User Score
5.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 834 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 12, 2014
    3
    Complete and utter rubbish. The main multiplayer mechanics are broken and don't work properly. The hit detection is poor resulting in shoot first die first, the camara angles are out of sync resulting in invisible player models and the spawns are terrible. Especially in Domination. Only reason I didn't give this game a 0/10 is cause of the zombies. Not as good as World at War and Black OpsComplete and utter rubbish. The main multiplayer mechanics are broken and don't work properly. The hit detection is poor resulting in shoot first die first, the camara angles are out of sync resulting in invisible player models and the spawns are terrible. Especially in Domination. Only reason I didn't give this game a 0/10 is cause of the zombies. Not as good as World at War and Black Ops 1 zombies but it's the best thing the game has to offer. Expand
  2. Feb 23, 2015
    3
    Campaign is actually somewhat nice, as you can make decisions which influences the outcome of the game. But other than the game is crap. This was the last Call of Duty I ever bought. The graphics are becoming outdated and the Multiplayer is complete crap. Zombies is the only thing that kept me playing this game.
  3. Sep 18, 2013
    2
    Where Rockstar's Grand Theft Auto series keeps improving and revolutionising the open-world genre with hot new releases, Activision's Call of Duty franchise has shunned and abandoned the shooter games by releasing mediocre after mediocre games that spawned from a once good series starting with Modern Warfare.

    Everything in the game feels lacklustre and I can't believe the critics giving
    Where Rockstar's Grand Theft Auto series keeps improving and revolutionising the open-world genre with hot new releases, Activision's Call of Duty franchise has shunned and abandoned the shooter games by releasing mediocre after mediocre games that spawned from a once good series starting with Modern Warfare.

    Everything in the game feels lacklustre and I can't believe the critics giving the game a 9/10 or a 8/10, guess they just like the same crap every year with slightly better graphics. Shooting mechanics have improved and so has the story but that doesn't save 3 hours of boring campaign missions, terrible net code and lack of fidelity that makes everything feel disjointed. If you're gonna come back from Black Ops 1, you gotta bring your best. Not this unpolished, lazy mess of a game!
    Expand
  4. Nov 13, 2012
    2
    this game is not fun. i personally don't care i am not buying any more call of duty games. this is the final straw MW3 then this. this is absolute horse crap. the graphics are so bad that i feel like it is the same as the original modern warfare. i loved the original black ops too. the gameplay is about as bad as MW3's with no good new features. and the multiplayer is buggy laggy and justthis game is not fun. i personally don't care i am not buying any more call of duty games. this is the final straw MW3 then this. this is absolute horse crap. the graphics are so bad that i feel like it is the same as the original modern warfare. i loved the original black ops too. the gameplay is about as bad as MW3's with no good new features. and the multiplayer is buggy laggy and just impossible to deal with. being randomly disconnected is a pain. then if you try and play in a group it doesn't work because you can't join lobbies for some reason. i don't think this game should have the privilege of being released. it's not fun to play and is just plain bad. im going to return this tomorrow. this is where i draw the line. Expand
  5. Dec 8, 2012
    2
    I was expecting some improvement in the multiplayer. Nope. After playing Halo I, thought MW2's multiplayer was bad because of lag. Now I see that MW2 handles the best of the entire COD series. Treyarch/Black Ops has always been worse...from World at War, Black Ops and now Black Ops 2. They've done nothing to improve the way their system handles network lag and hit detection. The game isI was expecting some improvement in the multiplayer. Nope. After playing Halo I, thought MW2's multiplayer was bad because of lag. Now I see that MW2 handles the best of the entire COD series. Treyarch/Black Ops has always been worse...from World at War, Black Ops and now Black Ops 2. They've done nothing to improve the way their system handles network lag and hit detection. The game is an exercise in frustration. Time to sell the game and buy a cinder block for me to beat my head against, I'll get a similar level of enjoyment and have $50. Expand
  6. Nov 15, 2012
    2
    One of the biggest draws for Black Ops 2, zombies, has been completely and utterly ruined. Tranzit is horrible... If you're only going to buy Black Ops 2 for zombies, then don't because you will be sorely disappointed.
  7. Nov 17, 2012
    2
    I borrowed this game from my cousin, after he got sick of it. The campaign is typical, what you would expect from these games, one thing that bothered me is that the game looked rough, considering it runs on an old engine, I know graphics doesnt make the game but its 2012, the ps3 is capable of over 200flops, and i want a game to look the part. I really lucked out on not buying this game.I borrowed this game from my cousin, after he got sick of it. The campaign is typical, what you would expect from these games, one thing that bothered me is that the game looked rough, considering it runs on an old engine, I know graphics doesnt make the game but its 2012, the ps3 is capable of over 200flops, and i want a game to look the part. I really lucked out on not buying this game. I just want cutting edge experience from my games and all we got this year was hype, gimmicks and bad endings. Where did the heart go? Expand
  8. Nov 19, 2012
    2
    Coming this winter, from the folks who just can't take a hint, it's Call of Duty: Black Ops II! The multiplayer is exactly the same as before, yet somehow been made worse than before! The morons over at Activision and Treyarch have somehow taken the laziest kind of FPS on the market, and become the Beavis and Butthead of it. I'm sorry, but I'm tired of being handed the exact same thingComing this winter, from the folks who just can't take a hint, it's Call of Duty: Black Ops II! The multiplayer is exactly the same as before, yet somehow been made worse than before! The morons over at Activision and Treyarch have somehow taken the laziest kind of FPS on the market, and become the Beavis and Butthead of it. I'm sorry, but I'm tired of being handed the exact same thing every year that's somehow progressively worse each time. With Ghost only unlockable at the last level, it's frontline-on-frontline, with little or no chance of flanking or stealth. This is what happens when a game company caters to whiny little kids and those with an IQ lower than 40 who know nothing except the traditional Ulysses S. Grant cavalry charge that's been failing AI enemies since the 90's. But now it's somehow mandated. Run and gun, or die trying. There is no other option now. These are the same people who complain about campers, in a series that already has a wide array of tools for weeding out campers. Flashbangs, grenades, launchers of both kinds, and -- god forbid -- actually CHECKING your corners. I do it all the time. But now, those of us who genuinely want to use flanking and stealth just get left in the dust. The game also feels like it was geared only towards people who've been around long enough, so I can't see how anyone new to the FPS genre would enjoy this game. To its credit, the campaign is somewhat passable, as you can actually pick your loadout before each mission. But once again, the campaign was too short, and I beat it in under a day. This is a series where multiplayer is the main focus. Here's one player who's selling the game back for a full refund before the receipt expires, probably the last chance I'm giving Call of Duty. Whether they keep recycling the same crap every year is dependent on whether you guys finally stop falling for it. If you played this game, you've been had, badly. Expand
  9. Dec 29, 2012
    2
    It's a Treyarch game so I kind of know what to expect. No subtlety whatsoever, just bigger guns and more enemies to shoot. You end up not caring about the single player mission because you haven't a clue most of the time where you're being shot from. The story isn't ever that interesting tbh, just the normal bad guy blah blah blah. Accuracy is not there, you unload a load bullets to findIt's a Treyarch game so I kind of know what to expect. No subtlety whatsoever, just bigger guns and more enemies to shoot. You end up not caring about the single player mission because you haven't a clue most of the time where you're being shot from. The story isn't ever that interesting tbh, just the normal bad guy blah blah blah. Accuracy is not there, you unload a load bullets to find you're not even taking anyone down. The multiplayer isn't much better. As already been said you can unload an entire clip into someone to find they turn around and just blast you, with a pistol, with 2 bullets. The lobby system when trying to join people is horrendous. It says you can join only to be told its either full or an error for 90% of the time. When you do get a party together it's pot luck if they all make it into a game or not. Until they balance the weapons and sort the lobby system out then its flawed in a massive way. But then again I shouldn't have expected more from Treyarch. Infinity ward games have class, subtlety and a mission you get genuinely engrossed in. This has none of that. Period. Expand
  10. Nov 13, 2012
    2
    This franchise has not changed it fundamentals ever, just same old every year.
    Even as they make billions they spend nothing to improve the games, graphics are old, sound is bad, gameplay is just broken in today's market. 2012
    My last COD ever, fool me once...
  11. Jan 2, 2013
    2
    at first i gave this game a 5/ 10 but now it's a 2/10, the campaign is short and dissapointing, you can finish it in a day, the graphics are practically the same with some minor changes, if you see a comparative video oin youtube about mw3 and bo2 you will not notice the difference, the zombies was 1000000 better in bo1, it was funnier and way more hardcore, tranzit is good, but grief andat first i gave this game a 5/ 10 but now it's a 2/10, the campaign is short and dissapointing, you can finish it in a day, the graphics are practically the same with some minor changes, if you see a comparative video oin youtube about mw3 and bo2 you will not notice the difference, the zombies was 1000000 better in bo1, it was funnier and way more hardcore, tranzit is good, but grief and survival were pretty dissapointing, especially because the maps are so small, the multiplayer is so damn unbalanced, lag compensation will make 60% of the bullets you thought you hit to not hit and it just favors players with smg's and shotguns, it is also a camper paradise, the spawn system is crap too, most of the time you will spawn directly into bullets, the maps are so stupid too, they are as small as treyarch's brain, please save your money and don't buy this piece of **** game Expand
  12. Jan 9, 2013
    2
    200 bland minigames tied together with good graphics and an incomprehensible plot. Enemy (and friendly) AI is the worst I can remember since... hmmm... nope, worst I can remember.

    ... to be fair, the number 200 was pulled out of a hat. I only got through maybe 30 of em before calling it a duty.
  13. Nov 25, 2012
    2
    This game just plain sucks... Has a bunch of freezing problems and people of course yelling at each other every game I go into or else it would be a background mic. I first played the campaign I thought that was ok but when I was almost done with the campaign my screen just turned black so guess what I had to do...RESTART MY PS3. So I booted it back up and I HAD TO RESTART THE WHOLEThis game just plain sucks... Has a bunch of freezing problems and people of course yelling at each other every game I go into or else it would be a background mic. I first played the campaign I thought that was ok but when I was almost done with the campaign my screen just turned black so guess what I had to do...RESTART MY PS3. So I booted it back up and I HAD TO RESTART THE WHOLE MISSION AGAIN!!!!!! The multiplayer of course has a bunch of kids, people yelling at each other or background mics for everygame I go into. Multiplayer gameplay is really the same I had a bunch of freezing problems at the loading screen so more restarting the PS3.....Multiplayer just plain sucks now. The multiplayer also has a bunch of lag compensation so i would put it on best. You would still find it on best connection...Zombies is terrible it has more freezing problems then the multiplayer. But the zombies is ok so thats why I gave my score a 2 for good campaign and zombies gameplay. This series needs to die so bad. COD 4 is still the best with good campaign and multiplayer and never wants me to rage on that game. Treyarch you failed on a very popular game series. Expand
  14. Jan 6, 2013
    2
    I'm going to be honest, do not buy this game unless you pay £10, its good for a tenner but other than that it
  15. Nov 15, 2012
    2
    Can't believe I fell for it again... I really thought treyarch would put out a new game with up to date graphics but apparently they're not interested. I think this is a game I would have loved 5 years ago, but not today, not with other fps games that are 10x more graphically advanced.
  16. Jan 2, 2013
    2
    This game gets a 2/10 because is unplayable, why you ask? well 1 simple answer for 1 simple question... LAG! horrible, game breaking LAG! I jump to the COD wagon (MP wise) with MW2, had some fun so decided to buy BO1, because hey the first one was really entertaining so why not this one, so BO1 still a fun game, some LAG issues here and there but my friends were playing it so what theThis game gets a 2/10 because is unplayable, why you ask? well 1 simple answer for 1 simple question... LAG! horrible, game breaking LAG! I jump to the COD wagon (MP wise) with MW2, had some fun so decided to buy BO1, because hey the first one was really entertaining so why not this one, so BO1 still a fun game, some LAG issues here and there but my friends were playing it so what the hell, MW3 I wited until the honeymoon ended to see that hooker's real face and it was ugly as hell, so awful I jumped to BF3 and didn't look back, now we had this so called "NEW GAME" and F*CK is as awful as the other ones. You can think anything you want, but truth be told I gave that abomination a chance, and had the worst day playing of my life, I started to scream at the TV so loud the neighbors thought I was killing someone. finally that same day I played Zombies for a change and got disconnected 2 times just a couple of minutes after entering into the lobby, the third time I finally got a party to play with and played for about 20 mins, you know why I didn't continue playing after that? because it disconnected me again, because the HOST LEFT! that's right NO DEDICATED SERVERS! So no COD for me EVER AGAIN! I'm glad I borrowed from a friend and not bought it like the rest. No SP review here just played like 40 min of it and decided that doing anything else was more worthwhile, like taking a nap or cutting my toe nails. Expand
  17. Nov 14, 2012
    2
    Another mindless abomination of a 'game' that makes no improvements in gameplay over any other FPS game. I don't understand how people still put up with having to buy the next iteration of CoD to be able to have a large playerbase each and every year for the same premium price. I've played through the single player as well as multiplayer and there is nothing noticeably different at all asAnother mindless abomination of a 'game' that makes no improvements in gameplay over any other FPS game. I don't understand how people still put up with having to buy the next iteration of CoD to be able to have a large playerbase each and every year for the same premium price. I've played through the single player as well as multiplayer and there is nothing noticeably different at all as well as the most cliched storyline that could possibly be produced. Don't buy this game. Expand
  18. Nov 16, 2012
    2
    Poor linear offering, with nothing new to offer and tired format, what new additions there are only detract from the experience, going to trade fro Farcry 3, never again
  19. Nov 18, 2012
    2
    I bought this game hoping it would impress me but I had a other feeling that I new it was going to be like the first one. The zombies is OK but i don't get the storyline. Also they jumped the gun all the way to 2025.
    Thats a little far fetched to me. What im trying to say is it is the same thing every year. I will be honest I don't think call of duty is going to last much longer. I'm
    I bought this game hoping it would impress me but I had a other feeling that I new it was going to be like the first one. The zombies is OK but i don't get the storyline. Also they jumped the gun all the way to 2025.
    Thats a little far fetched to me. What im trying to say is it is the same thing every year. I will be honest I don't think call of duty is going to last much longer. I'm not impressed by this game and I got caught in there scam of the same thing every year.
    Expand
  20. Nov 30, 2012
    2
    WARNING! SAME OLE GARBAGE! I bought black ops 2 hardened edition, damn did I waste my money. Returned within a week and picked up Far Cry 3 which is exceptionally AMAZING!!! Yes there are new weapons, so what? that doesn't make up for the lack of creativity. Most of the time, it felt like the game was playing itself. It's ok when CoD uses quicktime events but Medal of Honor can't. ClearlyWARNING! SAME OLE GARBAGE! I bought black ops 2 hardened edition, damn did I waste my money. Returned within a week and picked up Far Cry 3 which is exceptionally AMAZING!!! Yes there are new weapons, so what? that doesn't make up for the lack of creativity. Most of the time, it felt like the game was playing itself. It's ok when CoD uses quicktime events but Medal of Honor can't. Clearly the reviews were biased toward CoD. The graphics on zombies for PS3, are terrible! to say the least. The campaign looks better, the story is interesting but the game play has no imagination. It linear in every way possible. You'll have options in 2 to 3 missions but the rest just plays out how the developer planned it. Expand
  21. Dec 8, 2012
    2
    While this game has a admittedly good story for it' s single player campaign I'm very hesitant to call the multiplayer of this game anything short of terrible. I absolutely felt let down with this title after having played several previous titles in the series and while there is a slight fun factor the problems weigh it down severally! Some of the most common issues are things like LagWhile this game has a admittedly good story for it' s single player campaign I'm very hesitant to call the multiplayer of this game anything short of terrible. I absolutely felt let down with this title after having played several previous titles in the series and while there is a slight fun factor the problems weigh it down severally! Some of the most common issues are things like Lag compensation,head glitching, and weapon imbalance issues that for some reason Activision refuses to fix. Had these issues been resolved or at the very least lessened the game may have been more enjoyable for me but sadly they were not. If Activision is going to insist on releasing the same sort of game every year they should at least address some of the major problems that plague the series which as of now they still refuse to do. I would recommend doing as i did and rent this game if your unsure of it's quality or if you insist on buying it get it used at a later date. While the single player has a good story and may justify a purchase for some for me this game is far from being worth the full price of $60 Expand
  22. Jun 18, 2013
    2
    As a trend, the modern call of duty games have always had a lightning strike sense of pacing, mixed with a general disinterest in player agency. Games are a fundamentally interactive medium, one where participation on the part of the player crafts the experience, and this is a point black ops 2 has missed. The main failing, as it goes, is its incessant handing the player tools or equipmentAs a trend, the modern call of duty games have always had a lightning strike sense of pacing, mixed with a general disinterest in player agency. Games are a fundamentally interactive medium, one where participation on the part of the player crafts the experience, and this is a point black ops 2 has missed. The main failing, as it goes, is its incessant handing the player tools or equipment before showing of a few set pieces and sending them to the next toy. It cant maintain focus long enough to engage on any level with the player. The review is a 2, however, because at least until the next call of duty hits shelves, the multiplayer is as well designed as is expected for these games. What changes they do make add quite a bit to the flow and customization options, where the map pathing is put together to create an incentive to move continuously, making the games as fast as intended. However, when the next call of duty comes out, the multiplayer will inevitably die out, and as such cannot weigh heavily on a purchase of a 60 USD game. what few advances this title makes are not enough to redeem the unfocused and unengaging series. Expand
  23. Jan 15, 2013
    2
    Don't get me wrong it's playable, but this game just is not worth 89 dollars. The campaign still has the same problems as the last games, full of action movie cliches, boring set pieces and forgettable characters. The only real reason to buy this game would be if you had friends that play it online, even though the fanbase is full of mic spamming underage kidss. But that reason alone doesDon't get me wrong it's playable, but this game just is not worth 89 dollars. The campaign still has the same problems as the last games, full of action movie cliches, boring set pieces and forgettable characters. The only real reason to buy this game would be if you had friends that play it online, even though the fanbase is full of mic spamming underage kidss. But that reason alone does not make it worth 89 dollars, or 160 if you get the season pass. Do not buy this game if you do not have friends that play it or you do not have a good online connection. Expand
  24. Feb 19, 2013
    2
    Lag Compensation kills Multiplayer. If you havent heard of it its the framerate/timeframe when your shooting enemies it gives them a chance to kill you even if you have already been shooting them.
  25. Jan 28, 2013
    2
    Being one of a dozen people who play the singleplayer, I was shocked at how much they mucked up the whole Black Ops storyline. The only time I actually enjoyed this game was playing one on one gun game with my friend(on splitscreen). Turn to multiplayer and you're just asking for a profanity laced speech from a 10 year-old anti-Semite.
  26. Jul 15, 2014
    2
    Is 2014, and this game still sucks like sh**.

    Campaign? Good, I think, but short. Multiplayer? Terrible, lag, unbalanced weapons and the worst community. Zombies? Wants to be like L4D (with crappy stuff) and... fails. Graphics? Please rip off your eyes. Gameplay? Still being the same. Fun? If you are fanboy, buy it and have sex with it... but if you are a FPS fan...
    Is 2014, and this game still sucks like sh**.

    Campaign? Good, I think, but short.

    Multiplayer? Terrible, lag, unbalanced weapons and the worst community.

    Zombies? Wants to be like L4D (with crappy stuff) and... fails.

    Graphics? Please rip off your eyes.

    Gameplay? Still being the same.

    Fun? If you are fanboy, buy it and have sex with it...

    but if you are a FPS fan... no... just, no.
    Expand
  27. Nov 13, 2012
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. You knew it, we all knew it, even they knew it!! Haha finally even the fanboys admit it, COD is dead. Those of us who have had the games from the very first , who can remember the pc cod 2 and its glorious entrance and even MW before that got horribly messed up in Mw2- the glory days are over. COD I salute you- but like that old warhorse you loved it's time to lead it down the path to the barn and put your gun to your shoulder, say your last goodbye, and with something like sorrow out the barrel to its head and put it out of its misery. Thanks for everything cod, it's a shame you didn't go out in style. This game is the cenotaph, the ugly reminder of what should never have been, surpassed by so many and now consigned to mediocrity. For those of you who bought it, for shame- you surely saw Bo and realised that unless you were 12 with ADHD this game was nothing like its predecessor? Surely you saw the signs. Thank god I didn't pay for it, what a fitting reminder of how the mighty can fall. Sleep well now cod, and god bless. Xx Expand
  28. Nov 19, 2012
    1
    Black Ops sucked ass. Black Ops 2 also sucks ass. Every time that Treyarch gets a game they screw it up. Infinity Ward don't get it perfect by any means, but COD4 is still the best of the bunch. This game will always sell well but for the next game I.W. really need to pull their socks up and give us something new and different.
  29. Nov 13, 2012
    1
    This time COD has shipped with an insurmountable number of bugs in both singleplayer and multiplayer. I have had to restart my playstation numerous times due to freezes and have had to deal with disconnects/lag with common occurrence. All the "new additions" are overhyped and do not even impact gameplay greatly along with the "futuristic" setting. To be honest we need to stop buying thisThis time COD has shipped with an insurmountable number of bugs in both singleplayer and multiplayer. I have had to restart my playstation numerous times due to freezes and have had to deal with disconnects/lag with common occurrence. All the "new additions" are overhyped and do not even impact gameplay greatly along with the "futuristic" setting. To be honest we need to stop buying this yearly cash grab it's not getting better that's for sure Expand
  30. Nov 22, 2012
    1
    This game is meh. With the addition of an zombie campaign, it adds to a more in depth experience. But that is about it. Campaign is unbearably dumbed down. Multiplayer is just the normal stuff. What would have really made this game good is a new graphics engine. But i guess if people keep buying it, activision will keep spooning this crap into our mouths. Thanks for the better zombieThis game is meh. With the addition of an zombie campaign, it adds to a more in depth experience. But that is about it. Campaign is unbearably dumbed down. Multiplayer is just the normal stuff. What would have really made this game good is a new graphics engine. But i guess if people keep buying it, activision will keep spooning this crap into our mouths. Thanks for the better zombie mode. Maybe i won't trade this one in , in just 2 weeks like i did MW3. Expand
  31. Nov 18, 2012
    1
    They cut out all the gore from the SP-campaign, the german sync is the worst I experienced for a long time (without being able to switch it to original in the AT-Version) and the graphics are incredibly poor for todays standards (Shadows are sometimes shown in big squares, grass looks poor, animations look strange etc). Story is boring as hell and in the end its just a playable multiplayerThey cut out all the gore from the SP-campaign, the german sync is the worst I experienced for a long time (without being able to switch it to original in the AT-Version) and the graphics are incredibly poor for todays standards (Shadows are sometimes shown in big squares, grass looks poor, animations look strange etc). Story is boring as hell and in the end its just a playable multiplayer left with nothing more than a good class-editor. Damn, treyarch really messed up the sequel of the more atmospheric Black Ops 1. Update: I'm more ****** than before. Treyarch reset my online-stats with the latest patch, THX ALOT! Next thing is, that I finally ended the campaign-mode, started a new one and now I am not allowed to replay the all missions to get the missed trophies. This really makes me sick, I am going to resell it the next days. Has treyarch ever tested this game and thought: Oh no, this won't **** anyone off? Expand
  32. Nov 13, 2012
    1
    This game is just awful. I really wanted to get into it, but I just couldn't. It's the same tired formula they used in black ops, and it's even less enjoyable than mw3. The single player campaign is awful, the game gives you auto-aim, so you don't even have to try when playing, and it still uses the same engine it's been using for so many years now. Call of Duty has essentially been turnedThis game is just awful. I really wanted to get into it, but I just couldn't. It's the same tired formula they used in black ops, and it's even less enjoyable than mw3. The single player campaign is awful, the game gives you auto-aim, so you don't even have to try when playing, and it still uses the same engine it's been using for so many years now. Call of Duty has essentially been turned into a $100 per year subscription service. If you value the video game industry and are tired of being taken advantage of, stop giving in and play games that are actually GOOD for a change. Expand
  33. Nov 14, 2012
    1
    The game is annoying for me. Every time I start a game I keep getting asked to confirm the settings for brightness, volume and screen resolution. I keep getting kicked from the match due to connection and then Im given a 5 mins probation time out. Right now I get a server error when i try to search for a public match. I really hate these BO games and I cant wait for MW4 now.
  34. Nov 17, 2012
    1
    Tired of it ! This game is not even an update ! Nor a downgrade, it is just the same as all the call of duty's since COD 4 !! Time to change guys ! This million business must stop !! This is starting to be like FIFA !! Graphics same, gameplay same, new guns are camo's of old guns .. luckily the maps are a bit different and futuristic (they have too, I think they squeezed every single spotTired of it ! This game is not even an update ! Nor a downgrade, it is just the same as all the call of duty's since COD 4 !! Time to change guys ! This million business must stop !! This is starting to be like FIFA !! Graphics same, gameplay same, new guns are camo's of old guns .. luckily the maps are a bit different and futuristic (they have too, I think they squeezed every single spot on the planet, let's go alien style ! ) What's next ? Call Of Duty: Alien Warfare Expand
  35. Nov 17, 2012
    1
    I am terribly disapointed in Trearch, Activision, and Sony for allowing a game that is this broken to be released on the PS3. There are numerous problems with textures, match making, and lag. However, the crowning achievement is the fact that many players can't even play any game mode for more than ten minutes without their system crashing. The fact that this game was certified for sale isI am terribly disapointed in Trearch, Activision, and Sony for allowing a game that is this broken to be released on the PS3. There are numerous problems with textures, match making, and lag. However, the crowning achievement is the fact that many players can't even play any game mode for more than ten minutes without their system crashing. The fact that this game was certified for sale is absurd and borderline criminal. I can only hope that the FTC does something to stop companies like Activision and Bethesda from releasing unfinished games in the future. Expand
  36. Nov 20, 2012
    1
    Ok... As a long time fan of all the COD games I am in a position to judge this as good as any. I spent most of the last week playing this game in the hope it might grow on me. Sadly it hasn't. In my opinion the worst COD to date.
    This game has 2 modes... Sub machine gun and charge. Or quick scope. I had a KD ratio around 2:1 which is decent and almost on prestige 2 so I put enough time
    Ok... As a long time fan of all the COD games I am in a position to judge this as good as any. I spent most of the last week playing this game in the hope it might grow on me. Sadly it hasn't. In my opinion the worst COD to date.
    This game has 2 modes... Sub machine gun and charge. Or quick scope. I had a KD ratio around 2:1 which is decent and almost on prestige 2 so I put enough time into it. It's a huge disappointment with the variety of gameplay reduced to that of Quake. Hardcore has only a few options. Team based gameplay has been whacked with the 'new ghost' making a tense slow game impossible, forcing a run and gun even in HC modes.
    That's just the gameplay, I haven't even mentioned the lag, bugs or freezes it causes.

    Tomorrow I will take it back for a refund. Betrayarch you can kiss my A**
    Expand
  37. Dec 13, 2012
    1
    Honestly the last call of duty MW3 was pulled down the graphic quality and the new that has come to me the only thing that has been gained in sales zombie mode because the single player is very short and the multiplayer is the same **** always
  38. Dec 25, 2012
    1
    If I reviewed this game alot earlier when I got it the score will be alot higher. Sadly the game dispointed me completely. How does a game like this get released for PS3 when all it does for me is freeze up my system at the loading movies everytime making me have to hard reset my PS3. I'm guess I count myself lucky that it haven't killed my Slim PS3 yet. From what I was able to play of itIf I reviewed this game alot earlier when I got it the score will be alot higher. Sadly the game dispointed me completely. How does a game like this get released for PS3 when all it does for me is freeze up my system at the loading movies everytime making me have to hard reset my PS3. I'm guess I count myself lucky that it haven't killed my Slim PS3 yet. From what I was able to play of it before all these problems came up I loved expect MP cause of the lag from heck. Story was somewhat believable with everything that was going on it. Little hard to follow if you don't under politics or anything like that. Love the zombie mode huge maps, greif everything. But stay the hell away cause they is a good chance if you play this your PS3 will do nothing but freeze and crash damaging it. Even if you baby your system like I do. I'm out 110 dollars for this crap. I loved MW2, Loved black ops 1, Hate MW3 to death, and this I can't even form a words for how mess up this is. Are they going to refund my money to me if I demand it doubtful ? Best thing for ppl to do is to stop buying these games all togather. Let Activison die. Expand
  39. Dec 28, 2012
    1
    The only reason this game gets a 1 is for the campaign. I bought BLOPS2 for the multiplayer. Its horrible. You will unload a clip into someone and not kill them. You will get hit with 2 bullets and drop. The maps funnel everyone together, which is fine accept you spawn in front of enemies. Enemies spawn behind you. Simply put, this is a terrible game. They have had 6 times to get thisThe only reason this game gets a 1 is for the campaign. I bought BLOPS2 for the multiplayer. Its horrible. You will unload a clip into someone and not kill them. You will get hit with 2 bullets and drop. The maps funnel everyone together, which is fine accept you spawn in front of enemies. Enemies spawn behind you. Simply put, this is a terrible game. They have had 6 times to get this correct and it is no where close. Expand
  40. Jan 8, 2013
    1
    I buy it the day of the release and let me tell you, this game is garbage! Call of duty Black ops 2 is the worst game ever to release. The Campaign is half-good and half-bad but nobody care about the Campaign in recent COD games anyway. The choice in the Campaign you make is nothing new. Picking weapons to bring with you on the mission is nothing new, but the first COD game to feature it.I buy it the day of the release and let me tell you, this game is garbage! Call of duty Black ops 2 is the worst game ever to release. The Campaign is half-good and half-bad but nobody care about the Campaign in recent COD games anyway. The choice in the Campaign you make is nothing new. Picking weapons to bring with you on the mission is nothing new, but the first COD game to feature it. Why would they put the strategy levels in the game that is so boring, pointless, & impossible?! The multiplayer is so broken& Cluster that is reach you to point that your ready to break the disc in half. Spawn campers, Campers, small map, overused smg, Team mate that suck at teamwork, unbalanced weapons, bouncing Betty, Shock charger, Quickscopers (no respect for sniper in COD), Lag, Lag comp, host advantage, dropshoters, hit marker inaccurate, Favor people with poor connection, League play (not a game for competitive), Hacker,spawn system terrible, freezes people PS3s including mine, & scoresteak (taking from MW3 support steak, before MW3, Homefront has it & Medal of Honor 2010 has it before even infintiy ward had the idea). Zombles get boring real fast and no form of reward for solving easter egg or for defeating zombles. Not a fan of COD zombles, but if i want a real zomble games, our go & play Dead Island or Left 4 dead or even early Resident Evil games. Overall stay away from this game and get a better game other than call of duty. Treyarch & Activision, your the abomination to gaming industry. You don't care about your customers that complain about your game & not fixing the game that your customers demanding, you all about money. Don't listen to other major reviewers like IGN because they are lier and pay by activision to give this game a high score. Have a great day! Expand
  41. Feb 1, 2013
    1
    Since COD4 I have been complaining about all the COD's I have bought. However, no matter how much I complained, these games were all still playable. This is the first COD that I can't enjoy. The only fun part for me was Tranzit. Yet, once you figure it out and have to kill yourself to end the game it is rather boring. I thought maybe setting a goal like getting to the final prestigeSince COD4 I have been complaining about all the COD's I have bought. However, no matter how much I complained, these games were all still playable. This is the first COD that I can't enjoy. The only fun part for me was Tranzit. Yet, once you figure it out and have to kill yourself to end the game it is rather boring. I thought maybe setting a goal like getting to the final prestige or getting diamond weapons would make it more fun. Unfortunately, a bunch of little kids hacked the game to get all these and Treyarch did nothing about it. So....waste of 60 bucks Expand
  42. Nov 23, 2014
    1
    This **** is just a joke. **** maps, **** players, **** weapons. Is the same **** time and time again and you just want to stop playing more than keep playing.
  43. Dec 29, 2012
    0
    Unbalanced multiplayer, mediocre campaign, and overall terrible community. Activision really should've spent more time creating this, especially when it's such a "high-profile AAA" game.
  44. Dec 6, 2012
    0
    The campaign is 6.5/10.

    The Multiplayer is - 6.5/10. Spawn killing, lag switching, team killing, boosting, aimbots (yes, there are, deniers), lag so horrendous that even the best connection runs 1-2 seconds behind everyone else. You'd think that a company that just made ONE BILLION DOLLARS in 15 days off of this, PLUS the BILLIONS off of the last several, that they'd care enough
    The campaign is 6.5/10.

    The Multiplayer is - 6.5/10.

    Spawn killing, lag switching, team killing, boosting, aimbots (yes, there are, deniers), lag so horrendous that even the best connection runs 1-2 seconds behind everyone else.

    You'd think that a company that just made ONE BILLION DOLLARS in 15 days off of this, PLUS the BILLIONS off of the last several, that they'd care enough to fix it: NOPE, they already have your money.

    "HA HA" - Nelson
    Expand
  45. Nov 13, 2012
    0
    This game is just awful. I really wanted to get into it, but I just couldn't. It's the same tired formula they used in black ops, and it's even less enjoyable than mw3. The single player campaign is awful, the game gives you auto-aim, so you don't even have to try when playing, and it still uses the same engine it's been using for so many years now. Call of Duty has essentially been turnedThis game is just awful. I really wanted to get into it, but I just couldn't. It's the same tired formula they used in black ops, and it's even less enjoyable than mw3. The single player campaign is awful, the game gives you auto-aim, so you don't even have to try when playing, and it still uses the same engine it's been using for so many years now. Call of Duty has essentially been turned into a medicore cash cow over the years, shame. Expand
  46. Nov 13, 2012
    0
    This is the worst game i have ever played, why did they ruin this series!!!!!!! I used to like it, MW3 was bad so i though this will be bettter but it wasn't, i'm sad, i i used to like this game series but now i hate, i really hate it with a passion, this game is bad, stop lying to yourselfs and go buy a real game.
  47. Nov 14, 2012
    0
    I will give this a 0 just because i cant put it in minus figures biggest pile of rubbish ive ever played and i didnt think things could get any worse than mw3
  48. Nov 13, 2012
    0
    This is the game we always get year by year... Just moves those furniture from there to there and that''s it... We got a new game... That same game over and over... I don't know why don't people realize there are plenty of better shooters there Halo, Killzone... to name a few... Get over it...
  49. Nov 15, 2012
    0
    I loved World at War, I was addicted to Modern Warfare, I LIVED on MW2, I liked Black Ops, I raised an eyebrow at Modern Warfare 3.....and now I've hit rock-bottom with Black Ops II. Worst of all, I'm ashamed of myself for buying into it. Anyone who says otherwise is in denial; too stubborn to take liability for their stupidity and admit that this game was - in fact -I loved World at War, I was addicted to Modern Warfare, I LIVED on MW2, I liked Black Ops, I raised an eyebrow at Modern Warfare 3.....and now I've hit rock-bottom with Black Ops II. Worst of all, I'm ashamed of myself for buying into it. Anyone who says otherwise is in denial; too stubborn to take liability for their stupidity and admit that this game was - in fact - a...complete....waste...of...money! Be that as it may, it'll be the best selling game of next year too, no doubt...and the year after...and so on. All 'coz the people encourage the COD franchise to not lift a finger when, in reality, it could be so much more! Expand
  50. Nov 14, 2012
    0
    There is absolutely nothing new or innovative about this game, if you've played MW2. Then you've pretty much played Black Ops, MW3 and Black Ops 2. It is absolutely mind boggling to be how this game with the exact same engine, graphics, guns, perks still manages to sell mass copies. Its sad they charge 60$ NOT EVEN INCLUDING THE FUTURE DOWNLOADABLE CONTENT(an extra 15 dollars, by the wayThere is absolutely nothing new or innovative about this game, if you've played MW2. Then you've pretty much played Black Ops, MW3 and Black Ops 2. It is absolutely mind boggling to be how this game with the exact same engine, graphics, guns, perks still manages to sell mass copies. Its sad they charge 60$ NOT EVEN INCLUDING THE FUTURE DOWNLOADABLE CONTENT(an extra 15 dollars, by the way all these maps are already in the game once it comes out, the developers just choose to release it later to maximize profits). This game and all previous CoDs are just a glorified map pack and it is disgusting how they pass it off as a new game each year.

    It also disgusts me how this game runs on player to player connection and not actual server. This is the type of game where timing and good connection is the difference between dying or living. A person with 3 bar connection opposed to 4, is at a HUGE disadvantage. And it is all to save costs on the game. They put as little money into the game as possible(because all the pretenses are there from the previous CoD, just o maximize absolute profit). This is the definition of milking it dry. By the way this is the same company that owns World of Warcraft, which has been milking the game to the max, and as well as Diablo 3, that butchered that game thanks to REAL MONEY AUCTION HOUSE, which also sucks the money dry out of their players(its a pretty much pay to win type of game, with no real objectives).

    So all and all Black Ops 2 is just a MW3 glorified map pack with different menus, and this is the reason why each year their sales have been going down. People are catching on and tired of paying 3-4 times to play the same game.

    It is just gross what they are doing.
    Expand
  51. Nov 20, 2012
    0
    Please donate £1 per month to poor michael, unfortunately he spent all of his christmas allowance on a video game, this game in question has made his life miserable, it has bullied him, tormented him and even asaulted him, no child should have to put up with this, so for as little as £1 per month you can help eliminate retail copies of call of duty black ops 2, children whoPlease donate £1 per month to poor michael, unfortunately he spent all of his christmas allowance on a video game, this game in question has made his life miserable, it has bullied him, tormented him and even asaulted him, no child should have to put up with this, so for as little as £1 per month you can help eliminate retail copies of call of duty black ops 2, children who have been freed from the grasp of COD say they feel like they have been given a new life and can live in peace, make this dream a reality for many children this christmas and give £1 to our specialist activision assassination squad, or if you cant afford that, just simply go into your local retail store and go all bruce lee on their stocked copies od COD:black ops 2. Expand
  52. Nov 20, 2012
    0
    Shoot. Kill. Die. Respawn. Shoot. Kill. Die. Respawn. Shoot. Kill. Die. Respawn. Shoot. Kill. Die. Respawn. Shoot. Kill. Die. Respawn. Shoot. Kill. Die. Respawn. Shoot. Kill. Die. Respawn. Shoot. Kill. Die. Respawn.Shoot. Kill. Die. Respawn. God Bless America. Shoot. Kill. Die. Respawn. Shoot. Kill. Die. Respawn. Shoot. Kill. Die. Respawn. Shoot. Kill. Die. Respawn. Video game propaganda.Shoot. Kill. Die. Respawn. Shoot. Kill. Die. Respawn. Shoot. Kill. Die. Respawn. Shoot. Kill. Die. Respawn. Shoot. Kill. Die. Respawn. Shoot. Kill. Die. Respawn. Shoot. Kill. Die. Respawn. Shoot. Kill. Die. Respawn.Shoot. Kill. Die. Respawn. God Bless America. Shoot. Kill. Die. Respawn. Shoot. Kill. Die. Respawn. Shoot. Kill. Die. Respawn. Shoot. Kill. Die. Respawn. Video game propaganda. Shoot. Kill. Die. Respawn. Shoot. Kill. Die. Respawn. Shoot. Kill. DiShoot. Kill. Die. Respawn.e. Respawn. Zombies. Americans are all consuming zombies. Shoot. Kill. Die. Respawn. Shoot. Kill. Die. Respawn. Shoot. Kill. Die. Respawn. Shoot. Kill. Die. Respawn. Shoot. Kill. Die. Respawn. Terrible. Shoot. Kill. Die. Respawn. Shoot. Kill. Die. Respawn. Shoot. Kill. Die. Respawn. Shoot. Kill. Die. Respawn. Shoot. Kill. Die. Respawn. Expand
  53. Nov 13, 2012
    0
    Look, i'm not a troll, this game is simply, bad, there is no getting around to that, smallest maps in video games history, weapons have no recoil at all, every map is camper-friendly, the campaign is 4 hours long, zombie mode is worse than it was in the first one, there is nothing good about this one, stop lying to yourselft and wake up, i was a fan but MW3 & BO2 ruined this series for me,Look, i'm not a troll, this game is simply, bad, there is no getting around to that, smallest maps in video games history, weapons have no recoil at all, every map is camper-friendly, the campaign is 4 hours long, zombie mode is worse than it was in the first one, there is nothing good about this one, stop lying to yourselft and wake up, i was a fan but MW3 & BO2 ruined this series for me, stop playing this crap and go buy a real game. Expand
  54. Nov 13, 2012
    0
    It's time for warmed up re-served leftovers again, it's Call of Duty time! With the same 14 years old id Tech 3 engine, and the same old dozen times rehashed gameplay, the "newest" CoD barely released already feels older than my grandma. Avoid like the plague or they will continue pumping out this crap twice a year with the same ancient engine until the end of times. Support devs with yourIt's time for warmed up re-served leftovers again, it's Call of Duty time! With the same 14 years old id Tech 3 engine, and the same old dozen times rehashed gameplay, the "newest" CoD barely released already feels older than my grandma. Avoid like the plague or they will continue pumping out this crap twice a year with the same ancient engine until the end of times. Support devs with your money that actually try to make new and interesting games instead of just re-warming the same old crap that lost all taste ages ago. Expand
  55. Nov 13, 2012
    0
    Singleplayer: short, very predictable, has no interesting plot what so ever. Multiplayer & zombies: Same as former CoD's. A new UI, some new weapons and perks and voila, Activision got herself a brand new game!
  56. Dec 29, 2012
    0
    do not get this game they keep going on about how they will improve online play but it is just as bad as mw3 in short the people that made this game do not care about what the people think if you want a good fps online shooter go for a game other than black ops two or any other than call of duty
  57. Nov 13, 2012
    0
    Poor attempt on Black Ops 2. I feel as if I have played this game before and then I remembered... it is exactly the same as the last 3 Call of Duty titles. The player base is still made up of 12 year old boys with squeaky voices. I want to smash my Playstation after only half an hour. And then there is the Xbox exclusive crap that PS3 and PC gamers have to deal with every month asPoor attempt on Black Ops 2. I feel as if I have played this game before and then I remembered... it is exactly the same as the last 3 Call of Duty titles. The player base is still made up of 12 year old boys with squeaky voices. I want to smash my Playstation after only half an hour. And then there is the Xbox exclusive crap that PS3 and PC gamers have to deal with every month as exclusives are cruelly withheld from loyal and paying customers. I strongly recommend you look elsewhere for your FPS urges. If you are on PC, have a look into CS:GO or CoD4 as those two games still have that shine to them as aren't filled with BS gimmicks that are sure to make you smash your hard earned possessions. Expand
  58. Nov 25, 2012
    0
    No effort at all was put into this game. Its just another generic soulless over rated shooter which critic's been bribed to give it a good score.

    No one in its right mind should even try such balant example of laziness
  59. Nov 13, 2012
    0
    I don't mind the activision set of releases, they go okay. (though MW3 was shockin). But this is just utter tripe.

    As far as I'm concerned CoD releases a 6 to 7 / 10 game once every two years and a crap money swindeling spin off every other year.

    Campaign is predictable and at times stupid. MP is repetitive and boring.
  60. Nov 13, 2012
    0
    The game doesn't improve on its predecessor at all, the singleplayer campaign is short and just casual friendly, the multpiplayer doesn't reward the players for their skill, instead it promotest a mindless frag race without any teamwork whatsoever. Just avoid this game and save your money for something better.
  61. Nov 13, 2012
    0
    The game doesn't improve on its previous game at all, singleplayer is short and just disappointing, the multpiplayer doesn't reward player skill at all, it's just a mindless frag chase and noob-tubing without any support for team work whatsoever. This game is a complete waste of money.
  62. Nov 13, 2012
    0
    Спят усталые геймпады, кинцо спит,
    Под подушкой сонибоя пиэстри,
    Спят усталые геймпады, кинцо спит,
    Под подушкой сонибоя пиэстри,
    Только фану вот не спится,
    Ему дрейк в бельишке снится.

    Глазки закрывай,
    Мыло смывай.

    Сонибою нынче грустно, игр нет.
    Просто PS3 SOSNOLEY - вот ответ.
    За кинцо отдал две триста.
    Перестал быть оптимистом.

    Баттхерт усмиряй.
    Баю-бай.

    С дрейком можно подружиться,
    Если ты совсем тупица.

    Плойку выключай.
    Баю-бай.

    Он кинцо тебе покажет,
    Мылом глазки он помажет.

    Плойку выключай.
    Баю-бай.
    Expand
  63. Nov 13, 2012
    0
    I've been a loyal COD fan since inception. I was the Sargent for Halloween and I ordered custom bed sheets that replicate my favorite maps. COD is so close to my heart and this BO2 is so terrible i feel sexually violated. After playing level 1 i had the feeling of one who has just taking a dump after getting out of the shower. Level 2 gave the the feeling of the time i slept with thatI've been a loyal COD fan since inception. I was the Sargent for Halloween and I ordered custom bed sheets that replicate my favorite maps. COD is so close to my heart and this BO2 is so terrible i feel sexually violated. After playing level 1 i had the feeling of one who has just taking a dump after getting out of the shower. Level 2 gave the the feeling of the time i slept with that busted indian chick. I did find good use for the game - when i am watching porn and my mom comes in i nail the input key and switch to COD. Because that would explain my hard on, but only because the old CODs gave me a hard on. The only way for us as gamers to fight this tyranny is to short activision stock. I am not a financial person but its silly to believe that Activision is valued at a near market multiple with a declining franchise. i am going to take my college money and buy activision puts, here we come Wharton. Expand
  64. Nov 13, 2012
    0
    same engine. same graphics..animation..... Only reskin which is different. Better story than last but it's still very boring and repetitive. I would not recommend this game to anyone. ALSO it's full of 12 year olds playing this game.
  65. Nov 13, 2012
    0
    BO2 is somewhere between famine and war as the worst things ever. I am a janitor, and was beyond excited to take a COD holiday from work - I clean pee and poop for a living and I don
  66. Nov 13, 2012
    0
    I hated the last COD, I thought it was a boring turd but when I saw Robert Downey Jr. in the commercial for BOII, I had to get it. I mean, if Bob says there's a soldier in all of us, there must be. Well bob was wrong, never have a felt so betrayed. This game is a bigger turd than the last one. The graphics blow (are we in 2005 people?), the story is played out and I'm convinced I spentI hated the last COD, I thought it was a boring turd but when I saw Robert Downey Jr. in the commercial for BOII, I had to get it. I mean, if Bob says there's a soldier in all of us, there must be. Well bob was wrong, never have a felt so betrayed. This game is a bigger turd than the last one. The graphics blow (are we in 2005 people?), the story is played out and I'm convinced I spent the night playing against a bunch of 11 year olds - how can you feel good about beating kids whose balls haven't dropped? This is the same old **** just a different day. Expand
  67. Nov 13, 2012
    0
    Once again, we have been fed the same repetitive, outdated, low-tech rubbish Activision feed us every year. During gameplay, we're introduced to a few characters of whom I couldn't care less about as well as the now boring COD:MP. Let this franchise did already Acti.
  68. Nov 13, 2012
    0
    Well, I guess most people buy this game are for the multiplayer not the campaign, so I will review this by my multiplayer experience. There is only one word to describe it: HORRIBLE. First of all, the numbers of maps are limited. Secondly, the map layouts are simple and repetitive. Once you get familiar with it, you can expect what is coming at you. This leads to the biggest disappointmentWell, I guess most people buy this game are for the multiplayer not the campaign, so I will review this by my multiplayer experience. There is only one word to describe it: HORRIBLE. First of all, the numbers of maps are limited. Secondly, the map layouts are simple and repetitive. Once you get familiar with it, you can expect what is coming at you. This leads to the biggest disappointment of this game--way to camper friendly. As i mentioned earlier, once you get familiar with the maps, you know where people come from because the simple and predictable layout of the maps. And then, people camp all the time. And also, the guns do not have much recoil, you do not have to adjust your shooting style with different guns which makes the game very noob friendly too. The kill streak system is worse than MW3, and some are overpowered. So if you are looking for a fast paced and competitive multiplayer gaming experience which requires some skill levels, then this is not your game. BO2 is for noobs and campers. Hiding in the corner, waiting for some powerful kill streak rewards are what you gonna see most of the time in this game. BTW, once Amazon accepts BO2 trade in, i will send it back without any hesitation. Expand
  69. Nov 14, 2012
    0
    I feel it important to say first and foremost that i have never enjoyed the multiplayer of COD. The spawning is stupid, the fighting erratic and importantly the variety non existent. What mildly intelligent person actually cares about the relentless barrage of trophies and medals which remain as completely useless mementos locked away in the dark quarters of your console. Receiving aI feel it important to say first and foremost that i have never enjoyed the multiplayer of COD. The spawning is stupid, the fighting erratic and importantly the variety non existent. What mildly intelligent person actually cares about the relentless barrage of trophies and medals which remain as completely useless mementos locked away in the dark quarters of your console. Receiving a trophy does not make a game fun. Playing the game should be all the fun needed. COD is not fun. I started up the single player campaign to be blown away by the complete lack of 3D during cinematics. To clarify i have just finished AC3 in 3D and the 3D was awesome, the game, so so. Then the game finally started, thought id get my kill on. Instead i was left feeling sick by the poorly programmed 3D in the game. OK, i'll play without 3D then (dissapointing since 3D games are few and far between). I thought maybe i would stop feeling sick now. I was wrong. The urge to bring up breakfast, lunch and possibly dinner from the night before was simply to great. You see i am a sympathetic vomiter, i see vomit, i vomit. What was being served up on my beautiful 1080P 63" 3D TV was indeed vomit. The graphics are worse than bad. I can hear all you braindead fanboys now, "it runs at 60fps...how can it be bad when so many people buy it?..." Well first of all, in case you hadnt noticed, nobody cares about 60fps, as long as it can hold a steady frame rate of say 30fps and not stutter it is perfectly acceptable even imperceptible, ie BF3 which incidentally craps all over CODBO1 & 2. "Why do so many people buy it?" Easy. People are idiots! One need only walk down the street and witness a slew of teenage boys wearing their little sisters jeans with hair that must having taken all morning to style to understand this. More evidence you ask. Look at those that sit atop society in any region of the world, they are always a minority, why you ask again. Because people are overwhelmingly idiots. Back to COD. I am not a hater, honestly i want all games to be fun. I've been gaming for like 25 years, i do not discriminate. So where did my CODBO2 story end?? I was so disillusioned with gaming after just 10 mins of CODBO2 ( I know your thinking, "well you didn't even play it, you missed the options and story line blah blah blah zombies blah blah") I didn't and wont miss anything. If i want to be bored and have options that lead to different endings i'll read one of my old chose your own adventure novels. If i want zombies I'll watch The Walking Dead (which is awesome BTW). So... I digress. After attempting to play and ending up heaving in the toilet i was depressed. I thought to myself i cant wait until the end of the month for Far Cry 3 or more importantly the end of the year for more expansions for BF3. I need to have my new found hatred of games quashed. Now i must tell you that i have never owned an XBOX always PC games and Playstations. I did the only thing i could. I bought a XBOX and Halo 4 and whilst is very far from the greatest game ive played, it has all but erased the sour taste left by CODBO2. Shame on you Treyarch for dishing up such a pile of steaming hot turd when you have the resources and fan base to do something truly revolutionary. Shame on you, you masses of idiots out there who will buy and love this game for no apparent reason other than you liked the one before it and before that and so on. Shame on you professional critics for giving this game such a high score. I have never posted anything online before, not a blog, not a tweet nothing. This game has brought out the entitled **** in me that so many of you had embraced so long ago. I feel that what i have to say is important enough that the world need access it. Shame on you CODBO2 for making me an internet posting geek who thinks that people care what i have to say. Please stop buying this dribble. Please start thinking for yourselves. I gave it a zero because im sure i played this already...in the '80's. Expand
  70. Nov 15, 2012
    0
    One of the worst launches of all the CODS. Server lag is horrendous, That is, if you can even join a game, many reporting connection issues, freezes, and lock-ups. PS3 version not on-par w/ the Xbox version, and it seems that many issues in-game are due to trey-arc's preference to the microsoft console over PS3, once again. Graphics, even though touted as 1080p (once again) barely pass asOne of the worst launches of all the CODS. Server lag is horrendous, That is, if you can even join a game, many reporting connection issues, freezes, and lock-ups. PS3 version not on-par w/ the Xbox version, and it seems that many issues in-game are due to trey-arc's preference to the microsoft console over PS3, once again. Graphics, even though touted as 1080p (once again) barely pass as up-scaled 720 from the xbox. Expand
  71. Nov 16, 2012
    0
    Multiplayer is amusing at best. It has brought some new perk selection that offers at least the flexibility to do what you like (to an extent).

    Not played zombies or singlplayer. The engine feels very very dated. MW3 is ok but this is just Meh...

    Avoid
  72. Nov 17, 2012
    0
    How did this game above 0? Again, Activision making millions on glitchy game. Everyone who owns a fat ps3 or slim has random freezes or auto shut down. Several of those received the ylod because of it. Activision is ruining the gaming industry. It is no longer about fun. It's about keeping people addicted through skinner box/dopamine and annually making millions.
  73. Nov 18, 2012
    0
    Game released for PS3 crashes locally or online after 2 rounds of zombies or multiplayer. The patches have not fixed the issues for me (as of 1.03). This will be the last COD I buy, and I'm looking to return/sell my copy now.
  74. Nov 18, 2012
    0
    Must I even write a review? Call of Duty is the most absolute piece of bullocks I have ever seen in my years of gaming. Have fun wasting $50-$70 more on a new game that is pretty much the same as the one before. Viva la Cod
  75. Nov 20, 2012
    0
    I'm not impressed at all with this game and maybe I'm expecting too much out of Activision/Treyarch these days but this game is another nail in the coffin that was once a strong franchise. Stale graphics, A moderately entertaining campaign, unimpressive multiplayer, and a worn out zombies concept is primarily the downfall of this game; and yet the critics give it rave reviews... I call itI'm not impressed at all with this game and maybe I'm expecting too much out of Activision/Treyarch these days but this game is another nail in the coffin that was once a strong franchise. Stale graphics, A moderately entertaining campaign, unimpressive multiplayer, and a worn out zombies concept is primarily the downfall of this game; and yet the critics give it rave reviews... I call it bias. Stating facts only if you're someone looking for a new thrill or a cool concept for a game then this isn't it and hence it is the reason for my rating of a "0". I hope I help you guys out there that are considering this game. Expand
  76. Dec 28, 2012
    0
    I haven't played this game. I wont play this game. Does not mean i cannot have an opinion on it. 5 hours worth of game...Are you freakin serious?! I'm a fair reviewer, but these guys are taking the right piss out of any fan of the series. They're playing on your fondness of the game....and you guys jus bend over and take it.. Come on guys (No joke there intentionally). At least MOHI haven't played this game. I wont play this game. Does not mean i cannot have an opinion on it. 5 hours worth of game...Are you freakin serious?! I'm a fair reviewer, but these guys are taking the right piss out of any fan of the series. They're playing on your fondness of the game....and you guys jus bend over and take it.. Come on guys (No joke there intentionally). At least MOH Warfighter has the decency to use a modern engine to zazz up the graphics. Shocking how reputable gaming sites and magazines rate this so highly. Recycled poop. Expand
  77. Jan 4, 2013
    0
    0/10, the Call of Duty is dead. It was a very good shooter, I enjoy Call of Duty 2 and Modern Warfare 1, and I just like Zombie Mode. In Black Ops II I just like campaign- it's awesome, everything else- fail. I expected more...
  78. Mar 17, 2013
    0
    This is a horrible game. This is the same as Black Ops 1, same engine, same guns. Lame DLC, Lame Servers. This was just a money maker for them, a rushed game in which should have been a 3 or 4 year project. Every COD, should take at least 4 years to make NOT 1 every year.

    COD mainly is for Little Kids ask there Mom's to buy it and in so they can play with their friends and spend money
    This is a horrible game. This is the same as Black Ops 1, same engine, same guns. Lame DLC, Lame Servers. This was just a money maker for them, a rushed game in which should have been a 3 or 4 year project. Every COD, should take at least 4 years to make NOT 1 every year.

    COD mainly is for Little Kids ask there Mom's to buy it and in so they can play with their friends and spend money on DLC.

    Big Companys that host Competitive games with not good MLG players and spend Millions but cant fixed the servers? Smh
    Expand
  79. Mar 28, 2013
    0
    I am giving this game a zero because multiplayer is unplayable due to lag comp and matchmaking issues at least 80% of the time. People with decent internet are penalized by their horrible lag comp coding. Most of the time what you see in the killcam is not what you saw on your screen. In this game you shoot first and die first. The players are not in sync. Almost every game there isI am giving this game a zero because multiplayer is unplayable due to lag comp and matchmaking issues at least 80% of the time. People with decent internet are penalized by their horrible lag comp coding. Most of the time what you see in the killcam is not what you saw on your screen. In this game you shoot first and die first. The players are not in sync. Almost every game there is someone running around with one or two bar connection who is indestructible and posting a ridiculous score. Map design is horrible and there are serious flaws in the spawn system. Most maps are tailor made for spawn killing and other cheap tactics. The dlc maps weren't any better. I don't know why I keep giving Activision my money. Every game since MW2 has gotten progressively worse. This one is definitely the worst with lag and hit detection. The community on this game is equally horrible and consists mainly of foul mouthed 8-12 year olds. I don't know what kind of stupid parent would buy their preteen this game and a mic. Treyarch has been nonresponsive when it comes to complaints about the game and has done nothing to fix the issues. Since release this game has caused the ps3 to freeze periodically during gameplay and there is an annoying sound glitch. We continue to have these problems (among others) after several patches. There is also the issue of probation. If you quit too many matches you get a five minute timeout before you can join a game and I think these can add/stack up. After a game session were this shoddy game caused my system to freeze 3 times I received a probation. I don't quit games, but Treyarch wants to take punitive action against me because their lousy game decides to take a dump.
    I made the mistake of buying the first dlc pack, but I won't be buying any more for this game. If you haven't purchased this game do yourself a favor and stay away.
    Expand
  80. Jul 28, 2013
    0
    It's the exact same as last year and as usual somehow took two years to market and another year to make work correctly.
    Now to be honest it's true, same thing since Call of Duty: Modern Warfare, same engine, several powerful guns, several useless guns, and the rest are just there. The story as normal is pointless to play unless if you want to perfect the game, at least this year you can
    It's the exact same as last year and as usual somehow took two years to market and another year to make work correctly.
    Now to be honest it's true, same thing since Call of Duty: Modern Warfare, same engine, several powerful guns, several useless guns, and the rest are just there. The story as normal is pointless to play unless if you want to perfect the game, at least this year you can influece said story and have a slightly different ending. Side-quest mode (AKA Zombies) is the same thing from Black Ops 1, only this time you can build stuff and that the characters are new, yet this time forgetable. I can say though that I enjoyed Mob of the Dead, finally providing a challenge to survive. Finally the thing that makes all of the cal of duty fans go crazy, the broken and useless multiplayer. I'm actually pretty good at it (2.27 Kills to Death Ratio and a 1.21 Win to Loss Ratio) and I still do not enjoy myself when I play it, it's a torture to play even when you are good, somehow though this game keeps a massive fan boy following. I've played both the console and PC editions and none of them are any different, and that's to be expected since Activision is too busy eiter working on another series of pointless and bad cash ins, or the next Call of Duty. My personal opinion, if you want a Call of Duty game, buy Call of Duty: Modern Warfare and Call of Duty: World at War, together thay are half the price of Black Ops 2 and are both exceedingly better than this years rehash. And a Fun Fact, the graphics are actually worse than World at War somehow, go figure.
    Expand
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Jan 12, 2013
    80
    One of the most complete, albeit shaky, packages the series has ever seen. [Issue#226, p.68]
  2. Jan 3, 2013
    90
    While the campaign length is fairly standard of past iterations of the series, it's worth multiple playthroughs and the multiplayer offers endless hours of fun and enjoyment; whether it's slaying zombies or facing off against other players in a wide range of multiplayer modes with an endless number of loadout combinations.
  3. Dec 23, 2012
    78
    Worth checking out for online and the sci-fi novelty value alone. [Jan 2013, p.95]