Brutal Legend PlayStation 3

Brutal Legend Image
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 61 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 167 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Brütal Legend is an epic action game from visionary developer Tim Schafer. Jack Black stars as Eddie Riggs, a legendary roadie summoned to a world of Heavy Metal where mountains are made of amplifiers, killer spiders spin guitar strings and Rock Legends roam the landscape. As Eddie, crushBrütal Legend is an epic action game from visionary developer Tim Schafer. Jack Black stars as Eddie Riggs, a legendary roadie summoned to a world of Heavy Metal where mountains are made of amplifiers, killer spiders spin guitar strings and Rock Legends roam the landscape. As Eddie, crush skulls with a battle axe, ravage the road in a super-charged Hot Rod and unleash the power of Rock to reign down fire from the sky - all to save humanity and become a Brütal Legend. [Electronic Arts] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Brutal Legend - Announcement Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 51 out of 61
  2. Negative: 0 out of 61
  1. There's never been anything like it and there may never be again. Brütal Legend is truly a gift to metal and game fans alike and my new, best 3D game ever.
  2. Let‘s bring up the facts: Brütal Legend is unique, has great music, is fun as hell and stars Jack Black! Aside from that, a great story about heavy metal, dreams and love awaits you - but don‘t forget to kick some ass. Simply brütal!
  3. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    90
    If God gave rock ‘n roll to us then it is settled: Tim Schafer is God. A must play. [Dec 2009, p.62]
  4. Tim Schafer’s latest game-baby is a tribute to Metal, with a little parody to the genre. The game has a lot of varieties that is either a curse or a blessing to the game. The game loses a lot of depth because of the varieties, but delivers a humoristic and ever changing package. However the game is technical a little messy, it plays a great tribute to the Metal genre.
  5. It's undoubtedly a fun game, packed full with humour (although this does tail off towards the end), metal references, amazing encounters and memorable characters. It's the RTS sections that really let the game down for me, feeling like a good idea that hasn't quite been implemented well enough to gel with the rest of the game.
  6. The story falters towards the end, and the fact that the game is so short is the biggest bummer of all. Regardless, it’s a great game that will be remembered for a long time coming.
  7. The gameplay, as singular a combination of gameplay styles as it is, suffers from being a jack of all trades and master of none. Like most teenage metalheads, this game has got issues, but if you're willing to look past some very uneven gameplay, Brutal Legend will rock you. Hard.

See all 61 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 32
  2. Negative: 1 out of 32
  1. dene
    Jan 16, 2010
    10
    Simply a legendary game. Soundtrack is unbelievable. Gameplay is awesome, the humour is great, even the story is awesome. Definitely the game Simply a legendary game. Soundtrack is unbelievable. Gameplay is awesome, the humour is great, even the story is awesome. Definitely the game of the year for me. Expand
  2. DannyC.
    Oct 14, 2009
    10
    Got it last night, played through the first couple hours and have really enjoyed it so far. It's VERY funny and you can tell it's a Got it last night, played through the first couple hours and have really enjoyed it so far. It's VERY funny and you can tell it's a Tim Schaffer (sp?) game. In case you don't know, this is the guy that did Monkey Island among other hits. Like I said, I'm diggin it so far. I don't have a problem with any of the game play mechanics, it seems to me that everything works fine as long as you use it correctly. All and all, I'm pleased with my purchase. Expand
  3. ACKMINDSEYE
    Nov 30, 2009
    9
    I loved this game but the tower defense RTS element is absolutely aggravating. Granted, I have always hated the micromanagement of RTS and TD I loved this game but the tower defense RTS element is absolutely aggravating. Granted, I have always hated the micromanagement of RTS and TD games but this one just needs to be thrashed with broken guitar strings. Aside from these segments, I pressed on to discover the rest of what Tim Schaffer had to offer and I enjoyed it. PLEASE get rid of the RTS/TD elements for Brutal Legend 2! I don't know if I can survive a second game with so much fun and such irritating parts! Expand
  4. JakeK
    Oct 18, 2009
    8
    Not a metal fan here, but great fun and beautiful environments. Story has the feeling of an animated film and almost the graphics to match, a Not a metal fan here, but great fun and beautiful environments. Story has the feeling of an animated film and almost the graphics to match, a variety of missions, but the second half of the game passes incredibly quickly and adds little new to the game. Unless you're a fan of the multiplayer I'd say this is a great weekend rent, maybe a waste of buying though. Expand
  5. Dec 30, 2015
    7
    This game is a step in the right direction,but not quite there yet.The writing is good,it's really funny,being fed pieces of lore andThis game is a step in the right direction,but not quite there yet.The writing is good,it's really funny,being fed pieces of lore and obtaining power-ups via scavanger hunts is a good idea(though it's nothing new),and the music is spectacular.The problem is that the RTS sections lack a lot of options and are frustrating beyond belief,the hack-n-slash-esque combat is stiff,and your car handles like ass.That being said,you should still check this game out.It's original and very innovative with the RTS sections,considering the copy-paste nature of modern gaming.All of its problems are nothing that can't be fixed in a sequel. Expand
  6. Nov 18, 2010
    6
    A couple of years ago i bought psychonauts, a game made by Tim Shafer, and loved it. It was original, fun and unique. since Brutal legendA couple of years ago i bought psychonauts, a game made by Tim Shafer, and loved it. It was original, fun and unique. since Brutal legend was made by the same guy, i simply had to buy it. I was somewhat disappointed. the game isn't bad by all means, but it's just not that good either. the humor is really good and the characters are interesting but the story is short and the gameplay gets boring quickly. the worst thing is that the game changes its own genre in the middle of the game, from a action adventure game to an rts. some gamers loved it but i did not. the rts elements are fairly basic so the game doesnt excel at anything. it tries to be some games mixed up but in my opinion doesnt succeed in doing so. it's a great tribute to metal and if you are a huge huge fan of metal you will love the game but if you are looking for a deep, unique and fun experience ,like usually found in Tim Shafer games, you might be disappointed. for me fun was really lacking in this game. Expand
  7. Jul 15, 2014
    4
    I feel genuinely bad giving this review, because this game did make me smile and was quite fun for the first few hours. Jack Black is quiteI feel genuinely bad giving this review, because this game did make me smile and was quite fun for the first few hours. Jack Black is quite funny, the theme of metal music is a good one for the setting and allows for humorous level design and characters; it really had potential... and then it fell apart.

    The world quickly started to seem slapdash once the game opens up and the shift in gameplay style is jarring and irritating. The combat, though sluggish at times, was serviceable and could have been used far more effectively, likewise for the driving sections of the game, but the strategy sections which start to dominated the game are simply terrible. With difficult control and limited visibility, this quickly begins to feel like a PC real time strategy game that you're forced to play with a controller and the camera settings of a third person action brawler game... and yes that's as bad as it sounds. It takes an otherwise interesting and amusing game and destroys the element of fun it started with.

    This game would have been far better if it was, as advertised, a game where you spend 6-8 hours playing as Jack Black; hitting the things from 80s heavy metal LP artwork with your guitar whilst cracking silly one-liners. For the first 2 hours, and intermittently after that, this is what you get; but the awful strategy game hidden in here make it a chore to play. If you see it for bargain bin prices, pick it up and play through the first few hours if you want something light-hearted and amusing, but don't expect to ever actually finish it... I know I couldn't.
    Expand

See all 32 User Reviews