Bulletstorm PlayStation 3

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 288 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 24 out of 288
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 1, 2011
    7
    ill start off with the negitive on this game. first off this game is pretty damn buggy and glitched up both online and off. in the story mode the biggest 2 ive had issues with is one the ammo . when you go and in resupply your ammo and upgrade ive had the issue in almost the entire second half of the game where all my ammo would be reset to 0 and my power shots so id have to buy them allill start off with the negitive on this game. first off this game is pretty damn buggy and glitched up both online and off. in the story mode the biggest 2 ive had issues with is one the ammo . when you go and in resupply your ammo and upgrade ive had the issue in almost the entire second half of the game where all my ammo would be reset to 0 and my power shots so id have to buy them all over again . another one is when starting a new chapter my guns wouldnt fire and grey's arms and gun would be all goofy on the screen . also ive had a few times of getting stuck into the floor and having to restart my game . obvously theese things can and will most likely be patch some time this year but still playing half the game stuck in that ammo glitch sours my experiance with this game . also online the special kills are very glitched and will not register. that out of the way the rest of this game is very fun . the special kills are great and alot of fun to pull off . the wepons are pretty cool and the story is actaully pretty decent . very suprising Epic manage to tell a story decently looking at Gears of war which was a very intresting concept for a story but told extremely half assed . the game has some amazing cinematics the enviroments are nice and change up very smoothly never making me feel bored of what i was looking at . the games about 7-8 hours long which is pretty typical for FPS games . the online horde mode style game mode is ok but im already gettin bored of it after just a few days of playing it . i cant play the full online since i only rented it and you have to enter a stupid code to play it and since i wanted to rent it to test the online mode to see if it was any good before i did . i will not be buying it . its worth atleast a rental but i would not really recoment buying it till theres a price drop and its been patched and with epic that patching process will most likely be slooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooow. Expand
  2. Apr 8, 2011
    6
    Not a bad little game, fairly far from perfect, but not at all bad, or unenjoyable. The biggest problems here are: 1) The novelty of creatively killing enemies eventually wears off and reveals itself to be the clever gimmick we always suspected it was. Most people's reviews, and enjoyment of this game, will likely be directly related to how long it takes for this process to happen. 2) TheNot a bad little game, fairly far from perfect, but not at all bad, or unenjoyable. The biggest problems here are: 1) The novelty of creatively killing enemies eventually wears off and reveals itself to be the clever gimmick we always suspected it was. Most people's reviews, and enjoyment of this game, will likely be directly related to how long it takes for this process to happen. 2) The humour is really poor. At times feeling as if the authors lacked a sense of one! It's as if they were so desperate to be considered funny that they succumbed to forcefully cramming the word "dick" into as many conversations as possible, and contrary to what most contemporary comedic films would have you believe, this DOES NOT neccesarily equal funny dialogue. There's quite a sophisticated craft to selling a quality dick joke... and this game has maybe (MAYBE) 1 or 2 instances where it even comes close to that level. Overall, however, I genuinely enjoyed this game for several hours... right up until the repitition tired me out. Still, enjoying 5-6 of the games 8 hours is worthy of at least a rental, if not an outright purchase. Expand
  3. Jul 9, 2014
    7
    Here is what i like about Bulletstorm: On the surface its your usual first person shooter, but if you give it a chance, you will see there is more to it. Whats unique about this game is its skill shot system. Depending on how you kill your enemies, you will get more or less points. These are used to buy new weapons and level up the ones you have. What i liked about this system is that itHere is what i like about Bulletstorm: On the surface its your usual first person shooter, but if you give it a chance, you will see there is more to it. Whats unique about this game is its skill shot system. Depending on how you kill your enemies, you will get more or less points. These are used to buy new weapons and level up the ones you have. What i liked about this system is that it encourages you to try out new stuff and find the most unique and fun way to get rid off the enemies, which adds a layer of creativity to shooters, which you dont see very often... Expand
  4. Feb 23, 2011
    5
    Bulletstorm is a rather average quality title with a couple gimmicks. No co-op campaign kills the replay value, and skillshots aren
  5. Feb 22, 2011
    6
    I am having mixed feeling about this game. It seems like a great idea but in my opinion it lacks game play and gets old very fast. i would recommend this game to someone who is just looking for pure fun. This just was not a game for me.
  6. Feb 22, 2011
    7
    This game was slightly disappointing. The graphics are really nice, but the story and multiplayer didn't wow me at all. Sorry Epic Games. you guys disappointed me the hell out.
  7. Feb 25, 2011
    6
    This game is a poor substitute for masculinity for nerds and a bad game. The graphics are vivid, textures deep, but don't make up for the lack of fun gunplay. Way too many cutscenes and times when you can't control your player. In the first levels you are given a machine gun to hit far away, standing targets who are under cover. Mostly it is a corridor game. There is no mystery to actionThis game is a poor substitute for masculinity for nerds and a bad game. The graphics are vivid, textures deep, but don't make up for the lack of fun gunplay. Way too many cutscenes and times when you can't control your player. In the first levels you are given a machine gun to hit far away, standing targets who are under cover. Mostly it is a corridor game. There is no mystery to action objects which pop up with control graphics during battle. Enemy's without body armor take multiple shots and are very unrealistic and annoying to kill. With an automatic you should be able to run up to a group and take everyone out but you can't. They remind me of Black, but more zombie like. This game doesn't make sense, it steals from Psi-Ops again which is a better game, and the FPS gunplay mechanics aren't there. Lots of better games out there, skip this. I'm sure people will forget about this game in a month. Its been out 3 days and its not even trending on IGN anymore. Oh well. Play Black, Timesplitters, Lost Planet or regular Unreal Tournament if you want a good FPS. Expand
  8. Mar 1, 2011
    6
    This had a pretty fun campaign, but it kinda got old, boring and rather repetitive after a while. While it still has some replay value in the campaign, the multiplayer seemed pretty pointless and boring. It does not have any of your standard deathmatch, CTF or anything like that. Those who are just looking for a fun shooter, blowing crap up and mild competitiveness may like this game
  9. Mar 5, 2011
    7
    I really enjoyed this game during the course of the single player campaign. For the most part, the majority of the 8 or so weapons are fun. The constant one-liners are good for a laugh. The skill-shot system can definitely get old after a while though. Sadly, after I finished the single player campaign, I really didn't have much use for the game. Echoes mode (where you play certain cannedI really enjoyed this game during the course of the single player campaign. For the most part, the majority of the 8 or so weapons are fun. The constant one-liners are good for a laugh. The skill-shot system can definitely get old after a while though. Sadly, after I finished the single player campaign, I really didn't have much use for the game. Echoes mode (where you play certain canned parts of the campaign while trying to rack up as many skill-shot points as possible in the shortest amount of time) and Anarchy mode (co-op "horde" mode where up to 4 players survive waves of enemies, where you must reach at least a certain score to proceed) are both a bit on the boring side. BOTTOM LINE: The single player campaign is a definite must-play, but, at least for me, there is not a lot of replay value to be had here. Expand
  10. Mar 20, 2011
    7
    Well what can be said about Bullet storm except that it was a little over hyped since I did get bored with it before I even finished the game (which I didn't)I could not continue this Game because I felt like I was playing a game that focused to much on Harsh language and pointless Gore instead of game play.Now bullet storm wasn't a bad game at all I just think it could of been better.
  11. Apr 21, 2011
    7
    Compared to the rather boring gameplay of the Call of Duty campaigns, Bulletstorm is a truly refreshing game. Despite my predictions, the gameplay manages to stay fresh through the entire game. Killing enemies is really fun. However, the game is really short and lacks replayability. Unless you want to delve into the multiplayer, I would recommend renting this game.
  12. Mar 23, 2012
    7
    Bulletstorm is a very fun, but unessential game. It has solid game-play, with the whole kill-with-skill thing not being nearly as intrusive as one might think. The game is well crafted and has great pacing. There are also some really impressive bosses, including a giant plant boss that seems to have escaped directly out of a Metroid game! The foul-mouthed humor is bound to rub some peopleBulletstorm is a very fun, but unessential game. It has solid game-play, with the whole kill-with-skill thing not being nearly as intrusive as one might think. The game is well crafted and has great pacing. There are also some really impressive bosses, including a giant plant boss that seems to have escaped directly out of a Metroid game! The foul-mouthed humor is bound to rub some people the wrong way, but I found it amusing enough. Yet... it isn't nearly as funny or as controversial as it thinks it is. In the end, when all distractions such as grotesque laughs or snicker inducing cusses have been dispensed with, Bulletstorm still stands tall because it has it's core game-play wired tight... And nothing takes precedence over that. Expand
  13. Dec 15, 2012
    5
    When people say that all FPS games are the same, they are wrong. But essentially Bulletstorm is the quirky clone of the game we all know. Turn off the the numbers that appear on the screens when you execute a skill-shot and its just your average FPS. You know the game; run down a corridor, shoot stuff, get on a vehicle, shoot more stuff. Its just all so samey. The graphics are lovely. ButWhen people say that all FPS games are the same, they are wrong. But essentially Bulletstorm is the quirky clone of the game we all know. Turn off the the numbers that appear on the screens when you execute a skill-shot and its just your average FPS. You know the game; run down a corridor, shoot stuff, get on a vehicle, shoot more stuff. Its just all so samey. The graphics are lovely. But aside from that its just your average FPS. Expand
  14. Feb 4, 2013
    6
    Bulletstorm was a game a heard great things about but really didn't impress me much. I think the skillshot mechanics are some of the most fun things in a shooter ever, but near the end of the game creativity starts to wane and I found myself just killing enemies normally as it worked just as well. The story and characters in my opinion are extremely unlikable, I don't mind vulgar humor asBulletstorm was a game a heard great things about but really didn't impress me much. I think the skillshot mechanics are some of the most fun things in a shooter ever, but near the end of the game creativity starts to wane and I found myself just killing enemies normally as it worked just as well. The story and characters in my opinion are extremely unlikable, I don't mind vulgar humor as I love stuff like south park but this game took it a little too far which I disliked. Also the game prided itself as breaking out of the call of duty mold, however I felt that without the skillshots it would just be a vulgar COD in space game. The climax of the game is pretty much ripped out of a COD game and that really disappointed me. Also aside from the main story there's not much to do, the echoes mode is essentially mission select with a speedrun timer and the multiplayer servers are empty but when you find a game it's shallow fun. I guess overall the game is decent but it's certainly not a great shooter, but it will be remembered for it's unique skillshot system that I will admit was tons of fun at times. Expand
  15. Aug 10, 2014
    7
    Another surprise game that I enjoyed. I bought this game before reading reviews and would not have bought it if I had researched it better because in general potty mouth immaturity is something I have long ago grown out of. That said, I owned it and thought I should play it. My forecast was at least take a peak then come here and bash it but to my surprize I enjoyed it. At first I was aAnother surprise game that I enjoyed. I bought this game before reading reviews and would not have bought it if I had researched it better because in general potty mouth immaturity is something I have long ago grown out of. That said, I owned it and thought I should play it. My forecast was at least take a peak then come here and bash it but to my surprize I enjoyed it. At first I was a little put off I had to kill an enemy with a skill shot I was just going to go the typical assault rifle path, but then somehow I actually started to enjoy the variety and environmental methods available to dispose of your ememies...the animations were enjoyable and somehow brings out that male dominance trait of wanting to wave bye bye sucker as you play.....And in turn with this brutalness it became apparent that the protagonists had to be potty mouths because the characters do some silly killing and their personalities should match. All said it was ok to have some indecent boyish humor in this game. It actually became a bit nostalgic....Ok some other things, overall I was only interested in single player so thats all I did. I liked the large amount of chapters (19) which were broken up into 15 min to half hr limiting commitment, and I especially loved the way the world felt. This game somehow reminded me of Rapture in Bioshock. Was it as good, not quite but it did remind me of that and the main characters somehow reminded me as well of Duke Nukem..... One of those games was bad, and one was pretty decent and this game seems to me to be a hybrid between those games. Now that I think about it this game seems to be a tongue in cheek mockery of almost all the popular shooters this generation and also for that reason I am partial to it.I think a 7 is a fair score for that mixture. I actually would have given this and 8 but the EA has already closed the online servers to this game. Overall I quite enjoyed this but it is going for trade in. One other thing EA forces you to agree to their terms of service when you purchase this game even though the servers are already closed down. This is completely indecent of them its like going to McDonalds and then they say you must agree to our terms and track how you eat your burger, how many sips do you take, and does it cause you bloating and how long til your bowel movement. This trend where software companies think they are entitled to invade your privacy for their selfish interests have to stop. Make a good game please EA and monitor how good it is by how well it sells it is really distasteful you think its ok to stalk, sorry collect data Expand
  16. Aug 26, 2014
    6
    The shooting mechanics are pretty basic and it's full of quick time events. It's a rail shooter, with a rather mediocre story, good graphics and confusing level design which fails to help with orientation and where to go next. The so called innovative elements are gimmicky and they'll get old pretty fast(use the leash & kick and you don't need to fire your gun).
  17. Sep 2, 2014
    6
    The game have some fun ideas but it fails to fully deliver them them in to the game nice and smoothly the game do not have a lot of weapons but the have some nice gadgets and i think the story is week but the game is fun to play especially if you like fps games
  18. Sep 30, 2014
    6
    Fun, and the skillshots are a welcome addition to freshen up an FPS, but after a while it gets stale. An over-the-top story worked its way into becoming blasé with repetitive set pieces and enemies with extra modes only enhancing that feeling of similarity to the main campaign.
  19. Mar 25, 2011
    0
    Yet more proof of how much of a stale cash grab FPS games are. This game reminds me of Dr. Rockso the Rock n' Roll Clown.

    Bulletstorm is just another shooter trying to differentiate itself by trying to seem edgy. Instead, it ends up being corny and kind of embarrassing. The question is never about graphics. The real question is how does this game differentiate itself from other shooters?
    Yet more proof of how much of a stale cash grab FPS games are. This game reminds me of Dr. Rockso the Rock n' Roll Clown.

    Bulletstorm is just another shooter trying to differentiate itself by trying to seem edgy. Instead, it ends up being corny and kind of embarrassing. The question is never about graphics. The real question is how does this game differentiate itself from other shooters? What features does it offer that haven't couldn't just be a clever mod for Quake 2?
    The answer: Nothing really. Story doesn't make up for putting a month of modelling effort into some new guns and terrain. This stuff is cheap to produce. It's the complex and innovative rules and game mechanics that push the envelope. Something Bulletstorm doesn't even come close to doing with it's messy hair and only-big-boys-can-act-bad (for kids) attitude.

    This game isn't very good, I feel weird listening to the dialogue and the action is over the top in such a way that it's bad.
    Collapse
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 57 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 57
  2. Negative: 0 out of 57
  1. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    May 27, 2011
    70
    The biggest problem Bulletstorm has is that it's at odds with itself. It wants you to have a blast killing imaginatively, but gives you limited ammunition, uses cheap tactics and saves the best toys until way too late in the game. It wants you to revel in the wonderfully hackneyed story, but then suddenly gets all touchy feely, serious and humourless for no reason. [May 2011 p.75]
  2. May 24, 2011
    85
    Bulletstorm is not only offering a lot of enemies to shoot. We did not expect such good character development and such an entertaining story.
  3. Mar 27, 2011
    87
    Bulletstorm is the NFL Blitz of first-person shooters.