Bulletstorm PlayStation 3

Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 57 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 57
  2. Negative: 0 out of 57
Buy On
  1. Feb 22, 2011
    67
    A game unsure of what it wants to achieve. When it lets itself, it's a fantastic adrenaline rush through well-constructed set-pieces and gloriously fun-to-watch violence. But it too often drags itself down with overly structured situations and restrictive, strategy-heavy gameplay.
  2. Mar 8, 2011
    60
    Quotation forthcoming.
  3. Mar 16, 2011
    58
    An otherwise thoroughly enjoyable experience is riddled with technical problems and hiccups throughout a majority of the single player campaign. Thankfully, you will only be spending a couple of hours in that made; the other modes provide great spurts of intense and enjoyable gameplay with a new gameplay mechanic that is a whole lot of fun.
  4. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    May 27, 2011
    70
    The biggest problem Bulletstorm has is that it's at odds with itself. It wants you to have a blast killing imaginatively, but gives you limited ammunition, uses cheap tactics and saves the best toys until way too late in the game. It wants you to revel in the wonderfully hackneyed story, but then suddenly gets all touchy feely, serious and humourless for no reason. [May 2011 p.75]
  5. Feb 22, 2011
    70
    Bulletstorm is the world's longest dick joke...Despite the fact that it boots you out to loading screens every time you finish a segment or die, it's a polished-enough piece of work. The point system incentivizes you to play the game using all the tools at your disposal...It's just a shame the developers couldn't stop thinking about reproductive anatomy.
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 289 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 79
  2. Negative: 6 out of 79
  1. Feb 22, 2011
    6
    I am having mixed feeling about this game. It seems like a great idea but in my opinion it lacks game play and gets old very fast. i wouldI am having mixed feeling about this game. It seems like a great idea but in my opinion it lacks game play and gets old very fast. i would recommend this game to someone who is just looking for pure fun. This just was not a game for me. Full Review »
  2. Mar 25, 2011
    10
    This game is good not great.It will give you some laughs but thats about it.The game lacks a good story and multiplayer.Single player is okayThis game is good not great.It will give you some laughs but thats about it.The game lacks a good story and multiplayer.Single player is okay but not anything amazing here.Dispite great graphics this game never takes itself serously.Storyline is pretty much horrible.Only a few characters are likeable which means not alot.Overall game lacks good multiplayer a solid story or likeable chracters.Also tends to get really repetative. If you want to play you might as well save your money and rent it. Full Review »
  3. Mar 1, 2011
    7
    ill start off with the negitive on this game. first off this game is pretty damn buggy and glitched up both online and off. in the story modeill start off with the negitive on this game. first off this game is pretty damn buggy and glitched up both online and off. in the story mode the biggest 2 ive had issues with is one the ammo . when you go and in resupply your ammo and upgrade ive had the issue in almost the entire second half of the game where all my ammo would be reset to 0 and my power shots so id have to buy them all over again . another one is when starting a new chapter my guns wouldnt fire and grey's arms and gun would be all goofy on the screen . also ive had a few times of getting stuck into the floor and having to restart my game . obvously theese things can and will most likely be patch some time this year but still playing half the game stuck in that ammo glitch sours my experiance with this game . also online the special kills are very glitched and will not register. that out of the way the rest of this game is very fun . the special kills are great and alot of fun to pull off . the wepons are pretty cool and the story is actaully pretty decent . very suprising Epic manage to tell a story decently looking at Gears of war which was a very intresting concept for a story but told extremely half assed . the game has some amazing cinematics the enviroments are nice and change up very smoothly never making me feel bored of what i was looking at . the games about 7-8 hours long which is pretty typical for FPS games . the online horde mode style game mode is ok but im already gettin bored of it after just a few days of playing it . i cant play the full online since i only rented it and you have to enter a stupid code to play it and since i wanted to rent it to test the online mode to see if it was any good before i did . i will not be buying it . its worth atleast a rental but i would not really recoment buying it till theres a price drop and its been patched and with epic that patching process will most likely be slooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooow. Full Review »