Call of Duty: Black Ops II PlayStation 3

User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 907 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 13, 2012
    9
    Done know why this always gets haters. Its a game that ALOT of people buy and enjoy. if you don't like it, don't buy it. I HATED MW# but this time Treyarch have done something innovative at least so its not the same ol same ol. Sound is great and there is enough variation to differ from MW3. Is it perfect? By no means, but its a good all round game and at least give high replay valueDone know why this always gets haters. Its a game that ALOT of people buy and enjoy. if you don't like it, don't buy it. I HATED MW# but this time Treyarch have done something innovative at least so its not the same ol same ol. Sound is great and there is enough variation to differ from MW3. Is it perfect? By no means, but its a good all round game and at least give high replay value unlike many other games out there. Expand
  2. Apr 6, 2014
    10
    Easily my favorite Call of Duty game to date. Yes, even better than Modern Warfare, better than Black Ops 1, better than Ghosts. As hard as I try, I cannot think of anything that was done wrong with this game. Story was great. Music was great. Multiplayer was the most well balanced, fun, and addicting in the series. Zombies was meh, but that's just me. I've never been much into Zombies.Easily my favorite Call of Duty game to date. Yes, even better than Modern Warfare, better than Black Ops 1, better than Ghosts. As hard as I try, I cannot think of anything that was done wrong with this game. Story was great. Music was great. Multiplayer was the most well balanced, fun, and addicting in the series. Zombies was meh, but that's just me. I've never been much into Zombies. Gameplay is solid as usual for the series. Expand
  3. Jun 14, 2014
    8
    It's true that Black Ops II has some flaws. The bigger ones are that the zombie maps are **** the game is linear, and falls in the category of six-hour gameplay, and even though it's set only a decade from our current year, soldiers carry sniper rifles that can pierce entire buildings, gloves that stick to surfaces and gigantic warfare robots.
    But it has some redemption. First, there's
    It's true that Black Ops II has some flaws. The bigger ones are that the zombie maps are **** the game is linear, and falls in the category of six-hour gameplay, and even though it's set only a decade from our current year, soldiers carry sniper rifles that can pierce entire buildings, gloves that stick to surfaces and gigantic warfare robots.
    But it has some redemption. First, there's branching storyline. Who the hell doesn't like branching decisions? And to make you curious, there's a twist in the story that'll make you throw your remote out the window. Second, we get to remeet our old pals, Hudson, Mason and Woods. I loved Black Ops, so we get a warm feeling of being back home.
    The game has various flaws, but if you don't think about it, it's simple and plain fun.
    Expand
  4. Jul 9, 2014
    8
    its the best black ops yet but should extend the levels on campaign the guns are brilliant but should upgraid them more often the multiplayer is awsome! i recomend this to anyone who enjoyes playing high quility shooting games.
  5. Sep 25, 2014
    9
    I actually love this game!

    Compared to the newer COD games being released, I feel this COD, along with MW2 & MW3, are actually good ones. I don't know if this is just my experience with others, making it enjoyable, or even if you played alone it's a great time. Someone else can cover that.

    9/10, as the campaign is exactly the same as the others.
    (Would be 10/10 if it was differed).
  6. Nov 27, 2012
    9
    I am a fan of Battlefield 3 and Gotham City imposterT.his is actually the great Call of Duty game. I played CoD 1 , Blops, and MW3. I love the map design in this game. I like the little tweak they made. I don't understand all the complaints. I actually feel like I am using my brain to play, unlike mw3.
  7. Feb 14, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. When I first got black ops 2, I wasn't sure what to expect, for black ops was in my opinion the most entertaining COD not particulary with the campaign, but with the multiplayer, I thought treyarch did a wonderful job in that aspect. However, after reading these reviews I was expecting a horrible game that wasted all the money spent on it. Ill start off with the multiplayer, and yes like all other call of duty's, it was great and easy to use, especially with the new addition of pick 10. I admit it was frustrating in the beginning as I was unsure of what guns to use and how to create the perfect class, but that soon changed. Too add to that, the addition of league play is super fun as well as the other small things such as providing cooler clan tags which are fun and challenging to unlock. And the future weapons are amazing as they are not sci-fi crazy futuristic, but futuristic enough to believe that they could possibly be created in the near future. All that aside I give the multiplayer an 8/10. Now onto the campaign. It was amazing and that's all there is to it, from the slow motion action scenes in night clubs whilst dubstep/electronin music blares in the background to playing as the bad guy (menendez) running through a town ferociously killing everybody with a machete to protect his sister! Plus who would of thought Alex Mason would of died the way he did!! Again I admit, that the campaign does have its weak points in that the beginning was slow and almost painful to get through, yet I feel it was necccasary to propel the story!! Plus the addition of choice on who you kill or whether you kill or injure a character is fantastic!! It was action packed, with a compelling story that made me sad to finish in the end, yet it was beautiful, thus in the end ill give it a 9/10. Lastly there is zombies, and although I cant say much on this as I have never played it as much, I can say that so far it is interesting and again a fun new take on the game type, but ill get back to it once I play it more! So in the end although it does have its lows, I feel that this game is amazing, and possibly one of the best call of duty's made!! I recommend you buy it and enjoy! Expand
  8. Apr 7, 2013
    8
    I do not like campaign mode of all COD games: but this is not a problem.
    So far I've spent more than 100 hours on this game and I've played offline 30 minutes the day my DSL was down.
    Multiplayer is fine: maps are well designed and allows different combat style graphic is clear and it allows to see distant enemies well enough to hit them good weapon choice ad smart experience system
    I do not like campaign mode of all COD games: but this is not a problem.
    So far I've spent more than 100 hours on this game and I've played offline 30 minutes the day my DSL was down.
    Multiplayer is fine:
    maps are well designed and allows different combat style
    graphic is clear and it allows to see distant enemies well enough to hit them
    good weapon choice ad smart experience system
    logo customization
    different game mode
    chat work well enough

    Multiplayer is not perfect
    with over than 600.000 players online sometimes ther's too much lag
    sometimes you can be kicked off a play without any reason
    the world league is only Base and not veteran

    It worth the money they ask ?

    It depends IF you like multiplayer YES

    Ps.
    Campaign mode it remembers me old laser disc games...
    Expand
  9. Dec 19, 2012
    9
    With a complex story that unites interwoven stories between seasons and interconnected by a villain, Black Ops 2 could reach the expectations of quality and fun of a good FPS. On the first mission in Angola and simple player has the vision of what to expect in the future during the game, including a few parts more emphasis on stealth and shooting, especially at the end. But there areWith a complex story that unites interwoven stories between seasons and interconnected by a villain, Black Ops 2 could reach the expectations of quality and fun of a good FPS. On the first mission in Angola and simple player has the vision of what to expect in the future during the game, including a few parts more emphasis on stealth and shooting, especially at the end. But there are different phases, such as the Cayman Islands, which are not too tied to insane actions, while others who do this have the same quality or even better. In matters of gameplay, Black Ops 2 is perfect, easy to assimilate the issues of weapons, scenery, camera and said control everything. What Black Ops 2 loses, although some have the opinion that win is at the end when the game has a level at which exacerbates both the story and the missions of survival for such. The way back to COD3 is the Black Ops Zombie, which is addictive game against zombies and will surely be fixed part and parcel of the next games in the franchise. In all, the game wins the primary, but suffers in extreme ease in missions and lack of innovation. Expand
  10. Dec 23, 2012
    9
    This is by far, the best Call Of Duty game since World at War, Black ops 1 was great, MW3 sucked dick but this one is amazing!, great story line and amazing multiplayer and amazing zombies
  11. Dec 14, 2012
    10
    All you have to do is look at critic reviews to see how good this game is; 15 positive, 3 mixed & 0 negative.
    User reviews 208 negative, haterz gonna hate.
  12. Jan 18, 2013
    10
    COD is GOD, this franchise is popular for a reason, the games are fast, well made and most of all FUN. Too many people buy a Call of Duty game expecting it to be more than it is and are ultimately disappointed as these reviews show. Personally I love it when a new one comes out, I don't care for multiplayer because of the morons you typically find in the playlists.. Oh the tedium of itCOD is GOD, this franchise is popular for a reason, the games are fast, well made and most of all FUN. Too many people buy a Call of Duty game expecting it to be more than it is and are ultimately disappointed as these reviews show. Personally I love it when a new one comes out, I don't care for multiplayer because of the morons you typically find in the playlists.. Oh the tedium of it all, but the single player campaign.. That is where it's at for me, yes.. They are often short however some people like myself like to play the entire story from beginning to end for instance when I bought BO2 I first played WAW, BO and then BO2 so the game had continuity and context, the experience was great even better is the element of choice that has been incorporated into the game. The strike force missions in particular are a lot of fun and allow the implementation of strategy, for without... You are boned. Those with less than average intelligence should just stick to multiplayer matches and gold plated guns and not attempt these missions at all, or you could write a half arsed review and post it here with the other haters, I give this game a 10. Expand
  13. Jan 4, 2013
    9
    I guess it's cool to hate Black Ops II. Because even though a zillion people bought it and LOVE it, there are still a ton of people who like to troll review sites and forums to talk about how awful it is. All of the troll posts look copy-and-paste jobs from the same silly handbook. "The lag is so bad!" "Too many campers!" "Terrible spawns!" Blah, blah, blah. My guess is that most ofI guess it's cool to hate Black Ops II. Because even though a zillion people bought it and LOVE it, there are still a ton of people who like to troll review sites and forums to talk about how awful it is. All of the troll posts look copy-and-paste jobs from the same silly handbook. "The lag is so bad!" "Too many campers!" "Terrible spawns!" Blah, blah, blah. My guess is that most of the complainers are n00bs who tried to play and went 3-20 then gave up. The rest are professional trolls who don't actually own the game but just love to troll. Whatever. Very good game, glad I bought it. Disregard these knuckleheads. Expand
  14. Nov 24, 2012
    8
    Black ops 2 looks Amazing being set in the Future. Single Player Campaign is Great, Strike Force Missions is Good, The Zombies mode is good as well. The main problem for this game is the Choices made throughout the Single Player Campaign, which will show some endings.
  15. Jan 16, 2013
    10
    i love it i am not big call of duty fan i prefer skyrim zombies game etc But i won this game i said try it out this was best game ever i like Multiplayer & zombie maps

    i love it if call of duty would turn around do whole call duty zombie i mean not just zombie maps i mean i mean like left 4 dead but better
  16. Dec 22, 2012
    9
    I've only played a little bit of this game, but it's fantastic. Multiplayer is fun, as is zombies. I'm not into games like this for the campaign, so if there's any criticisms there, I can't really comment, but both zombies and multiplayer make this game worth it.
  17. Nov 24, 2012
    8
    Looks like I'm going to have to jump in here and help out this score as much as I can. Before I start, let me say that I've only played the game a little with my friend, so I couldn't get that much of a feel for it. But I am going to base it off of what I've seen so far, which is the full campaign and several hours of multiplayer. First of all, let's stop comparing this to MW3. The twoLooks like I'm going to have to jump in here and help out this score as much as I can. Before I start, let me say that I've only played the game a little with my friend, so I couldn't get that much of a feel for it. But I am going to base it off of what I've seen so far, which is the full campaign and several hours of multiplayer. First of all, let's stop comparing this to MW3. The two are not truly comparable. Second, let's look at what makes a game good: Depth, replayability, completeness... The story line was excellent, as it gives you a chance to make your own choices, which is new to a CoD campaign. It avoids the complexity of an RPG, which is what the cod series has done on purpose to focus more on multiplayer. The zombies is more complicated than ever, which adds a challenge, but I think another kino map is needed with less complexity just to balance it out (for those who liked to run in circles until round 100). Next, replayability: the game has infinite replayability on multiplayer: even if the playerbase ends in 10 or so years, a person can still play against AI in combat mode. Ok. Let's look at the multiplayer. Gamers need to keep an open mind: I like to explain the gameplay like a cross between BO1 and Homefront. The lower but still good scorestreaks are decently easy to get, so everyone can feel good when they play, and the better players can go for the higher scorestreaks while forced to play the objective to do so, since more points are given for doing that than just being a mercenary. The pick 10 create-a-class is an ingenius addition alone -- one of the best they could have made. The maps are decently balanced as far as I've seen. Completeness: Obviously, the developers could have spent more time on it, but the fans demand so much in so little time, that I think that they delivered what they could in relatively excellent quality.

    If you look at this like a standalone game without prequels, then it's pretty darn good. Let's keep in mind that call of duty is a revolutionary concept, and this game truly added to the original while keeping a lot of it's aspects. Let's not be so harsh - go hate on other games that have real problems and not just (pardon the term) 'nooby' players.
    Expand
  18. Feb 8, 2013
    9
    Bo2 is pretty good but isn't as good as BO1 I find that some weapons are off balenced but its all good. Its a really fun game you should buy it
  19. Mar 30, 2013
    8
    In my opinion this is a great game. It is a huge improvement on Modern Warfare 3 and a great addition to the COD series.
    Campaign: Campaign this time around was actually pretty good. It had a decent story which I understood for the most part and a great variety of past and futuristic level design. I was disappointed with the strikeforce missions, which are incredibly difficult on Veteran,
    In my opinion this is a great game. It is a huge improvement on Modern Warfare 3 and a great addition to the COD series.
    Campaign: Campaign this time around was actually pretty good. It had a decent story which I understood for the most part and a great variety of past and futuristic level design. I was disappointed with the strikeforce missions, which are incredibly difficult on Veteran, and quite easy on Normal and Hardened. Alongside occasionally frustrating challenges, a good few choices options throughout the campaign, and cool futuristic abilities, like the arm grenade and invisibility cloak.
    Multiplayer: They brought COD back. The multiplayer is a great asset to the game, and really stands out among the series. Even if it isn't as good as any COD before (and including) the original Black Ops. The pick 10 system is very smart and can be used in many different variations, making for a very enjoyable multiplayer.
    Zombies: Back again with a good dose of zombies. Same as usual, even though I was never really a fan of it, zombies is god fun with friends. Still not as good as the zombies on the original Black Ops though.
    Standard COD graphics, mixed with a good helping of new makes this memorable addition to the COD series. Well done Activision.
    Expand
  20. Dec 18, 2012
    10
    this game is very good and adictictive, people say the single player campaign is to short? well raise the difficulty. people say the multiplayer dosent reward players for their points? you don't get killstreaks anymore you get scorestreaks, completely different thing. People say everyone goes round noob tubing, well noobtubes take more than one grenade to kill now so these people obviuoslythis game is very good and adictictive, people say the single player campaign is to short? well raise the difficulty. people say the multiplayer dosent reward players for their points? you don't get killstreaks anymore you get scorestreaks, completely different thing. People say everyone goes round noob tubing, well noobtubes take more than one grenade to kill now so these people obviuosly havent played black ops 2, i have not seen a player using a grenade launcher and im prestiege 2 lvl 43. the people that have rated this game are not critics, these people are complaining about graphics and how the game is the same. Most people on this don't like cod and never have, they all play different games which are rated worse than this game and complain about this game when there are loads of problems with their games. they say cods full of 12 year olds. its the same with most video games, children play video games hardly any adults play. im 17 and ive been playing video games ever since i got a gameboy over 10 years ago. adults that play video games are considered geeky, cod is the same every year but thats what cod fans want. just for the sake of it im going to tell people all the problems with the big video games titles. BATTLEFIELD 3: when you push the analogue to turn the game takes and second to turn e.g push the analogue to a side and your player wont turn immanently.halo 4 campaign to slow the enemies can have llifespans, and there is no scoring on campaign like the old ones, all they changed in halo 4 is the graphics (which are okay) and the enemies which look like th enemies from tron, halo has the same problems as cod and is just like the prev halo's. Expand
  21. Jan 4, 2013
    9
    The campaign of this game its average.The gameplay was easy even in the highest difficulty possible but the story is well written and scriped it can be a little boring in some levels but overall i give the campaign a 5.5/10. The Multiplayer is the best part of this game.Its fun there are loads of weapons lots of party games etc...I give the multiplayer 8/10.The zombies in my opinion is theThe campaign of this game its average.The gameplay was easy even in the highest difficulty possible but the story is well written and scriped it can be a little boring in some levels but overall i give the campaign a 5.5/10. The Multiplayer is the best part of this game.Its fun there are loads of weapons lots of party games etc...I give the multiplayer 8/10.The zombies in my opinion is the most disapointing thing in this game.It gets boring fast if you are in single-player and the atmosphere is much worse than in BO1,if you play zombies in multiplayer it is fun.I give the zombies a 4.5/10.The Graphics,music and sound effects in this game are pretty good not to blow you away but they are good.My rating for the graphics and sounds a 5/10.If you want to play a good campaign you should buy this game if you find it cheap (25$ or less) if you want a good and fun mutiplayer you definetely buy this game and if you enjoy zombies only if you find this game very cheap (10$ or less). Expand
  22. Jan 11, 2013
    10
    I loved call of duty black ops II. well, in general i like the call of duty franchise. But i will admit the multiplayer was disappointing. very good campaign. i give it a 10
  23. Jan 15, 2013
    8
    I was incredibly surprised by Black Ops 2. I went into the campaign expecting a retread of the first game, or maybe a mindless popcorn movie style affair like the Modern Warfare games, but what I got was a game that hearkened back to an earlier era of FPS goodness. Every level felt unique, with some interesting locales on show; there are multiple paths you can take to reach your goal, andI was incredibly surprised by Black Ops 2. I went into the campaign expecting a retread of the first game, or maybe a mindless popcorn movie style affair like the Modern Warfare games, but what I got was a game that hearkened back to an earlier era of FPS goodness. Every level felt unique, with some interesting locales on show; there are multiple paths you can take to reach your goal, and you have a veritable plethora of weapons to choose from at the beginning of each mission, some real, some fictional. Something else that stood out for me was the music; it actually felt like -shock horror- video game music! A far cry from the soulless, generic orchestras of Modern Warfare. There is one segment in particular - I won't spoil anything - that feels more like Doom than Call of Duty, and it's one of the best levels in the entire series.

    The story is above and beyond the normal Call of Duty fare. It explores the themes of over-reliance on technology, how blindly following orders can lead to tragedy, and the foolishness of disproportionate revenge. The main antagonist, Raul Menendez, is a genuinely sympathetic character, though it's clear he's gone off the deep end somewhere down the line. As a matter of fact, the entire cast is pretty colourful apart from one character; the main character, David Mason, is a bit of a milquetoast. It doesn't really feel like he has a personality beyond "Dad died, I'm sad now ;___;". During the course of the campaign the game offers you several choices, some of which aren't immediately apparent. This is an interesting experiment in FPS game design, and honestly it does this better than any "choice-based RPG" released in the past decade.

    I'm not going to talk about multiplayer and zombies much, because I think at it's core Black Ops 2 was intended as a single player game, but here goes. Multiplayer is fun, but it gets boring fast. The new Pick Ten system is a great addition, and League Play ups the ante as far as skill level goes, the new scorestreak system is a vast improvement, but apart from that you'll get what you'd expect from Call of Duty. Shootin' dudes. Zombies I feel lacks a sense of focus; Tranzit just isn't as fun as the previous maps, though Grief Mode is interesting. The new characters aren't as funny as the old cast, but maybe they'll develop them further somewhere down the line.

    To finish, Call of Duty: Black Ops 2 is an excellent game, if we're talking about the campaign. In all other ways it's quite mediocre. You'll get what you'd expect if you're a multiplayer guy, but don't expect anything revolutionary.
    Expand
  24. Jan 22, 2013
    9
    So,I definitely like this game.The campaign is awesome,multiplayer is really balanced,there's no SUPREME WEAPON(S).I'm not a rally big fan of zombies,but I think that's good too.I give this game a 9 because of the moments when i join games in multiplayer where a team is dominating and the other team is just...3-20...
  25. Jan 22, 2013
    10
    Honestly I thought the idea of making Call of Duty in the future would be stupid, but I still gave it a chance. It was an amazing experience, the campaign was more than great, zombies new take was brilliant, and like always the multi-player section was phenomenal. Making your own ending to the main story line is big in video games now a days and that's what made Black Ops' campaign so fun.Honestly I thought the idea of making Call of Duty in the future would be stupid, but I still gave it a chance. It was an amazing experience, the campaign was more than great, zombies new take was brilliant, and like always the multi-player section was phenomenal. Making your own ending to the main story line is big in video games now a days and that's what made Black Ops' campaign so fun. Tranzit the new zombie mode gets more exciting each time, with new weapons and multiple upgrades on guns it truly us revolutionary to zombies. Finally the multi-player is still amazing with new kill streaks and weapons it almost tops MW2's multi-player. All out it was just and amazing game and I can't wait for the first map pack to come out. I bought the season pass, it was worth it. Expand
  26. Jan 25, 2013
    8
    I don't see why this game is getting low user reviews. The new COD is better than it's predecessor, Modern Warfare 3. It has a good storyline, even greater multiplayer and on par with it is Zombies. The low reviews are just haters. This game is an overall great game. Definitely buy it if your into multiplayer.
  27. Jan 27, 2013
    8
    Yup. 8/10 on this one. I would like to start this review by saying to all of you who rated this game horribly: errrrm, what? It's the exact same as the past four bloody Call Of Duty games. The thing that makes Blops 2 stand out is that it's developed by Treyarch. Treyarch always seems to find a way to fit in that extra oomph that Call Of Duty needs, making a more interesting and variedYup. 8/10 on this one. I would like to start this review by saying to all of you who rated this game horribly: errrrm, what? It's the exact same as the past four bloody Call Of Duty games. The thing that makes Blops 2 stand out is that it's developed by Treyarch. Treyarch always seems to find a way to fit in that extra oomph that Call Of Duty needs, making a more interesting and varied experience each year. Now let's look at Infinity Ward... they, of course, made the Modern Warfare series (I vomited in my mouth a little when I said that...) which displays zero innovation every year it is released, and at the same time finds a way to make you hate every character that's in the series in their own special way. But enough rambling about Modern Warfare. Let's get to Black Ops 2.

    I'd like to start with the single player campaign for this review. The single player of Call Of Duty has always been a conflicting area for me. It's usually not good, which gets you a wee bit mad whenever you look at that missing spot where your 60 bucks used to be. At the same time, most people don't buy Call Of Duty games for the campaign, and the devs don't expect you to do so. Multiplayer has always been the focus of CoD. While this game aims to fix some of the problems, which it does so in a reasonable fashion, it also attempts to add an arse load of new unique content. This is an effort that has not been put into CoD for a long time, since Call Of Duty 3 I'd say. This game adds true innovation that hasn't been seen in Call Of Duty for a long time. Another "innovation" of this game is that it has an OK story! Whilst hunting for Menendez, you truly feel like there is a reason to hunt him down. The characters are basic and static, but they're likable enough to want to know what happens next on their path. But enough with the story, yo wants to knows about dem's dying! Yes... so due to Call Of Duty's thrown up and recycled version of ID Tech, the shooting is what you would expect from a Call Of Duty game: nice, easy shooting for a casual shooter fan. The shooting does feel a bit better in this game with the subtle addition of a hit marker in Single Player, which I love. The biggest change to Single Player would be the ability to change your loadout before each and every mission. This is also, in my opinion, the BEST change to CoD I've seen in recent years. If you develop a favorite weapon over the course of the campaign, don't worry! As long as you've made it far enough or completed the right challenge, you can use whatever weapon you please! There's not much more to say about the campaign. Like all CoD campaigns, but with some interesting changes and moments that make it worthwhile to finish. There is limited replay-ability if you want to get the best ending for the cap on the Black Ops series.

    And now... for the Multiplayer. It's essentially Modern Warfare's multiplayer on steroids. Like most CoD games, it displays no innovation of any description. This version shows "deinnovation" (if it's not a word, it is now!) with the multiplayer. Treyarch decided to go back to Modern Warfare weapon level system, whereby you must level up certain weapons in order to get attachments and camo for said weapon. Look, I'm fine with this system, unlocking weapons in order makes logical sense, and camo is nothing but cosmetic. But attachments is where I draw the line. Let's make a scenario here. I'm a level 31, no prestige. I decide I want to switch my custom class's weapon from a PDW to an MP7. I got the idea from using an MP7 with EDTech in the campaign. I get the MP7, then realize I must be a weapon level 13. I proceed to launch myself from my 2-story window. The thing that peeves me most about this, is that the scopes you use do not have an effect on your skill level. It all comes down to personal preference. I can say, for a fact, that none of the scopes are overpowered in any way. It just comes down to what your favorite scope is. Mine personally is a PDW with no scope, fast mag and a suppressor. Again, that's my preference. I couldn't have that if I just started to use a new weapon. Grrr... they should have just stuck with the CoD points system...

    I won't go into Zombies, it's exactly like the old zombies. I feel they removed some of the character from it by taking out distinguishable characters, but it's still an extremely fun game mode.

    Overall, Black Ops 2 is a worthy successor to its previous title, if a bit less imaginative. Still, if you're a Call Of Duty fan, or even if you're not, you still will enjoy yourself with this game's refreshing casual and easy shooting style. Plus, there's not much you can do if you give this game a bad rating. Treyarch will be laughing all the way to the bloody bank with their biggest commercial release of 2012.
    Expand
  28. Feb 3, 2013
    8
    I really think that COD Black Ops II is the best game in the series by far. The creators have really dug down and tweaked a lot of things that I wasn't really happy with in the first Black Ops. I like the new features that they have added to the multiplayer portion of the game, and have little complaints towards things that they could work towards in future games.
  29. Mar 29, 2013
    8
    As a newer fan of the COD series, I am not really in tune with this series so I don't know a lot about it. But what I will say is that it could be a lot worse here people, it could. I have no complaints with the campaign or with zombies, but the problem is really with the multiplayer. I have had several instances were I was in the middle of a game and wound up losing connection andAs a newer fan of the COD series, I am not really in tune with this series so I don't know a lot about it. But what I will say is that it could be a lot worse here people, it could. I have no complaints with the campaign or with zombies, but the problem is really with the multiplayer. I have had several instances were I was in the middle of a game and wound up losing connection and getting kicked out of games. Another problem I have with it is that I would try to join a friend and could rarely join them in a lobby(if at all!) and would have to have them leave the lobby and then join them. Overall, I give it an 8/10 because it has problems with the multiplayer but it could be much, much, worse. Expand
  30. Apr 26, 2013
    8
    Really fun game! First Call of Duty I've owned and played, didn't play a lot of campaign, only tiny bit of first mission,loved the multiplayer, but it did have occasional connection errors and lag, but not too bad. They did a great thing with the zombies! I played original black ops with friends and family, but this one is way better (talking only about green run, hardly played die rise) IReally fun game! First Call of Duty I've owned and played, didn't play a lot of campaign, only tiny bit of first mission,loved the multiplayer, but it did have occasional connection errors and lag, but not too bad. They did a great thing with the zombies! I played original black ops with friends and family, but this one is way better (talking only about green run, hardly played die rise) I am a huge fan of Tranzit, first zombie mode I always think to play. Occasional lag and bugs aside, still a fun game! 8 out of 10! Expand
  31. Nov 14, 2012
    0
    I gave this game a 9 because too many are bashing this game. I mean really what did you expect a next gen game that's not even possible until the new consoles arrive and even then it will have to be tweaked before we have a game that runs as smooth as COD titles. They are similar but I have played only multiplayer and I believe it is the best and most balanced online experience I've hadI gave this game a 9 because too many are bashing this game. I mean really what did you expect a next gen game that's not even possible until the new consoles arrive and even then it will have to be tweaked before we have a game that runs as smooth as COD titles. They are similar but I have played only multiplayer and I believe it is the best and most balanced online experience I've had with any COD lightyears beyond MW3 which I liked as well. If you hate COD why do you buy it every year? I'm a BF fan as well but I don't get bored as quick with CoD. They are different games all together with a unique feel to each. I believe CoD games are either loved or hated but it is still good. Stop buying it but I really want all you noobs to keep getting it so I can shred you guys up and help my stats. I don't care about team play if no one else does because I mute all anyways. Campaign I'm sure sucks and I'll just play for the trophies. The zombies I really never got into even on the first game I'll give it a try but I don't think it will draw me in too much. One last thing that I do like about Cod is they don't charge you for a ten dollars just to play online like most games these days and that matters to me because I have two PS3s and I hate to always have to pay for a pass for my son. So get and just have fun or sell it and don't buy the products anymore. It is obviously a great franchise just look at the sales and the need for some to hate it. I love it gets a 9 from me just for the multiplayer. JUST HAVE FUN!! Hit me up my username on here is the same as my PSN ID Collapse
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Play UK
    Jan 12, 2013
    80
    One of the most complete, albeit shaky, packages the series has ever seen. [Issue#226, p.68]
  2. Jan 3, 2013
    90
    While the campaign length is fairly standard of past iterations of the series, it's worth multiple playthroughs and the multiplayer offers endless hours of fun and enjoyment; whether it's slaying zombies or facing off against other players in a wide range of multiplayer modes with an endless number of loadout combinations.
  3. PSM3 Magazine UK
    Dec 23, 2012
    78
    Worth checking out for online and the sci-fi novelty value alone. [Jan 2013, p.95]