you release a game in this day in age with the ridiculously stupid bugs that Borderlands has? The first patch that came out lowered load times and fixed the bug that caused your weapons to map to the wrong quick slots (i.e. right and left were swapped), but now it doesn't save your controller settings! LAME!!!! I don't even want to get Ok... This game is pretty cool, but how do you release a game in this day in age with the ridiculously stupid bugs that Borderlands has? The first patch that came out lowered load times and fixed the bug that caused your weapons to map to the wrong quick slots (i.e. right and left were swapped), but now it doesn't save your controller settings! LAME!!!! I don't even want to get the DLC's because who knows what problems they might have... Otherwise it is a fun game. Not amazing... It may have a lot of guns, but most of them are throw aways. The RPG elements are a bit underdeveloped for my taste. Your class doesn't seem to matter that much. I've played as a hunter and a soldier up to about level 30 and the differences are negligible. Overall, the presentation is great! I just wish that they did a better job of testing it, and expect a lot of grinding. Expand
  6. KyleC
    Jan 26, 2010
    7
    A okay game I found myself having to go through alot of driving and when it came to the action parts I found myself dying then coming back to life only to find the enemy regained all of his health. Another thing that bugs me is how your having to drop ,sell and trade weapons constantly I found that the millions of weapons thing is kinda stupid since most guns are same as another one you A okay game I found myself having to go through alot of driving and when it came to the action parts I found myself dying then coming back to life only to find the enemy regained all of his health. Another thing that bugs me is how your having to drop ,sell and trade weapons constantly I found that the millions of weapons thing is kinda stupid since most guns are same as another one you picked up. Overall I think it's a okay game not a better rpg than fallout 3 though. If you like exploring and massive amounts of sorting through weapons to find that perfect gun then this game is for you. Expand
  7. Oct 17, 2010
    7
    For me, Borderlands was one of those games that you play through a one time, and then you stop playing it, because it really gets repeative and boring.That doesnt mean that Borderlands is a bad game.I liked the FPS combined with RP gameplay, and of course,I loved the guns, because there were so many of them.The plot of this game was really stupid, but that doesnt really matter, because theFor me, Borderlands was one of those games that you play through a one time, and then you stop playing it, because it really gets repeative and boring.That doesnt mean that Borderlands is a bad game.I liked the FPS combined with RP gameplay, and of course,I loved the guns, because there were so many of them.The plot of this game was really stupid, but that doesnt really matter, because the gameplay is fun. I have to say that for me, the best thing about Borderlands was the co-op gameplay.I just had so much fun playing co-op with my friends.Overall Borderlands was a pretty good game. Expand
  8. May 1, 2011
    6
    This is a fairly decent multiplayer FPS-RPG hybrid with a random loot gimmick for weapons. If you've ever played the diablo series you should understand how the loot mechanic works. The level up system is a simple multi-tree skill layout like many RPGs today have. The sound was mediocre and in many places it felt barren or lacking. The art style is similar to something you might find in aThis is a fairly decent multiplayer FPS-RPG hybrid with a random loot gimmick for weapons. If you've ever played the diablo series you should understand how the loot mechanic works. The level up system is a simple multi-tree skill layout like many RPGs today have. The sound was mediocre and in many places it felt barren or lacking. The art style is similar to something you might find in a comic book, but expect to see a lot of brown rocks. Most of the terrain in this game is just bland brown rocks. The gameplay is solid enough for a console shooter, each character has their own special ability in combat and a couple "favored" weapon types. The random loot system is alright, but encourages the dreaded grind, or saving & reloading to re-loot a town's treasure chests in an attempt to get a better weapon. On a personal note, I would have found this title more compelling if the various parts of the weapons (every weapon modifier has a different graphical part on a weapon) could have been removed, replaced and swapped freely between guns. Sadly this is not the case, and as such it is a fairly enjoyable, but not very inventive game. (This review is based on the core game itself and none of it's expansion packs) Expand
  9. May 19, 2011
    6
    An average FPS with a unique storyline and visual style. However, this game can get too difficult at times, throwing insane enemies at you when you're still at a low level. It's impossible while playing single player to beat some of the enemies, and still very difficult while playing co-op, which is what I did for most of my time with this game. I can understand why people may like this,An average FPS with a unique storyline and visual style. However, this game can get too difficult at times, throwing insane enemies at you when you're still at a low level. It's impossible while playing single player to beat some of the enemies, and still very difficult while playing co-op, which is what I did for most of my time with this game. I can understand why people may like this, but I, for one, didn't. Expand
  10. Jul 5, 2011
    7
    i'd give this game a 9 if it weren't for frame rate and lag issues. even offline there was a significant lag between when i fired and impact. even when i was right next to someone. i recommend this game to anyone on pc but not for ps3.
  11. Apr 5, 2012
    7
    It's very addictive, has LOADS of guns and other equipment, but the world is pretty boring and the quests are often tedious. Co-op is fun, RPG elements work well, and it has some great DLC. Check this out if you want a different type of shooter.
  12. Jun 20, 2012
    7
    I am going to stay outta using spoilers as best as I can...Borderlands could of been better...period its boringly average. Sometimes the mission board says you have the level to do it but then you go do it and get your **** ass HANDED TO YOU by enemy that is a level way above you. In the end I like this game but online play can glitch your missions to never complete and **** up yourI am going to stay outta using spoilers as best as I can...Borderlands could of been better...period its boringly average. Sometimes the mission board says you have the level to do it but then you go do it and get your **** ass HANDED TO YOU by enemy that is a level way above you. In the end I like this game but online play can glitch your missions to never complete and **** up your progression. The game only looks good on HD as it then looks cartoon good. This game preforms good on split screen but is small...wish they had simul view back then...I say buy at 20 bucks at highest, beat the game, get to highest level, then buy the DLC if you can...other then that it repeats with no decision Expand
  13. Jan 16, 2013
    7
    Welcome to Borderlands, a game which tells a different tale of the apocalyptic future we are soon to get. With more guns than dead hookers in Charlie Sheens house, the game instantly impressed me. The character/enemy types are brilliant in their own individual ways. So how is this game different from other FPS games apart from the graphics you say? Simple, the game mainly resolves aroundWelcome to Borderlands, a game which tells a different tale of the apocalyptic future we are soon to get. With more guns than dead hookers in Charlie Sheens house, the game instantly impressed me. The character/enemy types are brilliant in their own individual ways. So how is this game different from other FPS games apart from the graphics you say? Simple, the game mainly resolves around loot. Loot is anything from guns to money. But there's so many guns, so much choice, so much fun to be had that you'll never be bored. The only issue is the empty world. While its huge, it lacks depth. I prefer my open worlds small and full then large and empty. Enemys are all unique with their own weapons, rank/level e.t.c it makes most other FPS developers look lazy. Call of Duty, in particular, should have stopped being the number one FPS and been replaced by Borderlands. If you believe that all FPS games are like call of duty, I truly recommend you buy this game A.S.A.P. Expand
  14. Nov 29, 2012
    7
    Okay, the graphics are cell-shaded, the audio is sub-par, and the game play is about as repetitive as a paddle ball.The humor of the game is pretty good, and the feel of the game play is okay for about an hour or two. But after about an hour the game gets a little drab and boring, the only thing it leaves you with is the humor. The enemies are just EXP fodder, and the bosses couldn't beOkay, the graphics are cell-shaded, the audio is sub-par, and the game play is about as repetitive as a paddle ball.The humor of the game is pretty good, and the feel of the game play is okay for about an hour or two. But after about an hour the game gets a little drab and boring, the only thing it leaves you with is the humor. The enemies are just EXP fodder, and the bosses couldn't be any easier. Really, it's not worth the hype it gets. Expand
  15. Jun 27, 2013
    6
    A fun game to play and kill a lot of time with, but there's nothing really spectacular about it. Glad I played it, but I won't really remember much about it in a few months.
  16. Jan 19, 2014
    7
    It's a good game, I've liked playing it since the beginning, but there's only one thing I don't like: The Plot. The game lacks an interesting story.

    The worst thing of the game is the ending, maybe one of the weakest endings I've seen in my life.
  17. Aug 17, 2014
    6
    Slow and kinda boring, the idea of bazillion guns is cool, but IT DOESN’T MATTER BECAUSE HALF THE GUNS LOOK THE SAME or **** AND has a disappointing end to disappointing game. It has its moments, but otherwise is incredibly average.
  18. Jun 3, 2015
    5
    The most overrated game I've ever played in my entire life.

    First off, it's repetitive as hell and extremely boring. Second, the shield is useless. The idea was to allow you to take a few hits before losing any actual health and it recharges over time, but 90% of the enemies you face follow you, the other 10% have ranged weapons, and both deal enough damage to completely deplete the
    The most overrated game I've ever played in my entire life.

    First off, it's repetitive as hell and extremely boring.

    Second, the shield is useless. The idea was to allow you to take a few hits before losing any actual health and it recharges over time, but 90% of the enemies you face follow you, the other 10% have ranged weapons, and both deal enough damage to completely deplete the shield in 1-3 hits. This is especially frustrating when the enemy AI is extremely high to the point where they have better accuracy than you do and can kill you easier than you can kill them even with worse weapons and equal level (sometimes even lower leveled) as you. Plus, all the bosses are enemies that follow you and deal more damage to you than you can to them to a degree worse than the normal enemies in the game and you can't run away from them far enough or fast enough to give your shield the time that it needs to recharge.

    Speaking of running, it takes forever to get anywhere in this game. Sure there's vehicles, but they control worse than the MAKO from Mass Effect, and there are some areas where, even with vehicles, it still takes forever to get anywhere. And if your vehicle is destroyed for some reason, you're forced you to walk around in an area that takes forever WITH A VEHICLE. And while one person could argue that the game's "Fast Travel" helps with this problem...it does not. The "FT" system is another good mechanic in theory, but it has its own set of problems that make it completely worthless. The first being that some areas have multiple "Fast Travel" ports while others have none making it useless for certain missions. As if that wasn't enough, there is almost no way to find out which port is which without spending some time making a map to use detailing such information as the map in the game doesn't do it for you.

    This brings me to my next problem: the maps. First off, you have to go to the options menu in order to see a map of any kind. For the first few missions, it's not that bad. But as you progress through the game, it gets more frustrating as you have to constantly check the map to make sure that you took the right paths to get where you want to go. I guess that the developers at Gearbox forgot the industry standard that is the mini-map. Not only that, but the game has multiple areas, each with its own map. That's all fine and dandy until you find out that there is no way to look at the maps of different areas if you're not in them. None. This is also something that makes the "Fast Travel" mechanic such a waste as you can't see what areas you need to go to or find out what area with an "FT" port is closest to where you need to go. The DLC makes this problem even worse as every time you exit the game, you return at the very beginning of the very first area in said DLC, requiring you to go ALL THE WAY BACK to a mission point if you didn't completely finish what you were doing before you left the game.

    Instead of a mini-map, the game gives you a compass. But that has its own problems as well. While for some games the compass works fine, like Call of Duty that don't have an expansive, open-world map, for a game like Borderlands that do have an expansive, open-world map there are so many different paths to take that unless you frequently check the maps in the options menu, you'll more than likely get lost and have to backtrack to go the correct path.

    Additionally, most of the weapons are downright useless compared to the assault rifles. The handguns and the revolvers don't cause enough consistent damage to an enemy to warrant you using it added with the fact that you're usually facing multiple enemies and focusing on one for too long will get you killed. Sniper rifles work for long ranged enemies, but not when you face at least 1 enemy or more that run towards you while you aim. Shotguns are powerful, but they're too slow to use and getting up close to a ranged enemy takes too long to do before you're killed. Rocket launchers are even slower and get you killed when reloading.

    The RPG elements aren't much to talk about either. While not as frustrating as the AI or the area traversing, they are pretty useless if playing solo. Most of the perks that are of any use in single player are only good for strictly offensive strategies, but those can only get you so far without dying constantly. When it comes to defensive perks, on the other hand, most of them can only be used when playing cooperatively making them useless to people who don't generally play cooperatively.

    All in all, I would give this game a D rating. Maybe a C- when I'm not overly frustrated by its idiotic mechanics. However, even with a generous C- rating, I can't possibly fathom how this game could be considered even as an honorable mention for Game of the Year during a year when games like Batman: Arkham Asylum, Ratchet and Clank: A Crack in Time, and Bayonetta were released.
    Expand
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 58 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 56 out of 58
  2. Negative: 1 out of 58
  1. 83
    Call it a first-person Diablo, an evolution of Resistance 2's co-op mode, Monster Hunter for the west, or a party game for FPS gamers. Call it the best example of the transformative power of multiplayer. Whatever you designate it, Borderlands is a decent single-player FPS/RPG that simply becomes great -- when playing with others.
  2. It's also one of those games that's so strong in parts that its shortcomings become almost glaring by comparison. As such, the game's barebones story, lackluster AI, and insufficient player trading options are real disappointments that prevent the game from reaching its full potential. But when you're frantically trying to stay alive while getting swarmed by an angry horde of gigantic spiderants, chances are you won't care much about that other stuff.
  3. 88
    It's something action role-playing game fans looking for an experience more up-close and brutal than genre entries of the third-person variety should have a blast with, and one of the more memorable products of 2009.